Author Topic: Which tyre?  (Read 16533 times)

Offline bruce93

Which tyre?
« on: October 15, 2017, 11:01:11 AM »
Hi Guys.

I'm due for replacing my tyres on my BT-50.

I'm just undecided and after some advice on tyres.

I've beeb quoted 4 Bridgestone Duelers D697 for $215 each plus $100 cash back for buying 4.
I asked for a price on the BFG A/T KO2'S and was told 350 each.

Car does more highway than offroad but still want it to be somewhat capable off road.

Just after everyones thoughts and opinions and even welcome to other tyre suggestions.

Thanks guys.

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk

Offline RebsWA

Re: Which tyre?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2017, 11:30:19 AM »
I was a BFG fan till I priced 285's.
Went with Bridgestone 697 and after 50,000kms reckon they are a better tyre.
Quieter, no tread chipping like the other and fine in sand.
Probably half my driving has been in remote WA and central Aussie towing a 2 tonne van.
Probably got another 30-40k kms in them and I will then get another set.
You don't stop laughing because you grow old
You grow old because you stop laughing

2006 TD LandCruiser Troopy LX  -  2015 Jayco Starcraft Outback (a Caravan...)

« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2017, 11:32:34 AM »
697s are good value IMO. Quiet on road, wear well, good grip in the wet as they age, no tear outs and good off road performance for an A/T. Ive done thousands of kms off road corro work in the fully loaded Dmax and 2T single axle van without a problem.
I had the former 694s on the old Rodeo and they were really good too.
Just make sure the new ones are the LT's

« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2017, 12:14:22 PM »
Another vote for the 697's. I've got 37,000km on mine, rotate every 10k. Next rotation 3 are going onto the trailer to replace the elderly tyres on there, and I'll put the best of the other 4 under the car.

I run 31x10.5s and get them around the $200 mark as well.

Offline rossm

« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2017, 02:19:36 PM »
Hi Guys.

I've beeb quoted 4 Bridgestone Duelers D697 for $215 each plus $100 cash back for buying 4.

Car does more highway than offroad but still want it to be somewhat capable off road.

Just after everyones thoughts and opinions and even welcome to other tyre suggestions.

Thanks guys.

697s for $215 and cash back? where? That is less than I paid for a set  couple of years ago. I would have them again without any concerns.   

Offline bruce93

« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2017, 06:22:27 PM »

697s for $215 and cash back? where? That is less than I paid for a set  couple of years ago. I would have them again without any concerns.

Funnily enough at Costco.

And the $100 cash back is the bridgestone promo thsts running till the end of this month.

But good to hear good reports so far

« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2017, 11:54:36 PM »
If you want "the look" BFGs are hard to beat. But the 697s are great value for money and will be great offroad. Sideall staking is not their strong point but unless you are pushing through virgin bush or less driven tracks you should be alright.

I have the Toyo AT2s and have been very happy with wear/noise/performance.

« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2017, 08:03:05 AM »
Yokos have a buy 3 get one free deal at bob janes twice a year. I’m on my 3rd set of geo12’s. I rate them.
The following users thanked this post: Parramacca

« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2017, 08:18:50 AM »
Hi Bruce93, My new mate Garry that just lives up the road from me has a BT50 with around 100,000 on it, He put new 697s on his 4wd he and his wife in there 4wd and another couple in there BT50 with new BFGs Ko2s on it, they all went out through the dessert and then to the the big bash, My mate staked two tires and had to use his puncher repair kit. them tires are still on his 4wd and going well Garry recons they are a good tire he was just unlucky he said. the other fellow had no troubles, But that is how it can go sometimes, Craig

Offline RebsWA

« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2017, 10:06:34 AM »
Sideall staking is not their strong point but unless you are pushing through virgin bush or less driven tracks you should be alright.

Nab, just curious on how you came to that conclusion? ???

« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2017, 10:30:17 AM »
Mickey ATZ P3's myself but in a 285x75

« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2017, 11:05:36 AM »
Mickey ATZ P3's myself but in a 285x75

Me too, I find the 265/75 x 16LT to be a good all round tyre, yeah hahaha.
Had Cooper ST Maxx for a while 150k or more Km's out of them.
Tried the Mickey T's, as a change, and haven't been disappointed.
At $320.00 each they were cheaper than the Coopers as well.

« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2017, 12:46:32 PM »
I run 33" ATZ P3s on the Wrangler, they're perfect for the 50/50 on-road/off-road driving that car does. Bit noisy, but good allrounders.

I stick with highway treads on the Triton for its 99.9999/0.0001 on-road/off-road driving..... ;)

Offline paull

« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2017, 02:59:52 PM »
I have Nitto Terra Grappler G2's on the 200. They are a mild AT tyre. 20,000km on them so far and couldn't be happier. Wearing well. Slightest bit of noise at freeway speeds but otherwise silent. Grip like no other tyre I've ever had. Even with a 3T+ 'Cruiser they still stick like sh1t to a shovel, even in the wet. They've got higher load ratings than most other tyres (or did in my size - 285/60/18) so load carrying ability on a ute wouldn't be an issue and they were even fairly cheap which was an added bonus. Certainly under $300 a corner......from Bob Jane.
2020 Ford Ranger Wildtrak
2016 MR22BE Van

"I thought I could see the light at the end of the tunnel but it was only some bugger with a torch bringing me some more work."

« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2017, 05:50:35 PM »
Nab, just curious on how you came to that conclusion? ???

That conclusion came completely from following random threads in a few 4x4/camping forums over the last 10 of years. It's all comparative though, compared to a HT they are tough as nails, compared to the BFG AT they are not as strong in the sidewall. Someone's offroad is different to another's offroad too.

They are on par with many other similarly priced tyres.

Offline RebsWA

« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2017, 06:27:08 PM »
That conclusion came completely from following random threads in a few 4x4/camping forums over the last 10 of years. It's all comparative though, compared to a HT they are tough as nails, compared to the BFG AT they are not as strong in the sidewall. Someone's offroad is different to another's offroad too.

Fair enough.  Thanks
IMCO a lot of tyre damage is driver related more so than (name) brand related.

Offline bruce93

« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2017, 09:22:44 PM »
So far thinking I will go ahead with the D697's.

Thanks for everyones input

Offline Diver

« Reply #17 on: October 17, 2017, 04:47:01 PM »

NAB- probably true for th Brisgestone 694s but the 697s are a lot better tyre.  I have just finished 15,000k including about 3,000 horrible offroad with my Yokokama Geolanders 275/65 x 17.  Not a puncture or sign of tread damage.  Definitely look at these and Bob Jane do a buy 3 get 4 deal quite often on these.

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #18 on: October 17, 2017, 10:40:39 PM »
Check out Monsta terrain grippers, was going to get d697's but the monsta's came out at less than $190 each in 265/60/18 fitted.

Sent from my K4000_PRO using Tapatalk

MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline Greeny

« Reply #19 on: October 19, 2017, 12:52:54 PM »
Check out Monsta terrain grippers, was going to get d697's but the monsta's came out at less than $190 each in 265/60/18 fitted.

Sent from my K4000_PRO using Tapatalk

How do you rate the monsta’s?

When I was looking for new tyres a while back I came very close to ordering a set but when I called a few places to get quotes for fitting they wouldn’t touch them citing “liability issues”

Offline KieranR

« Reply #20 on: October 19, 2017, 04:33:20 PM »
Hi Guys.

Thanks guys.

Could I just ask what size tyres you got quoted for the 697's at $215 a tyre?  i just got quoted $380 a Tyre 265x70x17

« Reply #21 on: October 19, 2017, 05:00:58 PM »
Could I just ask what size tyres you got quoted for the 697's at $215 a tyre?  i just got quoted $380 a Tyre 265x70x17

$380?  :o Try Kmart tyre and auto, they generally have them well priced.

Offline KieranR

« Reply #22 on: October 19, 2017, 05:09:24 PM »
$380?  :o Try Kmart tyre and auto, they generally have them well priced.

Im in the pilbara, i dont have that luxury unfortunately.  and Yes i know we pay more here, but $165 a tyre more.........i rang another place and they said $395 a tyre!

But i ring Perth and its $255 a tyre, looks like ill be shopping in Perth and getting them brought up in the work sea container.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2017, 05:19:45 PM by KieranR »

Offline bruce93

« Reply #24 on: October 19, 2017, 09:05:50 PM »
Hey Mate.

I got quoted $215 a tyre for 265/65/17.

That was from costco which i dont think you'll have in the pilbara but i could be wrong...

Besides that closest i've seen them are around $235..