Author Topic: The leyland brothers at 2am  (Read 10170 times)

Offline FZJ

The leyland brothers at 2am
« on: June 11, 2011, 11:28:27 AM »
The kids have been kind enough to pass on their latest cold/flu just in time for the long weekend.Never mind its going to belt down rain here anyway.

So consequently I was awake at 2am this morning with the cold shivers and sore throat  dosed to the eyeballs with codral and panadene forte and couldn't sleep.After surfing  the endless infomercials and rubbish on TV at that time(christ I thought it was bad at 8pm...)I came across a 1970s episode of the Leyland brothers.I had this flashback  from when I was a kid of sitting on the lounge room floor being amazed where these guys went in there 4x4s.Even though they had the on screen charisma of a fridge door,id take that over the overdone reality,hairgel "celebrities and  tattooed drongo footballers  that inundate our screens now.

Here they were with old landrovers or jeeps running tyres that are the same size as my 3 year old sons scooter ...no BFGs or mickey Ts here...
My dad had the first landcruiser tray back in my home town in 1971, army tread cheesecutter tyres, and remember a similar thing with it being loaded to the hilt with sand(one shovel at a time, no bobcats either) ,then driving through a soft sand track to get out.Let the tyres down?? never heard of it. He towed and pulled so much with that old thing in 15 years it was 3 inches longer when we sold it.

Its images like these that have in the past induced many a camp fire conversation about how much gear we carry now and how our country has changed in 40 years.I'm not sure if city dwellers notice but we sure do.

Here were the leyland kids (probably 18months and 4) with lapsash belts on and hanging out the window on 4x4 tracks.I'm not condoning not strapping kids in,mine are always strapped in.But can you imagine if someone did that on a show today?

Here were the blokes on the cattle station dragging cattle with a rope around their neck, giving them a kick in the head and nearly pulling the tails off and setting them on fire with a branding iron.Four corners would be straight onto that.Once again I'm not condoning animal cruelty but it was easy to see how times have changed.

Are things better now with all the gadgets and must have gear?

I still  think things were nicer when we were allowed to think for ourselves,make our own decisions without government intervention and every one minded their own business.
I used to ride my dirt bike up the beach to south west rocks after school to  see my mates, the local copper saw me once and said"oi don't let the national parks catch ya". Would that happen now? no.Mind you i wouldnt want dirt bikes on my local beach now either.

I think i need some sleep.....

Now ....wheres that panadene ......

I dont mind going to work, its the 8 hours  i have to wait to go home again that annoys me.

Camel bushman....

Re: The leyland brothers at 2am
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2011, 07:54:48 PM »
isnt it amazing how "primitive" they were when travelling compared to what everyone "MUST" have these days!
even the vehicles they had - they went EVERYWHERE...

I was lucky enough to find a shop in box hill last year selling boxes of new Leyland Bros DVD's and I bought 1 of each for $5ea from memory, theres about dozen or more dvds!

Offline FZJ

« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2011, 08:09:50 PM »
isnt it amazing how "primitive" they were when travelling compared to what everyone "MUST" have these days!
even the vehicles they had - they went EVERYWHERE...

I was lucky enough to find a shop in box hill last year selling boxes of new Leyland Bros DVD's and I bought 1 of each for $5ea from memory, theres about dozen or more dvds!
Dead  right, i think that was my painkiller induced point.....You can have fun and get out there without the latest gizmo.In fact im inspired now to do my next lap in a old landy.!! ;D ;D
Good score those dvds.
I dont mind going to work, its the 8 hours  i have to wait to go home again that annoys me.

Camel bushman....

Offline camdyson

« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2011, 08:37:10 PM »
Don't forget their REAL offroader...........the Kombi! Aaah, those were the days.

Cam
Set your chickens free

Offline Camel Tow

« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2011, 08:44:05 PM »
Some old footage here;

http://www.abc.net.au/news/video/2009/09/14/2685603.htm

« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2011, 08:45:29 PM »
I spoke with Mal at the camping show, he seems a top bloke.

Offline FZJ

« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2011, 09:06:14 PM »
Some old footage here;

http://www.abc.net.au/news/video/2009/09/14/2685603.htm

cheers, thank you

Camel bushman....

« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2011, 09:17:40 PM »
Little of topic, but i remember driving past there Leyland Bros World. What ever happen'd there ?

« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2011, 09:21:31 PM »
Don't forget their REAL offroader...........the Kombi! Aaah, those were the days.

Cam

Go the Synchro....!!!!!!

8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Cheers Cruisindub

« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2011, 04:07:57 AM »
I can still remember the Leyland bro  wet T shirt coming out of the surf with his wife in it ,,,,,, was only a boy then  8)

« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2011, 06:41:29 AM »
I can still remember the Leyland bro  wet T shirt coming out of the surf with his wife in it ,,,,,, was only a boy then  8)

Where do I get that episode ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2011, 10:00:26 AM »
Travel all over the country side, ask the Leylands, ask the Leylands, ask the Leyland brothers..
I remember that shirt well, orange with a map of oz on it.

Offline beigewagon

« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2011, 07:31:54 PM »

Fantastic, thanks for the link. I still remember from Off The Beaten Track to Ask the Leylands as a kid watching. The other bits were before my time.

Beigewagon.
Flat four, not flat footed

« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2011, 07:34:17 PM »
Little of topic, but i remember driving past there Leyland Bros World. What ever happen'd there ?
went toes up... I dont think it was ever going to be a winner.. even Old Shitney Town went toes up.. apparently thats now houses :(

« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2011, 07:46:36 PM »

It's now just a servo, or was last time I went past, the fake Ayers Rock is still their.

« Reply #15 on: June 13, 2011, 08:17:08 PM »
Bit sad when things like that don't work. They were a big thing in there day.

« Reply #16 on: June 13, 2011, 09:00:08 PM »
Quote from: dno
Bit sad when things like that don't work. They were a big thing in there day.
agree, but times change, if the Leyland Bros came on now as a new show I'd give it 3 episodes before it was given the sausage..
I would be too intelligent for current kiddies to watch they would be totally confused - doesnt involve staged cooking, staged dancing, and lastly SMSing who the masses think is the most popular

« Reply #17 on: June 13, 2011, 09:13:37 PM »
Yer agree, But it's funny how every thing old is new again. All those aust's biggest wanker or so your a nance shows are just remakes of Safe way new face's and a such with a bit of red face's thrown in.

Offline TroyE

• you can't buy experience
« Reply #18 on: June 13, 2011, 09:23:49 PM »
thanks for the link, it's a good watch. the Leylands and Malcom douglas. they were the originals, sorry ruthy, you've got a long way to go yet  ;D

troy
you can't polish a turd, BUT you can roll it in glitter...

« Reply #19 on: June 13, 2011, 09:32:20 PM »
Quote from: TroyE
... sorry ruthy, you've got a long way to go yet  ;D
If Drinky Drinky lived to be 500 he still wont come close to either the Leylands or Malcolm D.. Cant believe its been so many months since he passed away :(

« Reply #20 on: June 13, 2011, 09:38:43 PM »
Don't forget Hans holstrop (spelling)

Offline TroyE

• you can't buy experience
« Reply #21 on: June 14, 2011, 08:55:44 PM »
yer great lose to this country, grab my son and watch the idiot box every time one of his doco's are on at a reasonable hour.

troy
you can't polish a turd, BUT you can roll it in glitter...

« Reply #22 on: June 14, 2011, 09:00:57 PM »
Traveling round the country side
Bugger the bush with a 4 wheel drive
Ask the Leyland Brothers
          ;D ;D

Offline camdyson

« Reply #23 on: June 14, 2011, 10:34:06 PM »
Traveling round the country side
Bugger the bush with a 4 wheel drive
Ask the Leyland Brothers
          ;D ;D

Redgum??.....
Set your chickens free

« Reply #24 on: June 14, 2011, 11:00:35 PM »
Redgum??.....

Pretty sure their line was "stuffed it up with a four wheel drive" but we won't hold that against them, they had some great songs (and average ones too).