Author Topic: Cooper ST's or Mickey Thompson ATZ 4 RIB  (Read 3415 times)

Racer

Cooper ST's or Mickey Thompson ATZ 4 RIB
« on: March 11, 2011, 08:29:04 PM »
As the title displays....apparently there is a 2 month wait for BFG All Terrains and these are my other two options. I am leaning towards the Coopers...Usage will be a lot of forest driving, black stuff and a touch of sand...

Re: Cooper ST's or Mickey Thompson ATZ 4 RIB
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2011, 08:52:46 PM »
Done quite a bit of reading on this topic and i would  go the 4 rib , there get'n a good run out of them and they are very good in most condition's including mud. Ive got MTZ's on one car and i'm going to replace them with the 4 rib next time.
Cheer's.

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2011, 09:55:26 PM »
I have had both the ST's on my Jeep and now the 4 ribs on my Pajero.  I am happy with both.  My mate had an ST delaminate on him while driving on bitumen and has been put off them for life.

« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2011, 10:15:33 PM »
I'm running ATZ's on my GU at the moemnt ans they seem to be doing everything I ask of them. They have seen plenty of offroad towing and not towing and there not chipped at all. I have used them around tassie and the High Country areas covering 14k in a few months. I would consider fitting them again
I have also run 2 sets of MTZ's but theses ATZ's seem to be getting better wear.

« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2011, 10:31:22 PM »
Another vote for ATZ 4ribs.

Both very popular but there seems to be a lot more failures amongst the Coopers.
Drive on both a fair bit and i reckon the MT's are a step ahead.

Cheers john

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2011, 10:43:09 PM »
Im on my 3rd set of Cooper ST's. The first couple of sets were on Turbo 4.2 GU Nissan Patrol ute, was getting about 85,000 clicks out of them 265/70/16.
I've now got a set on my Dual cab auto D4D Toyota Hilux, I'll be battling to get 60,000 clicks out of them 245/75/16.
The Hilux is heaps more lively than the Patrol and I think that is why I'm not gunna get similar k's out of them.
I carry a sh!t load of weight on both vehicles and drive on a lot of dirt corrugated roads and rough as guts paddocks.
I hope this helps
Cheers Glenn

Ps. It pays to shop around with Cooper prices. I saved $280 for the set of 4.

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

Racer

« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2011, 09:10:19 AM »
I appreciate your replies. I have done a bit of shopping around and my local tyre supplier quoted me 342 per corner for the BFG 265/70/17's where another well known supplier wanted 389.

Offline Matt02

« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2011, 09:12:41 AM »
I just got the ATZ 4 ribbed on my patrol, and I must say I am impressed so far. I usually drive on muddies and these are nice. I've had cheap muddies, 3 sets of GY MTRs and a set of MT MTZs, and these are much smoother, don't know how they'll go off road, but I'll give em a go shortly.

Racer

« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2011, 09:26:08 AM »
Cheers Matt, I was quoted 365 a tyre for the MT's in a 265/70/17.

« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2011, 11:45:26 AM »
I'll also put in a vote for the MT tyres.. We had ATZ's before the MTZ and lasted well.

Offline FamilyTruckster

« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2011, 04:42:33 PM »
Cooper ST's get my vote. Had mine for 40,000 k's now and are still going strong. No problems and can go where most muddies go without any trouble.

Offline Sharky

• AORC - Odyssey Export
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2011, 06:39:50 PM »
Cooper ST for me.
Not long ago I changed over my first pair with 85,000km on them. Remaining pair have now got 95,000km on them but the'll be off before the end of the month. They've done the Tanami and GRR (twice) with some Vic High country thrown in for good measure. Very happy with them so will stick with the ST.
Sharky
LC105 & AORC - Odyssey Export

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2011, 08:02:07 PM »
I have had a set of Cooper Sts and got 85K, now have Mickeys MTZ and have done 50 K and think I should get 80K. But the size you can get in the MTs is limited, am about to buy a new 4by and we have to be carefull about the tyres we put on our vehicles. Say you have 245/70x16s the biggest you can put on legally (allowing the 15mm above diameter) is 255/70x16s and Mickey Thompson's do not make that size in MTZ or ATZ real pain in the butt.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955