Author Topic: Specials on at Aldi this week!  (Read 159108 times)

Re: Specials on at Aldi this week!
« Reply #325 on: October 03, 2018, 01:21:42 AM »
Has anyone bought their telescopic aluminium poles? are they any good?

Use them to hold up a control panel of a Model train layout.
They seem to lock up ok, and are compact when packed down.
If I remember correctly they are about a Metre long when packed down.
With 3 sections, possibly 2.5M. total, when opened out.

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #326 on: October 03, 2018, 08:12:46 AM »
Bought a Potjie Pot yesterday - not as heavy or well finished as the Front Runner version .
But it was $50 , and works well !
Did a couple of lamb chops to test , will do a better test this arvo
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

« Reply #327 on: October 03, 2018, 08:18:31 AM »
Bought a Potjie Pot yesterday - not as heavy or well finished as the Front Runner version .
But it was $50 , and works well !
Did a couple of lamb chops to test , will do a better test this arvo

For some reason, I read this as "Bought a Porta Potty" then got to the $50 bit and thought that seems cheap, then the "Did a couple of lamb chops to test" just got really weird
« Last Edit: October 03, 2018, 11:29:17 AM by tryagain »

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #328 on: October 03, 2018, 09:48:10 AM »
For some reason, I read this as "Bought a Porta Potty then got to the $50 bit and thought that seems cheap, then the "Did a couple of lamb chops to test" just got really weird

no... I read the same thing too.

I was worried...

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=58855.msg1064705#msg1064705
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #329 on: October 03, 2018, 10:41:04 AM »
Nooooooo,    Not a ‘ Honey Pot ‘

A Potjie Pot , a camp oven from Saff Africa , invented by the Dutch .....oh that could end badly “ Dutch Ovens”

I can’t link as I’m on a mobile device ,and are tech challenged !

Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

« Reply #330 on: October 03, 2018, 01:51:51 PM »
Nooooooo,    Not a ‘ Honey Pot ‘

A Potjie Pot , a camp oven from Saff Africa , invented by the Dutch .....oh that could end badly “ Dutch Ovens”

I can’t link as I’m on a mobile device ,and are tech challenged !

Offline Throbbinhood

« Reply #331 on: October 04, 2018, 12:54:49 PM »
Did anyone grab the aldi gazebo? Any good?

I've got another but was considering picking it up as a spare.

Offline Watty2975

« Reply #332 on: October 05, 2018, 08:02:19 AM »
Yep, been using them on my foxwing for the last few years. They do the job well.
Landcruiser 200 TTD GXL with a few goodies & campomatic camper

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #333 on: December 21, 2018, 05:49:00 AM »
more Aldi camping special out on Boxing day peoples...

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-wed-26-december/

I'm keen on some more of these little canvas bags. Almost perfectly sized for the drawers in the Landcruiser and the trailer. I have two from the last time they offered them. nice size and decent quality too.

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-wed-26-december/wednesday-detail-wk52/ps/p/canvas-tool-bag/?pk_campaign=au_product_newsletter&pk_kwd=2018-12-20_10-16

Wayne & Kyria Chapman

Offline Merts

« Reply #334 on: December 21, 2018, 07:54:55 AM »
I'm keen on some more of these little canvas bags. Almost perfectly sized for the drawers in the Landcruiser and the trailer. I have two from the last time they offered them. nice size and decent quality too.

What are the dimensions of those bags?
Towing a a National Campers 'Hermit 10' hybrid with an MQ Triton. Previously towed an Outback Campers 'Sturt' softfloor. (PM me if you want to buy the Sturt!)

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #335 on: December 21, 2018, 10:12:39 AM »
What are the dimensions of those bags?

I can measure mine when I get home.

But one will fit neatly across the inside of the (ARB) roller drawers in the cruiser and they're about the right height to fit inside neatly.

I would assume that other brands of drawers would have similar internal dimensions.

« Last Edit: December 21, 2018, 10:34:00 AM by MuruCycles »
Wayne & Kyria Chapman

« Reply #336 on: December 21, 2018, 10:50:37 AM »
Wayne that would be good to see the measurements as I was looking at them as well.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #337 on: December 21, 2018, 04:52:00 PM »
Wayne that would be good to see the measurements as I was looking at them as well.

170mm wide
160mm tall
460mm long
Wayne & Kyria Chapman
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie, Merts

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #338 on: December 21, 2018, 10:06:50 PM »
more Aldi camping special out on Boxing day peoples...

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-wed-26-december/

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-wed-26-december/wednesday-detail-wk52/ps/p/canvas-tool-bag/?pk_campaign=au_product_newsletter&pk_kwd=2018-12-20_10-16
I use these for carrying my fishing reels, they're awesome for it...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup
The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans

« Reply #339 on: December 22, 2018, 06:39:25 AM »
170mm wide
160mm tall
460mm long
they are similar to the ones I have as my guy rope and tent peg bags...got mine years ago from a camping store and they are just starting to break down now, so might look at getting some new ones.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #340 on: December 22, 2018, 06:51:22 AM »
they are similar to the ones I have as my guy rope and tent peg bags...got mine years ago from a camping store and they are just starting to break down now, so might look at getting some new ones.

that's my thinking too...

with the ARB versions at $36 (for the similar size) and the Kings ones at $39 (I know right... Kings more expensive than ARB... who'd thought that)

$9 for these seems like a good deal...

Wayne & Kyria Chapman

Offline Merts

« Reply #341 on: December 22, 2018, 07:54:45 AM »
170mm wide
160mm tall
460mm long
Thanks Wayne.
Towing a a National Campers 'Hermit 10' hybrid with an MQ Triton. Previously towed an Outback Campers 'Sturt' softfloor. (PM me if you want to buy the Sturt!)

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #342 on: December 23, 2018, 01:30:33 PM »
that's my thinking too...

with the ARB versions at $36 (for the similar size) and the Kings ones at $39 (I know right... Kings more expensive than ARB... who'd thought that)

$9 for these seems like a good deal...
The kings ones are bigger and designed to fit their fire box

« Reply #343 on: December 26, 2018, 09:24:22 AM »
170mm wide
160mm tall
460mm long
grabbed a couple this morning, wasn’t heaps there though....they seem ok quality wise, should work well as guy rope rope and tent bags like the old ones they’ll be replacing.

Offline Merts

« Reply #344 on: December 26, 2018, 09:53:29 AM »
I grabbed 4 of the bags this morning. Perfect to organise bits and pieces that were floating around in the drawers in my twincab.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #345 on: December 26, 2018, 12:10:58 PM »
I grabbed 4 of the bags this morning. Perfect to organise bits and pieces that were floating around in the drawers in my twincab.

I grabbed another 3 bags to go with the 2 from last years sale. Also grabbed one of the mozzie/bug zapper/LED 12V (USB) rechargeable lights. (not expecting great things...  but I'll test it out and report back...

Wayne & Kyria Chapman

Offline whitey001

« Reply #346 on: December 26, 2018, 03:04:15 PM »
I grabbed another 3 bags to go with the 2 from last years sale. Also grabbed one of the mozzie/bug zapper/LED 12V (USB) rechargeable lights. (not expecting great things...  but I'll test it out and report back...

A mate of mine had one of the bug zapper lights he bought from Ebay a while ago and raved about it.  I looked at getting one from Ebay and they were around $27.  $20 from Aldi and I grabbed one also.

Al.
2015 MU-X LST
2019 Jayco Journey 15.48-5

« Reply #347 on: December 26, 2018, 04:37:17 PM »
I bought the drybags, you lot had taken all the canvas tool bags >:(. I was also looking for a peg mallet, but couldn't spot one of them either. Looks like I'll stick with the 4lb lump hammer, its effective, although it can be a bit harsh on the pegs.

I liked the idea of the tent ceiling fan, if only it was rechargeable, rather than having to feed it an endless supply of D cells. ???

Dry bags are good for the $10, not super heavy duty, but good enough for packing stuff in my kayak, its not like I'll be dragging them over rocks. The pack down to nothing too.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #348 on: December 26, 2018, 08:37:01 PM »
I grabbed a few of the tool bags, as I use them for fishing reels...

Our local store was out of the mozzie zappers within 10 minutes of opening, so I'm fixing to the next closest store 35 km away tomorrow where they're holding a couple for me ...

Got some of the dry bags from last time, and they're awesome, I use them in the kayak... 2 for things to keep dry, one for fish, so everything else doesn't smell of fish

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #349 on: December 26, 2018, 10:23:32 PM »
I bought the drybags, you lot had taken all the canvas tool bags >:(
i got to my local store 5 minutes after opening time, the car park was more then half empty so the place far from busy....after I grabbed my 2 canvas bags there was only a few left, didn’t appear as though they had many stocked there to start with, so doesn’t surprise me that your store was out of stock.