Author Topic: End of road for Y61 Patrol  (Read 21829 times)

Re: End of road for Y61 Patrol
« Reply #25 on: August 31, 2015, 01:54:33 PM »
Quote from: DannyG
No worries but wouldn't want to scratch it, its too pretty :) Even though an MUX has 20mm more clearance stock than a stock y61 ;)

Im not gunna get into a my 4wd is better than yours debate, Im a Patrol fan as you know. But dont under estimate the new Isuzu range mate....its like eating sushi, you need to broaden your horizons ;D
That's 4inch lift, 35's @16psi and twin lockers to get up there in those days...

« Reply #26 on: August 31, 2015, 01:57:17 PM »

That's 4inch lift, 35's @16psi and twin lockers to get up there in those days...

MUX would do it stock ;)

« Reply #27 on: August 31, 2015, 01:58:43 PM »
This is better than daytime TV

:)

Actually almost anything is.

Offline Oldandslow

« Reply #28 on: August 31, 2015, 02:03:44 PM »
MUX is better than a Patrol in the bush...  ??? Funniest Shit I ever read!

Didn't realize you have owned both Bird. My MUX is definitely better in the bush than the Patrol I owned for 7 years, the Patrol was great but was standard with no lockers. Nothing seems to stop the Isuzu, its traction system is amazing.

Offline GUEY

« Reply #29 on: August 31, 2015, 03:07:11 PM »
It is sad times and I love my GU (albeit with a Ford motor ;D ), but must confess to drooling a little over a Y62 recently.
Ok, they aren't the most stylish bit of gear around, but I was pretty impressed watching one in action a few weeks ago, and it would suit my needs perfectly (except for the budget  :'( ).
For those staunch diesel types, give the Y62 another 6 to 12 months for things to develop ;)
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

Offline vicandug

• Get ready. Get set.......
« Reply #30 on: August 31, 2015, 03:21:38 PM »
We have a 2011 pathfinder Ti 550
Hubby loves the Patrols though.

If they built a patrol with the same motor thats in our car it would be a big seller!

Does that mean that the old shape will be gone altogether and we will just have bigger versions of the same car from Nissan? 

Vicki
« Last Edit: August 31, 2015, 03:52:46 PM by vicandug »
The dream - to travel like a snail with my home behind me, seeing every inch of Australia.

Life is a gift and too short to waste.

Online GeoffA

« Reply #31 on: August 31, 2015, 04:50:52 PM »

....its like eating sushi...;D

....very appropriate ;D ;D....I don't do that either  :P :P

:cheers: :cheers:

Offline Elky

« Reply #32 on: August 31, 2015, 06:45:37 PM »
So the patrol did 18 years.....overstayed by about 8! The last few years have seen barely a trickle in sales, the market has evolved since the early days of the GU, inevitable really they couldn't keep going with it. Good solid truck but the world has moved on sadly

The worst thing Nissan can do now is let customers get away into the hands of Toyota, they have not got anything for those wanting diesel in a full size wagon, and they are kidding themselves ppl will opt for A navara sized wagon!

2010 TTD Landcruiser, i have added stuff but can't remember what! Slowly gettin quicker at setting up the brumby but breaking camp is another matter....

« Reply #33 on: August 31, 2015, 06:52:47 PM »
The GU was made to keep Idiots out of 80's

« Reply #34 on: August 31, 2015, 06:55:07 PM »
they have not got anything for those wanting diesel in a full size wagon, and they are kidding themselves ppl will opt for A navara sized wagon

Not a lot of difference  :D

Y61 - L5050, W1940, H1855, WB2970
Pathfinder - L5008, W1960, H1768, WB2900

Online GeoffA

« Reply #35 on: August 31, 2015, 06:56:33 PM »
The GU was made to keep Idiots out of 80's

So you bought your 80 before the GU was on the market John??....... :P :P

Offline Andrew_C

« Reply #36 on: August 31, 2015, 07:03:30 PM »
They are no doubt a tough car, had a 4.2 gu wagon for years, sold it and bought a prado new in 2012, since then have travelled about 40 thousand Kay's on trips and the prado is a great car, but recently bought a project gu with blown motor and chucked a 4.2 in it and cut it down to a dual cab ute. I missed having a tough bush truck ;D

« Reply #37 on: August 31, 2015, 07:20:37 PM »

Did a lot of research before I bought my 80 in August 05, paid $21,000.00 for it then(GXL 1HDT Manual 255,000km's)
It owes me $42, 000.00(not counting Fuel)
It's a constant 4wd, it does the job I'm prepared to pay for it to do that job.
I believe I have bought good value for money.

« Reply #38 on: August 31, 2015, 07:23:45 PM »
Toyota made the Prado to take over from the 80 series Geoff.......even called it a Landcruiser  8)

Offline Paulyg

« Reply #39 on: August 31, 2015, 07:25:01 PM »
Met a couple in a 3 litre patrol that was about four years old who tagged along. It spent most of its time in low when everyone else was in high. It struggled or didn't make it up several dunes (ran out of puff). I couldn't believe how poor it was. Nissan did themselves no favours putting that motor in the patrol.
That doesn't really mean much, they may have been not very experienced 4wheel drivers.
I did the Simpson desert crossing last year in my 3L Patrol, in high range, I didn't get stuck once, even made it up Big Red first go, although I did put it in low range for that one.

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #40 on: August 31, 2015, 07:25:26 PM »
Didn't realize you have owned both Bird. My MUX is definitely better in the bush than the Patrol I owned for 7 years, the Patrol was great but was standard with no lockers. Nothing seems to stop the Isuzu, its traction system is amazing.

Your right there.....
Patrols are Pretty good in standard form offroad in most normal situations but far from fantastic. To make them really, really good and damn near unstoppable a bit of lift, better tyres and locker(s) is really all that is needed.
All vehicles benefit the same from lift and tyres
so the only thing really was lockers which were standard in the rear with TC also I believe from 2012 onwards.
It can be argued that the GU patrol was / still is one of the toughest trucks around on the 4x4 scene. One only needs to attend a 4wd comp to see that patrols dominate everywhere.
GU Patrol. Lifted Locked and Boosted
 Johnnos offroad deluxe -SOLD
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

« Reply #41 on: August 31, 2015, 11:02:21 PM »
I had 2 GU Patrols, both were great in the really rough stuff but my current Pajero does everything else much better - onroad, gravel tracks, mild 4x4ing, beach, comfort, towing, wife-friendly, fuel economy, power. Even interior room is only marginally smaller.

Honestly, how often do people drive their family 4x4 in the really rough 4x4 tracks? 2 or 3 times a year? IMO not worth putting up with all the negatives for that few times a year where it was awesome.

As said above the GU has its place but most new 4x4 utes/wagons can do a better job than the GU in 95% of driving situations.

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #42 on: September 01, 2015, 06:14:19 AM »
That's just the Poms for you. They don't like a lot of things over there. Some of the cars on the list have done well in Australia. However I wonder what the sales ratio is for LC200 petrol to diesel here in Oz.

James
I thought I recalled reading somewhere that around 90% of 200 series cruisers sold are diesel. If that's the case then no wonder you rarely see a Y62 patrol on the roads.

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #43 on: September 01, 2015, 11:59:05 AM »
I thought I recalled reading somewhere that around 90% of 200 series cruisers sold are diesel. If that's the case then no wonder you rarely see a Y62 patrol on the roads.

Exactly - and how many petrol dual-cabs are there any more?  None except the hilux which is probably 10% of hilux dual-cab sales.
Toyota themselves said petrol prados are about 2% of their prado sales http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/toyota-updates-prado-20150831-gjc3wd.html

Anyway, it'll be interesting to see what Nissan comes up with in terms of a diesel powered wagon ... and see how the Fortuner looks too.  I can't see holden or isuzu selling too many Colorados and MU-Xs once the Fortuner is out there at a similar price.

Online GeoffA

« Reply #44 on: September 01, 2015, 12:10:13 PM »
Honestly, how often do people drive their family 4x4 in the really rough 4x4 tracks? 2 or 3 times a year? IMO not worth putting up with all the negatives for that few times a year where it was awesome.

As said above the GU has its place but most new 4x4 utes/wagons can do a better job than the GU in 95% of driving situations.

None of the new wagons interest me at all, and the utes even less.

Mine is really only used for trips and holidays now, so I'll be keeping it for a LONG time yet.

« Reply #45 on: September 01, 2015, 12:15:33 PM »

Mine is really only used for trips and holidays now, so I'll be keeping it for a LONG time yet.
x eleventy1

« Reply #46 on: September 01, 2015, 12:17:31 PM »
I can't see holden or isuzu selling too many Colorados and MU-Xs once the Fortuner is out there at a similar price

If you look at current pricing for the Hilux and Isuzu as a guide, the Fortuner will be $10K more expensive just because it has a Toyota badge.

Offline outbackogre

« Reply #47 on: September 01, 2015, 12:30:55 PM »
I had 2 GU Patrols, both were great in the really rough stuff but my current Pajero does everything else much better - onroad, gravel tracks, mild 4x4ing, beach, comfort, towing, wife-friendly, fuel economy, power. Even interior room is only marginally smaller.

I tend to agree with this comment.  I've owned two dual fuel GQ's (admittedly no GU's) and currently an 02 diesel Pajero for the past 5 years.  It's done parts of the high country, the Kimberley and central Aus, as well as two Simpson crossings.  The last one (Oodnadatta to Birdsville) was achieved on one tank (85 lit) of fuel (I was carrying 40 lit in jerries).  All it's got is a 2inch lift and AT tyres.  It's easy to live with as mum's taxi for most of the year but also a great towing (13 lit/100 towing about 1 tonne) and touring vehicle.  Just about to tick over 250 thou k's and still going well (touch wood).
My friends call me Rob.  You can call me ... Rob!
NW auto diesel Pajero towing a Jayco Starcraft Outback.

« Reply #48 on: September 01, 2015, 12:37:07 PM »

You need to start eating sushi mate ;D

Online GeoffA

« Reply #49 on: September 01, 2015, 12:46:55 PM »
You need to start eating sushi mate ;D

Nope. No avocado for me either.

Proper food, and proper cars.......