Author Topic: Advantages of CT over caravan.  (Read 4076 times)

Offline Blinky Bill

• Soft Floor Camper User
  • 2013 Pajero auto diesel & 2000 Kimberley Kamper
Advantages of CT over caravan.
« on: March 11, 2011, 07:50:49 AM »

I've been enjoying the camper trailer life for over 14 years now. I went from a small tent to a bigger tent to experiencing a camper van and eventually discovered this beaut package known as a camper trailer. I originally kicked off with a rather nice new soft floor on road model and as time went by I wanted an off-road and so purchased a 3rd hand 2000 model Kimberley Kamper.

So that's what got me to this point, and I wonder if one day when age catches-up if I'll become a caravan guy. I read a fair bit about why caravan owners move from camper trailers and it's almost always to do with 'wet canvas'. Now I know that caravans have heaps of advantages over CT's, stop - open door - sit down out of the weather - is the obvious one for me.

But I wonder if there aren't advantages for the CT over the caravan and would like your thoughts.

A couple that I can think of are:
* Easier to tow - Personally I like looking in the rear view mirror and seeing over the top of my CT.
* Cheaper to tow - I'd reckon it costs way less to tow than an 'apartment on wheels'.
* Easy to stow - Unlike most caravans my CT will easily stow in a garage, shed or car port without needing to worry about damaging the roof.

And on that note I'll throw it open for comments. If you want you can toss in points for the CT, for the caravan or perhaps a bit of both. Maybe you went away with a group that had both CT's and caravans and can share your observations.

Cheers - Wayne

Reminds me of my safari in Africa. Somebody forgot the corkscrew and for several days we had to live on nothing but food and water.
W. C. Fields (1880 - 1946)

Offline TOPNDR

• Soft Floor Camper User
Re: Advantages of CT over caravan.
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2011, 08:12:22 AM »