Author Topic: Kimberley Kamper - buying 2nd hand  (Read 6661 times)

Offline bigred

• Tent User
Kimberley Kamper - buying 2nd hand
« on: July 04, 2011, 05:28:02 PM »
Hi All,

I am going to have a good look at a used 05 KK limited edition this weekend. Having never owned a CT before just wanting to know is there anything in particular I should be taking a very close look at this weekend when looking at this CT?

I have looked at a few now around this vintage and have tried to be thorough but as a newb I'm sure I miss a fair bit.

Regards

Damien
120 prado KK Limited Ed

Offline BigJules

• Administrator
  • Hard Top Camper User
  • Just Cruisin' - I wish...
    • I'm so much cooler online :D
Re: Kimberley Kamper - buying 2nd hand
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2011, 05:35:09 PM »
The one thing that gets discussed regularly is the batteries. Small and numerous, if they've been upgraded it is a real plus. I believe there was a kitchen upgrade around then too, but if what you see suits you it won't matter what version it is.

These are a quality camper with few issues, I'd say checking for reasonable wear and tear will be the main thing.
Julian
Land Cruiser V8 + Trackabout Safari SV Extenda
MySwag Gallery, Photobucket
Sydney Agent for www.trackabout.com.au
Mallee Gear - Tough as nails

Offline RebsWA

• Hard Floor Camper User
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2011, 05:52:43 PM »
Bigred, hang one on your towbar and see how your tug likes it. When loaded they have a lot of weight in front of their axle. I have 2 mates with them and reckon its a big negative. They can't even lift them off or on the tug empty. Maybe things have changed with later models. For what its worth.  ;D
You don't stop laughing because you grow old
You grow old because you stop laughing

2006 TD LandCruiser Troopy LX  -  2015 Jayco Starcraft Outback (a Caravan...)

Offline darren

• Hard Top Camper User
  • "Caedite eos. Novit enim Dominus qui sunt eius"
    • CampingAustralia.org