Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 319805 times)

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #725 on: February 09, 2020, 08:21:40 AM »
You really don't want to know   :o

Hah, saw an ad on telly thismorning that explained what it is. No wonder I hardly watch any of the commercial channels these days. Wot a load of Shite...
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #726 on: February 09, 2020, 11:50:16 AM »
Hah, saw an ad on telly thismorning that explained what it is. No wonder I hardly watch any of the commercial channels these days. Wot a load of Shite...
sadly they keep telling us millions watch this drivel... so thats all the kind of Shit they make now.. mind numbing Shit for the "millions"

Offline terravista

« Reply #727 on: February 09, 2020, 10:21:28 PM »
The rain gauge overflowed ??? ;D

Nope, did not even fill it. It goes to 200mm.

« Reply #728 on: February 10, 2020, 04:15:41 PM »
What is it with the media when they report stuff like this.
Reporter,
Residents say they have not seen beach erosion like this since 2016.
WTF, that's less then 4 years ago.
If it hadn't been seen for say, 20 years, maybe that would be story.
Have people got no sense of time?

News flash,
I haven't seen rain like what is falling atm since yesterday when I drove back from Coffs. WOW, must be something out of the ordinary.

« Reply #729 on: February 10, 2020, 04:16:51 PM »
Reporter,

News flash,
I haven't seen rain like what is falling atm since yesterday when I drove back from Coffs. WOW, must be something out of the ordinary.

Trying to build up a story out of farkles all... come on, you should be used to it by now LMAO!

« Reply #730 on: February 10, 2020, 04:35:38 PM »

Trying to build up a story out of farkles all... come on, you should be used to it by now LMAO!
I should be,
You know, I just want milk.
:)

« Reply #731 on: February 10, 2020, 05:05:48 PM »
Reporter,

News flash,

The new new Norm

« Reply #732 on: February 10, 2020, 05:13:22 PM »
The new new Norm
Unfortunatley you are right mate.
Sensationalism at it's best.

« Reply #733 on: February 10, 2020, 05:15:25 PM »
Unfortunatley you are right mate.
Sensationalism at it's best.

Just shows their lack of understanding in the difference between Climate and Weather.   

« Reply #734 on: February 10, 2020, 05:27:34 PM »
Just shows their lack of understanding in the difference between Climate and Weather.
It's also become a popularity contest.

« Reply #735 on: February 10, 2020, 05:44:07 PM »
It's also become a popularity contest.

But ya can’t have one without the other! ;D

« Reply #736 on: February 10, 2020, 06:07:38 PM »
But ya can’t have one without the other! ;D
Ahahahaha
True.
:)

« Reply #737 on: February 11, 2020, 07:41:58 AM »
& on the first "cold" day at the start of Winter - "It's been the coldest day so far this year!" ::)

Yep, it's called Winter, & I've noticed that it comes around pretty well every year, strangely enough at around the same time of year as well ::) >:D

« Reply #738 on: February 12, 2020, 07:31:41 AM »
& then on the local news last night, they're talking about Cyclone Uesi, which may bring big seas to the GC, possibly causing erosion on the beaches: "as we're facing the prospect of being hit by the biggest seas in ... months" ::)

Offline Champin

« Reply #739 on: February 19, 2020, 08:30:09 PM »
Why is it when big companies make a "mistake" with wages,it is always in their favour?

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

« Reply #740 on: February 19, 2020, 08:44:37 PM »
Why is it when big companies make a "mistake" with wages,it is always in their favour?

why have so many HUGE companies come out in recent months.... i would expect Daves corner store to **** up, but these places with huge finance departments

« Reply #741 on: February 20, 2020, 06:26:44 AM »
why have so many HUGE companies come out in recent months.... i would expect Daves corner store to **** up, but these places with huge finance departments
Simply put - Once one was outed, the others have gone "oh s#1t" and are now self reporting before the regulators step in.

The Coles/Woolies/Target dramas affect salaried junior managers. The salary itself was well above the award rate when compared to the contracted 40h week in "ordinary time" hourly rates, but when worked out over the actual hours worked (typically well in excess of 50h per week), the hourly rate was below the award. It wasn't much of a problem until extended trading hours (especially Sunday trading) was introduced. It's the penalty rates applied to wage earners income for the "out of normal hours" shifts which salaried workers did not get, which caused most of the wage disparity. Because salaried workers are largely un-represented, and every employee is on an individual salary, it took a long time for one of the companies to be caught out.  The Bunnings issue was to do with super calculations for some part time employees. Their payroll system wasn't calculating the correct rate for PT employees that went above the threshold hours over the course of a full financial year.

As a salaried Woolworths Group employee of 23 years, I can speak with some personal experience. Whilst I was on pretty decent money with good incentives and fringe benefits, the hours, rosters, and lifestyle sucked. Thats what drove me out a little over a decade ago. My job in middle management required that I worked almost every public holiday, only had 1 in 3 weekends at home, a 12hr day was standard, and there were only 14 weeks of the year when I was allowed to take annual leave. Now I'm on significantly less income in a government job, but literally work 1/2 the hours and I now have a life.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2020, 06:45:58 AM by Spada »
The following users thanked this post: #jonesy

Offline Champin

« Reply #742 on: February 20, 2020, 09:23:16 AM »
Wish someone would look at the transport industry. 16hr days, 6 day weeks are the norm. Overtime rates? What's that all about? And don't get me started on the unpaid hours we work. But I think that is to much of a hot potato for anybody to deal with.
 Before you ask why I do it, due to a previous back injury I cannot do my regular fitter/ boilermaker job and not to many people want a 57 yr old on their books.

Sent from my TA-1024 using Tapatalk

« Reply #743 on: February 20, 2020, 09:37:13 AM »
Quote from: Champin
Wish someone would look at the transport industry. 16hr days, 6 day weeks are the norm. Overtime rates? What's that all about? And don't get me started on the unpaid hours we work. But I think that is to much of a hot potato for anybody to deal with.
 Before you ask why I do it, due to a previous back injury I cannot do my regular fitter/ boilermaker job and not to many people want a 57 yr old on their books.
my last job driving for a medium size company that did syd - canberra - newcastle - syd - Can..

I did 5 18 hour days in a row, weekend off then 5 18-20hr days, got back to yard friday, dont remember most of the drive from newy to yagoona... then the allocator points to the next trailer and said take that to Canberra... I was almost hallucinating.. I said not a ****in chance, i said Im rooted going to sleep. he said some blokes take these and keep going... that was the last time I drove trucks. He was really pissed off cause I was last driver into the yard for the night and if nobody else took it, he had to.

« Reply #744 on: February 20, 2020, 04:09:50 PM »

Yeah, makes ya wonder.
They have to software, systems to make sure all the T's are crossed & I's are dotted, but they blame someone else.
And the Union's that represent these worker are gutless, I found that out years ago.

« Reply #745 on: February 21, 2020, 06:51:50 AM »
Simply put - Once one was outed, the others have gone "oh s#1t" and are now self reporting before the regulators step in.

A lot of it may be they are using similar software. After one identifed the fault all the other companies looked to see how their system stacked up and also picked up faults.

They are being paid pay scale "A".
But cause of X. They should have been paid on "B" which has different rates , times etc.
The following users thanked this post: paceman

« Reply #746 on: February 21, 2020, 07:05:26 AM »
A lot of it may be they are using similar software. After one identifed the fault all the other companies looked to see how their system stacked up and also picked up faults.

They are being paid pay scale "A".
But cause of X. They should have been paid on "B" which has different rates , times etc.

I reckon this is it. The bigger the company the less personal interaction there is

« Reply #747 on: February 23, 2020, 08:23:02 PM »
May of been asked before.

Who polishes their work boots?
I polish mine ever every morning, or the night before.
Cleaned, laces checked, Kiwi polish.
My soles wear out before the stitching, zippers or laces do.
They get all sorts of crap spilled on them, mud, oil, paint, get scuffed,.
But every day I go to work in polished boots.
Might have something to do with my Catholic schooling.
This also goes for all my carpenters tools, they are cleaned, sharpened and maintained.
In a throw away world, it does pay to look after ya gear.
Anyway, just thought I'd ask.
BTW, just finished cleaning/polishing my boots.
Enjoy your day tomorrow guys & girls.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #748 on: February 24, 2020, 06:55:33 AM »
my last job driving for a medium size company that did syd - canberra - newcastle - syd - Can..

I did 5 18 hour days in a row, weekend off then 5 18-20hr days, got back to yard friday, dont remember most of the drive from newy to yagoona... then the allocator points to the next trailer and said take that to Canberra... I was almost hallucinating.. I said not a ****in chance, i said Im rooted going to sleep. he said some blokes take these and keep going... that was the last time I drove trucks. He was really pissed off cause I was last driver into the yard for the night and if nobody else took it, he had to.
Ahh the good old days of 3-4 log books and trying to remember which one you were using at the time

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #749 on: February 24, 2020, 07:13:25 AM »
May of been asked before.

Who polishes their work boots?
I polish mine ever every morning, or the night before.
Cleaned, laces checked, Kiwi polish.
My soles wear out before the stitching, zippers or laces do.
They get all sorts of crap spilled on them, mud, oil, paint, get scuffed,.
But every day I go to work in polished boots.
Might have something to do with my Catholic schooling.
This also goes for all my carpenters tools, they are cleaned, sharpened and maintained.
In a throw away world, it does pay to look after ya gear.
Anyway, just thought I'd ask.
BTW, just finished cleaning/polishing my boots.
Enjoy your day tomorrow guys & girls.

Nice to hear, after being a tool wholesaler nearly all my working life it’s great to hear about tradies who look after their kit, some of the condition of tools used by some tradies and the way they treat them beggars belief. I’ve always said a tradie who cares for his tools is a tradie who takes pride in his work.