Author Topic: Economy with a CT  (Read 21691 times)

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
Re: Economy with a CT
« Reply #50 on: March 28, 2011, 01:09:32 PM »
You would be happy with those figures in a Prado. What did you do on the other 600kms?
Round town and to work and stuff. We live in a country city. So it is not really city driving.

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

« Reply #51 on: March 28, 2011, 01:22:13 PM »
Driving the Surf with it's 1KZTE 3.0 engine, turbo diesel with D-Gas, we manage to do 10l/100km not towing.
Towing our KK Sports Limited Edition over Xmas, on bitumen and gravel was 15l/100km.
When towing over soft sand, corrugations (I don't like them) it was 18l/100km.

Offline Flemo

« Reply #52 on: March 28, 2011, 01:38:49 PM »
I have a 3.0 D4D 08 Prado and I get aroung 10.5 -11 l/100 not towing, but with roof rack siting on 110km/h all day. Goes up to about 11.5 in the city. Towing the KK and follu loaded from a holiday into head wind up toward Roxby with kids push bikes on the roofrack we get about 14 l/100.

Pretty much the same with ours, bout 10-11 l/100kms not towing and about 13-14 l/100kms towing the 1500kg Trackabout. Not driving like a granny and setting cruise at 115 on the freeway and 105 on Pac Hwy.

« Reply #53 on: March 28, 2011, 02:03:30 PM »
Based on what I read, the 16 year old Surf isn't much different then the newer Prado's.

Offline JethroT

« Reply #54 on: March 28, 2011, 03:53:03 PM »
We were getting 11.2 L/100K and 14.2 L/100K whilst towing 1400Kg.

However with the new 275/65/17 tyres we are now using 12.2 L/100K.

I imagine we will use around 15L/100K whilst towing.

Regards, Geoff and Michele

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #55 on: March 28, 2011, 06:22:31 PM »
Hi xtrailer.

You could always get a Prius with a motorbike trailer to tow the camping gear behind. That would be good on fuel. Especially if you dont drive faster that 60kph to the caravan park.

Just don't forget to put vasaline on the FM radio antenna. It helps the air slip around it and reduce drag.
HOW DARE YOU USE THE "P" WORD ON THIS FORUM!! LOL  ;D ;D Ok point taken but I think that there is a lot to be said about economy.

Offline Johnno convert

CHANGE OF NAME
« Reply #56 on: March 28, 2011, 06:25:49 PM »
Hi all. Seeing as we have now bought a Johnnos and selling the Xtrail I thought a name change was in order so I am now a "Johnnos convert".

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #57 on: March 28, 2011, 06:47:13 PM »
FYI You cant get a tow bar for the car that starts with a "P"
My parents have one and they had their old trailer towed to the tip and left it there!

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

Offline shellharbourdove

« Reply #58 on: March 28, 2011, 06:55:20 PM »
Hi Crisp Image

I thought that was the case, as I have a Hybrid Camry, and I cannot even have a tow bar fitted to carry the bikes on. we had to get roof racks. Camry now 1 yr old and roof-racks still in the original boxes. Just as easy to drive the Prado.

Michael
2013 GXL Landruiser 79
2007 GXL Prado diesel
2015 Jayco Penguin Outback

Offline tjwrexy

« Reply #59 on: March 28, 2011, 07:09:21 PM »
Reply by Johnno Convert - That is fantastic. I take it that it is a diesel? We wouldn't mind a 4WD for our big trip but were turned off by the fuel consumption figures. Having said that, that may be a 2WD triton too.

Hi Johnno Convert,

4x4 Diesel and it was in 4wd the whole time due to wet weather BUT there was no off road during this trip (I usually drive around in 2wd unless raining).

I am really pleased with consumption as my last car was a Surbaru Forester XT Turbo (premium unleaded)  >:(.  Didn't take me long to alter my driving to suit a Diesel).

TJ  ;D
Tammy and Jeff
2010 Triton GLX-R and 2011 Aussie Swag Ultra G

« Reply #60 on: March 28, 2011, 10:06:11 PM »
Your all soft, I'm still winning ;D

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #61 on: March 28, 2011, 10:49:00 PM »
I run a 1HZ landcruiser set up similar to laith and probably get similar economy strangely. My previous vehicle was a 3Lt GU patrol auto and it was about 11-12lph daily and about 14 with the camper on the back. My best run with it was 420klms on 50 lts of diesel but i was travelling behind a 22 foot caravan for most of that.

Your all soft, I'm still winning ;D

I reckon my wife's 3.4 Prado would give you a run for your money with the camper on the back. I reckon the fuel gauge moved slightly slower than the second hand on the clock.

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

Offline Sharshebelle1

« Reply #62 on: March 29, 2011, 12:10:30 PM »
Boy am I glad I didnt get a 100 series as a daily drive. Diesel prices now would be killing me. >:(
We also spend a lot of time enjoying the roadworks on the M2,  its certainly increased our fuel consumption since they started the "upgrade"
We have a auto Pathfinder and generally do around 13km/100 around town,  towing the Jayco Eagle outback can vary consumption from 12km/100 for freeway to around 15km/100 for hills and dirt roads.
09 Pathfinder
2010 Jayco Eagle Outback.

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #63 on: March 29, 2011, 02:29:36 PM »
ML Triton DC Auto 3.2L Diesel tray-back, pulling a 2010 Lifestyle Extenda trailer. CT tyres are Mud Terrains, ute tyres are currently factory Bridgestone Dueler H/T's but we're going to D694LT Dueler A/T's later in the year. All gear, with the exception of a big orange Tropical Esky, goes into the CT.

We get between 10.2L/100km on highway & sealed Rds (80-110km/h), and it goes up to 12L and sometimes hits 13L/100km on dirt & unsealed roads. It's gotta be slow-going and hilly for us to go above 13L (i.e Forest Roads, stoney tracks in 4H; and serious hill climbs/range crossings)

I've never taken the CT on sand (i.e. Fraser Is), but the Triton would always suffer when loaded up pre-CT and economy would go up into the high-teens/low-20'sL/100km with the tray-back loaded up. With the CT carrying it all, I'm predicting high-teens on the sand if the tyres are set correctly all-round.

We're pretty chuffed with the economy.. It'll serve us well when we do long around oz style trips.

« Last Edit: March 31, 2011, 01:20:48 PM by spargo »

Offline griz066

« Reply #64 on: March 29, 2011, 02:49:22 PM »
Got these stats from Gas Cubby app on my iPhone This is a mix of towing and not towing so happy with that :cheers:

Max 11.41 L/100Km
Min 9.43 L/100Km
Average 10.20 L/100Km
Total Cost $645.10
Total Km 4502
Total Ltrs 459
Total fills 8
Total Days 53
Cost per Km $0.14
Cost / Ltr $1.41
Cost / Day $12.17
Cost / Fill $80.64
Ltrs / Fill 57.38
Km / Fill 562.75
Km / Day 84.94
6.98 Km / $
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

Offline MarkVS

« Reply #65 on: March 30, 2011, 08:22:35 PM »
Recently went to Bundaberg and back. 700 km. Sat on 100/110 mms. 4 people in car, air condition on, towing vacationer off road CT with a new Subaru outback diesel. Got 8.4 l/100 km. Was really happy with that.

2020 Patrol Series 5
2015 Complete Campsite Exodus 14

2013,2015,2017 National Meet
Survivor 2013 McGirr Across the Gulf trip
2014 McGirr Cape trip
2016 Duggie Savannah trip
2018 McGirr Kimberley

For every situation you have 3 choices. Live with it, change it, or leave it. But only pick one

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #66 on: March 31, 2011, 12:03:26 PM »
Recently went to Bundaberg and back. 700 km. Sat on 100/110 mms. 4 people in car, air condition on, towing vacationer off road CT with a new Subaru outback diesel. Got 8.4 l/100 km. Was really happy with that.

That is almost a third the amount that Burnsy uses in his fuel blackhole!!

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #67 on: March 31, 2011, 12:13:59 PM »
That is almost a third the amount that Burnsy uses in his fuel blackhole!!

I would hazzard a guess that 4 people in Burnsy's rig would be more comfortable and have more room for their gear than in the Subaru not to mention how the Subaru would handle towing the weight of a full sized camper.

And then theres the issue of how a subie would go keeping up with Burnsy's in some rough stuff.

Cruisers have proven themselves to last the test of time. I rather pay more for fuel.

You should really be trying to compare apples with apples.

« Reply #68 on: March 31, 2011, 02:21:05 PM »
We all have reasons for what vehicle we use to tow our campers/caravans with and economy is one variable. Of course a road based vehicle is going to give better economy than a large 4WD.

But comfort, amount of boot space and the cars towing ability should also come into play.

Big 4wds are going to cost more to run, but if you want to camp at remote places then you have no choice and that’s the price you pay. But if you never venture off-road then you get the privilege of a small car which is going to cost less to run.

I get the bus to work each day so my cruiser sits in the garage 5 days per week, so economy was put behind comfort, enough boot space to cater for wife & 2 kids, towing & 4WD ability.

Everything is life is a trade off.

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #69 on: March 31, 2011, 05:09:45 PM »
Too true. You do have to weigh everything and I wasn't meaning to come across as a cruiser basher or large fourbie for that matter, as long as they get dirty now and then!! Maybe when we get to retirement and join the grey nomads ranks, we will get a fourbie (a real one that is). It is amazing how many places you can go in a 2wd vehicle though

« Reply #70 on: April 01, 2011, 08:09:53 AM »
It is amazing how many places you can go in a 2wd vehicle though

Fully agree, before I was married with kids we got older model Falcons and Holden’s towing boats into some unbelievable places. But we normally had 4 guys in the car to push or dig us out when we got bogged.

Now with a wife & 2 young kids, getting bogged would not be an enjoyable experience.   :D

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #71 on: April 01, 2011, 08:38:32 AM »
I remember seeing a "soft roader" RAV4 one of the earlier models that had gone on the beach near mungo brush and totally toasted his clutch. I think it was part inexperience and part under engineering. Like anything you have to drive to the conditions and the vehicle (unlike the French tourist in a 4WD van on Samurai Beach recently who paid with his life).

« Reply #72 on: April 01, 2011, 09:08:51 AM »

That's pretty good considering a friend of ours with the same car gets around those figures without towing 8)

« Reply #73 on: April 01, 2011, 09:20:30 AM »
Figures for the Sigma, towing a KK........13 - 13.5l/hk......and thats sitting on 110 -120 k/ph and no pussy footing around going up hills etc.....just set the cruise and let it dump the fuel in if it has to !!

Now I have a chip in it, the figures seem a touch better, but haven't done any accurate ones yet ..

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #74 on: April 01, 2011, 09:24:10 AM »
Sigma ???