Author Topic: Specials on at Aldi this week!  (Read 158129 times)

Offline wakychapmans

Re: Specials on at Aldi this week!
« Reply #375 on: February 14, 2019, 10:08:40 AM »
I got one too on the weekend. Cooked up a curry in it last night, worked as it should and cleaned up easily. Happy with it so now I can swap it out for the heavy cast iron stuff I have been using. Love the removable handles, packs up well with no long handles getting in the road and taking up valuable space..
we already have a compact cookware set from years ago. Still working fine.

we did grab the Thermal Cooker and a couple of sets of the silicone storage tubs from Aldi.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

« Reply #376 on: February 14, 2019, 10:28:05 AM »
we already have a compact cookware set from years ago. Still working fine.

we did grab the Thermal Cooker and a couple of sets of the silicone storage tubs from Aldi.

Me too with the stackable cookwear - best thing ive bought. One of my mates went and grabbed one but was gutted to find they no longer do the cast lid for the dutch oven (camp oven) or the colander. I use that lid in the weber all the time.

« Reply #377 on: February 14, 2019, 12:17:42 PM »
I got one too on the weekend. Cooked up a curry in it last night, worked as it should and cleaned up easily. Happy with it so now I can swap it out for the heavy cast iron stuff I have been using. Love the removable handles, packs up well with no long handles getting in the road and taking up valuable space..
Glad you're pleased with them, we had as for a couple of years and they are holding up well.

« Reply #378 on: February 14, 2019, 01:32:28 PM »
I went to an Aldi store on special buys day and never again
It was like Mos Eisley Space Port
"never will you see a more wretched hive of scum and villany"

« Reply #379 on: February 14, 2019, 01:52:07 PM »
Quote from: chester ver2.0
I went there years ago, not only was it a hive, the place was a lottery of what they actually had to sell- then again it was in Carrum/Frankston area, so most of the goods were probably stolen before being put on shelves.
I don't see the appeal in the joint!

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #380 on: February 14, 2019, 01:53:24 PM »

everyone in the office is now wondering why I'm laughing out loud....

FWIW... I *did* see two groups of couples (that could potentially be considered to be grey(ing) nomads) on different sides of the isle eyeing off the last caravan cover.

lightsabers were drawn...

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

Offline Josh_WA

« Reply #381 on: April 06, 2019, 04:23:08 PM »
Screw in tent pegs on sale this week. $10 for 20 pegs and the drill bit socket. Worth a shot at that price I reckon. Grabbed 2 boxes. The little cook set is back also. Cheers
2018 - Toyota Landcruiser 200 Series
2019 - Trackabout Extenda Tourer

« Reply #382 on: June 28, 2019, 10:14:42 AM »
Anyone wanting a cheap workshop wet/dry vacuum.  I've had one of these $70 Aldi vacs for around 8 years now.  Bit noisy, but works a treat.

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-29-june/saturday-detail-wk26/ps/p/1200w-wet-and-dry-vacuum-35l/

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: noel_w, Hookie

« Reply #383 on: June 28, 2019, 03:25:37 PM »
Anyone wanting a cheap workshop wet/dry vacuum.  I've had one of these $70 Aldi vacs for around 8 years now.  Bit noisy, but works a treat.

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-29-june/saturday-detail-wk26/ps/p/1200w-wet-and-dry-vacuum-35l/

Yep, was thinking of grabbing one. Cheap enough for sure.

« Reply #384 on: June 28, 2019, 06:26:27 PM »
I've had one for about 10? Years.
No problems with it and I don't treat it gently.

Also great that you can connect it to your tools, like saws, so it only vacuums when you are cutting.

« Reply #385 on: June 28, 2019, 06:49:38 PM »
We did our tucker shopping in the Gympie store around 3 years ago now and found there stuff not that good, but went again the other day as they did a big upgrade to the shop and found it great heaps of stuff made in aus and saved around $100 on a huge trolley full of tucker,

Offline Hookie

« Reply #386 on: June 29, 2019, 07:26:21 AM »

I am in the market for for a new vac to suck the beach out of the rig all summer, so thanks for posting this. Have you had any issues getting replacements filters for it or do you know if there's a standard size that fits?

« Reply #387 on: June 29, 2019, 07:52:06 AM »
I am in the market for for a new vac to suck the beach out of the rig all summer, so thanks for posting this. Have you had any issues getting replacements filters for it or do you know if there's a standard size that fits?
You can easily buy bags and filters online.  Vacbagsdirect sell them.

The filters are the pleated barrel type.  The last ones I bought was when Masters closed down. I grabbed 4 for like $4ea.
I think I just took a punt they would fit.

I'll bet Bunnings sell one that would fit.  Ryobi, Ozito, etc vacs look like similar filters.

Which reminds me, I'm down to one filter and I've run out of bags.

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #388 on: June 29, 2019, 05:47:53 PM »
You can easily buy bags and filters online.  Vacbagsdirect sell them.

The filters are the pleated barrel type.  The last ones I bought was when Masters closed down. I grabbed 4 for like $4ea.
I think I just took a punt they would fit.

I'll bet Bunnings sell one that would fit.  Ryobi, Ozito, etc vacs look like similar filters.

Which reminds me, I'm down to one filter and I've run out of bags.

I went an grabbed one of the vacs. No bags needed on these ones. Goes pretty well for the price. Mines just for the cars and the shed.
Cheers, Mike

2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #389 on: June 29, 2019, 11:33:07 PM »

I went an grabbed one of the vacs. No bags needed on these ones. Goes pretty well for the price. Mines just for the cars and the shed.
Cheers, Mike

You can use them with or without bags.

Using bags increases their life and you're not cleaning or replacing the filter every 2nd time you use it.  Plaster and wood dust kills vacs.

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #390 on: June 30, 2019, 04:48:35 AM »
So what bag are you using?
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van
The following users thanked this post: Airport-Andy

« Reply #391 on: June 30, 2019, 06:13:06 PM »
So what bag are you using?
Cheers, Mike.
Normally they sell the bags along side the vac.  Unless they're deleted on the new models?

These are the universal ones that fit the older ones.

https://www.vacbagdirect.com.au/catalogsearch/result/?q=VB065

If you can make a bag fit, it does help with keeping dust out of the motor and filter.

Offline sparksy

« Reply #392 on: July 02, 2019, 09:30:35 PM »
Aldi Have electricians screwdriver sets out for $8.99. Bought a set and cant see difference to the last set I bought from wholesaler which cost over $50.
I'de throw away the tester though. Never trusted them.  Also bought the duct tape.

« Reply #393 on: July 03, 2019, 10:13:33 AM »
They're actually a lot more reliable than the NON Contact type. Also good for testing whether a transmitter is outputting RF, but needs to be up around 30W or 40W output.

Also good for checking if your microwave oven leaks RF
« Last Edit: July 03, 2019, 10:18:16 AM by Troopy_03 »
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

Offline sparksy

« Reply #394 on: July 03, 2019, 01:16:40 PM »
They're actually a lot more reliable than the NON Contact type.

I dont trust them either. Good for quick check of power but if Im going to touch it I only use a meter.  To show how old school I still use a wiggy tester.

« Reply #395 on: July 04, 2019, 01:09:13 PM »
I dont trust them either. Good for quick check of power but if Im going to touch it I only use a meter.  To show how old school I still use a wiggy tester.

Goes without saying that you'd never use either to check for power before touching. And even multimeters in the hands of idiots aren't foolproof. Once, at work, I had someone borrow my multimeter to diagnose why the flouro he just fitted wasn't working. He said, there's the problem, no power going to the unit. Then I pointed out he had the meter set to DCV... and he was a qualified and ticked sparky....
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #396 on: July 04, 2019, 02:40:27 PM »
Goes without saying that you'd never use either to check for power before touching. And even multimeters in the hands of idiots aren't foolproof. Once, at work, I had someone borrow my multimeter to diagnose why the flouro he just fitted wasn't working. He said, there's the problem, no power going to the unit. Then I pointed out he had the meter set to DCV... and he was a qualified and ticked sparky....
I’ve also learnt it is not a good idea to have the test lead plugged into the ‘Amp’ socket instead of the ‘Volts’ socket when trying to measure voltage.

« Reply #397 on: July 05, 2019, 02:23:27 PM »
I’ve also learnt it is not a good idea to have the test lead plugged into the ‘Amp’ socket instead of the ‘Volts’ socket when trying to measure voltage.

So how many Amps was the power station able to supply?  ;D
Luckily my meter beeps at me if I try to do that.

« Reply #398 on: July 05, 2019, 07:05:06 PM »
So how many Amps was the power station able to supply?  ;D
Luckily my meter beeps at me if I try to do that.
Now you want me to really embarrass myself.

The first time, yes first time, I couldn’t work out why there was no power. Went to the board and noticed the breaker had tripped. So I reset it and went to test the voltage again. Still no power! Sure enough CB had tripped again but this time the penny dropped.

As they say, those who can’t do manage - hence why I became an electrical engineer and not an electrician

The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

Offline sparksy

« Reply #399 on: July 06, 2019, 11:36:56 AM »

As they say, those who can’t do manage - hence why I became an electrical engineer and not an electrician

Yes engineers.
Was working in country WA 35 years ago. We had a lightning strike on the 3.3kv /  440v tranny that supplied one of our pumps. Pumps were 1000Hp 440v DOL start using a GE main motorised isolator as a contactor on the Lv side.  Id isolated the HV, racked out the LV isolator and tagged it out. Had to remove the inspection plate the check inside where lightning had destroyed the incoming connection horn. While I had my arm inside feeling the connection a engineer from head office unbeknown to me had driven out from Perth to "help".
He connected up my 1000v megger to the LV side of the isolator and pushed the test button.
The shock threw me off the top of transformer, across to a cyclone fence and knocked me out cold. 2 days in hospital.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2019, 12:04:29 PM by sparksy »