General => General Discussion => Topic started by: feisty on January 15, 2018, 07:10:59 PM

Title: Re: Have you found a bargain - 2018 version
Post by: feisty on January 15, 2018, 07:10:59 PM
Can't see a 2018 version yet. So......

Repco 35% off this thursday with voucher. Pick up your voucher beforehand with purchase.
Includes batteries so the shop assistant told me as she had yet to see anything to say otherwise.
I hope this helps someone out here.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180115/2be728868927d225b375238eb80e2db9.jpg)

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Re: Have you found a bargain - 2017 version
Post by: skog on January 15, 2018, 07:58:33 PM
Can't see a 2018 version yet. So......

Repco 35% off this thursday with voucher. Pick up your voucher beforehand with purchase.
Includes batteries so the shop assistant told me as she had yet to see anything to say otherwise.
I hope this helps someone out here.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180115/2be728868927d225b375238eb80e2db9.jpg)

Where do you get the voucher or will they take an electronic version?

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Post by: feisty on January 16, 2018, 10:16:33 AM
Where do you get the voucher or will they take an electronic version?

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk
You have to purchase something from a store in the days leading up to Thursday and they give you one. I gather it doesn't matter how little you spend.

Post by: Mattsglxr on January 16, 2018, 08:56:32 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180116/d4e204b889f109d4d4931291e1819f35.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180116/25ddcafae9cae80757de59b8995c1704.jpg)
I sold my caravan on the weekend and the bloke who bought it wanted my weight distribution hitch, stonestomper and McHitch so I needed to get a new wdh. I had already sussed out the new Hayman Reese system and because I need the longer drop shank was looking at $900+ and the new heads aren't compatible with the classic shanks. I kept my long drop shank as the new owners had a Prado which only needed the standard shank which I still had. Looking on eBay on Saturday and spotted an unused classic set which I picked up for $417 and can use my old drop shank. The set hadn't even been assembled so I am stoked.

Post by: fazza81 on January 18, 2018, 10:52:50 AM
Picked up a 2nd hand Truma A/C 3 years old for $350 as the old owner was told you couldn't by parts for it in AUS.
Post by: Swannie on January 20, 2018, 11:30:53 AM
Got a couple of supercharge batteries for the 200 today for a total of $300

They got a big sale on supercharge batteries today

Post by: Boots33 on February 21, 2018, 11:47:44 AM
Getawaeco have ex display cfx-95DZ2 fridges on sale for $1149.

http://www.getawaeco.com.au/index.php?action=view&com=com_products&itemid=184 (http://www.getawaeco.com.au/index.php?action=view&com=com_products&itemid=184)
Post by: Bird on March 01, 2018, 03:49:57 PM
New TV anyone
https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/364091 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/364091)
Post by: Bigfish on March 02, 2018, 07:52:06 AM
Alloy trailer for camper. Lightweight and portable.  I,m pissed because I just bought the same thing for $2200 delivered to Cairns!!

Bargain.

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/el-arish/boat-accessories-parts/boat-trailer/1176706662 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/el-arish/boat-accessories-parts/boat-trailer/1176706662)
Post by: Bigfish on March 02, 2018, 07:29:16 PM
Alloy trailer for camper. Lightweight and portable.  I,m pissed because I just bought the same thing for $2200 delivered to Cairns!!

Bargain.

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/el-arish/boat-accessories-parts/boat-trailer/1176706662 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/el-arish/boat-accessories-parts/boat-trailer/1176706662)

I have to go tomorrow and pick it up for a mate who just bought it.  Bargain alright.
Post by: DarWen on March 02, 2018, 07:33:23 PM
That pissed you told us twice, ;D ;D
Post by: prodigyrf on March 02, 2018, 08:06:47 PM
Depending on additional freight at $580 this is a cheap 3M retractable awning like the Fiamma F45 which is $925 delivered-
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NEW-Caravan-Awning-Roll-Out-3-0m-x-2-5m-NEW-Italian-Designed-Aluminium-Alloy/262961097570 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NEW-Caravan-Awning-Roll-Out-3-0m-x-2-5m-NEW-Italian-Designed-Aluminium-Alloy/262961097570)
Italian designed but made in China you'd expect. Came across it looking for a fabric replacement for my Fiamma but I managed to find Mick on Gumtree who'd make me one for $335 delivered so I'll stick with that.
Post by: Bigfish on March 03, 2018, 05:50:50 AM
That pissed you told us twice, ;D ;D

hhahaha.  Mate saw it and bought it about 4 hours after I posted.  He,s the sort of bloke who always seems to be lucky or always getting a bl;oody good deal no matter what he does!
Post by: terravista on March 06, 2018, 04:28:09 PM
Saw this ad on Facebook. Full sets of battery Milwaukee and DeWalt gear for less than $170.
Can't be a scam

http://www.continuedshop.com/ (http://www.continuedshop.com/)
Post by: Rumpig on March 06, 2018, 04:43:10 PM
Saw this ad on Facebook. Full sets of battery Milwaukee and DeWalt gear for less than $170.
Can't be a scam

i bet they get plenty that lay down their coin still
Post by: Bird on March 06, 2018, 04:47:09 PM
Can't be a scam

dotpaintings.com
Post by: glenm64 on March 27, 2018, 06:40:51 PM
For anyone thats into vinyl.
Amazon Australia have buy 1 get one free on vinyl. Spend over $50 and get free shipping to boot. Ends April 2nd I think.
Easy way to blow a couple of hungie, well it was for me  :)
Post by: Bird on April 18, 2018, 03:01:17 PM
https://www.kangarootentcity.com.au/ (https://www.kangarootentcity.com.au/) <- closing down sale...

Should be some bargains there.

CLOSING DOWN SALE - FINAL CLEARANCE - ALL STOCK MUST GO - ALL STORES - UP TO 66% OFF. WHILE STOCKS LAST. HURRY, FINAL DAYS. Camper Trailer Clearance - 45% off. Warehouse Clearance Centre open Monday to Friday.
Post by: grc on April 18, 2018, 03:34:33 PM
There is I pick up darche  air volution 1100 swag
for $400.00 retail $690.00 
 not a great deal off stock left sale has bean for a couple of week now
so I was told

CHEERS GRC  :cheers:
Post by: Ben.Archer on April 18, 2018, 06:22:45 PM
There is I pick up darche  air volution 1100 swag
for $400.00 retail $690.00 
 not a great deal off stock left sale has bean for a couple of week now
so I was told

CHEERS GRC  :cheers:

Looks like that has well gone - its $649 now https://www.kangarootentcity.com.au/products/category/ZLATCPPX-swags/10508 (https://www.kangarootentcity.com.au/products/category/ZLATCPPX-swags/10508) which is only 7% off list.  Not really worth it seeing as we won't be using it for next 6 months.
Post by: Bird on April 18, 2018, 06:57:53 PM
Looks like that has well gone - its $649 now https://www.kangarootentcity.com.au/products/category/ZLATCPPX-swags/10508 (https://www.kangarootentcity.com.au/products/category/ZLATCPPX-swags/10508) which is only 7% off list.  Not really worth it seeing as we won't be using it for next 6 months.
thats a bugger.... would have been nice at 400 if that was a genuine price.
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 21, 2018, 08:34:36 PM
For anyone thats into vinyl.
Amazon Australia have buy 1 get one free on vinyl. Spend over $50 and get free shipping to boot. Ends April 2nd I think.
Easy way to blow a couple of hungie, well it was for me  :)
I find that vinyl is not really as comfortable as rubber  >:D
Post by: edz on April 21, 2018, 09:02:16 PM
Could be for someone handy or has a handy mate      https://www.pickles.com.au/damaged-salvage/item/-/details/Eagle--Caravan/502435270 (https://www.pickles.com.au/damaged-salvage/item/-/details/Eagle--Caravan/502435270)
Post by: tryagain on April 21, 2018, 09:19:33 PM
If your a Rays and or a BCF member, it might be worth checking you emails, have got a $10 BCF voucher and a $20 Rays voucher in the last week or so. No minimum spend either.
Post by: corndog on April 22, 2018, 08:19:22 AM
Can't be a scam

Site does not even have a name. Payment method only by credit cards. I'll give it a miss.
Post by: Fizzie on April 22, 2018, 10:38:25 AM
Could be for someone handy or has a handy mate     

But is it at Warrnambool or Adelaide ???
Post by: edz on April 24, 2018, 05:21:10 PM
These might be handy for someone https://www.lloydsonline.com.au/LotDetails.aspx?smode=0&aid=8538&lid=1411498 (https://www.lloydsonline.com.au/LotDetails.aspx?smode=0&aid=8538&lid=1411498)
Post by: edz on May 04, 2018, 06:29:05 PM
Some poor Buggers Hard work stolen and Recovered .. Might be alright for some one https://www.pickles.com.au/damaged-salvage/item/-/details/01-18--Custom--Single-Axle-Caravan--Pop-Top-/1020081440 (https://www.pickles.com.au/damaged-salvage/item/-/details/01-18--Custom--Single-Axle-Caravan--Pop-Top-/1020081440)    ................     And another stolen / recovered
https://www.pickles.com.au/damaged-salvage/item/-/details/Campervan/2902216105 (https://www.pickles.com.au/damaged-salvage/item/-/details/Campervan/2902216105)
Post by: UmJamila on May 04, 2018, 06:30:18 PM
Scored a free metal Jerry can off my local Buy Nothing page on FB today. One less thing to buy :)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 04, 2018, 06:39:22 PM
Not quite as good,  I picked up 3 metal Jerry cans for $10.00ea.
All diesel fuel contents.  Even though they're painted red. 
Will go well with my soon to be HDJ105r.
I thought it was worth it.
Post by: UmJamila on May 04, 2018, 06:53:36 PM
Not quite as good,  I picked up 3 metal Jerry cans for $10.00ea.
All diesel fuel contents.  Even though they're painted red. 
Will go well with my soon to be HDJ105r.
I thought it was worth it.

Sounds great to me! I would have done it :)
Post by: Swannie on May 06, 2018, 08:21:53 PM
Brand new Weber baby q $200. Winning

Post by: Bird on May 11, 2018, 01:08:16 PM
From a mate
173 photos of amazing old Shit up for auction - you name it its there..

https://www.facebook.com/TmbaAuctionCentre (https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2094129440852480.1073741840.1623263474605748&type=3)

{ CAMP OVENS, BOILERS, WILLY'S JEEPS } { BLACKSMITHING, TRAPS, QLD BRAND DIRECTORIES }  Saddles, Tools, Radios, Cooking stuff, BRANDS, BOWSERS, GLASSWARE, SADDLES AXES } { PLOUGHS, ANVILS & HEAPS MORE }

Auction Saturday May 26th 8am Open from 6am
 Viewing Friday May 25th 8am - 3pm
 7 Rocla Court Toowoomba
 Contact Auctioneer Pat Dunne for any info 0413 18 20 22 or

Example:

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/31590516_2094129484185809_613331354322468864_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=f20bd8bba9daafafc5650406cdc72072&oe=5B9819C4)
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/31948232_2094131737518917_1070090844100362240_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=38325f185664c39e76abd71f0bf15319&oe=5B82B12D)
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/31914229_2094132017518889_1950070896488087552_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=44cd850164154b29a992adb991b44b9a&oe=5B99AC8A)
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/31841416_2094136514185106_2344402680136335360_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=255763acba60b0866401385000ddf84f&oe=5B8CA24A)

Camp Ovens?
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/31819302_2094132210852203_8188058749835935744_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=0d716ba01df244e1120077d9ec5453fa&oe=5B9D3A2F)
Post by: Paddler Ed on May 14, 2018, 08:18:50 PM
New Glow plugs for the Land Cruiser... $1 each...
http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/Product/Bosch-Glow-Plug-GPT-208/106807?menuFrom=1021578 (http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/Product/Bosch-Glow-Plug-GPT-208/106807?menuFrom=1021578)
(Mine are in the post already!)
Post by: Nomad on May 17, 2018, 07:27:05 AM
Got a delivery from Coles and the bloke left these.
I rang him to come grab them and he said I could keep them or chuck them as he was just allocated a new batch.
There very strong and fold flat

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180516/bbf55c9b027b99c8da2b164e4e0871c0.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180516/6df7b363c441ffade0465bec3238b4bd.jpg)
Post by: Pete79 on May 17, 2018, 07:47:03 AM
Score!
Old mate from Coles was quick to load his back onto the trolley when he saw me eyeing off the ones he’d left in the corner of our kitchen for a few minutes.

And I got my first ever bargain from Myers last night.
For the last few days I’ve been looking at business style backpacks for carry on luggage on an upcoming work trip trough Europe.
Last night I happened to search the Myer website (I never shop at Myers) and they had some click frenzy sale on that ended in 20 minutes.
$200 Samsonite backpack for $99, almost $30 cheaper then any online store. Happy with that.
Post by: Bird on May 17, 2018, 09:03:19 AM
Quote from: Pete79
And I got my first ever bargain from Myers last night.
Liar! Theres N E V E R in history been
- a bargain in myer
- anyone to serve you in myer
 ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: wakychapmans on May 17, 2018, 10:29:59 AM
Got a delivery from Coles and the bloke left these.

firewood baskets?

Post by: Pete79 on May 17, 2018, 12:03:51 PM
Liar! Theres N E V E R in history been
- a bargain in myer
- anyone to serve you in myer
 ;D ;D ;D ;D

Oh they are people there to serve, you just can't see them. ;)
If you have a man bun and a perfectly groomed beard you'll get a couple of them sneek out of the shadows to offer assistance.

But if you're a young black guy you'll have 30 of them hovering around you and following your every move through the whole store.....  :police:
Post by: Nomad on May 17, 2018, 05:58:36 PM
firewood baskets?

They can be used for anything I suppose. I just liked that they fold flat and aren't the crap plastic that splinters the first time you put anything in them, and they have verticle sides, and they stack really well........
Post by: Fizzie on May 18, 2018, 07:57:42 AM
Yeah, they're good gear

Surprised he left them, as they're a thing that they actually count & try to keep control of ???
Post by: jclures on May 18, 2018, 09:47:28 AM
I had a woolworths guy leave one here, the next week they had moved to a new style crate.
Post by: paul.o on May 18, 2018, 10:28:10 AM
We've got quite a few also. My wife had Coles deliver groceries once a week for work and they never bothered about last weeks crate. Jackpot!
Post by: tedota on May 18, 2018, 12:41:29 PM
Same here. did online order once and it came in 6-8 crates. Said they would pick the crates up on next order. We haven't ordered online again as some of the produce they deliver isn't as good as selecting it yourself instore.
They are also good for carrying stuff if you're going out to bbqs etc instead of it sliding around in the back of the car.

Much more room in the esky for drinks ;D
Post by: Nomad on May 18, 2018, 04:23:48 PM
Same here. did online order once and it came in 6-8 crates. Said they would pick the crates up on next order. We haven't ordered online again as some of the produce they deliver isn't as good as selecting it yourself instore.
They are also good for carrying stuff if you're going out to bbqs etc instead of it sliding around in the back of the car.

Much more room in the esky for drinks ;D

Yeah they'll also be perfect for the boat. Drinks and cold into a cooler bag, which takes up half a crate and the rest for dry stuff. Sits under the fold out seat at the back .
Post by: AdrianLR on June 03, 2018, 09:12:06 AM
Larger coolers at Bunnings West Footscray Vic.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180602/7a28466e5a73bc4f2e09fddadc5f3912.jpg)
Post by: tryagain on June 03, 2018, 08:19:48 PM
Pretty good value for a lifestyle walkthrough https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/212215272713758 (https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/212215272713758)
Post by: Fizzie on June 19, 2018, 04:30:06 PM
https://www.aussiebatteries.com.au/batteries/deep-cycle-agm/130ah-12v-agm-deep-cycle-battery?awt_l=CaKaY&awt_m=3Vk6caByA1R61c7 (https://www.aussiebatteries.com.au/batteries/deep-cycle-agm/130ah-12v-agm-deep-cycle-battery?awt_l=CaKaY&awt_m=3Vk6caByA1R61c7)

130ah AGM battery for $289.95, usually with free delivery!

Had one in the CT & was great :D
Post by: jk on June 19, 2018, 07:22:03 PM
Picked up a pair of these bad boys off eBay the other night, not bad for $261  :cup: , and they were a 15min drive from home  :cheers: . Their around $1400 new  >:( so would never spend that much on lights but these were too good to pass up !! The guy worked at TJM so I'm guessing he didn't pay full price either.

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on June 20, 2018, 08:31:53 PM
Not sayin they are Rolls Royce quality but you might want to pay a visit to ALDI this Saturday.
Not for the Baby Clothes either.

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-23-june/ (https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-23-june/)
Sliding Compound Circular Saw and stand for saw.
Hand held spotlight
Gassless Inverter MIG Welder
MAPP Gas torch.
1200W Router & Router bit set.
3.6KVA Inverter Generator set.
GAFFA Tape too.
Post by: Pete79 on June 21, 2018, 07:34:09 AM
Not sayin they are Rolls Royce quality but you might want to pay a visit to ALDI this Saturday.
Not for the Baby Clothes either.

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-23-june/ (https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-23-june/)
Hand held spotlight
Gassless Inverter MIG Welder
MAPP Gas torch.
1200W Router & Router bit set.
3.6KVA Inverter Generator set.
GAFFA Tape to.
I have the Router & Router bits & Router Table. For the little amount that I use them they’re perfect.
Had no dramas edging some hardwood window trimmings that I knocked up not so long ago.

Paid $50 for the Router and picked up each of the others marked down to ~$20 a few weeks after.
Had them for about 3 years now.
Post by: Bird on June 21, 2018, 09:14:43 AM
Quote from: jk
The guy worked at TJM
TJM... is that the name of the pub ???  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Bunyip on June 22, 2018, 04:21:45 PM

I let the magic smoke out of my drop saw less than a week ago.

If only they had Aldi's in Tassie (oh and I had the spare cash).
Post by: terravista on June 27, 2018, 01:46:27 PM
I received a text to say if you want a 10% discount off most items at Kogan use the code TAXTIME at checkout.
Post by: Charlie Brown on June 28, 2018, 04:55:50 AM
Post by: Bird on June 28, 2018, 04:01:05 PM
This appears reasonable...

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" 2017 16GB Wi-Fi - $189.05 Pickup / $198.05 Delivered @Bing Lee eBay

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/387693 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/387693)
Post by: Watty2975 on June 28, 2018, 06:41:03 PM
This appears reasonable...

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" 2017 16GB Wi-Fi - $189.05 Pickup / $198.05 Delivered @Bing Lee eBay

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/387693 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/387693)

That is a good price. We have bought some through work in bulk and was more expensive than that.
Post by: Bill on July 01, 2018, 07:10:11 AM
That’s a very good price.
I use one for all our maps and anything trip related on our travels.
I especially like that they take an SD card up to 128 gigs.
Especially nice being able to just put the SD card from the camera in the tablet and download all the photos.
Ours is wireless and Bluetooth so if it needs internet I can connect to my phone via personal hotspot.
Post by: corndog on July 07, 2018, 05:07:31 PM
Does it look dodgy ? ? ?
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/PROJECTA-12V-VOLT-DC-TO-DC-25A-AMP-BATTERY-CHARGER-AGM-DEEP-CYCLE-SOLAR-IDC25/202332356887?var=null (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/PROJECTA-12V-VOLT-DC-TO-DC-25A-AMP-BATTERY-CHARGER-AGM-DEEP-CYCLE-SOLAR-IDC25/202332356887?var=null)
Does to me.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 07, 2018, 05:19:22 PM
Never know, he may have rescued a container load, floating around somewhere. >:D >:D >:D
Post by: Rodt on July 08, 2018, 07:36:04 PM
Does it look dodgy ? ? ?
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/PROJECTA-12V-VOLT-DC-TO-DC-25A-AMP-BATTERY-CHARGER-AGM-DEEP-CYCLE-SOLAR-IDC25/202332356887?var=null (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/PROJECTA-12V-VOLT-DC-TO-DC-25A-AMP-BATTERY-CHARGER-AGM-DEEP-CYCLE-SOLAR-IDC25/202332356887?var=null)
Does to me.
The $70 postage might be the equaliser
Post by: corndog on July 09, 2018, 10:55:09 AM
Taking that into account it still only makes it $160. Cheapest here would be $245ish.
Post by: Marcus73 on July 09, 2018, 09:46:12 PM
Picked up a brand new Waeco Cf 25 for $450. Should be alright for a drinks fridge

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy
Post by: paceman on July 17, 2018, 06:49:48 PM
picked up a near-new (used 6 times) ISI 4x4x4 bike carrier, with extended hitch (which i needed for the pajero)...

$700... via gumtree (new price, delivered to me was closer to $1500)...

added bonus:  fellow swagger and all-round top bloke 'doc evil' responded to my swagmail request to pick up (seller only lived 20 minutes away) and drop off to me in mackay on his way to the cape...  :cup:

thanks to doc, his partner and family for being awesome.  the rack wasn't the smallest or lightest thing to lug around, but he saved me a motza...

(https://i.imgur.com/xIG0K2q.jpg)
Post by: Troopy_03 on July 28, 2018, 03:53:20 PM
Garage Sales again today. I picked up a Weber baby Q 1000 for $30.00 (I knocked him down from $40.00  ;D), in fairly decent looking condition. Got it home, went to test it out, and the knob markings were around the wrong way, and couldn't be selected according to the markings Off, Ignite, Low. At first I thought it must have the wrong knob fitted, because it only fits one way. I though bugger it, I'll light it up anyway, and see how it works. Hmm no gas out, no matter where you have the knob set.

I had a sudden brain flash, and thought.... "I bet he's pulled the valve apart, and put it back together wrong". I checked the securing nut, sure enough, finger tight... I removed the control valve, removed two screws from the top of the valve and opened it up to see how it worked. I rotated the cone so that it was 180deg from where it was, and refitted the valve top, so that now the pin in the spindle had to face 180 deg to match the slot in the cone. Put it all back together and voila it works like a charm.

Please note, I, in no way condone DIY gas appliance repair and maintenance, and highly recommend that you take your appliances to a licensed gas fitter for repairs. Along with your very full wallet

Especially if you can't pull something apart, and put it back together again properly.......  >:D >:D >:D
Post by: AdrianLR on July 29, 2018, 09:44:51 PM
Garage Sales again today. I picked up a Weber baby Q 1000 for $30.00 (I knocked him down from $40.00…

Especially if you can't pull something apart, and put it back together again properly.......  >:D >:D >:D
Good pickup. Bought one for $50 with a cover and almost full 9kg cylinder. Quick clean and sold on Gumtree for $120 with no haggling. Already have 3 Webers.

Picked up an outdoor gas heater with the glass tube a few months back. “Needs repair” said the ad. Called the guy “the o-ring’s perished”. $100 for a $450 heater. Actually needed to be pulled apart to clean the spiderweb out of the burner but again very simple task.

We are such a wasteful society because we’ve forgotten how to care for and fix things.
Post by: GeoffA on July 30, 2018, 07:34:25 AM
We are such a wasteful society because we’ve forgotten how to care for and fix things.

Agree with that Adrian. We used to be a nation of blokes that could fix stuff. Not any more....
Post by: Fizzie on July 30, 2018, 07:52:19 AM
Also agree, but most (?) things have a label on them somewhere "No user serviceable parts inside. For repair, contact an authorised service agent", so people think Stuff it, it's easier & cheaper to just get a new one :'(
Post by: tryagain on July 30, 2018, 08:15:54 AM
We are such a wasteful society because we’ve forgotten how to care for and it's now illegal in many instances to fix things.
Post by: Troopy_03 on July 30, 2018, 10:25:13 AM
I think it's more a case of people presuming it's illegal, rather than actually being illegal.. well in many cases.
Post by: Rumpig on July 30, 2018, 04:57:11 PM
Also agree, but most (?) things have a label on them somewhere "No user serviceable parts inside. For repair, contact an authorised service agent", so people think Stuff it, it's easier & cheaper to just get a new one :'(
many a time it doesn't cost much more for the part you need then buying a whole new item, so why wouldn't you buy a new one.
Post by: Pete79 on July 30, 2018, 05:23:49 PM
many a time it doesn't cost much more for the part you need then buying a whole new item, so why wouldn't you buy a new one.
Hence the 18 month old printer sitting on the floor outside my office right now. The callout fee for onsite repairs was more then a whole new unit. I needed a new one ASAP to keep working and couldn’t wait the week or more the repair shop needed.
I’m sure it’s something really simple and kept it for now, thinking about pulling it apart myself, if I can fix it up I might give it away on the swaggers giveaway thread. If I pull it apart and wreck it, I’ll take it to the e-waste recycle place.
Post by: Pete79 on July 30, 2018, 05:28:03 PM
Back on topic.
Today we paid the deposit on the a fully renovated house that we just bought in Brisbane for the grand total of $40k...

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180730/08a72b792155fdfbc2aad7b33f6b5bfd.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180730/e64a85b7420ac266e769093fed9bbe86.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180730/305f46a3f5ca8866c4d0de1d5c1c30ab.jpg)
Post by: Pottsy on July 30, 2018, 05:48:00 PM
Back on topic.
Today we paid the deposit on the a fully renovated house that we just bought in Brisbane for the grand total of $40k...

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180730/08a72b792155fdfbc2aad7b33f6b5bfd.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180730/e64a85b7420ac266e769093fed9bbe86.jpg)

40k or 400k?

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180730/305f46a3f5ca8866c4d0de1d5c1c30ab.jpg)
Post by: Pete79 on July 30, 2018, 05:54:16 PM

Forty.

The guy did the full ground up reno less then 6 years ago and was now going to demo it to build a modern Queenslander on the site.
All new electrical and plumbing throughout, all new interior walls (all asbestos gone), ceilings raised up to 9’, fully insulated, double glazed windows, new bath and kitchen.

Should be delivered to my block in about 10-12 weeks.

Edit;
Forgot to mention the 8m X 8m covered timber deck that comes with it. ;)
Post by: Paddler Ed on July 30, 2018, 06:04:18 PM
Ah, the classic the land is worth more than the house sitting on it.
Post by: Pottsy on July 30, 2018, 06:18:46 PM
Very nice, Ottawa be happy with that!  :cup:
Post by: tryagain on July 30, 2018, 07:23:36 PM
Back on topic.

You will have to start a thread on it, I have often wondered about transporting a house like that to a block of land so will be interesting to see what the hurdles are along the way. One that I have read of is finance, basically, the problem is a bank won't give you a loan to do it, they will revalue what you have once you have a certificate of occupancy and you can then remortgage at the new value but you need to be able to fund it in the short term at least.
Post by: Pete79 on July 30, 2018, 08:05:31 PM
will be interesting to see what the hurdles are along the way.

One big hurdle, it’s a huge hurdle actually... Local Council..
They hate relocated houses. :(

They put strict guidelines for how the house looks from the street and make you pay a $20k bond, if they’re not happy with the finished job they won’t sign it off and keep the bond until it’s up to their standards.
That’s why we only looked at places already renovated and had good facades. This one is a traditional double gable with a good pitch on the roof.

This is a granny flat for the inlaws, so has to be under 90m2. We got lucky with this one, it’s 88m2 and is the right shape to fit on one truck. Essentially a door to door delivery, all in one piece.

Fortunately we’re not dealing with banks, but I know they will cover the council bond, I assume that means they could cover the house as well.

Will start a thread at move time.
Post by: Rumpig on July 30, 2018, 08:34:39 PM
You will have to start a thread on it, I have often wondered about transporting a house like that to a block of land so will be interesting to see what the hurdles are along the way. One that I have read of is finance, basically, the problem is a bank won't give you a loan to do it, they will revalue what you have once you have a certificate of occupancy and you can then remortgage at the new value but you need to be able to fund it in the short term at least.
we've had to go in and repair a house that was moved onto a block before....the way they rejoined the rafters in the roof after they had cut them to lay the roof down for transport was an absolute joke. Watching the house mover guys on Outback Truckers doesn't fill me with confidence in thier building either.
Post by: rags on July 30, 2018, 08:40:38 PM
Pete your right the council are the 1st problem, what will no consistent policy for secondary buildings wastewater reports etc. Then there is the building certifier.
The certifier is going to want the house to be brought up to the current National Construction Code (2016) standard. This will affect things like wind loading ratings, tie down points, fire codes, energy efficiency certificates, glazing, certificates for aspects like waterproofing, glazing of shower screens etc.
See if you can get any certificates (form 16) you can from the current owner relating to the existing renovations. Mind you most of these certificates attach to the existing land and not the house so may not be acceptable.

Good score and good luck.
Post by: Pete79 on July 30, 2018, 09:16:27 PM
Pete your right the council are the 1st problem, what will no consistent policy for secondary buildings wastewater reports etc. Then there is the building certifier.
The certifier is going to want the house to be brought up to the current National Construction Code (2016) standard. This will affect things like wind loading ratings, tie down points, fire codes, energy efficiency certificates, glazing, certificates for aspects like waterproofing, glazing of shower screens etc.
See if you can get any certificates (form 16) you can from the current owner relating to the existing renovations. Mind you most of these certificates attach to the existing land and not the house so may not be acceptable.

Good score and good luck.
Funny you mention the building certifier....
I rang my guy that I used to approve our main house and the extension and the 2nd bathroom and the new shed and the 2nd driveway before I bought this house.
He was more then happy to take my money on all of the other work, but straight up declined to do anything for the relocated house.

Doesn’t surprise me though, why would you take on a job where you might have to do something more then stamp a piece of paper  for your hundreds and hundreds of dollars....

Plenty of other fish in the sea and the next phone call was to a company that was more then happy to work with relocated places.

You’re correct with everything needing to be brought up to current codes.
We did have an issue with bushfire zones, but looks like that is resolved.
My engineer is currently drawing up the plans for tying down the trusses and bracing. We’re all good with energy efficiency and glazing.

Thanks for mentioning getting the certificates from the work that’s been done recently.
That’s a great point and the current/former owner is a great guy, I’m sure he’ll be more then happy to give me what he can.

@rumpig,
I happened to look at a house in the yard of the company that was in outback truckers recently.
They absolutely hacked the trusses into pieces, I couldn’t see anyway to make them structural again (well not without seriously major work).
That specific house had be split in half for transport on 2 trucks. It was destroyed.
The rear wall had blown out, the ceiling had collapsed in both sections, all of the ceiling fans were bent and broken, the reasonably new kitchen had been smashed and needed to be ripped out and replaced. The sliding glass doors hadn’t been strapped properly and smashed all over the floor.
We couldn’t get out of that yard fast enough.

We had inspected other yards and didn’t see anything close to that level of damage.
It really looked like the crew working on that house just didn’t give a crap.
Post by: Rumpig on July 30, 2018, 10:20:17 PM
@rumpig,
I happened to look at a house in the yard of the company that was in outback truckers recently.
They absolutely hacked the trusses into pieces, I couldn’t see anyway to make them structural again (well not without seriously major work).
That specific house had be split in half for transport on 2 trucks. It was destroyed.
The rear wall had blown out, the ceiling had collapsed in both sections, all of the ceiling fans were bent and broken, the reasonably new kitchen had been smashed and needed to be ripped out and replaced. The sliding glass doors hadn’t been strapped properly and smashed all over the floor.
We couldn’t get out of that yard fast enough.

We had inspected other yards and didn’t see anything close to that level of damage.
It really looked like the crew working on that house just didn’t give a crap.
pretty much how they look on the show then.......the house we repaired didn't look bad on the outside, it was only when you climbed in the roof you got a nasty surprise. The way they had cleated undersized pieces of timber with batten screws to the old rafters they'd cut in half was pretty laughable if it wasn't so serious, it really wasn't hard to use the right sized timber and bolts like we did to repair it (would have been alot easier with no roof iron on). Obviously there's good and bad removalist's out there, I hope yours goes well, you seem to have half an idea what to look for by the sounds of it.
Post by: rags on July 30, 2018, 10:31:05 PM
Funny you mention the building certifier....
I rang my guy that I used to approve our main house and the extension and the 2nd bathroom and the new shed and the 2nd driveway before I bought this house.
He was more then happy to take my money on all of the other work, but straight up declined to do anything for the relocated house

Don't be hard on the certifier, the poor buggered are being bent over and stuffed. Insurance is killing them. My work colleague is a non practicing certifier, he has to maintain insurance to cover him for his previous work in certifying and he has just receive his insurance renewal which is $24000. His broker told him that it is unlikely to reduce anytime soon but likely to rise. He is obligated to maintain this for the life of the buildings he has certified previously.

Why so much, because they take all the risk, long after the builders 6 or 7 year defect warranty expires and it can be attributed to events like Grenfall building fire UK and non- conforming building products becoming an issue.
I can't think of any other industry that you are still responsible long after clocking off on the job.
Certifies are jacking up there rates to try and cover this anomaly.
Post by: #jonesy on July 31, 2018, 05:43:18 AM
I would of thought the insurance he had at the time if the work would cover him and not havee to keep paying more.
Post by: Fizzie on July 31, 2018, 09:46:08 AM
One big hurdle, it’s a huge hurdle actually... Local Council..

They put strict guidelines for how the house looks from the street

Down here the Council will allow backyard granny-flats, but they have to look the same as the main house ie brick house so must have brick flat, even if there's no way of it being seen from the street :'(
Post by: Pete79 on July 31, 2018, 10:05:05 AM
Down here the Council will allow backyard granny-flats, but they have to look the same as the main house ie brick house so must have brick flat, even if there's no way of it being seen from the street :'(
The general rules here are pretty good.
For rural properties (like ours) granny flats have to be clearly separate dwellings, no bigger then 90m2 and all dwellings combined can’t take up more then 50% of the total land area.
It’s just that they worry about people buying rundown 100 year old houses, dropping them on a block of land and never fixing them up. Obviously the council don’t want blocks full of dilapidated house all over the place. So all relocated houses have to apply for an Amenities and Aesthetics approval, this is where they set the bond for the house you want to put on the block.
It’s supposed to give you incentive to finish the job to a high standard, but what it actually does is takes $20k out of your reno budget and makes it harder for most people to afford a high quality finish....
Post by: rags on July 31, 2018, 07:00:53 PM

It’s supposed to give you incentive to finish the job to a high standard, but what it actually does is takes $20k out of your reno budget and xxxx

and gives you $20k back at the end of the job to go camping with to recover.
Post by: Fizzie on August 01, 2018, 04:34:17 PM
& Pete, just a couple of things to check while you're moving the house >:D

http://www.engineeringdaily.net/3-questions-for-an-engineer/ (http://www.engineeringdaily.net/3-questions-for-an-engineer/)
Post by: Rumpig on August 01, 2018, 05:40:15 PM
& Pete, just a couple of things to check while you're moving the house >:D

http://www.engineeringdaily.net/3-questions-for-an-engineer/ (http://www.engineeringdaily.net/3-questions-for-an-engineer/)
waterfront property now, worth a fortune... 8)
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2018, 09:33:04 AM
Got this in our club email some maybe interested in ...
Seems like a good cause that some maybe interested in going to.

---------------------------------------------------------------
I would like to take this opportunity to invite you & every one of your members to 4wd Supacentre Lilydale's very first Club Night.

We are right in the midst of releasing some very exciting new lines for the upcoming season, you may have already seen a sneak peek of our new Fridges & Open Case Generator lines.  These among many other new trinkets will be on display.

Brenno from 4wd Action will be on-site to perform product demonstrations & comparisons.

We will also have a couple of the 4wd Action vehicles on site.

There will also be a Sausage Sizzle & Meat tray raffles with 100% of the proceeds going to The Aussie Farmer Drought Appeal
That's right, 100% of all money raised will be donated.
Post by: Troopy_03 on August 08, 2018, 12:17:50 PM

I would like to take this opportunity to invite you & every one of your members to 4wd Supacentre Lilydale's very first Club Night.

We are right in the midst of releasing some very exciting new lines for the upcoming season, you may have already seen a sneak peek of our new Fridges & Open Case Generator lines.  These among many other new trinkets will be on display.

Brenno from 4wd Action will be on-site to perform product demonstrations & comparisons.

There will also be a Sausage Sizzle & Meat tray raffles with 100% of the proceeds going to The Aussie Farmer Drought Appeal

That should get a few more customers through the door eh. But wouldn't they seem more genuine if they were raffling off a major prize to raise money? I dunno call me cynical, but you'd think they'd spring for more than a sausage sizzle and meet tray raffle if they really wanted to raise a decent amount of money for the farmers.
Post by: Fizzie on August 09, 2018, 08:49:19 AM
Bunnings have the same thing running tmw - every store Oz wide is having their barbie manned by staff with all funds raised going to drought relief.
Post by: DrewXT on August 09, 2018, 07:06:35 PM

I got the same from Nic the other night, and had a chat to him on the phone.  I think a few of our members are going

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on August 10, 2018, 09:04:02 AM
I got the same from Nic the other night, and had a chat to him on the phone.  I think a few of our members are going
Have had more of the exact same email now from different peoples there.. they must be not doing well business wise. LMAO :D
Post by: Fizzie on August 10, 2018, 01:10:59 PM
Just saw this on another forum.

Anybody near Laverton Vic BCF?

80% off storewide today and finishes tomorrow (store closing).

https://imgur.com/a/Sko8Cb6 (https://imgur.com/a/Sko8Cb6)

Finishes today so not much time left, sorry :'(
Post by: Bird on August 12, 2018, 01:36:14 AM
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/150db-Truck-Mega-Train-Single-Trumpet-Loud-Air-Horn-w-Compressor-Lorry-Chrome-/401476594503 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/150db-Truck-Mega-Train-Single-Trumpet-Loud-Air-Horn-w-Compressor-Lorry-Chrome-/401476594503)
 8) 8) 8)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 17, 2018, 10:08:08 PM
Next Wednesday.

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-wed-22-august/ (https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-wed-22-august/)

10.1" DVD player  $69.99

For those that need entertainment on the road.
Post by: tryagain on August 20, 2018, 10:46:15 AM
Was just in Bunnings and looks like they have a knockoff  OzTent King Kokoda, it was by their Marquee brand and had something to do with king in its name, looked ok from a quick look and was quite comfortable to sit in. I can't find it on their website and was in the middle of an idle for anyone who is interested but was a grand total of only $29
Post by: paceman on August 21, 2018, 12:25:56 PM
Was just in Bunnings and looks like they have a knockoff  OzTent King Kokoda, it was by their Marquee brand and had something to do with king in its name, looked ok from a quick look and was quite comfortable to sit in. I can't find it on their website and was in the middle of an idle for anyone who is interested but was a grand total of only $29

just picked one of these up today (called the marquee king chair)... very comfortable and appears to be of a decent quality... quite light too...

for $29 for the old boy for father's day, it will be just fine... :)  he doesn't use it all the time...

they were all in a pallet-sized carton in the main centre aisle in my local bunnings (near the esky aisle), standing on their end, with a light brown carry bag...
Post by: paceman on August 21, 2018, 04:26:56 PM
got this delivered today as well (and hopefully turns out to be a bit of a bargain, at least)...  ;D

(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/K2MAAOSw7N5anhD6/s-l500.png)

$258 with free delivery, for a 130ah battery with a 2 year warranty...

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/130AH-12V-AGM-SEALED-DEEP-CYCLE-RECHARGEABLE-BATTERY-CARAVAN-4WD-MARINE/272988458281?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/130AH-12V-AGM-SEALED-DEEP-CYCLE-RECHARGEABLE-BATTERY-CARAVAN-4WD-MARINE/272988458281?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649)
Post by: prodigyrf on August 22, 2018, 12:31:16 AM
And one for under the bonnet as it seems Mitsubishi's original Hitachi flooded batteries aren't for sale in Oz-
https://www.everybattery.com.au/proddetail.php?prod=N-145D31R (https://www.everybattery.com.au/proddetail.php?prod=N-145D31R)
Post by: DrewXT on August 25, 2018, 07:19:50 PM
Scored a couple of Malamoo popup tents today, a 4 man, and a 3 man for $350...

The 4 man was only put up once to take a photo...

Will be handy when I go away solo with kids, and can't use the swag

Post by: Troopy_03 on August 25, 2018, 07:37:55 PM
Scored a couple of Malamoo popup tents today, a 4 man, and a 3 man for $350...

The 4 man was only put up once to take a photo...

Will be handy when I go away solo with kids, and can't use the swag

Let me guess.. Gumtree?
Need it gone, unwanted gift, moving to a smaller house and this doesn't fit, brand new only set up for the photo...  ;D

Sounds like you got a bargain though.
Post by: DrewXT on August 25, 2018, 07:58:56 PM
Let me guess.. Gumtree?
Need it gone, unwanted gift, moving to a smaller house and this doesn't fit, brand new only set up for the photo...  ;D

Sounds like you got a bargain though.
Guy who's a member of our 4wd Club.  He's getting on a bit, and I've now bought 3 tents of him.

Our Black Wolf 240 Plus that they used once and his wife didn't like sleeping in, and now the two Malamoo popups...

He sold his Amarok for a Passat wagon, and decided a couple of weekends ago that he's unlikely to go camping again...

I offered him more, but he wouldn't take it

Post by: Troopy_03 on August 26, 2018, 12:37:28 PM
Guy who's a member of our 4wd Club.  He's getting on a bit, and I've now bought 3 tents of him.

Our Black Wolf 240 Plus that they used once and his wife didn't like sleeping in, and now the two Malamoo popups...

He sold his Amarok for a Passat wagon, and decided a couple of weekends ago that he's unlikely to go camping again...

I offered him more, but he wouldn't take it

Yeah, I was only havin a larf, about the line I highlighted. It, along with the others, are used in every second Gumtree ad.
Post by: Bird on September 06, 2018, 03:16:14 PM
50k for 5 acre weekender?
https://www.realestate.com.au/property-other-vic-graytown-7984942 (https://www.realestate.com.au/property-other-vic-graytown-7984942)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on September 06, 2018, 06:32:09 PM
The shed isn't full of ride on Mowers and slasher parts is it?  >:D >:D >:D
Post by: Bird on September 14, 2018, 03:36:31 PM
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5" SATA Internal Solid State Drive SSD
$249.30 Delivered
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/292573799764 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/292573799764)
Post by: paceman on September 14, 2018, 04:35:10 PM
$249.30 Delivered
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/292573799764 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/292573799764)

that's a good price... i guess it depends on if you trust the seller...
Post by: Marcus73 on September 14, 2018, 04:45:59 PM
$249.30 Delivered

That's awesome..... if only I knew what the hell it was 😊

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy
Post by: Bird on September 14, 2018, 04:51:23 PM
Quote from: paceman

Shame the 4TB's are $1400 :'(

Quote from: Marcus73
That's awesome..... if only I knew what the hell it was 😊
(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/gX7-AFc_5-Q/hqdefault.jpg)
Post by: DrewXT on September 14, 2018, 06:18:11 PM
I saw it on ozbargain, and I've never heard of the seller...

Post by: Ozsnowman on September 17, 2018, 10:48:31 AM
Jaycar have a couple of refurbished solar panels at the moment:

https://www.jaycar.com.au/manufacturer-refurbished-120w-portable-fold-up-solar-panel/p/JZ9134 (https://www.jaycar.com.au/manufacturer-refurbished-120w-portable-fold-up-solar-panel/p/JZ9134) 120W for $149
and
https://www.jaycar.com.au/manufacturer-refurbished-80w-portable-fold-up-solar-panel/p/JZ9130 (https://www.jaycar.com.au/manufacturer-refurbished-80w-portable-fold-up-solar-panel/p/JZ9130) 80W for $99.95

.......best thing is with today's eBay plus sale, the 80W is down to $84.96 delivered (don't think that the 120W is part of it - no eBay plus logo comes up on that in my eBay app anyways). I've ordered one to go on top of my ute hehe :)
Post by: Bird on September 17, 2018, 12:18:42 PM
NVIDIA Shield 4K HDR Media Player with Remote $203.15 Delivered
https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/403543 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/403543)
Post by: Raym on September 19, 2018, 08:09:15 PM
Wasn't sure where this belongs but could be a bargain or not.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MeuHqjuLqZ4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MeuHqjuLqZ4)
Post by: Bird on September 27, 2018, 02:33:20 PM
they need all the help they can get...

Toyota Owners - Save 8c/L at Participating Caltex Outlets via myToyota App (Free to Join) 27/09 - 02/10

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/405305 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/405305)
Post by: jclures on September 27, 2018, 09:36:41 PM
I don't think the Nisota will cut the mustard on the Toyota App. ;D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on September 27, 2018, 11:57:19 PM
I know its probably been done to death, but Aldi have a wide range of Camping equipment on offer this Weekend.

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-29-september/ (https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-29-september/)
Post by: terravista on September 28, 2018, 11:57:19 AM
Should be some bargains at McDonalds auctions at Neon St Sumner In Brisbane Western Suburbs next Tuesday.
I have no affiliation but have seen good gear go for a small percentage of retail, and some go for above retail when a few idiots get involved.
This auction has heaps of camping and lighting and vehicle accessories and fridges and first aid and recovery and half decent hamburgers from the snack caravan.

http://www.mcdonaldauctions.com.au/hardware-photos/ (http://www.mcdonaldauctions.com.au/hardware-photos/)

http://www.mcdonaldauctions.com.au/hardware-photos/nggallery/page/2 (http://www.mcdonaldauctions.com.au/hardware-photos/nggallery/page/2)
Post by: Bird on October 05, 2018, 08:26:20 AM
https://www.facebook.com/events/2147073882286430/ (https://www.facebook.com/events/2147073882286430/)
https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/407100 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/407100)

Mt Waverley
Event will include:
- Heavily discounted fuel of 20-30cents from 11am to 5pm
- Forecourt service for all customers
- Free snacks & QFix food offers
- Free barista coffee & food giveaways
- Free automatic carwash from 11-5pm
Post by: Bird on October 09, 2018, 10:15:52 AM
GoPro Hero 7 Black $471.20,
Hero 7 Silver $351.20, + $5.26 Delivery @ TheGoodGuys eBay Store

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/407853 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/407853)
Post by: Rumpig on October 09, 2018, 11:29:39 AM
GoPro Hero 7 Black $471.20,
Hero 7 Silver $351.20, + $5.26 Delivery @ TheGoodGuys eBay Store

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/407853 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/407853)
makes me wonder where my GoPro is, reckon I used it a handful of times in the 5 odd years I have owned it....misses bought it for me as a present one year, but I actually wanted a dash cam instead...lol.
Post by: Bird on October 10, 2018, 04:16:54 PM
Quote from: Rumpig
makes me wonder where my GoPro is, reckon I used it a handful of times in the 5 odd years I have owned it....misses bought it for me as a present one year, but I actually wanted a dash cam instead...lol.
When you find it send it to me :)
Post by: Bird on October 10, 2018, 04:18:35 PM
Webber Q's..

is this cheap?
Weber Family Q(ebay.com.au) now down to $567.20 C&C
Weber Q(ebay.com.au) now down to $329.60 C&C
Weber Baby Q(ebay.com.au) now down to $255.20 C&C

Full range of accessories also seem to be available - Just a few that I've selected are below
Family Q Half Hotplate(ebay.com.au) down to $60 C&C
Q Half Hotplate(ebay.com.au) down to $55.20 C&C
Baby Q Half Hotplate(ebay.com.au) down to $47.20 C&C
Weber Breakfast Plate for Q and Family Q models(ebay.com.au) down to $35.20
Weber Breakfast Plate for Baby Q(ebay.com.au) down to $27.20 C&C
Weber Q Grill Pan(ebay.com.au) down to $29.56 C&C
Weber Small Fry Pan(ebay.com.au) down to $65.95 C&C
Weber Large Fry Pan(ebay.com.au) down to $68.00 C&C

Good Guys Ebay store.
http://www.ebaystores.com.au/The-Good-Guys-Australia/_i.html?_nkw=weber&submit=Search&_sid=1136738302 (http://www.ebaystores.com.au/The-Good-Guys-Australia/_i.html?_nkw=weber&submit=Search&_sid=1136738302)
Post by: whitey001 on October 16, 2018, 08:13:51 PM
Picked up an ex shop display toolbox from Supercheap Auto last week. Slightly dented bottom corner that straightend out when i bolted the castors on the bottom. No tools and a few light scratches but for $50 i wasn't complaining

Al.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on October 16, 2018, 08:53:02 PM
Well done Whitey, I confess to being just a bit jealous, ok.  :cup: :cup: :cheers:
Post by: Bird on October 17, 2018, 06:54:49 AM
Quote from: whitey001
but for $50 i wasn't complaining
****in Score!
I'll give ya 55 for it :D
Post by: rockrat on October 25, 2018, 07:03:38 PM
Still thinking about whether or not this is a bargain so thought I’d ask the My Swag brains trust.

Rays Outdoors sent me a $20 voucher and I noticed that they also have a pretty good discount on their Expedition swags - single for $119 less $20 = $99 and $40 more for the double.

So, are the expedition swags worth it and if so, should I go single or double given I will be using it alone and double is obviously bigger and heavier?
Post by: speewa158 on October 25, 2018, 07:07:08 PM
Still thinking about whether or not this is a bargain so thought I’d ask the My Swag brains trust.

Rays Outdoors sent me a $20 voucher and I noticed that they also have a pretty good discount on their Expedition swags - single for $119 less $20 = $99 and $40 more for the double.

So, are the expedition swags worth it and if so, should I go single or double given I will be using it alone and double is obviously bigger and heavier?

Go the Double ,,,,,,,,Find a Friend ,,,,,,,, >:D
Post by: tryagain on November 03, 2018, 07:24:09 AM
Looks good at this price, looks like it should be able to use for two single axle setups https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Caravan-3500-kgs-independant-suspension-by-component-engineering/142994655089 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Caravan-3500-kgs-independant-suspension-by-component-engineering/142994655089)
Post by: sparksy on November 05, 2018, 09:49:05 PM
My wife wanted to go to Spotlight so tagged along and while she looked at yarn I went into Anaconda.  Glad I did.
Got a new Waeco cover for my little CF18  for $5   reduced from $99.

(https://photos-4.dropbox.com/t/2/AAD-jpNoVvaJ8ltnZcqcgzO_ydmTnS1-y5FYBui9zH_nhg/12/289117637/jpeg/32x32/1/_/1/2/102_1498.JPG/EKuYqJcCGLIBIAcoBw/jecrQUkRfgulubSwlihG9TA-PP7olZie8TLosK73yqs?size=256x256&size_mode=2)
(https://photos-2.dropbox.com/t/2/AABSqrJrV3STI8gy_mBU-_m3eWPHmVmNVLmOG4MCZezh4A/12/289117637/jpeg/32x32/1/_/1/2/102_1500.JPG/EKuYqJcCGLQBIAcoBw/v7IMbDtt1rKy3G2QnNULFbMv_L-AZN5NqPOtY5NeqY0?size=256x256&size_mode=2)

There were also new covers for CF110 waecos also $5 so took a punt that they would fit my old Coolmatic 110. Got 3 at that price ( down from $150)  but will have move the fan position on the fridge to match the cover.  The old Coolmatic must be 25 years old now.

(https://photos-4.dropbox.com/t/2/AADZBFWhVMp47n4jlkallmiSj5WYGwuLDTOxJb3ArcDyvw/12/289117637/jpeg/32x32/1/_/1/2/102_1501.JPG/EKuYqJcCGLYBIAcoBw/vkGBNmxaXiTNX-aNzvcbA_--gn5wdSMB3hXIWsItgY4?size=256x256&size_mode=2)

also picked up a Coleman 700 Lumen torch for $15  and a 24 foot caravan cover for $30
Post by: JusyApples on November 09, 2018, 08:14:56 AM
My wife wanted to go to Spotlight so tagged along and while she looked at yarn I went into Anaconda.  Glad I did.
Got a new Waeco cover for my little CF18  for $5   reduced from $99.

(https://photos-4.dropbox.com/t/2/AAD-jpNoVvaJ8ltnZcqcgzO_ydmTnS1-y5FYBui9zH_nhg/12/289117637/jpeg/32x32/1/_/1/2/102_1498.JPG/EKuYqJcCGLIBIAcoBw/jecrQUkRfgulubSwlihG9TA-PP7olZie8TLosK73yqs?size=256x256&size_mode=2)
(https://photos-2.dropbox.com/t/2/AABSqrJrV3STI8gy_mBU-_m3eWPHmVmNVLmOG4MCZezh4A/12/289117637/jpeg/32x32/1/_/1/2/102_1500.JPG/EKuYqJcCGLQBIAcoBw/v7IMbDtt1rKy3G2QnNULFbMv_L-AZN5NqPOtY5NeqY0?size=256x256&size_mode=2)

There were also new covers for CF110 waecos also $5 so took a punt that they would fit my old Coolmatic 110. Got 3 at that price ( down from $150)  but will have move the fan position on the fridge to match the cover.  The old Coolmatic must be 25 years old now.

(https://photos-4.dropbox.com/t/2/AADZBFWhVMp47n4jlkallmiSj5WYGwuLDTOxJb3ArcDyvw/12/289117637/jpeg/32x32/1/_/1/2/102_1501.JPG/EKuYqJcCGLYBIAcoBw/vkGBNmxaXiTNX-aNzvcbA_--gn5wdSMB3hXIWsItgY4?size=256x256&size_mode=2)

also picked up a Coleman 700 Lumen torch for $15  and a 24 foot caravan cover for $30

Anaconda used to be my go to place for camping equipment. But over the last year it's turned more into a clothing store then a camping store. Only a small corner dedicated to camping gear.
Post by: Pete79 on November 12, 2018, 04:27:46 PM
Anaconda used to be my go to place for camping equipment. But over the last year it's turned more into a clothing store then a camping store. Only a small corner dedicated to camping gear.
Bit like BCF.

Fishing, clothing, fishing, little bit of boating, fishing, clothing, electronic gadgets, fishing, and a small dark corner of crappy camping gear.
Post by: Alan Loy on November 13, 2018, 06:27:38 AM
So who is doing decent camping gear?

Title: Re: Re: Have you found a bargain - 2018 version
Post by: geopaj on November 13, 2018, 07:13:50 AM
So who is doing decent camping gear?

Snowys (SA, QLD, or online), Tentworld, or small independent shops.
Post by: Pete79 on November 13, 2018, 07:23:52 AM
Tentworld is my pick.

I liked kangaroo tent city when we lived in Sydney and before they shut down the Parramatta store.

I haven’t actually walked into a Kelly’s store yet.

Anaconda are ok for the basics.
If you know what you want and not in a rush to get it, you can watch out for the anaconda sales and pay a fair price. If your not getting at least 30% off at anaconda you’re getting ripped off (because at some point in the next couple of months that item will be on sale for at least 30% off).
Post by: doc evil on November 13, 2018, 08:42:25 AM
second for tentworld
Post by: Bird on November 21, 2018, 08:45:41 AM
https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/417483 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/417483)

NVIDIA Shield TV Streaming Media Player $168, Shield w/ Controller $228 + Delivery (Free with Shipster) @ Kogan

Love my shield :D
Post by: speewa158 on November 22, 2018, 08:44:49 PM
https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/417483 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/417483)

NVIDIA Shield TV Streaming Media Player $168, Shield w/ Controller $228 + Delivery (Free with Shipster) @ Kogan

Love my shield :D

& what in SAMHELL is that supposed to do        ??? ???
Post by: Bigfish on November 23, 2018, 05:09:47 AM
& what in SAMHELL is that supposed to do        ??? ???

Glorified media player that are a dime a dozen now!! :cheers:
Post by: Bird on November 23, 2018, 01:42:38 PM
Glorified media player that are a dime a dozen now!! :cheers:
Yep and they do it so well... loving Plex through the NAS and 1100 movies... my old boss now has a massive 4K collection too, but they are upto 80g in size each :(
Post by: tryagain on November 23, 2018, 04:57:49 PM
Apparently BIG4 Holiday Parks Membership (Perks+) $25 (50% off) (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/419313) is a good deal if you like to stay at them.
Post by: DrewXT on November 23, 2018, 06:33:04 PM
I see a Synology DS918+ with Ironwolf 8TB drives in my near future thanks to the eBay 20% off black friday sales!!

Post by: Pete79 on December 10, 2018, 07:47:01 PM
Spare tyre bag for $30.

https://www.bcf.com.au/p/xtm-4wd-spare-wheel-bag/562724.html?cgid=BCF0510#prefn1=brand&segment=2&prefv1=XTM&page=1 (https://www.bcf.com.au/p/xtm-4wd-spare-wheel-bag/562724.html?cgid=BCF0510#prefn1=brand&segment=2&prefv1=XTM&page=1)
Post by: Fizzie on December 20, 2018, 11:26:09 AM
Has anybody checked out the Aldi "Woodfire camp oven" ???

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/christmas/gifting/gifting-detail/ps/p/woodfire-camp-oven-1/ (https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/christmas/gifting/gifting-detail/ps/p/woodfire-camp-oven-1/)

Looks a lot like an OzPig to me, but one hell of a lot cheaper! ;D
Post by: Pottsy on December 20, 2018, 11:32:04 AM
Has anybody checked out the Aldi "Woodfire camp oven" ???

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/christmas/gifting/gifting-detail/ps/p/woodfire-camp-oven-1/ (https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/christmas/gifting/gifting-detail/ps/p/woodfire-camp-oven-1/)

Looks a lot like an OzPig to me, but one hell of a lot cheaper! ;D
d

Same as the unit on 4wdsupacentre site, I've got one, works ok, I've added a grill to the internal base of mine plus some more venting on the door. Paint may burn off when you get her real hot but for that money who cares.