General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2014 members Cape York Trip => Topic started by: McGirr on May 07, 2014, 06:55:36 PM

Title: Counting Down......4 Sleeps
Post by: McGirr on May 07, 2014, 06:55:36 PM
Not long to go. The weather is great, hope it stays this way.

Title: Re: 45 More Sleeps to go
Post by: Mobi on May 07, 2014, 07:15:50 PM
Great weather here too, with a max of 16 degrees.

Peter
Post by: GeoffA on May 07, 2014, 08:00:41 PM
Only 29 before we hit the road.....
Post by: The Caseys on May 07, 2014, 09:38:23 PM

What the??? that can't be right 45, OMG I have so much to do, again, What the???
Post by: MarkVS on May 08, 2014, 06:47:21 AM
45 days to go......LUXURY.

This time last year, Kerry had only just decided that we need to get and take a 2nd fridge, which led to the Drifta car rear drawer and fridge drop slide, new suspension and 2nd battery.

I feel SO in control....

MarkVS

Post by: McGirr on May 08, 2014, 07:29:06 AM

I feel SO in control....

MarkVS

Keep thinking that Mark  ;D ;D :D

Post by: broncos11 on May 08, 2014, 08:25:49 AM
All future posts relating to this thread should be negated  by mods out of respect for those that couldn't go and will be at work turning green with envy!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: MarkVS on May 08, 2014, 09:34:50 AM
Keep thinking that Mark  ;D ;D :D

I did say 'feel' in control...whether I actually am or not is another matter  ;D ;D

MarkVS
Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 08, 2014, 12:49:44 PM
All future posts relating to this thread should be negated  by mods out of respect for those that couldn't go and will be at working turning green with envy!!!!!!!!!!!

I was thinking the same and I have the power >:D

Have fun guys

Post by: McGirr on May 08, 2014, 02:31:09 PM
I was thinking the same and I have the power >:D

Have fun guys

:-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-*

Post by: The Caseys on May 08, 2014, 04:31:59 PM

Just had a look at the checklist.

Vehicle Service - Booked in
New Shoes - Booked in
Food shopping - still have time

Phew now I feel better.
Post by: Symon on May 08, 2014, 07:21:24 PM
Just had a look at the checklist.

Vehicle Service - Booked in
New Shoes - Booked in
Food shopping - still have time

Phew now I feel better.

BEER, WHERE IS THE BEER????
Post by: jk on May 08, 2014, 09:50:45 PM
Stop it.................................I can't take any more  :'(
Post by: GeoffA on May 08, 2014, 09:51:38 PM

It's not too late....... ;D
Post by: swanny on May 08, 2014, 09:58:20 PM
Only 36 for us...................cant wait....... :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: McGirr on May 08, 2014, 10:05:05 PM

Mate you can join us but you will be in your own tent for health and safety reasons.  ;D

A person can only take so much pollution  :-*

Post by: McGirr on May 08, 2014, 10:07:27 PM

Beer and Spirits shopping will start at the beginning of June.  :cheers:

The car will be packed with it first and what doesn't fit after that gets left behind.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 08, 2014, 10:08:34 PM
If it counts I used my stubby cooler tonight, might as well join in with some spirit, will get up there one day ;D

Post by: McGirr on May 08, 2014, 10:33:01 PM
Mate you can join us but you will be in your own tent for health and safety reasons.  ;D

A person can only take so much pollution  :-*

On second thought Penny may be sleeping in the tent.  :'(

And she hates onions Symon.  ;D

Post by: jk on May 09, 2014, 07:47:57 AM
 :-X
Post by: yogi on May 09, 2014, 03:24:13 PM
Who's sleeping ;D

Post by: The Caseys on May 10, 2014, 08:34:31 AM
BEER, WHERE IS THE BEER????

Already taken care of.
Post by: McGirr on May 10, 2014, 09:59:51 AM

Beer equation:

Average 6-8 beers per day, (I talk alot and get thirsty)

After dinner 2 - 5 scotches, ( I eat alot need to wash the food down)

Incidentals to allow for above average consumption:

assistance in recoveries if needed

offering people a beer

spillage

falling over with a beer

forgetting where I left the beer

damaged beers

kids parties

exerting excess energy in collecting firewood (someone needs to supervise and make sure work place health and safety procedures are followed)

putting up camper

taking down camper

setting up camp chairs for stability

cooking (watching penny do this)

excess walking ( more than 20 feet from the camper)

excess swimming ( the esky has moved and I have to wade out 3 feet to recover it)

excess talking

sitting too close to the fire (evaporation must be considered)

the sun (if it gets above 22 degrees I get extra thirsty)

dust ( makes it hard to talk and need to wash it away)

being trip leader

and people think its easier packing for these trips, there are alot of scenarios to factor in when allowing for the right amount of beverages to carry    ;D

Post by: MarkVS on May 10, 2014, 01:50:51 PM
Yes,
but on the negative side of the ledger, you don't need to take as much this trip as JK isn't there and you don't have to factor in the "recovery from lack of sleep/snoring" scenario or the "recovery from lack of sleep/gasing"  scenario  ;D ;D

MarkVS
Post by: McGirr on May 10, 2014, 02:18:30 PM
Yes,
but on the negative side of the ledger, you don't need to take as much this trip as JK isn't there and you don't have to factor in the "recovery from lack of sleep/snoring" scenario or the "recovery from lack of sleep/gasing"  scenario  ;D ;D

MarkVS

Penny has taken over where John has left off. Warning do not camp too close.

Post by: Mobi on May 11, 2014, 09:51:19 PM
I can see the pre dinner drinks and the post dinner drinks but you seem to have any dinner drinks listed ???.

Peter
Post by: McGirr on May 11, 2014, 10:00:29 PM
I can see the pre dinner drinks and the post dinner drinks but you seem to have any dinner drinks listed ???.

Peter

I like to pace myself  ;D

Post by: GeoffA on May 11, 2014, 10:02:04 PM
I like to pace myself  ;D

Now that's news.... :P
Post by: McGirr on May 11, 2014, 10:06:27 PM
Now that's news.... :P

Shhhhh I have to set a good example. Nothing worse than the tour leader falling over tents, tables and chairs.

Post by: GeoffA on May 19, 2014, 06:35:35 PM
18 sleeps.....getting closer..... ;D ;D
Post by: McGirr on May 19, 2014, 06:45:31 PM

Stop it some people still need to focus on work.

Post by: Mobi on May 19, 2014, 07:22:42 PM

19 sleeps  :4x4:  ;D

Peter
Post by: MarkVS on May 19, 2014, 09:47:28 PM

Your just nasty !!!!
Post by: swanny on May 20, 2014, 08:29:32 AM
25 and counting....!!!!
Title: Re: 31 More Sleeps to go
Post by: Mobi on May 20, 2014, 09:42:35 PM
When did the title get updated?
Mark does the title change help you concentrate at wxxk? Lol

Post by: McGirr on May 20, 2014, 09:58:58 PM
When did the title get updated?
Mark does the title change help you concentrate at wxxk? Lol

I am updating it.  ;D

It's getting harder to focus on work

Post by: GeoffA on May 20, 2014, 10:00:44 PM
Your just nasty !!!!

17....... :P :P ;D ;D
Post by: McGirr on May 23, 2014, 01:40:40 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: swanny on May 23, 2014, 02:45:31 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

we need a "like button"......like anyway.

Just doing the final few touch's before we head off early Jun.

Swanny
Post by: Mobi on May 23, 2014, 09:36:45 PM
Patrol and camper serviced, spares purchased and some spirits purchased.
Now to do some practise packing to see how much space is left for beer, clothes and food  ;D

Did I say 15 sleeps to go.

Peter
Post by: GeoffA on May 23, 2014, 09:38:41 PM
14....... ;D ;D
Post by: Mobi on May 23, 2014, 09:49:15 PM
14....... ;D ;D
Well you do have further to travel ;D

Look forward to meeting you.

Peter
Post by: GeoffA on May 23, 2014, 09:56:47 PM
Well you do have further to travel ;D

Look forward to meeting you.

Peter

Likewise Pete.

Sorta cheating a bit with the departure date. The first day (Friday 6th) will be a short hop to Shepparton to see Kay's mum and dad, before we get going in earnest on the Saturday. We'll be in Rocky the arvo of Monday 9th, then a casual drive up to Cairns, arriving Monday 16th......
Post by: GeoffA on May 29, 2014, 05:36:22 PM
8 sleeps to go.......and we're nearly ready, too...... ;D ;D
Post by: McGirr on May 29, 2014, 08:17:06 PM
I suppose I better start getting some stuff ready ;D

Here is a countdown before we go.

http://www.timeanddate.com/countdown/to?iso=20140621T08&p0=927&fg1=80c2da&msg=Cape+York&csz=1 (http://www.timeanddate.com/countdown/to?iso=20140621T08&p0=927&fg1=80c2da&msg=Cape+York&csz=1)

Post by: Mobi on May 29, 2014, 10:32:31 PM
Tyres checked today. All good as expected on all 6  :cup: :cup:

Peter
Post by: Mobi on May 29, 2014, 10:35:38 PM
I suppose I better start getting some stuff ready ;D

Here is a countdown before we go.

http://www.timeanddate.com/countdown/to?iso=20140621T08&p0=927&fg1=80c2da&msg=Cape+York&csz=1 (http://www.timeanddate.com/countdown/to?iso=20140621T08&p0=927&fg1=80c2da&msg=Cape+York&csz=1)

You win  ;D ;D

Post by: yogi on May 30, 2014, 07:48:25 AM
2 weeks before we start heading up :D

Post by: swanny on May 30, 2014, 08:26:54 AM
Yep 2 weeks Sat for us and were off, heading up thru central NSW, and then on to Rocky, up the coast to Cairns by Weds 18th....2nd state of Origin night....lookout....!!!!!
Title: Re: 18 More Sleeps to go
Post by: Watty2975 on June 02, 2014, 08:23:22 PM
Any swaggers travelling to the Cape are welcome to pull up some space at our place in Gympie for a stop over. Plenty of space and a good way to break the trip up.

We will be leaving on 18th so feel free to stop in before that.

I only have 4 days of work left ;D and then about 10 days of getting ready :'(
Title: Re: 18 More Sleeps to go
Post by: GeoffA on June 02, 2014, 08:30:25 PM
4 sleeps to D-Day......literally...... ;D ;D
Title: Re: 16 More Sleeps to go
Post by: GeoffA on June 06, 2014, 06:49:24 AM
0 sleeps. ;D ;D

Pack the car, hook on, then start heading north today. :cup:

Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 06, 2014, 06:54:37 AM
0 sleeps. ;D ;D

Safe travels bud, keep us updated on events

Post by: swanny on June 06, 2014, 07:44:41 AM
0 sleeps. ;D ;D

jealous much.......7 sleeps for me and im doing the same.....yeahaaaa

Safe travels, and see ya there....

Swanny
Post by: McGirr on June 06, 2014, 07:49:28 AM
0 sleeps. ;D ;D

Release the pigeons  :D

Enjoy the trip and see you guys soon.

Post by: lindamc on June 06, 2014, 07:56:02 AM
Have fun everyone looking forward to the trip reports!

Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk 2

Post by: MarkVS on June 06, 2014, 08:53:59 AM
Safe trip up geoff. See you and kay at cairns
Post by: GeoffA on June 06, 2014, 06:43:54 PM
Thanks all. Looking forward to catching up with everyone.

Post by: Mobi on June 06, 2014, 08:16:20 PM
0 sleeps. ;D ;D

Safe trip guys, see you up there.

Title: Re: 10 More Sleeps to go
Post by: gclan on June 11, 2014, 05:47:15 PM
It looks like the 4wdAction boys are on their way up too.

Have fun everyone, and safe travels!

Look out Cape York ;D

Don't forget some pics for us poor, very envious swaggers stuck at home :'(
Post by: Terry W4 on June 11, 2014, 06:06:21 PM
+20
It looks like the 4wdAction boys are on their way up too.

Have fun everyone, and safe travels!

Look out Cape York ;D

Don't forget some pics for us poor, very envious swaggers stuck at home :'(
Post by: yogi on June 11, 2014, 08:42:43 PM
3 more sleeps ..... :cheers:

Post by: McGirr on June 11, 2014, 09:05:24 PM
3 more sleeps ..... :cheers:

I can see you playing in the mud  :cheers:

Post by: swanny on June 11, 2014, 09:52:06 PM
2 more sleeps and were on the road.... :D :D :D
Title: Re: Counting Down......9
Post by: Boo Boo on June 14, 2014, 04:18:24 AM
Well yogi and Renno have just left heading north. Have a great trip all.

Amanda

Title: Re: Counting Down......9
Post by: McGirr on June 14, 2014, 05:42:28 AM
Well yogi and Renno have just left heading north. Have a great trip all.

Amanda

Safe trip guys.

Title: Re: Counting Down......7
Post by: Mobi on June 14, 2014, 10:30:22 PM
Maybe because of the rain there seemed to be a lot people with hair dryers.
Safe trip all.

Peter
Post by: MarkVS on June 15, 2014, 06:06:27 AM
2 days to go !!

And I've heard that the sun is out, the roads have dried, the graders are going through as we speak and the roads will be perfect, the rivers and creeks have dropped......and Mark McGirr's supplying beer for everone !! :cheers: :cheers:

What more could anyone ask for in a trip.

MarkVS
Post by: McGirr on June 15, 2014, 07:23:40 AM
2 days to go !!

And I've heard that the sun is out, the roads have dried, the graders are going through as we speak and the roads will be perfect, the rivers and creeks have dropped......and Mark McGirr's supplying beer for everone !! :cheers: :cheers:

What more could anyone ask for in a trip.

MarkVS

:cup: :cup: 

I will supply the beer for sure. It is called recycled.  :cheers:

Post by: KingBilly on June 15, 2014, 07:26:36 AM
Wishing everybody a safe trip.  Have lots of laughs and enjoy yourselves  :cheers:

Post by: Wato on June 15, 2014, 08:38:06 AM
Wishing everybody a safe trip.  Have lots of laughs and enjoy yourselves  :cheers:

And for those of us stuck at home this winter.......photo's, photo's and more photo's.
Travel Safe

Craig
Post by: GeoffA on June 15, 2014, 08:45:36 AM
Take it easy everyone. Lots of radars, cameras, and mobile patrols about.

Safe travels....

Title: Re: Counting Down......6
Post by: McGirr on June 15, 2014, 09:23:27 AM

Sunday session with Geoff , Kay and Peter this afternoon at Lake Placid.  ;D

Trip discussions naturally  :cheers:

Post by: MarkVS on June 15, 2014, 09:28:50 AM

I assume minutes are being taken and will be published ? :cheers:

MarkVS 
Post by: Mobi on June 15, 2014, 02:50:06 PM

And it's not raining, the humidity is just 100% >:(

Peter
Post by: The Caseys on June 15, 2014, 06:38:30 PM

I assume minutes are being taken and will be published ? :cheers:

MarkVS

Sorry, my pen ran out of ink so no minutes were taken, but many laughs were had.

Tina
Post by: McGirr on June 15, 2014, 08:11:17 PM

Great Sunday session with Geoff, Kay, Peter, Dave and Tina at camp Geoff.

Drinking and relaxing, laughing, drinking, laughing and drinking.  :cheers:

That's the minutes taken.

Post by: GeoffA on June 15, 2014, 08:22:15 PM
Drinking and relaxing, laughing, drinking, laughing and drinking.  :cheers:

Yep. That ^ was the agreed agenda.
Let the minutes show that all attendees adhered faithfully to the agenda.

Post by: McGirr on June 15, 2014, 08:37:55 PM
Yep. That ^ was the agreed agenda.
Let the minutes show that all attendees adhered faithfully to the agenda.

A Motion was also tabled that  :cheers: are bought to all future meetings and all attending members drank (voted) and this motion was passed unanimously.  :cheers:

The meeting was closed after members forgot what the meeting was for and then celebrated that the meeting was a success.  ;D

Seconded by Penny, Kay, Geoff, Peter, David, Tina and Capt LM.