General => General Discussion => Topic started by: paceman on July 05, 2018, 08:08:32 AM

Title: new modcon c3 hybrid
Post by: paceman on July 05, 2018, 08:08:32 AM
anyone seen one of these in the flesh?

http://modcon.com.au/c3-hybrid (http://modcon.com.au/c3-hybrid)

(http://modcon.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/side2-c3-1-1642x1003.gif)

very interesting...

the lifestyle breakaway ultra was at the top of my 'new camper' list, but this is definitely a viable competitor, IMO...

starting at $32,000... a bit dearer then the breakaway, but has more features and storage, by the looks...

Title: Re: new modcon c3 hybrid
Post by: wilson79 on July 05, 2018, 08:14:49 AM
Yes saw it at the Brisbane camping show, it does look good for the dollars, but I would wait a bit longer until they start building a couple more. Just for them to iron out any teething problems.
The fit and finish was a bit poor but I was told it was rushed together for the show..
Overall HEAPS of storage and a nice kitchen and pantry in the side. I really liked the layout and could see potential.
Post by: paceman on July 05, 2018, 08:17:36 AM
Yes saw it at the Brisbane camping show, it does look good for the dollars, but I would wait a bit longer until they start building a couple more. Justr for them to iorn out any teething problems.
The fit and finish was a bit poor but I was told it was rushed together for the show..
Overall HEAPS of storage and a nice kitchen and pantry in the side. I really liked the layout and could see potential.

certainly not in the market just yet, so time is not an issue for me... :)

i like the idea of the bunk conversion... if the kids don't want to come, easy change for just the wife and i...

i do like the kitchen to the side, rather than slide out...  and the pop-up ensuite is a great idea...

Post by: wilson79 on July 05, 2018, 08:22:57 AM
Yes we liked like the bunk bed feature two as it would be perfect for our two boys..

I really like the North / South Kitchens too as it keeps the annex clear and gives you more room under cover.. Overall I was pretty impressed with the  layout and design and thought for the price even if you pumped another couple of Grand into it getting it the way you wanted it would still be rather economical. One thing I would need to look at though was it seemed very low for an off-road trailer, and may need a Suspension upgrade to gain some lift.
Post by: paceman on July 05, 2018, 08:27:14 AM
Yes we liked like the bunk bed feature two as it would be perfect for our two boys..

I really like the North / South Kitchens too as it keeps the annex clear and gives you more room under cover.. Overall I was pretty impressed with the  layout and design and thought for the price even if you pumped another couple of Grand into it getting it the way you wanted it would still be rather economical. One thing I would need to look at though was it seemed very low for an off-road trailer, and may need a Suspension upgrade to gain some lift.

two boys for us too... :)

agreed about the more room under cover...
Post by: Spada on July 05, 2018, 08:28:02 AM

Yes, but it was called a Complete Campsite Exodise 11  >:D
Post by: tryagain on July 05, 2018, 08:35:03 AM

Looks like they share more than a few similarities, I am guessing price isn't one of them though.
Post by: paceman on July 05, 2018, 08:37:58 AM

can't argue with that...  ;D

but, also can't argue that the modcon is nearly a third of the price of the exodus 11... and still done by a reputable manufacturer...
Post by: Spada on July 05, 2018, 09:57:12 AM
also can't argue that the modcon is nearly a third of the price of the exodus 11... and still done by a reputable manufacturer...

fair call  8)
Post by: edz on July 05, 2018, 10:08:28 AM
Given the one at the Brisbane show was a first put together and a bit rushed, You would hope the few finish assembly quality issues will be addressed in the production runs ..
Internal mounted fittings [ TV mount and something in a cabinet screwed on with screws that were too long and deformed [ pimpling ] the big flat outer wall skins on both external side walls .. didnt look good ..
 ally welds to bunk bed frame could have done with a cleanup .
Roof hatch Ally flat bar pivot  to me needs to be a bit more beef to stop sideways movement ... The soft Automotive rubber roof seal is being chaffed / pinched and cut open at some point ..
The little cupboard between the main bed and bunks looks like an after thought thats just been plonked there ..
Other than that we didnt mind it, Given it looks like an ACP clad type hard wall camper  with minimal setup / canvas etc .
  It was roomy enough for a bloke my size and the wife with mobility issues liked the lower entry step setup and the fact the bed was lower than level with the windows, unlike a lot of others we looked at.
You would want to hope the front window would seal realy well when traveling in wet weather .
Post by: GBC on July 05, 2018, 12:43:33 PM
As above, I looked at it and liked where they are going with it. You'd allow a few extra g's for a decent awning etc.
Have you actually priced a breakway yet? By the time you add a few of the necessities that they leave off the standard inclusions you'll be right at the same sticker price and considering one is a hybrid and the other is simply a camper trailer with a hard lid there would be no comparison.
Post by: McGirr on July 05, 2018, 01:00:16 PM
Thought it was you Scott in the video.

Post by: tryagain on July 05, 2018, 01:48:12 PM
The little cupboard between the main bed and bunks looks like an after thought thats just been plonked there ..

Dont know that it's fair to blame them for design issues.... :o

Post by: silverfox1111 on July 05, 2018, 02:46:05 PM
Given the one at the Brisbane show was a first put together and a bit rushed, You would hope the few finish assembly quality issues will be addressed in the production runs ..
Internal mounted fittings [ TV mount and something in a cabinet screwed on with screws that were too long and deformed [ pimpling ] the big flat outer wall skins on both external side walls .. didnt look good ..
 ally welds to bunk bed frame could have done with a cleanup .
Roof hatch Ally flat bar pivot  to me needs to be a bit more beef to stop sideways movement ... The soft Automotive rubber roof seal is being chaffed / pinched and cut open at some point ..
Other than that we didnt mind it, Given it looks like an ACP clad type hard wall camper  with minimal setup / canvas etc .
  It was roomy enough for a bloke my size and the wife with mobility issues liked the lower entry step setup and the fact the bed was lower than level with the windows, unlike a lot of others we looked at.
You would want to hope the front window would seal realy well when traveling in wet weather .
Guessing my FF1 i had was a pre-production run as well.
Post by: KingBilly on July 05, 2018, 05:47:34 PM

http://modcon.com.au/c3-hybrid (http://modcon.com.au/c3-hybrid)

starting at $32,000... a bit dearer then the breakaway, but has more features and storage, by the looks...

Looks interesting.  Also looks like a direct copy of several other Aussie manufacturers.

I presume that at that price point, it is being manufactured overseas, not Aussie built.

Post by: edz on July 05, 2018, 06:17:57 PM
Dont know that it's fair to blame them for design issues.... :o
Not blaming at all, To us it just  looked as if it had just been put there as a stand alone after thought ..
From memory the CC mob  tie that cabinet  into the other cabinets under the beds etc as if they are all one piece .  8)
Post by: paceman on July 05, 2018, 06:56:25 PM
Looks interesting.  Also looks like a direct copy of several other Aussie manufacturers.

I presume that at that price point, it is being manufactured overseas, not Aussie built.

At that price point, I would bet strongly that it is done at least partly overseas...

Whilst I don’t agree with designs being copied, it won’t stop me from purchasing...

Unfortunately, I’m not even close to being able to afford the Aussie built versions, so this will be one of my options...

Post by: McGirr on July 05, 2018, 07:56:16 PM
With all the brands on the market there will always be similarities between brands. Look at forward fold styles they all look similar.

To enter this hybrid style market today naturally there will be so called copies. At the end of the day we can say but they copied them etc but not everyone can afford $80k plus for a well known manufacturer.

The market will decide who lasts and who doesn't.

Post by: gronk on July 05, 2018, 08:51:14 PM

but, also can't argue that the modcon is nearly a third of the price of the exodus 11... and still done by a reputable manufacturer...

Although it most likely is made in China. The price does look very appealing, but it's not for me......too heavy, too wide and too high.. 8)
Post by: KingBilly on July 06, 2018, 08:14:26 AM
I find it rather amusing watching some of this discussion.  I remember when MDC copied the Lifetsyle, CC, etc and all the staunch Aussie manufacturing supporters started ranting and raving, on this very forum, about Chinese copies of good old Aussie designs.  Now Modcon have done what another three or four other importers have done, and not one whinge about it being a copy  ;D. But in fairness to Modcon, everybody else has copied their original forward fold design, so I guess it is just payback  :cup:

Post by: paceman on July 06, 2018, 08:27:14 AM
I find it rather amusing watching some of this discussion.  I remember when MDC copied the Lifetsyle, CC, etc and all the staunch Aussie manufacturing supporters started ranting and raving, on this very forum, about Chinese copies of good old Aussie designs.  Now Modcon have done what another three or four other importers have done, and not one whinge about it being a copy  ;D. But in fairness to Modcon, everybody else has copied their original forward fold design, so I guess it is just payback  :cup:

i don't want this thread to turn into the usual 'design copy' fiasco...

in the end, design copying has been going on forever and nothing we can do will stop it.  everyone has an opinion on it and that's cool.  happy to just move on.

would much rather the thread just be closed instead of the design copy rubbish coming back.

the point has been raised and i've addressed it.

still happy to hear people's thoughts on the trailer itself, as per my original post.

Post by: scott8888 on July 06, 2018, 10:47:14 AM
Personally i think its a very unique design, yes there are similarities, but one can always identify similarities between campers, particularly in the hybrid market.  Im going to go and have a look at one of them in coming weeks. 
Has anyone with a Modcon camper got feedback on their suspension system? as i note its their own system rather than a Cruisemaster or equivalent system.
thanks,
Scott.
Post by: wakychapmans on July 06, 2018, 11:40:50 AM
my question for them was can I match my tow vehicles wheels. (285/75/16 - Toyota 5 bolt)

they answered me.

"...the tyres are 265/75 R16 and bolt pattern is 6 stud landcruiser.  As for changing to the 5 bolt land cruiser, unfortunately we do not offer this option."

this would indicate to me that the chassis, suspension etc (at least) are imported as a locally manufactured setup would be easy(er) to change.

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 06, 2018, 12:25:23 PM
If it's fitted with Alko Brand Brakes then you just swap out the Drum assembly.

They do that on the Track Trailers, to match the Tow vehicle.
Post by: tryagain on July 06, 2018, 12:50:18 PM
Personally i think its a very unique design, yes there are similarities, but one can always identify similarities between campers, particularly in the hybrid market.  Im going to go and have a look at one of them in coming weeks. 
Has anyone with a Modcon camper got feedback on their suspension system? as i note its their own system rather than a Cruisemaster or equivalent system.
thanks,
Scott.

Have you looked at the CC Exodus 11 Bunk version? It's pretty obvious copy to my way of thinking. Having said that if you just do everything the same as an established competitor you are unlikely to succeed. Modcon haven't differentiated themselves much on the design, but they obviously have on the manufacturing process to deliver something at a fraction of the price.
Post by: scott8888 on July 06, 2018, 04:53:07 PM
Have you looked at the CC Exodus 11 Bunk version? It's pretty obvious copy to my way of thinking. Having said that if you just do everything the same as an established competitor you are unlikely to succeed. Modcon haven't differentiated themselves much on the design, but they obviously have on the manufacturing process to deliver something at a fraction of the price.

Well aware of the CC exodus, in fact been keen on this style of camper since before CC got into the exodus, when they were still made by Ian Simpson at Exodus Campers... eg the Kingston...back when they were still reasonably priced too.
As i said there are similarities, such as the layout, but style and manufacturing are quite different and aimed at very different markets.
regards.
Post by: Spada on July 06, 2018, 05:05:35 PM
Regarding Pacemans query about seeing one in the flesh, yes I did have a brief look at the Brisbane show last month. It certainly grabbed my attention as I walked past, and I didn't mind the concept and layout, but once I started having a bit of a close looked I was VERY surprised at the overall quality of finish and refinement. Makes sense if it was a bit rushed just to get it ready for the show, but given the reputation Modcon has for being one of the more respected brands, I was a bit surprised they let this one slip through.

Now doubt the quality will improve, so I wouldn't write it off, just give them a while to sort it out.
Post by: Bird on July 06, 2018, 05:09:16 PM
Quote from: Spada
Makes sense if it was a bit rushed just to get it ready for the show
See I don't buy that...
Surely if your a professional company, with all the shows calendared up usually 12mths in advance, you should have your Shit together to put your show piece...

I know that's how we did it when I was building boats down at Brackens - they were always finished and tested (and usually sold) weeks in advance of a show
Post by: gronk on July 06, 2018, 06:37:54 PM
See I don't buy that...
Surely if your a professional company, with all the shows calendared up usually 12mths in advance, you should have your Shit together to put your show piece...

I know that's how we did it when I was building boats down at Brackens - they were always finished and tested (and usually sold) weeks in advance of a show

Gee, for once I agree with you mate.  :cup:

If in fact it comes from overseas, and a show is coming up, you tart it up as good as possible. If you show it as is, you must realise ALL the future examples are going to be the same.

Post by: tryagain on July 06, 2018, 07:07:34 PM
I agree with you mate.  :cup:

x3
You only get one chance to make a first impression.

Although I do think sometimes people get a little too tied up in build quality, there is an adequate quality which is necessary and then there is aesthetically pleasing workmanship which is great but more a luxury than a necessity. But that is a different topic.
Post by: gronk on July 06, 2018, 08:32:40 PM
x3
You only get one chance to make a first impression.

Although I do think sometimes people get a little too tied up in build quality, there is an adequate quality which is necessary and then there is aesthetically pleasing workmanship which is great but more a luxury than a necessity. But that is a different topic.

But I think a very important factor in most purchases....whether it be campers or cars or even houses.

But it is also why some are happy with a shack out the back of town and others see the benefit of a "nice" house in town..

I had 2 KK campers, and I personally liked the finished product ( as well as the functional product ), but others are happy with a cheaper product that probably does the same or similar function !!

It's the same in everything we buy......why not buy a $12 saucepan from Woolies instead of the fancy $45 one from XX shop ??

Modcon will have some good sales with this......but the width and height might deter some.
Post by: Benduro on October 16, 2018, 08:50:58 AM
Any update on these? Info' and first-hand experience still limited I guess.
Highly functional layout for a family of four... more so than the Breakaway Ultra (fridge being main issue).

Post by: KeithB on October 16, 2018, 09:33:39 AM
The price doesn't look too bad. But add in 240 mains hookup, battery management and solar plus an off road hitch, some hot water and a fridge and there's another $7K. It seems very easy to blow the price out on base models of all makes with options which maybe oughta be in there to start with.
Post by: edz on October 16, 2018, 09:40:41 AM
An idea for you maybe .. depending on skills / friends with abilities  / space etc or possibly commissioning a mobile welder / fabricator
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCjx8lgIMCU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCjx8lgIMCU)   .. Could be done well to a lower budget ..
Post by: JusyApples on October 16, 2018, 11:56:50 AM
Any update on these? Info' and first-hand experience still limited I guess.
Highly functional layout for a family of four... more so than the Breakaway Ultra (fridge being main issue).
Mate I spoke to Modcon last week as we are interested in looking at one. Basically they only have 1 on show which is being used for shows. They are doing shipments every few months with only a handful on each one, next one is due in January but have all been allocated to customers. Being in Sydney he said they don’t have any for show in NSW as yet.

Post by: BaseCamp on October 16, 2018, 12:11:18 PM

....... It seems very easy to blow the price out on base models of all makes with options which maybe oughta be in there to start with.

Ain't that the truth...

Like it would also be the correct way to go - if manufacturers told the truth about the realistic weight of their products...

Not a non-usable culled back version that excludes LPG; water; and the accessories they install for you at the factory; etc....

But because there is no clear legislation covering at what point the thing should be plated; and because "they all do it, why should my company needlessly make our vans look heavier"  ...  then tonnage gets quoted at an unrealistic "Dry Weight"....

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: The punter on October 16, 2018, 12:18:20 PM
I like it, kind of between an Exodus and a Rhinomax, both of which were on our list
Post by: tryagain on October 16, 2018, 12:39:37 PM
I like it, kind of between an Exodus and a Rhinomax, both of which were on our list

Its a direct copy of the exodus isn't it?
Post by: tryagain on October 16, 2018, 12:41:59 PM
Mate I spoke to Modcon last week as we are interested in looking at one. Basically they only have 1 on show which is being used for shows. They are doing shipments every few months with only a handful on each one, next one is due in January but have all been allocated to customers. Being in Sydney he said they don’t have any for show in NSW as yet.

Seems a strange way of doing business, I would think these would sell well as long as the supply chain works properly.
Post by: outbackogre on October 16, 2018, 02:14:18 PM
I'm also interested in this concept and layout.  Love the Darche awning, but it does suggest it needs to be packed away in windy conditions.  Someone suggested (King Billy?) earlier in this thread that the C3 was a copy of several other manufacturers (besides Complete Campsite).  Can anyone point me to these others?  I'd like to compare what each offers? 
Post by: edz on October 16, 2018, 03:06:24 PM
Just watched the vids .. This jumped out at me in the underneath views .Would have to hope this is the prototype one in the videos just to show the concept .
Looks like someone forgot to put breather / drain holes in the chassis box sections and the Galvanisers took to the chassis with an oxy torch .. Wouldnt be too happy about that ..
You definately wouldnt want to have that on the display version ..
Post by: tagman on October 16, 2018, 06:14:49 PM
I was keen on one of these.
Had a look on the weekend at a show on the Sunshine Coast.
It was raining - very wet. Not all the water was “outside” the camper. The external “pantry” door was very flimsy and I did not think it would last.
That was enough for me to move on.

Post by: JusyApples on October 16, 2018, 07:31:11 PM
What are the prices on similar models from different brands? This type of set up is something that would suit us
Post by: tryagain on October 16, 2018, 07:36:30 PM
What are the prices on similar models from different brands? This type of set up is something that would suit us

About 80k http://unsealed4x4.com.au/review-complete-campsite-exodus-11/ (http://unsealed4x4.com.au/review-complete-campsite-exodus-11/)
Post by: JusyApples on October 16, 2018, 07:53:38 PM
In that case the $50k I save can be used for fixing things
Post by: edz on October 16, 2018, 09:43:24 PM
I'm also interested in this concept and layout.  Love the Darche awning, but it does suggest it needs to be packed away in windy conditions.  Someone suggested (King Billy?) earlier in this thread that the C3 was a copy of several other manufacturers (besides Complete Campsite).  Can anyone point me to these others?  I'd like to compare what each offers?
This may help you https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/editorial/details/top-10-hybrid-campers-113404/ (https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/editorial/details/top-10-hybrid-campers-113404/)
Post by: outbackogre on October 17, 2018, 07:53:01 AM
Thanks Edz.  Some great hybrid candy there.  Compared to this lot, the C3 is certainly a cheaper option, but it appears there's a reason for that.
Post by: JusyApples on October 17, 2018, 10:53:52 AM
Wow some of those prices

Post by: edz on October 17, 2018, 11:03:11 AM
Or you could go the way Stumped did and for about twenty K give or take http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=37321.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=37321.0)
Post by: Bird on October 17, 2018, 11:05:38 AM
Quote from: JusyApples
Wow some of those prices
and some of them are piss small ...
even tight for this family
(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/2OQAAOSwn7JYE6Ga/s-l640.jpg)
Post by: Rumpig on October 17, 2018, 11:11:28 AM
This may help you https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/editorial/details/top-10-hybrid-campers-113404/ (https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/editorial/details/top-10-hybrid-campers-113404/)
apparently Lifestyle aren’t in the top 10 of hybrids according to that list hey.
Post by: edz on October 17, 2018, 11:52:24 AM
They got listed under camper trailers about page 10 ..Rummy along with some other vans and Hybrids .
Post by: JusyApples on October 17, 2018, 05:17:20 PM
Wife and I went and looked at some options today. Couldn’t believe the weight of the ezytrail Parkes hybrid.  3000ATM as opposed to this 2000ATM