Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 488802 times)

Offline raider

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #150 on: December 13, 2015, 04:59:29 PM »
Chrissy present - Montari 29er - but riding it now.  ;D

Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done

Offline ben54b

« Reply #151 on: December 23, 2015, 05:34:31 PM »

thought you'd all like this one...

bikes and 4wd in the same pic...

That's a Vee Tire Co Snowshow 2XL (26" x 5.05" on an 80mm wide rim) v's a Cooper STT (285/75/16 on an 8" wide rim)
thats nuts. Where's the rest of the bike. Please don't tell me it's a unicycle wheel.

Offline TheWall

« Reply #152 on: December 23, 2015, 07:47:11 PM »
Stupidly crazy skills that bloke has!  :o

Thanks for sharing Foo.  How tough must that bike be?

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Offline GQMacca

« Reply #153 on: December 24, 2015, 10:49:16 AM »
Dunno how a lot of you MTB blokes ride in flats - I feel naked if I'm not clipped in!

I don't ride anywhere near what I used to, so my '95 vintage GT Pantera has gone off to a mate for a full restoration back to original specs, and I'm tooling around on a Hasa Race 7.0:

(Someone elses pic)

I try and get out to Lysterfield/Officer/Beac as often as I can, but most of the time now I'm doing wheelies around the parks near home while out riding with Mr 3YO.  ;D

Offline Rogerthatv2

• GNDN 4
« Reply #154 on: December 24, 2015, 12:26:24 PM »

Dunno how a lot of you MTB blokes ride in flats - I feel naked if I'm not clipped in!

I don't ride anywhere near what I used to, so my '95 vintage GT Pantera has gone off to a mate for a full restoration back to original specs, and I'm tooling around on a Hasa Race 7.0:

Nice, keen to see the resto job once complete? I had a 1995 GT Timberline (my first of many GT's) with a pair of Rockshox Judy's - loved that bike but was not meant to be - someone liked it more...

Cheers Dan

2009 Jayco Outback Hawk & Prado 150 Series VX D4D - Now we just have to use it - not look at it!

« Reply #155 on: December 24, 2015, 02:42:00 PM »
Not on my Track Bike yet, but I have a set Dura-Ace Track wheels with Light Bicycle CF rims that are tied and soldered coming.  ;D

« Reply #156 on: December 25, 2015, 10:07:23 AM »
I top you all..... my bike :)

Offline koshari

« Reply #157 on: December 25, 2015, 11:13:49 AM »

My chinese carbon roadee. Just need a 34.9mm front derailleur.
Code: [Select]
5M strips SMD3528x150 SMD3528x300 SMD5050*150 SMD5050x300 
LED Qty 150 pcs 300 pcs 150 pcs 300 pcs
Voltage DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V
Current(A) 1Amp 2Amp 3Amp 6Amp
Pwr 12 watt 24 watt 36 watt 72 watt

Offline Coiled

« Reply #158 on: December 25, 2015, 11:19:30 PM »
Decided to get the pushy out and dust it off. Time to shed the kilos again!

2007 Specialized Stumpjumper Expert

2013 Nissan Patrol Y61
2015 Kimberley Karavan Eco Suite

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #159 on: December 27, 2015, 06:48:58 AM »

My chinese carbon roadee. Just need a 34.9mm front derailleur.
And saddle adjustment?

Offline Trailer Bloke

• You never know what's around the corner
« Reply #160 on: December 27, 2015, 08:20:45 AM »
Shogun Trail Breaker 3

Offline koshari

« Reply #161 on: December 30, 2015, 05:35:29 PM »
And saddle adjustment?
You got that right. First time i have used an ISP topper with the 2 outboard screws. Didnt tighten the rail clamps enuf  and she moved on the maiden voyage.

« Reply #162 on: January 06, 2016, 03:43:40 PM »
These babies turned up yesterday. Dura-ace hubs with Sapim cx-ray spokes and Lightbicycle 50mm CF rims.  8) They spin stupidly smooth.  ;D

« Reply #163 on: January 06, 2016, 06:54:03 PM »
Question for the bike gurus.....I'm about to start doing up this old Moongoose bike i have, gunna do a complete strip down and rebuild on it. The tyres are that old and perished i can't see what size they used to be on these bikes, and my memory is long gone about them also. Can anyone tell me what size tyres they used to be please? And also i want to get the same looking ones with the red exterior, where's the best place for purchasing something like these nowadays if they are still available?
cheers in advance for any help with info

« Reply #164 on: January 06, 2016, 07:26:42 PM »
Std bmx is always 20 inch tyre. Common size still  - luckily.

« Reply #165 on: January 06, 2016, 07:30:26 PM »
Std bmx is always 20 inch tyre. Common size still  - luckily.
the 20" bit i recall, but aren't they 20 x 2.125 or  20 X 1.75 or something like that? ..i seem to recall there was an extra size written on the tyres you could choose from?

« Reply #166 on: January 06, 2016, 07:34:48 PM »
That's the width. 2 inch is normal. You'll be able to run a bit thinner 1.75 or thicker 2.2 no worries.

« Reply #167 on: January 06, 2016, 07:37:43 PM »
That's the width. 2 inch is normal. You'll be able to run a bit thinner 1.75 or thicker 2.2 no worries.
just found this site  http://www.bmxworks.com.au/store/ which could turn out expensive for me...lol....reckon i'll search other online sites aswell now i can picture the products i've long forgotten the names of

« Reply #168 on: January 06, 2016, 07:39:55 PM »
Couple of pics of family treadlies.
The kids and I on a ride this afternoon, and a shot of the roady - Avanti cadent. It got some new kysyriums on it since that pic.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #169 on: January 06, 2016, 07:40:42 PM »
just found this site  http://www.bmxworks.com.au/store/ which could turn out expensive for me...lol....reckon i'll search other online sites aswell now i can picture the products i've long forgotten the names of

then you should probably also avoid these sites as well...

http://www.oldschoolbmx.com.au/

http://www.ozbmx.com.au/

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

« Reply #170 on: January 06, 2016, 07:44:13 PM »

There are plenty of online stores, and yes, project bikes are always cheaper to give away to your best mate to restore.

I've got a hand made 1983 Alan sprint which needs a whole lot of love sitting around somewhere. It 'needs' a complete 1983 anniversary campy gruppo to make it whole again - not going to happen until I have MUCH more disposable income haha.

« Reply #171 on: January 06, 2016, 07:51:35 PM »
cheers for the links, will slowly build this up so the misses doesn't notice the money disappearing from the bank account...lol. Bit torn about spending money rebuilding this bike though, it used to be my brothers bike not mine. I really want to get a hold of a Cromoloy Californian with the blue tuffs, as it's what i used to ride.  Shits me now to think i sold it for $50 many years ago to a work mate that got done for DD. I was doing him a favour selling him the bike so he could ride to work, wish i still had it now.......... Grrrrr
« Last Edit: January 06, 2016, 08:00:41 PM by Rumpig »

Offline dales133

« Reply #172 on: January 06, 2016, 08:03:33 PM »
I had a crome redline with skyway tuffs back in the day

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #173 on: January 06, 2016, 09:57:21 PM »
Question for the bike gurus.....I'm about to start doing up this old Moongoose bike i have, gunna do a complete strip down and rebuild on it. The tyres are that old and perished i can't see what size they used to be on these bikes, and my memory is long gone about them also. Can anyone tell me what size tyres they used to be please? And also i want to get the same looking ones with the red exterior, where's the best place for purchasing something like these nowadays if they are still available?
cheers in advance for any help with info

Mal shoot me a list of the parts you want to replace, I can get you a discount on reproduction parts.
I'm assuming it's a Motomag and not a Team or Supergoose model. If your not sure post a pic of the serial number on the bottom bracket. Frame and forks only for a 79/80 Team goose in original condition is worth around $700 in good nic.
Also, I have the era correct bars and gold stem for that bike. If you want to replace with original parts Mongoose parts are expensive for what they are.

Please don't strip the paint or decals off it some of them clean up surprisingly well.
Way cool bike btw.👍👍

2003 V8 Sahara
2010 Lifestyle Extenda Elite
Great haircut

Offline koshari

« Reply #174 on: January 07, 2016, 06:27:55 AM »
Listen to snappy. He speaks wise words. There are good theads on bicycle australias forums on restoring parts as well. Those skyways will the hardest to restore. I suspect you will need to cut and polish the faded top layer of plastic out. It will be time consuming.  Other than that the cable housing , grips and chain are prolly the only items that may need replacing. (Other than the tires as you mentioned). The frame will polish up pretty well with a light cutting polish. The decals still look pretty bright which is suprising given the amount of UV the wheels appear to have been subjected to.

The bars may come up well with a 48 hour bath in brown vinegar and then a coating of clear.
Collectible relics in Melbournes northrtn sudurbs is another place that does old school bmx stuff.

Oh and at least you sold your old steed. My old x gussett hotfoot adorned with araya 7x and dx platforms got stolen!

As for the model, didnt the motomags have those magnesium webbed wheels?
« Last Edit: January 07, 2016, 06:49:47 AM by koshari »