Author Topic: Vic Police and Vicroads inspecting 4wds  (Read 8114 times)

Vic Police and Vicroads inspecting 4wds
« on: July 06, 2011, 11:24:34 PM »
At our club meeting tonight, there was discussion from one of our members who owns a 4wd store. He has had customers coming in that have been defected/fined/nailed/shafted. With a few of them being forced to call a towy. No driving cars away - Tow trucks at your expense.

One customer got done, the cops had Thompson Dam blocked off and went over any car/4wd that went through - with tape measures the works.. Once you came round the corner, you were theirs.

There was discussion a while back from Roachie on Patrol forum about a massive "ledger" style book the cops in South Aussie had that they use with every car listed and all their measurements - bump stops, sills heights, tyre sizes. Well the Vic cops apparently have it now. The areas that John has had reports on have been Mansfield, and out around Walhalla.

Something to keep in mind.

Re: Vic Police and Vicroads inspecting 4wds
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2011, 12:05:59 AM »
Has been talk of WA police targeting big lifts and tyres.  Personly I think it is a good thing, there are far to many P platers driving around with huge rigs that would go nowhere close to passing a lane change test over here, it seems to have taken over from the lolux craze.

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2011, 12:54:44 AM »
So whats the problem if it not on then its not on . There are rules for a reason . As said some of these Bozos have really no idea what they are doing when they muck about with their rigs . If that keeps the rest of us safe & them to ,,, well

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2011, 07:29:43 AM »
I posted the link to the database of measurements a while ago, can't find it at the moment.

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2011, 07:32:36 AM »
I feel so protected....

« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2011, 09:28:50 AM »
I'll be in them thar hills in November (Harrietville and surrounds). Lucky my plucky Rodeo is tre'gardenvarietie' and won't draw any crabs. Best it stays on the black stuff lest I get told to walk home.  ;D ;D

« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2011, 09:37:34 AM »
If the law are keen to find something wrong with your vehicle, they will.  Even the most law abiding person is bound to have something a little bit wrong with their setup, believe me I've seen it from both sides of the fence (not the middle of the fence either Rich).

Snow, if they see that guitar case secreted in your vehicle, they'll go through it like there's no tomorrow.  It's types like you who try fly under the radar who are the ones they should be looking out for.   ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2011, 09:47:45 AM »
The option for officers to exercise their discretion is what goes out the door when the Police run operations like this.

« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2011, 09:49:50 AM »
If the law are keen to find something wrong with your vehicle, they will.  Even the most law abiding person is bound to have something a little bit wrong with their setup, believe me I've seen it from both sides of the fence (not the middle of the fence either Rich).

Snow, if they see that guitar case secreted in your vehicle, they'll go through it like there's no tomorrow.  It's types like you who try fly under the radar who are the ones they should be looking out for.   ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
I'm on the fence here GD, I only lifted the drivers side of the Patrol ;D

« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2011, 09:51:59 AM »
The option for officers to exercise their discretion is what goes out the door when the Police run operations like this.

Couldn't agree more.

I'm on the fence here GD, I only lifted the drivers side of the Patrol ;D

That's gold.  :cup:
« Last Edit: July 07, 2011, 09:53:42 AM by Gunna Do »

« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2011, 10:01:33 AM »
Quote from: bigjules
Thats what happened in South Australia.
There was a blitz on by city cops in a rural zone, and the local cop went from being best mates with the whole region to on his own. He had no say in the matter at all.

One old lady got done for insecure load for her shopping in the back of a ute.. $200+ and fines from memory.. theres a thread on it on patrol forum
« Last Edit: July 07, 2011, 10:27:12 AM by Lost »

« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2011, 10:11:32 AM »
Was scouring fleebay for cheap GQs yesterday and there's a victim on there for sale, (car has a cannery from Mansfield way) Must say it did look like the weekend worrier. Dents in both back quarters 6 inch lift and it have a P on it from memory.  
« Last Edit: July 07, 2011, 10:42:20 AM by dno »

« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2011, 10:13:23 AM »
There are about 5 highway patrols between Rutherford and Muswellbrook. about 80k.They hate anyone that earns more than them. They will get you for everything. Two blokes here recently got done for rod holders..

If ever there is a reason to stop bullying in schools its this. Because the loser you pick on at school today is the highway patrol cop of tomorrow...
« Last Edit: July 07, 2011, 10:26:40 AM by darren »

« Reply #13 on: July 07, 2011, 10:30:27 AM »
Quote from: speewa158
So whats the problem if it not on then its not on. There are rules for a reason . As said some of these Bozos have really no idea what they are doing when they muck about with their rigs . If that keeps the rest of us safe & them to ,,, well
But does it always?? Lets throw everyone in the same bag?

We had the people from Top Performance come to our club last night and give a presentation on suspension, and the "new laws (NCOP)" if they ever come out. One state turned around and said "No lifting 4wds at all" The panic button was hit by suspension companies.

This is one reason NCOP got brought to the top of the "it may happen sometime in next 100 yrs" although many engineers and companies are already going off it... Top Performance and the other companies (ARB, TJM, Lovells etc etc) in the industry proved they could improve the handling over factory of certain 4wds in testing. So not every modification makes it worse. I've had a 2-3-4-and 7in lifted patrol, if done properly they can handle as good as factory at any height - the issue is most kids dont want to spend the money to do it properly. To these people, looks are more important safety is not. Those ones I have no issue with taking them off the road.

But the average 4wd with 3inch lift (patrol Im talkin bout), 33/35's is not really an issue. Theres far worse Shitheaps on the road that they should/could target but dont for some reason - its like Harleys with noise... they hound every jap bike with an aftermarket pipe, in the years I worked in bike shops and the industry, I'd never once heard of a Harley getting nailed for noise.

« Reply #14 on: July 07, 2011, 10:31:35 AM »
Was scouring fleebay for cheap GQs yesterday and these a victim on there for sale, (car has a cannery from Mansfield way) Must say it did look like the weekend worrier. Dents in both back quarters 6 inch lift and it have a P on it from memory. 
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/nissan-GQ-Patrol-1990-Diesel-/320722746799?pt=AU_Cars&hash=item4aac90bdaf

« Reply #15 on: July 07, 2011, 10:45:58 AM »
Might be.. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #16 on: July 07, 2011, 10:57:03 AM »
I agree having no discretionary powers does nothing for the law and police public relations.  Realistically though, if 1/2 the police did not turn a blind eye to this kind of thing on daily basis (see picture) then I would be guessing the powers that be would see no need to put in place a mandatory blanket clampdown as is reportedly happening.  You can't drive around Perth metro area at the moment without seeing one or two of them.  I for one would not want my family to have to rely on this guy being able to swerve to miss a pedestrian if they were in the vicinity.

« Reply #17 on: July 07, 2011, 11:10:27 AM »
Lets all ring craig or jason and tell them what a knob they are  ;D ;D

« Reply #18 on: July 07, 2011, 11:15:31 AM »
Snow, if they see that guitar case secreted in your vehicle, they'll go through it like there's no tomorrow.  It's types like you who try fly under the radar who are the ones they should be looking out for.   ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
But I do like to combine my two most favorite passtimes. Yeee Hawww!!

Offline albyback1

• Never too busy to go camping
« Reply #19 on: July 07, 2011, 11:22:50 AM »
But I do like to combine my two most favorite passtimes. Yeee Hawww!!

Snow hits gold again!!!!
Every where I go I bring pleasure. Sometimes it's when I arrive... but usually its when I leave!

« Reply #20 on: July 07, 2011, 11:34:57 AM »
That's why he can hit the high notes with such accuracy. ;D 

« Reply #21 on: July 07, 2011, 11:40:43 AM »
I'd reckon it would have a ripper 'Brown' note too if that was pointed at someone.  ;D ;D

« Reply #22 on: July 07, 2011, 11:57:04 AM »
Might be.. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

what about Joels comp truck :D
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/TOYOTA-BJ42-TUFF-TRUCK-ROCK-CRAWLER-49-IROCKS-/230639929164?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item35b336074c

« Reply #23 on: July 07, 2011, 12:19:12 PM »
Thats what happened in South Australia.
There was a blitz on by city cops in a rural zone, and the local cop went from being best mates with the whole region to on his own. He had no say in the matter at all.

One old lady got done for insecure load for her shopping in the back of a ute.. $200+ and fines from memory.. theres a thread on it on patrol forum

This blitz was run by a local area command from the area in which it was run, at Peterbourough.  The lady with the shopping bags is an urban myth, although the copper who headed this all up is renowned for being petty on road users.

« Reply #24 on: July 07, 2011, 12:46:15 PM »
Quote from: crackacoldie
This blitz was run by a local area command from the area in which it was run, at Peterbourough.  The lady with the shopping bags is an urban myth, although the copper who headed this all up is renowned for being petty on road users.

just going off roachies thread and what he said in PM's.
http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/general-patrol-discussion-17/police-blitz-currently-here-my-town-55535/