Author Topic: CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)  (Read 159345 times)

Re: CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)
« Reply #300 on: April 27, 2011, 11:22:40 PM »
I use an occy strap to keep the andersen plug lead and the trailer cord from hanging down when towing. It also gives if needed. ;D

X 2 ... brilliant idea that.  They don't get tangled in the hitch or hang down to catch on road debris.  Our occy strap hooks up under the rear of the ute.

« Reply #301 on: April 28, 2011, 06:41:49 AM »
Ihae been buying the 1s that help you ride a bike ,,, they dont work  ::)

« Reply #302 on: April 28, 2011, 06:56:38 AM »
If packing up in the rain take a change of clothes out first.
Of course i thought of this after i had packed everything up and had the dry clothes buried in the bottom of the CT.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2011, 10:11:02 PM by cancan »

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #303 on: April 28, 2011, 07:53:29 PM »
??? what?

Offline aussiepics

• aussiepics
« Reply #304 on: April 29, 2011, 10:22:51 AM »

...n I still can't ride a horse neither..

« Reply #305 on: July 12, 2011, 04:43:48 PM »
The thread on my camper poles has been stripped for a LONG TIME, I have been holding the poles up with hose clamps, Well I came across these at Anaconda a few eeks back All that needs to be done is drill a hole and insert the "T" piece than put it back together.

Offline db

« Reply #306 on: August 21, 2011, 09:42:22 PM »
Use for an old plastic jerry can - cut the top off and make it into a bin.  Just used bits lying around in the shed.

Modcon Quattro
NW Pajero GLX-R

« Reply #307 on: August 21, 2011, 09:46:58 PM »
Smart thinking  :cup:

« Reply #308 on: August 22, 2011, 06:20:46 AM »
A rubber seal and you would be good to go db.

« Reply #309 on: August 22, 2011, 12:04:52 PM »
Great idea db, Thanks for posting that pic this thread!

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #310 on: August 22, 2011, 08:03:23 PM »
Dont let this

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=15768.60

surface whilst away.
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

Offline Stozz

• The Driver, The Nav and The Dog
« Reply #311 on: August 28, 2011, 11:10:33 PM »
The fruit 'n' vegie box:

I saw something similar to this somewhere on the web a while ago and thought I would give it a whirl.  I made it today.  Not sure that I built it to the same spec, but this will do us just fine.

I used:

One old esky
    Shade cloth
    Fly wire
    Cloth tape
    Screws & washers
    A patient husband

Get husband to drill holes in a tidy pattern in all walls of the esky.  File off any sharp edges.

Line with fly-wire cut to size (and trimmed with white cloth tape)

Cover with shade cloth panels cut to size (and trimmed with blue cloth tape)

Ta da!  An insulated box that will allow our fruit and veg to stay fresh, breathe, and not allow flies or ants inside (or mice!)

« Reply #312 on: August 28, 2011, 11:20:43 PM »
Great idea Stozz, keep us updated on how it goes.

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
« Reply #313 on: August 29, 2011, 07:33:30 AM »
If you have kids, go to big W and get some $3 glow sticks.

They are battery operated and have a torch and whistle on them.

Plus they come with FREE replacement batteries (1 set)

The kids love them and you will always know where the kids are.

Cheers!
NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

Offline hookedon4wding

• My Videos
« Reply #314 on: August 29, 2011, 09:35:40 AM »
We bought one of these shoe organizers from a Home store. Used a pants hanger to hang it from a rope under the awning. Makes a great spot to put little things that always seem to go missing when camping (keys, head torches, matches, dog lead etc). Less than $5 and works well.

Cheers, Sam.

« Reply #315 on: January 05, 2012, 04:43:14 PM »
With all the new members and camping going on over Xmas I thought it was time to bump this thread.

« Reply #316 on: January 05, 2012, 05:03:31 PM »

Thanks GU for the Bump!

I'll kick off the new year of ideas.

For those with an Aussie Swag ... and dogs ... the handle for pulling open the pantry just seems like wasted space to me, so I got inventive the other day when the requirement for Puppy Poo Bags went up a notch (must of been the scraps from dinner before bedtime).

From here they can be "dispensed" as such and the pantry handle used to rip off along the dotted line.  Worked well till it fell through the bottom hole, so we utilised some laundry rope to fix that.

« Reply #317 on: January 05, 2012, 06:47:59 PM »
1) When cooking spaghetti or rice drain the water into a bucket.  Then once you have finished eating you can give your dishes a prewash with this water which will keep the water in your sink alot cleaner for alot longer.

2) Before going on a major trip, go to the bank and hand over two $20 notes for two bags of $1 coins.  No need to go hunting around when it comes time to use the laundromat.

3) We have a broomstick that always goes to the back of the pole box and we can't reach it.  We vecroed the top of the broom handle, and attached the rough end of the velcro to the bottom and  side corner of the pole holder.  No more missing broomstick!

Offline cewilson

• cewilson
« Reply #318 on: January 05, 2012, 11:58:49 PM »
1. Zip lock bags are handy for so many different things (toilet rolls/snack bags/food leftovers/fruit & veg/meat etc).
2. The more space you have, the more you will carry.....
3. Dual ropes with springs are great for corners.
4. A snack bag for the kids each day comes in real handy.
5. Battery charger is terminated to an anderson plug.  Makes it real easy for hooking up when required.
6. Swags for the kids is quick and easy, albeit bulky.
7. A spare pin (tregg hitch) is a godsend when you have 'that' moment.
8. Try to be self-sufficient.  On longer trips buying batteries starts being expensive and annoying.
9. Square frypans are worth their weight in gold.
10. The harder it is to do, the less likely you will do it.  Have your trailer set-up so all you need is water, food and clothes.  There is stuff all difference between an overnighter and a week long trip, or even a four week trip.  You really don't change anything you carry.  Have it all there ready to go so you can make that 'impulse' decision on a Friday afternoon to just get away for the weekend.  They have been some of the best trips we have ever done as a family as we never knew what was going to happen next!

Oh and lastly carry a few spare tyre tubes.  Worst case scenario you can use them on your vehicle, but primary reason is the kids will go nuts with them in water (as do the big kids!).

Chris
1998 Trak Shak
200tDi Defender
90 series Prado, gas/petrol

Offline jeeps

• The Aussie Storm Shop
« Reply #319 on: January 06, 2012, 01:49:31 AM »
Try to use devices that take the same size battery. I use a gazillion Eneloop AA rechargeable batteries, I no longer use anything in d or c size. Before a trip I put freshly charged eneloops in all my devices - my am/fm radio, 2-3 good Cree torches, headlamp, mini led lantern I use in the toilet tent, my kid's nightlight & remote control toys, my police scanner which i take camping... You get the idea. I also take about 8 spare charged ones so i can swap out discharged AA's straight away and my 8 bay 12 volt charger so I can charge with my solar setup, takes about 2 hrs to fully charge 8. I charge via the camper trailer's solar at home too so for the $4 initial purchase price of the eneloop I now have 2000 recharges for free per battery. I used to spend heaps on batteries every year until I jumped on the eneloop revolution. And because I have a small solar setup it's free power for my toys!

www.aussiestormshop.com.au | www.aussieberkeyshop.com.au
Offroad Camper Trailer with an Austrack top & Drifta kitchen, mostly assembled by me :)

« Reply #320 on: January 06, 2012, 09:19:12 AM »
We don't need to do this, as our two flatly refuse to go outside the camper if it's rainning ;D

Thanksgod, I thought it was just our 3 that are like this.... :D

Offline lilstookie

• Traveling Lab Rats
    • http://facebook.com/thewanderingjocks
CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)
« Reply #321 on: January 06, 2012, 11:49:52 AM »
Don't ever take a jackaroo through a rutted bog as the alternator craps itself and kills the holiday you been waiting 6 months for.

Dont listen to other 4wds on the track saying "she'll be right" as they soon leave when it all goes pear shaped.
If the spelling and grammar are good, it's a post from Lil. If not, the mad Scot is on the keyboard ;)

Add us on facebook and keep up to date with our big lap .
www.facebook.com/TheWanderingJocks or follow our blog

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #322 on: January 06, 2012, 12:04:03 PM »
Dont listen to other 4wds on the track saying "she'll be right" as they soon leave when it all goes pear shaped.
" If you break down or get bogged , make sure you are blocking the track , then others have to help get you going .....  "

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Offline lilstookie

• Traveling Lab Rats
    • http://facebook.com/thewanderingjocks
CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)
« Reply #323 on: January 06, 2012, 12:48:29 PM »
Take a metal bucket for easy heating of water for showers/baths/dishwashing/clothes washing...just sit it close to the fire!

Lil :)

If the spelling and grammar are good, it's a post from Lil. If not, the mad Scot is on the keyboard ;)

Add us on facebook and keep up to date with our big lap .
www.facebook.com/TheWanderingJocks or follow our blog

Offline beachrover

« Reply #324 on: January 06, 2012, 02:44:49 PM »
If you are starting of with a new camper, before setting out on a remote trip:

Stay at a caravan park for a couple of days that is close to hardware, camping, food & Kitchen shops. This will help sorting out all the bits & pieced before heading off on a proper adventure.
freelander 2 + Kimberley Kamper RV LTD