Author Topic: Economy with a CT  (Read 21690 times)

Offline Johnno convert

Economy with a CT
« on: March 26, 2011, 02:29:58 PM »
Just interested at what other people are getting (L/100 KM) whilst towing their CT. Please state what vehicle you are driving and what sort CT you are dragging behind.
I have noticed a big difference in economy from our old trailer that was running 4WD 235/75/15 or similar and our new one running light truck tyres 185/70/14.
We have a 3.8 Mitsi sedan and towing a Johnnos light off road deluxe. Best so far is 10.5L/100Km and worst 11.4L/100Km, mind you that was going up Mt Ousley and incorporated the Lakes Way hilly twisty bits just out of Buladelah. I reckon out west I could get really low 10's.

Re: Economy with a CT
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2011, 02:36:15 PM »
Mate
 My 1hz cruizer towing a Krumberley gets between 18 and 25 l/100k. It has a 280l tank and i have spent $500 filling it up. So i would take your 11.4, smile and enjoy seeing Australia with your camper...

« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2011, 02:41:53 PM »
Prado D4D, 11 normally, 12-13 towing the Tambo, 13-14 towing the Goldstream, 15 towing with the 2nd spare tyre on the roof. Worst case economy gives me 1200 klm range  ;D
« Last Edit: March 26, 2011, 02:43:31 PM by D4D »

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2011, 02:44:17 PM »
Yikes Darren!! :'( I hope you have shares in a fuel company or are related to some mega rich Sheik!!

« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2011, 02:46:05 PM »
No but when i see pictures of baby seals dying due to global warming i know its worth it...

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2011, 02:47:07 PM »
Prado D4D, 11 normally, 12-13 towing the Tambo, 13-14 towing the Goldstream, 15 towing with the 2nd spare tyre on the roof. Worst case economy gives me 1200 klm range  ;D
I am thinking a bigger tank would be good too or maybe an auxiliary one.

Offline jtraf

« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2011, 02:48:12 PM »
My GQ Patrol TD42T auto with Trackabout 2 adults 3 kids and associated bits and pieces gets about 18lt-20lt per hundred on 265/75/16 AT's.

Not even my Calais sport wagon gets 10.5lt per hundred during the week :'(
James - 1994 Patrol GQ TD42T Auto dragging around our 2007 Trackabout Safari Camper

« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2011, 02:49:08 PM »
I am thinking a bigger tank would be good too or maybe an auxiliary one.

I have factory 180L capacity :)

time

« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2011, 02:49:21 PM »
GU IV Patrol 4.2TDI 14-15l/100ks, towing a KK ltd (probably weighing around 1.5 ton "wet") around 18l/100ks both tug and Kamper running 285/75/16 (33") AT tyres.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2011, 02:52:58 PM by time »

« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2011, 03:35:14 PM »
62 series cruiser, highway.................13L/100Km
With 1.5t camper, highway................16L/100Km

Cruiser is about 2.6t & manual on 35in muds  ;D

I'm happy with that,  :cheers:

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2011, 03:53:59 PM »
We get between 14-16l/100kms towing our tambo, which weighs in at 1100kgs.We have 285/75 Mtr tyres.Not bad considering all the gear on the cruiser but I always drive at no more than 95km/hr and never tow in 5th gear.
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

Offline Vince

• Central Coast 4WD Club
« Reply #11 on: March 26, 2011, 03:55:28 PM »
My GQ Patrol TD42T auto with Trackabout 2 adults 3 kids and associated bits and pieces gets about 18lt-20lt per hundred on 265/75/16 AT's.

Not even my Calais sport wagon gets 10.5lt per hundred during the week :'(

Thanks jtraf you just made me feel better....my 4.2TD (non turbo) Maverick manual is getting those same figures towing our 1.2T CT all fully laden and running 33" tyres. I thought there was something wrong with it...now I'm not thinking so.

Normally around town it will do 12.5 to 13 per 100k and anly a tad better on the highway (not towing). I found that speed makes a difference too so we sit on around 90 to 95 on the open road.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2011, 03:58:12 PM by Vince »

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2011, 03:56:18 PM »
My 1HZ cruiser (no turbo) get 17L per hundred towing the camprite. Doesnt seem to get any worse than this though.

It's about 14 L per hundred without the camper. Doesnt get driven much without the camper though.

Offline HerGU

« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2011, 05:03:33 PM »
06 GU Wagon 4.2L Turbo Diesel, ally roof rack with High lift Jack and Shovel on the side & awning, running 33inch Cooper STT's, Dual Spare wheel carrier, ARB Steel Bullbar, Blackwidow drawers with 40L Engel in the back and 2 dogs and 2 adults, about 14-15L/100km not towing, with Adventure GT Camper Trailer (heavy) currently running 31 inch Mickey T's ATZ usually stacked with firewood, about 16-18km/100km.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2011, 05:05:32 PM by HerGU »

« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2011, 05:08:39 PM »
Mate
 My 1hz cruizer towing a Krumberley gets between 18 and 25 l/100k. It has a 280l tank and i have spent $500 filling it up. So i would take your 11.4, smile and enjoy seeing Australia with your camper...

I always thought the 1HZ's were better than that and I was looking to change over to a diesel or Turbo diesel.  My 80 series with a 1FZFE goes about 28 litres to the 100km on either petrol or lpg when towing the camper and runs around 24 l/100km without.  I have just advanced my timing to see if it can get down around 20-22, even if it doesn't it has lots more poke for doing it so I am happy as long as the milage doesn't get worse. 

« Reply #15 on: March 26, 2011, 05:29:10 PM »
I always thought the 1HZ's were better than that and I was looking to change over to a diesel or Turbo diesel.  My 80 series with a 1FZFE goes about 28 litres to the 100km on either petrol or lpg when towing the camper and runs around 24 l/100km without.  I have just advanced my timing to see if it can get down around 20-22, even if it doesn't it has lots more poke for doing it so I am happy as long as the milage doesn't get worse.  
Years ago when i had a f100 with a trick 302 to tow my race car i set up a dual stage dizzy that uses a solinoid and vacum to change the timing whan yo went to gas.

On my car the 35's are the killer, and how high the car is. Its slow and uses heaps of juce. The motor runs as sweet as a 1hz turbo can but its just slow...... Goes ok in the scrub though..
« Last Edit: March 26, 2011, 05:38:02 PM by darren »

Variflex

« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2011, 05:44:17 PM »
My ML Triton, 3.2 TD Manual with a chip it chip averaged 10.2 per 100 when towing the camper trailer, Softfloor offroad camper, 700kg empty

« Reply #17 on: March 26, 2011, 05:51:47 PM »
ML 3.2 DID Triton manual with a mild lift, and 245 x 75 BFG KM2's, some ARB bar work and a dual battey under bonnet gets between 9 - 10 litres per hundred on the hwy, bout the same around town. Throw the roof rack on with the shovel and awning, add the loaded Trackabout on the back and that pushes out to between 11.5 to 13 litres per hundred. All these figures are with four onboard and my two friendly 40 litre Engels.

As others have mentioned I travel at no more than 95kph and use 5th gear only when appropriate. As with most diesels, the econemy gets better the longer the motor is running, the DID loves the long trips :cup:

Disco.

« Reply #18 on: March 26, 2011, 05:56:06 PM »
That's mt setup below, but the furthest trip I've towed is about 1/2 tanks worth so far, so no real reading yet :(

Variflex

« Reply #19 on: March 26, 2011, 06:00:49 PM »
ML 3.2 DID Triton manual with a mild lift, and 245 x 75 BFG KM2's, some ARB bar work and a dual battey under bonnet gets between 9 - 10 litres per hundred on the hwy, bout the same around town. Throw the roof rack on with the shovel and awning, add the loaded Trackabout on the back and that pushes out to between 11.5 to 13 litres per hundred. All these figures are with four onboard and my two friendly 40 litre Engels.

As others have mentioned I travel at no more than 95kph and use 5th gear only when appropriate. As with most diesels, the econemy gets better the longer the motor is running, the DID loves the long trips :cup:

Disco.

Great to tow with these ML's

Offline Blinky Bill

• 2013 Pajero auto diesel & 2000 Kimberley Kamper
« Reply #20 on: March 26, 2011, 06:26:26 PM »
Great to tow with these ML's

Nice looking CT you got there bobnrob,
She looks like an off roader & so I guess one day there'll be a 4x4 towing it?  :D

I started my camping the opposite way...4x4 towing an onroad CT. Eventually the bug bit & the confidence was up enough for me to venture further down those rougher tracks to delightful camping spots.  ;D

Happy trails - Wayne
Reminds me of my safari in Africa. Somebody forgot the corkscrew and for several days we had to live on nothing but food and water.
W. C. Fields (1880 - 1946)

Offline Disco EMU

« Reply #21 on: March 26, 2011, 06:33:55 PM »
Best so far is 10.5L/100Km and worst 11.4L/100Km, mind you that was going up Mt Ousley and incorporated the Lakes Way hilly twisty bits just out of Buladelah. I reckon out west I could get really low 10's.

No one likes a show off!  ;)

Reckon my best is around 12-13.

Craig

Craig
2000 Landrover Discovery Series II TD5
2001 Jayco Finch

Offline nick 08

« Reply #22 on: March 26, 2011, 06:59:05 PM »
We have a ML 08 GLXR with racks and flat basket, lift, tyres and barwork get around 13l/100 around town and about 15l/100 with the trackabout and the awning, shovel and jack on the roof.
Tried one of those chip it chips and diesel went thru the roof some weeks we were getting 350-400 kms out of a 75l tank tried changing settings
no good blew s*%$ loads of smoke just cruising along the highway biggest waste of money i have spent in a while >:(.
08 Triton GLX R with all the gear
Trackabout Deluxe tourer camper

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #23 on: March 26, 2011, 07:40:13 PM »
NS Paj DID Manual 9.3/100 is average, 8.7/100 on a trip was the best, 10.8/100 pulling CT at 100kmh on sealed road, more like 12.5/100 pn dirt.
If my ML triton is anything to go by this should get better still.
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

Offline BJ76

« Reply #24 on: March 26, 2011, 07:51:43 PM »
Mate

This is one of the reasons why I got rid of mine...  We used to average around 16.6 with 50/50 suburb and highway.

We now have a 3L TD 2010 hilux and with stock standard tyres we get around 8.5L around town with no air con, 9.5 with air con.  Towing lifestyle extenda with 265/75R16 MT's we get around 10L/100 around town...  One very happy camper!  (pun intended!)

BJ
2010 Toyota Hilux Dual Cab SR5 TD & Lifestyle Extenda (with a couple of enhancements in mind!)