Author Topic: Now bullbars under threat - survey  (Read 28516 times)

Re: Now bullbars under threat - survey
« Reply #50 on: January 08, 2011, 12:06:36 PM »
oops!  Thanks Dazzler for reminding me to renew my prescription of 'ThinkRight' pills, its a long time since 1984 and I have finally run out! ;D

Offline Slipus

• Slip
« Reply #51 on: January 11, 2011, 04:00:35 PM »
Survey done

What moron proposed banning Bullbars.  This would cost lives.  What about heavy vehicles, a roo/beast would do significant damage and could possibly force the vehicle into on coming traffic. 
What about repair costs and delays ?

regards

Slip

« Reply #52 on: January 12, 2011, 10:36:01 AM »
Survey done

What moron proposed banning Bullbars.  This would cost lives.  What about heavy vehicles, a roo/beast would do significant damage and could possibly force the vehicle into on coming traffic. 
What about repair costs and delays ?

regards

Slip
Yet to actually see any evidence that this has been proposed.  Happy to be shown some if it exists. 

Remember: "Without evidence it is just a beat up!"   ;D

« Reply #53 on: January 12, 2011, 11:05:04 AM »
Yet to actually see any evidence that this has been proposed.  Happy to be shown some if it exists. 

Or an eleborate conspiracy theory put out there by paraniod anti authoritarian.....or worse,.... a sly Scruby-arian. ;D ;D

« Reply #54 on: January 12, 2011, 04:06:39 PM »
Or an eleborate conspiracy theory put out there by paraniod anti authoritarian.....or worse,.... a sly Scruby-arian. ;D ;D

Snow, someone has already run the 'its the pedestrians' line a few days ago! 

Still waiting for the pics!

« Reply #55 on: January 12, 2011, 07:39:07 PM »
Snow, someone has already run the 'its the pedestrians' line a few days ago! 

Still waiting for the pics!
Yeah mate, it was me. Always good for a bit more milage. ;D ;D

Offline turbojoe

« Reply #56 on: January 15, 2011, 07:52:40 PM »
just did it !

« Reply #57 on: January 18, 2011, 09:23:33 PM »
done

Offline ozynorts

« Reply #58 on: January 19, 2011, 10:33:51 AM »

just found this link on the fed gov infrastructure website.
http://www.infrastructure.gov.au/roads/motor/design/adr_comment.aspx
go to the pdf titled regulation impact statement
« Last Edit: January 19, 2011, 10:41:07 AM by ozynorts »
Ezytrail behind Colorado 7 LTZ

« Reply #59 on: January 19, 2011, 11:08:37 AM »
Thanks Oz,

Will have a look at it.  Always good to know what is actually being proposed.  Might even be able to make a submission - which would likely carry a lot more weight than signing an e-petition.  Similarly, something to write to MPs about.

Offline Dunk66

« Reply #60 on: January 19, 2011, 09:30:58 PM »
next they try to stop trucks from having bull bars this l reckon has all come about since yuppies started buying 4x4'sjavascript:void(0);

« Reply #61 on: January 19, 2011, 09:57:30 PM »
I have just read the documentation from the goovernment and it does seem to recognise the need for VFPS (bull bars) on 4wd vehicles and the ban of steel bars seems to only apply to 2wd vehicles (to be replaced with polymer bars). So all may not quite be as bad as it seems.  Having said this, I still stand by the old addage that :

A BULLBAR IN THE BUSH IS WORTH TWO PEDESTRIANS IN THE CITY

« Reply #62 on: January 19, 2011, 10:16:12 PM »
No Aus manufacturer / retailer will agree to comply with this:
"... 5. Frontal protection systems, as separate technical units, shall
not be distributed, offered for sale or sold unless accompanied by
a list of vehicle types for which the frontal protection system is
type-approved, as well as by clear assembly instructions."

Just imagine all the 'experts' that would be needed to translate the 'chinglish' "destructions" that come with the stuff from Superche@p / Flea-bay!  ;D

Offline TroyE

• you can't buy experience
« Reply #63 on: January 24, 2011, 09:37:38 PM »
done

Thank You!
Thank you for taking our survey. Your response is very important to us. For further information on this matter please visit: http://www.aaaa.com.au/4wd
you can't polish a turd, BUT you can roll it in glitter...

« Reply #64 on: January 25, 2011, 09:55:09 AM »
I have seen/heard somewhere that the whole thing is sponsored by SmartBar.......

Makes you thinking.

Offline Alloy C/T

« Reply #65 on: January 25, 2011, 02:22:42 PM »
Ok , could someone please explain  where they get their statistics from , 25 to 30 thousand animal strikes per year they claim in the article,  is this Australia wide or just 1 state ? Ive had upto 6 hits in just the 1 trip from home to the supermarket in Longreach ,126klm 1 way.

« Reply #66 on: January 25, 2011, 05:25:40 PM »

Ok , could someone please explain  where they get their statistics from , 25 to 30 thousand animal strikes per year they claim in the article,  is this Australia wide or just 1 state ? Ive had upto 6 hits in just the 1 trip from home to the supermarket in Longreach ,126klm 1 way.

what they are saying is that is an estimated figure..

hell i estimate 400,000,000,000 beers are had each year, let's run a survey to find out.

even if you don't have a bullbar or care, taking the time to complete the survey to help hit that $20,000 limit is great.

dan

Offline ntpryce

« Reply #67 on: January 25, 2011, 06:45:05 PM »

I think this is meant to come from insurance claim statistics.  Check this report out:  Australian Automotive Aftermarket Association industry position paper

Quote from this report: "In 2007 NRMA Insurance recorded over recorded over 9000 animal-related collisions in NSW alone, with the total cost to the NSW Community estimated at $70 million"
Proud owner of a new Challenge 'Meridian' off-road Camper Trailer.

:cup: May 2010 POTM Winner :cup:

« Reply #68 on: January 25, 2011, 07:23:34 PM »
Received this from ARB today

ARB, in conjunction with the Australian 4WD Industry Council has launched a national on-line public survey to collect information from the public about their use of bull bars and nudge bars.
The safety of Australian motorists that drive vehicles fitted with bull bars and nudge bars is threatened by proposed new Federal Government regulations, which are based on rules developed for the European environment and road conditions by the United Nations Economic Cooperation for Europe (UNECE).
The 4WD Industry Council wants up-to-date information about bull and nudge bars - also known as "vehicle front protection systems" (VFPS) - for its consultations with the Department of Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development in Canberra about the proposed regulation. This regulation focuses on pedestrian safety - not vehicle and occupant safety.
The Department has now released a Regulation Impact Statement for Pedestrian Safety Standards for public consultation, which closes on 15 April 2011. This document includes extensive discussion on "VFPS" and contains options for the regulation of bull bars.
By completing the 4WD Industry Council's survey, participants will help meet the need for current accurate data on the use of bull and nudge bars. The Council hopes to learn more about vehicle types, driving patterns and critical safety issues, such as animal strikes and other impacts.
Adoption of this overseas rule would make it impossible in Australia to fit bull and nudge bars, which are designed to protect drivers and passengers in front end animal strikes and other impacts. It may also ban winches and driving lights.
The Federal Department has released the proposed regulation for a three month consultation period. We want to collect road users' views and report them as part of the industry response.
The survey takes only moments to complete and is totally confidential. We will add this new data to a report recently commissioned by the Council to study animal strikes on Australian roads.
These Council initiatives respond to the lack of uniform data about the estimated 25,000 to 30,000 vehicle-to-animal strikes occurring each year across Australia. We do not believe that good regulatory decisions can be made without proper research and without canvassing all key issues.
ARB encourages road users to complete the on-line survey as soon as possible. The Survey closes on 31 March 2011. For every person completing the questionnaire, the Council will donate $1 to the Royal Flying Doctor Service, to a maximum of $20,000.

Offline GS

• The hand the turns the doorknob, opens the door...
« Reply #69 on: January 25, 2011, 08:05:24 PM »

« Reply #70 on: January 26, 2011, 11:17:40 AM »
Why is it some 4wd drivers think it’s ok to drive around with their bullbar mounted rod holders fitted when they're obviously not going fishing? Given there is enough focus on bullbars, do you need to draw attention to yourself even more?

Offline balfang

• "My sister & I - can't really see any resemblance"
« Reply #71 on: January 26, 2011, 12:20:19 PM »
Survey done !

The pollies need to realise that bullbars don't kill people. Drivers kill people  >:(

The road toll isn't going to decrease just by banning bullbars.

Cheers Keith  :cheers:

« Reply #72 on: January 26, 2011, 12:37:59 PM »
Why is it some 4wd drivers think it’s ok to drive around with their bullbar mounted rod holders fitted when they're obviously not going fishing? Given there is enough focus on bullbars, do you need to draw attention to yourself even more?

Its called arrogance, the 'no one can stop me doing whatever I damn well want' syndrome.  Beside, its the fault of the kid / their parents if they run onto the road and are impaled on my rod holder ... so don't blame me.

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #73 on: January 26, 2011, 02:01:02 PM »
Those "burger makers" (rod holders) should be banned. Who in their right mind would want their expensive fishing gear on the bull bar getting flies and Christ knows what stuck on it?
Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

« Reply #74 on: January 26, 2011, 05:11:13 PM »
TFB, ... "who?" ... what the Kiwis would call "wenkers". ...  "Look at me, I own fishing rods, but left 'em at home!"