Author Topic: WTF was Mazda thinking !!!!!  (Read 15415 times)

Offline morgue

WTF was Mazda thinking !!!!!
« on: October 19, 2011, 06:55:58 PM »
The photos of the Mazda BT-50 realease drive were shown in the SMH, this is one ugly ute...the front is just butt ugly, with a bull bar it is even worse.
Then there is the rear tailgate lights, some bloke in Mazda design has their taste buds in their arsehole...

smh.drive.com.au/photogallery/driven-mazdas-new-hilux-rival-20111019-1m7ij.html?selectedImage=0

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
Re: WTF was Mazda thinking !!!!!
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2011, 07:05:02 PM »
Thanks Morgue,

The bosses at Great Wall now know where to find their missing designers....and their missing loco weed....

Tim

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2011, 07:07:16 PM »

« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2011, 07:07:17 PM »
I agree - not all that attractive.  It reminds me of the current Ssangyong's.

Offline Paul (SA)

« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2011, 07:36:57 PM »
Couldn't be worse than the front end of the recent Mitsubishis. They look terrible. Reminds me of a big barra mouth.
2014 NW Pajero
2012 Jayco Swift OB

« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2011, 07:59:55 PM »
Funnily enough, its exactly what I though of the new hilux's, tritons and rangers, but after a while they kind of grow on you.

First time I saw a new patrol in 97 I thought they were ridiculous.........3 patrols later..........

Yeah, its ugly but I'll probably end up liking them  :-[ :-[ :-[

I also currently have a 3yr old ranger and if its anything to go by the BT will be great.

« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2011, 08:08:28 PM »
Mazda is just trying to incorporate the same image across the models.  Same as Toyota. 

Offline Diksta

• Where I Should be
    • http://picasaweb.google.com/gbney01
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2011, 08:12:36 PM »
funny enough i don't mind it that much, and Dazzler is right it is very similar to there other models noses
2016 200 Series
1983 60 Series
POTM November 2009 Winner :cup:
2009 POTY Winner :cup:
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=49966.new#new

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2011, 08:30:17 PM »
Have to agree with the last few comments .To me its pretty much following the fashion of all the other manufacturers,,I cant see any problems, Cripes if we all like or dislike the same things it would be a dull world. :cheers:
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2011, 08:35:09 PM »
I don't mind the design..the buying market will decide If it's great or not.

« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2011, 08:48:16 PM »
Mazdas Hilux Rival? Are they on crack?!

Hideous, but then I think that about all modern Recycled Pepsi bottles shaped like cars

and what is it with these farkin rims, they make the baby jesus cry

Offline dunebuggy

• Yakass Coastal Kayak Fishing
« Reply #11 on: October 19, 2011, 08:58:08 PM »
Now how boring would it be if all cars were the same?! Each to their own. If you don't like it... don't buy it! Simple!
"Life is a Journey - NOT a Guided Tour"

Offline Petermac

« Reply #12 on: October 19, 2011, 09:10:42 PM »
I actually think it looks pretty good - I'd have one.  Those front guards are akin to the CX7 - again I didn't really like that shape at first but they've grown on me.

Must admit that silver bullbar looks a bit sci-fi, but the black version looks far more real life.
2011 Trackabout Deluxe Tourer

« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2011, 09:13:37 PM »
To be honest, I don't mind it.  I think the steel bar, with a little rework, looks better than the alloy.  Not sure if it is up to being a competitor for the Hilux, but without driving one, or even having a close look, it is hard to tell.

I was another who really didn't like the current hilux when they first came out, now I think they are one of the best looking on the market.  I guess time will tell for Mazda.

Offline harvs

• Shootme productions
« Reply #14 on: October 20, 2011, 02:41:09 AM »
I have been photographing these cars since July. When I first saw pictures of them I thought the front was too jap. The side was too formed. And back was unresolved.
It took me about 3 weeks to start liking their smile. And yes I think they         will take quite a few sales from Toyota. Great motor (ford 3.2 diesel)
Safety, interior, load & towing capacities. I have driven it on B & C roads as well as the deep silty sand at Sandy point fully loaded and it goes great. The alloy bullbar is very bling, but I lie the steel one and the black bar kit

« Reply #15 on: October 20, 2011, 09:09:18 AM »
Nothing the guys [and gals] at ARB or TJM can not fix.

Apparently the new BT comes with a 5 cylinder 3.2 Turbo, so maybe be OK. Time will tell.

« Reply #16 on: October 20, 2011, 09:22:02 AM »
they make the baby jesus cry

Is that you ralph?

« Reply #17 on: October 20, 2011, 09:57:23 AM »
It's the whole Mazda look thing which if one of them is butt ugly then they all must be! Just look at the Mazda 3, Only a mother could love that look. I thought it would grow on me but it hasn't. They have just downright been hit with the ugly stick. (IMHO)

Offline hairymick

• 2010 Nissan Navara D22, 2005 Kimberly Escape
« Reply #18 on: October 20, 2011, 10:41:25 AM »
Geez guys,

I like it. ;D
Mick

Offline cdustbehindme

• Nothing like an Odysee
« Reply #19 on: October 20, 2011, 02:13:00 PM »
I reckon the jazzed up version looks great, from the front anyway.....   the back end looks like a mazda 3.....  and without all the good bits looks a bit weird, although talking about weird when the new triton shape came out well that was something worth talking about!!!  ???
The perfect campsite IS out there.........

« Reply #20 on: October 20, 2011, 02:15:16 PM »

Offline Alchemist

« Reply #21 on: October 20, 2011, 02:54:57 PM »
and what is it with these farkin rims, they make the baby jesus cry

To be honest, I didn't notice the rims... I was too busy thinking the bullbar looks like a pair of spectacles that Dame Edna Everidge would wear  ;D

Alchemist

« Reply #22 on: October 20, 2011, 02:58:05 PM »
The one with the black bulbar looks just like a smiley face car from a cartoon Rory the race car my 3 years old son watches.

« Reply #23 on: October 20, 2011, 03:23:12 PM »
have to say i like it.. probably more than i like the hilux facelift

« Reply #24 on: October 20, 2011, 04:37:50 PM »
have to say i like it.. probably more than i like the hilux facelift

I'm with you Dan..

Whoever said the Hilux,Navara etc were good looking anyway..  same old boring stuff for the last 15 yrs !!!!

The 200 series is good looking
The 76 series is a fair dinkum solid tuff 4WD.....but good looking ?  never  !!!!!