Author Topic: Interesting Day Yesterday  (Read 8978 times)

Interesting Day Yesterday
« on: June 05, 2011, 03:00:55 PM »
Well after putting new coils in the disco (thanks Phil) No1 daughter wanted to look and take a 4WD for a test drive, so in the car and a little drive to McGrath Volkswagen to test drive the new Volkswagen Amarok Trendline.

Of coarse I wanted to drive it as well, I must say I was very supprised and impressed, firstly at how much room there was inside the car, there is enough room in the second row seats to comfortably seat 3 tall adults, much more spacious than any of the other dualcabs on the market by a country mile, I put the front seat in a position that I was happy (5' 11" approx)with legs almost out straight, then got into the back, I had enough room to almost have my legs straight out, it didn't feel cramped at all, the rear seats were comfortable much better than any other dualcab I've sat in.

They are big and they look bloody brilliant, they have good power and torque, 120Kw, 400Nm, a bit slow off the mark in first, but once in second, they do get up and go, we drove one fitted with soft springs (VW comfort springs) they are smooth, with hardly any road noise, steering is precise with good feel AND it doesn't drive like a truck, it has a very easy clutch, gear change is notchy but still very good, good seating postion with an up and down adjustability, which makes it very close to the seating position of the Disco.

Overall, brilliant, would I buy one, hell yeah, is my daughter buying one, hell yeah, am I happy with her decision, you betcha :cup:

A bonus with this is,

From the ARB website

To coincide with the release of the Volkswagen Amarok, ARB is pleased to announce a full array of quality 4x4 accessories to further increase the functionality and performance of this vehicle, including deluxe bull bars, Old Man Emu suspension, canopies and roof racks.

Re: Interesting Day Yesterday
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2011, 03:07:42 PM »
They are a good jigger and they look great, almost a shame to fit a bar to it :)

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2011, 05:07:04 PM »
They are a good jigger and they look great, almost a shame to fit a bar to it :)

I can't wait for the auto version to come out.
12 months away they tell me.

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2011, 05:13:23 PM »
I like everything about them, I just wonder about the towing capacity. A 2lt 4cyl is alot smaller than the 3ltr units in the Hilux's, Prados etc. I would buy one if I had more confidence in one towing my KK where I want to go without flogging it to death. They are a fantastic looking rig.

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2011, 05:31:33 PM »
I don't think you would need to flog it, it felt easy going with miles of torque, it pulls effortlessly from 1500rpm.

Bullbar
http://www.flickr.com/photos/flyingfridge/5460419609/in/set-72157625967228561/#/

« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2011, 05:32:59 PM »
they are a great looking ute...

only thing that comes close to having space on the inside is the triton in my opinion.

« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2011, 05:45:29 PM »
I like everything about them, I just wonder about the towing capacity. A 2lt 4cyl is alot smaller than the 3ltr units in the Hilux's, Prados etc. I would buy one if I had more confidence in one towing my KK where I want to go without flogging it to death. They are a fantastic looking rig.

I remember when they used to say the same thing about the 3 ltr Patrol when they 1st came out.....it doesn't,t really matter what size the motor is , its the power & torque that matters.....and its got that base pretty well covered.......but long term reliability ??  you won't know that for a few more years yet! !!

« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2011, 05:52:29 PM »
I remember when they used to say the same thing about the 3 ltr Patrol when they 1st came out.....it doesn't,t really matter what size the motor is , its the power & torque that matters.....and its got that base pretty well covered.......but long term reliability ??  you won't know that for a few more years yet! !!

You do know it's been around for about 3 or 4yrs now.

Offline Alloy C/T

« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2011, 05:58:14 PM »
What $$ ?  are they in silly money ? aka tojo or too cheap to be real ,aka great wall ? Redback you had the Explorer ergo your value for the $ paid  is inline with reality and not biased to  toyonissan .

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2011, 05:59:43 PM »
You do know it's been around for about 3 or 4yrs now.

I am not critisising the vehicle Baz, just if I had the choice I would like a bit more capacity for towing my KK around. I would go for a low lux on that basis even though I realise the VW would probably be a better vehicle in all other respects. Just my opinion mate. No KK and I would be all over it, mate.

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #10 on: June 05, 2011, 06:01:54 PM »
IMO the Toyota Hilux has been the benchmark as far as build quality goes in the 4wd ute market.
But the build quality in the VW seems  to be at a higher level again.
When for example you shut the door on the VW it makes that quality thud noise found in top european cars.
If nothing else the competitors will have to pull their fingers out.
Glenn

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2011, 07:35:42 PM »
I drove one in March, very nice, only thing was the clutch and stalling it. The guys at 4X4 Australia (July 2011) had the same problem when they tested it against the V6 Navara and Triton, the Amorak won easily.
Before adding any ARB accessories check with VW, read in a report that they are not happy with people putting accessories not recommended by them.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

« Reply #12 on: June 05, 2011, 08:25:25 PM »

read in a report that they are not happy with people putting accessories not recommended by them.

no manufacturer is..

Offline Dion

« Reply #13 on: June 05, 2011, 09:58:41 PM »
They are a big 4WD aren't they ... not until you see one up close you realise.  

VW used to have a 2.5 5cyl TD in their Touareg so they're not new to this game.  Having said that I think 2+ tonnes would be stretching the friendship.  But like you said ... you can read it on paper and mock the fact its "only" 2L but when you drive one its a different story ... they're very driveable and you don't find it wanting.

The auto will be the thing that they need to get sorted soon.  I was keen on one until I learnt the auto was going to be so far off ...

There is also talk of them bringing out a wagon version, kinda like the Challenger and the Triton relationship ... now that would be a cracker IMHO.  Still probably 4+ years away.

2017 Y62 Patrol
2009 Lifestyle Extenda

« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2011, 04:19:38 AM »
So Baz show us your new toy ,,, come on   ;D  :cheers:

« Reply #15 on: June 06, 2011, 08:30:03 AM »
They are a big 4WD aren't they ... not until you see one up close you realise. 

VW used to have a 2.5 5cyl TD in their Touareg so they're not new to this game.  Having said that I think 2+ tonnes would be stretching the friendship.  But like you said ... you can read it on paper and mock the fact its "only" 2L but when you drive one its a different story ... they're very driveable and you don't find it wanting.

The auto will be the thing that they need to get sorted soon.  I was keen on one until I learnt the auto was going to be so far off ...

There is also talk of them bringing out a wagon version, kinda like the Challenger and the Triton relationship ... now that would be a cracker IMHO.  Still probably 4+ years away.

Very true Dion, I think even a bloke your size would feel comfortable in one.

The clutch is a tad touchy, I nearly stalled a couple of times, but once I got used to it, it was fine.

Here is the wagon, not what I would call good looking though, I think the Challenger looks better.

The other thing I liked was the rim range, factory 16, 17, for a better range of offroad tyres to replace the 18s.

« Last Edit: June 06, 2011, 08:40:57 AM by Redback »

« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2011, 08:39:23 AM »
I am not critisising the vehicle Baz, just if I had the choice I would like a bit more capacity for towing my KK around. I would go for a low lux on that basis even though I realise the VW would probably be a better vehicle in all other respects. Just my opinion mate. No KK and I would be all over it, mate.

No worries, I didn't think you were critisizing the vehicle or me, vehicle choice is always a personal thing for various reasons :cheers:

Offline Slydog

« Reply #17 on: June 06, 2011, 09:29:30 AM »
they look like a great vehicle very capable. wonder how they go on dealers or spare parts in more remote towns?
Even a bargain costs money!!!!!

« Reply #18 on: June 06, 2011, 10:18:58 AM »
they look like a great vehicle very capable. wonder how they go on dealers or spare parts in more remote towns?

Like all modern vehicles these days, you'll have to wait for parts.

OK the 4WD version of the wagon

« Last Edit: June 07, 2011, 08:09:24 AM by Redback »

« Reply #19 on: June 06, 2011, 12:10:59 PM »
I saw one the other week close and looked pretty impressive. Not sure what type of money they are going for, but if I was after a Dual Cab Ute I would consider one.

« Reply #20 on: June 06, 2011, 01:18:18 PM »
I saw one the other week close and looked pretty impressive. Not sure what type of money they are going for, but if I was after a Dual Cab Ute I would consider one.

Amarok TDI400 2WD 120kW 6-speed manual $33,990

Amarok TDI400 4MOTION 120kW 6-speed manual $43,990

Amarok Trendline TDI400 4MOTION 120kW 6-speed manual $47,990

Amarok Highline TDI400 4MOTION 120kW 6-speed manual $52,990

Amarok Ultimate TDI400 4MOTION 120kW 6-speed manual $58,490

Plus onroads

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #21 on: June 06, 2011, 07:52:29 PM »
Amarok TDI400 2WD 120kW 6-speed manual $33,990

Amarok TDI400 4MOTION 120kW 6-speed manual $43,990

Amarok Trendline TDI400 4MOTION 120kW 6-speed manual $47,990

Amarok Highline TDI400 4MOTION 120kW 6-speed manual $52,990

Amarok Ultimate TDI400 4MOTION 120kW 6-speed manual $58,490

Plus onroads

Very similar price wise to the Hilux.

Offline lostindust

« Reply #22 on: June 06, 2011, 09:04:33 PM »
Only problem with their size is parking it.

Our amarok takes a little 2 point manouvre to get it in my parking spot at work. We can't put a canopy on as it would be too tall for the garage. Same with roof rails. Probably the same with a lift.

Beautiful to drive. My wife thought it was much like the Honda jazz to drive.

« Reply #23 on: June 07, 2011, 08:13:27 AM »
Only problem with their size is parking it.

Our amarok takes a little 2 point manouvre to get it in my parking spot at work. We can't put a canopy on as it would be too tall for the garage. Same with roof rails. Probably the same with a lift.

Beautiful to drive. My wife thought it was much like the Honda jazz to drive.

Have you been able to do some real world fuel economy figures, the factory figures will always be better, do you have some towing and not towing??

Offline lostindust

« Reply #24 on: June 07, 2011, 05:59:23 PM »
so far averaging around 8.4L/100K. mainly around town and some highway. used a whole 8.8L/100km when i got stuck in city traffic for an hour.

haven't towed anywhere yet though.