Author Topic: Spare wheel bag  (Read 12042 times)

Offline Swogjb

Spare wheel bag
« on: June 25, 2011, 04:43:53 PM »
G'day Swaggers,
I'm after a good quality Spare Wheel Bag to go on the back of the camper to hold the annex walls and cGear mat.
Any recommendations on a good quality spare wheel bag an where to purchase would be greatly appreciated.
Glenn

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

Re: Spare wheel bag
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2011, 04:47:10 PM »
Ask Dan he's your man ;D
http://danbricanvas.com/

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2011, 04:48:21 PM »
Ask Dan he's your man ;D
http://danbricanvas.com/

I've already done that.....he doesn't make them anymore! >:(

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2011, 04:49:38 PM »
How about Klaus http://www.infrontcampinggear.com.au/

« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2011, 05:11:01 PM »
I have the older model of these, http://www.msa4x4.com.au/Products/RearWheel/RearWheelBag.asp

They also have a heap of other good gear, just need a healthy wallet ;D

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2011, 05:19:06 PM »

I will second this, I have one of his and am very happy with it. Learnt the hard way though that you need to remove the spare wheel cover before you use it.
Cheers, Craig

Offline welchygq

• "I came, I saw, I locked the hubs"
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2011, 05:25:21 PM »
I will second this, I have one of his and am very happy with it. Learnt the hard way though that you need to remove the spare wheel cover before you use it.

Why?? - we dont  ???

We use an infront to do exactly what you stated.  Works for us

« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2011, 05:28:00 PM »

Did it slip off?

« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2011, 05:35:07 PM »
Whatever you do get one thats lined and not just canvas (as mate found out)... once all the slop, juice and crap soaks into the canvas you want ever want to touch it again..

I like the look of the Blackwidow one http://www.blackwidow4wdstorage.com/accessories/accessories.htm

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2011, 05:51:19 PM »
Did it slip off?

nup just moved around a bit and rubbed through the cover :(
Cheers, Craig

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2011, 05:55:34 PM »
Heres mine..works a treat I use it for sticking in the wet ground sheets.and sometimes for firewood for an overnight stay for the Oz pig etc
I paid $45.00 for it from super cheap autos.....does the job well....and well fastened..kind regards... John
« Last Edit: June 25, 2011, 05:57:18 PM by albany_nomads »
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2011, 06:33:06 PM »

I use a bushranger. it cost $109 over 2 years ago I actually think there a little cheaper these days. It lives on the bag door. I line it with a garbage bag then which reduces the slop. Its easy to clean as it isnt made of canvas. It would have done over 100k on the back door  8)

The straps go over the top with buckles that are adjustable fit under the tyre

« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2011, 06:47:03 PM »
Quote from: GU Rich
I use a bushranger. it cost $109 over 2 years ago I actually think there a little cheaper these days. It lives on the bag door. I line it with a garbage bag then which reduces the slop. Its easy to clean as it isnt made of canvas

Hey Rich, how do you hold the plastic rubbish bag in place inside the big bag?
« Last Edit: June 25, 2011, 06:49:59 PM by Lost »

« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2011, 06:52:32 PM »
Once I have a few things in there it holds shape. It's surprising how much it can hold. If we are at camp we have  separate rubbish/shopping bag close by then at the end of the day we place it in the larger black liner bag. I generally have spare liners in my door pocket.

When on day trips it comes in very handy. You what its like carry rubbish in a wagon...

« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2011, 06:57:19 PM »
Once I have a few things in there it holds shape. It's surprising how much it can hold. If we are at camp we have  separate rubbish/shopping bag close by then at the end of the day we place it in the larger black liner bag. I generally have spare liners in my door pocket.
When on day trips it comes in very handy. You what its like carry rubbish in a wagon...
yea Im shopping for one of these bags at moment, I've been using shopping bags and tying them up when full... Works, but hate having numerous drink cans with dribbles flowing all though the car.

I also like the idea of th bag on the trailer spare... nice :)

Offline camdyson

« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2011, 06:57:54 PM »

x2 Just got one from Klaus and seems good quality and well made. If you're not too fussy on colour you can get some good deals on his site - mine was under $80 but in a camo' canvas. You'll never find me in the bush now.....

Camo Cam  ;D
Set your chickens free

« Reply #16 on: June 25, 2011, 07:00:35 PM »
yea Im shopping for one of these bags at moment, I've been using shopping bags and tying them up when full... Works, but hate having numerous drink cans with dribbles flowing all though the car.

I also like the idea of th bag on the trailer spare... nice :)
I have thought about putting one on the camper to later down the track for dirty cloths etc.

The one on the Patrol gets filled after weekend with everyone using it. Thats whats it's for though!!

« Reply #17 on: June 25, 2011, 07:02:38 PM »
I have thought about putting one on the camper to later down the track for dirty cloths etc.
Havent done that many long trips that would require it, but sorta see it as a good idea.

The one on the Patrol gets filled after weekend with everyone using it. Thats whats it's for though!!
Exactly
$110 + 22 on failbay.. will have to see what mate can do that works for OL...or BB at ARB... or Ads at Ironman :P

« Reply #18 on: June 25, 2011, 07:05:44 PM »
I bought mine from ARB, The Border Track trip with the pics on page was the maiden voyage with the bag on. It's a great investment.

There is a little trick to the straps. I have a few mates with the same bag and no complaints.

« Reply #19 on: June 25, 2011, 07:09:13 PM »
I bought mine from ARB, The Border Track trip with the pics on page was the maiden voyage with the bag on. It's a great investment.

There is a little trick to the straps. I have a few mates with the same bag and no complaints.
was round Vinces today, he has the Bwidow one... I like it, but will see what comes cheapest. I dont see $100+ in them sadly :(

Edit
AM I the only person who @#()*$)(@#$*)ing hates websites without prices on their items??? Why bother if your trying to sell stuff?

« Reply #20 on: June 25, 2011, 07:11:15 PM »
I bought mine from super cheap auto, not canvas, PVC, but seemed to handle me carrying it full of rubbish around oz.

Might not like the heavy weight of canvas, but certainly cheaper.

Offline Mav

• Centralian Images Profile
« Reply #21 on: June 25, 2011, 07:18:31 PM »
I got an ARB one a while back but I'll be damned if I could work out how to put the thing on the rear tyre. We just ended up throwing it in the trailer and using it as a standalone bin at the campsite.

« Reply #22 on: June 25, 2011, 07:24:58 PM »
Mav, if its the same as mine you need to run the straps through the rim them clip it up. Then tension them up nice and snug.

Did you want me to take some pics tomorrow?

I understand your frustration. I often look to see how others have done it. I have even hepled others in a carpark or campsite when I have seen he way they have done it.

rich
« Last Edit: June 25, 2011, 07:30:53 PM by GU Rich »

« Reply #23 on: June 25, 2011, 07:25:15 PM »
Quote from: Mav
I got an ARB one a while back but I'll be damned if I could work out how to put the thing on the rear tyre. We just ended up throwing it in the trailer and using it as a standalone bin at the campsite.
I'll give ya 20 and a roll of garbo bags for it  ;D

Offline Mav

• Centralian Images Profile
« Reply #24 on: June 25, 2011, 09:02:41 PM »
Mav, if its the same as mine you need to run the straps through the rim them clip it up. Then tension them up nice and snug.

Did you want me to take some pics tomorrow?

I understand your frustration. I often look to see how others have done it. I have even hepled others in a carpark or campsite when I have seen he way they have done it.

rich

That would be good , thanks Rich.

There were absolutely no instructions with mine to say how to attach it.