Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506380 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #575 on: December 15, 2017, 02:55:18 PM »
I've been chasing the final piece in the puzzle for the details of the dealership our Cadillac came from.
I'd been told, it was purchased in L.A. and then driven home to Hanford Ca., but that's a long way to go to special order a car.

I obtained the build sheet for the car, but the Heritage Centre still couldn't give the final info.

I got onto a guy in the states who could decipher the outlet code and got the following.

Quote: ""For 1964 model year, 765019 represents Visalia Motor Sales, 212-214 East Acequia Street, Visalia, California. 
The business name and address are from a 1964 telephone directory.

The outlet code itself is the result of the late Matt Larson's work for GM Heritage Center.  GM's contractor, Allied-Vaughn,
may not have remembered to check Matt's notes when you inquired.  They have that outlet number and its connection to
Visalia, but probably not the street address.  Matt found the number in a MY1963 document relating to a special request
order that named the city, if not also the dealer.  Visalia is relatively close to Hanford, more or less due east of Hanford."" Unquote.

In actual fact, its only 33.1 miles from the Dealership to the owners address back in 1964 and this final bit of information, means I have the complete history of our car from day #1 to the present time.

I also found this interesting....the car that followed ours off the assembly line was a sister car in so many ways.
Our car:  64 M 106761...64 Fleetwood Sixty Special, Aspen white, turquoise interior.
Next car: 64 M 106762...64 Fleetwood Sixty Special, Aspen white, light blue interior.

Out of all the Deville's and the rest, it would've looked very cool seeing two gleaming white, top end Fleetwood's, end to end coming off the line.

I'd pay good money for a photo of that.

The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #576 on: December 15, 2017, 02:58:20 PM »

A railroad crew cab...1962..Only 6 were ever built.

« Reply #577 on: December 15, 2017, 07:35:27 PM »
Yeah I know, 63 model's .. But probably the closest we out here are going to find in Youtube land https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AM8lW6y1qDg  ...   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mqN5hkUUNQI  ... 

« Reply #578 on: December 16, 2017, 01:49:53 AM »
Yeah, I've seen both those clips. They're cool, but they seem bigger in real life than they appear on film.

The two white 63's do look nice.

The engine bay of a Torana that turned up for our Cars n Coffee morning. (We had 20 cars last Sunday)
Pretty good I reckon for here.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2017, 01:52:17 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #579 on: December 16, 2017, 09:18:23 AM »
 Looks a nice LC there Kev .
:'(   LC Torana GTR all original for $1900, Back in the day I fell in love with a white one that was going to be  my first car,  But my old man wouldnt loan me the extra $700 I needed ..
He didnt like my next choice either, A two door HB Torana with a worked 308 slotted in, Kept going on  about its too much power for the body and unsafe,  the brakes wouldnt be big enough ... " Brakes and power Ppfffttt "  what would he know ?  that a 17 yro  Wannabe pro racer didnt, besides that it had pretty blue metalic paint and mags ..   ;D ;D

« Reply #580 on: December 19, 2017, 10:07:02 AM »
Oh yes please.

But the price ??? WTF?
Price: AU $225,000.00

The No-1 Holden EK 225-1-A Sedan Cataract Grey / Garrison Grey Museum Piece!
Date of Manufacture:  05/1961
VIN (Vehicle Identification Number):  EK 2023 A
Kilometres:  28,000

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/162809708804/

« Reply #581 on: December 19, 2017, 01:15:34 PM »
Mint looking EK, but the owner is on drugs thinking anywhere near that price.

I've never heard of one in "Cataract" Grey / Garrison Grey.

One of my customers calls my car a Cataract.  ???

« Reply #582 on: December 20, 2017, 05:38:03 AM »
Tried to lift something over, didn't work, now lost in space with the Jupiter 2.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2017, 05:39:41 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #583 on: December 20, 2017, 09:38:48 AM »
Silly bugger.

« Reply #584 on: December 20, 2017, 06:05:06 PM »

« Reply #585 on: December 21, 2017, 10:30:49 AM »
Why cant I walk into a barn and find something like this

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/322939017856 :(

The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #586 on: December 21, 2017, 11:51:34 AM »

Wheres the Way bay machine when you need one to go back in time ...
A mate and I  pulled a damaged one out of  a large clump of Lantana that was beside an old half collapsed shed on an overgrown farm  back in the mid eighties ....
Very second hand with a fair bit of rust in the floors, fuel tank,  doors, mouldy interior rotted and rats nested from the windows being down a bit , all the hydraulics were shot .. Got the motor  going but wasnt good, sticking valves carby stuffed didnt have an air cleaner on it and the bonnet had been left up for best part of 10 years ..
From memory he paid about a  grand for it and flogged it a month or so later for about $1500 .We did get it drive sort of, well enough to go on a car trailer . Dont know how it ended up after that .
He used that money to help buy a Monza Red XC GS 351 that just needed a freshen up .
« Last Edit: December 21, 2017, 11:58:20 AM by edz »

« Reply #587 on: December 22, 2017, 05:20:43 PM »
 ;D ;D Been listening to this record / tape / cd ever since I was  kid  ;D ;D Wes Harrison sound effects guy does it all by mouth .
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Hhi-l_MXDE

« Reply #588 on: December 25, 2017, 11:55:16 AM »
MERRY CHRISTMAS ..... Astrid and Kev ..   Hope this works and a big thank you to DewXT for the windows link thingy .. 8)
https://vimeo.com/248676306    ### CLICK the VIMEO word  to go to FULL SCREEN .. ###
« Last Edit: December 25, 2017, 12:04:19 PM by edz »

« Reply #589 on: December 25, 2017, 12:47:21 PM »
Maaaate, very cool and i'm very impressed........ Thank You. I really don't what else to say.  :cup:

Offline Hookie

« Reply #590 on: December 26, 2017, 06:19:53 PM »
Why cant I walk into a barn and find something like this

My brother in law (in USA, married to wife's sister) is a car guy, and always regretted selling his first car, a 1950 falcon. So for his 50th birthday his wife decided to try to track it down. She managed to find the guy who bought it from him, called him up, and for whatever reason, he had bought this car, stuck it in his barn, and never touched it again. Hadn't even transferred the rego to his own name. Same tyres, same mileage, and probably the same engine oil that my brother in law sold it with.
So she got it back, I believe he was a nice old guy who charged her the same dollar value he paid for it all those years ago. After a very gentle run in period and few replaced rubbers etc, he drives that thing every weekend.

Offline SEADOO

« Reply #591 on: December 26, 2017, 09:26:12 PM »
Anyone know anything about Australian delivered Studibakers?

My father-in-law has one from his uncle (original owner) that was sold through an Australian dealership with the factory right hand drive conversion. He use to work for Holdn spare parts and it's been fitted with a factory 327 chev and he replaced the rear diff with a factory 10 bolt Holden diff.

It's to be passed onto me. He said I can keep it to restore it or sell it. I'd rather sell it to a restorer and not have it stripped of its running gear.

Any idea what it'll be worth? I think it's a 1963 Cruiser.

« Reply #592 on: December 26, 2017, 09:35:38 PM »

Offline SEADOO

« Reply #593 on: December 26, 2017, 09:37:02 PM »
Doing a google search, about as valuable as a second hand Hyundai Getz.

Worth fk all.

Reckon I'll strip of the good parts and scull drag the rest to the tip.

« Reply #594 on: December 27, 2017, 12:16:39 PM »
1969 Mustang, good project car for somebody who is good with their hands.

Will pass any inspection...... Throw in some fuel if you can find the fuel tank and drive it home.

https://www.hemmings.com/classifieds/cars-for-sale/ford/mustang/2037353.html

This is a very nice thing, just stand on an angle and it looks just fine.

https://www.hemmings.com/classifieds/cars-for-sale/studebaker/president/2050227.html
« Last Edit: December 27, 2017, 12:24:49 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #595 on: December 27, 2017, 09:02:05 PM »

Worth fk all.

theres probably some bloke out there desperate for a few bits to restore his.. strip it - but chuck the shell on ebay.. you never know ya luck...
have a look at some of the rusty hunks of Shit on there that most people would have taken to the tip years ago that sell for few grand.

« Reply #596 on: December 27, 2017, 09:16:46 PM »

Worth fk all.

theres probably some bloke out there desperate for a few bits to restore his.. strip it - but chuck the shell on ebay.. you never know ya luck...
have a look at some of the rusty hunks of Shit on there that most people would have taken to the tip years ago that sell for few grand.

Yep. Google for a Studebaker club near you SEADOO. Someone will love it.

« Reply #597 on: December 27, 2017, 09:21:56 PM »
nice old ford on ebay... god they had style to them back in the 60/70's...  8) 8) 8)

« Reply #598 on: December 27, 2017, 09:58:51 PM »
Style and with the right work, Plenty of poke too ... BOSS Windsor cranked real nice .
Yes I know its a Clevo and its been around heaps and its still a favourite clip ... But crank up the Surround sound and enjoy  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=toLPTjE1GZk              oh and it was for sale too        http://www.my105.com/ListingDetails/id/6751

Offline Davepatrol

• 4.2 Patrol with a lot of extras
« Reply #599 on: December 28, 2017, 01:15:01 PM »
wouldn't mind these parked in my garage.