General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Robbo on July 30, 2015, 03:32:38 PM

Title: Windows 10
Post by: Robbo on July 30, 2015, 03:32:38 PM
Windows 10 has just been launched and is free for existing windows 7 and 8 users if downloaded in the first twelve months.
I would be interested to hear for or against comments from our resident computer techs and IT experts before making my decision to switch to Windows 10. I am currently using Windows 7 and find it OK but i hate Internet Explorer with a passion as it continually freezes or shuts down without warning. I mostly use Chrome or Firefox because of this and believe the new Windows Edge is supposed to be the best thing since sliced bread. I guess time will tell.

Robbo :D
Title: Re: Windows 10
Post by: paceman on July 30, 2015, 03:50:09 PM
i've been running windows 10 via virtual machine since it was released as a beta and it has been getting better and better.

i have the latest build running now and it is excellent.

i will have no hesitation in upgrading our windows 7 machine when the time comes...

plenty of reviews (the verge, engadget, wired, ars technica, etc) seem to recommend the upgrade...
Post by: noel_w on July 30, 2015, 03:53:24 PM
Have heard there is a glitch with Nvidia graphics cards, haven't checked it out though. I would say there will be a new driver released soon to fix it.
Post by: Tweekin on July 30, 2015, 03:56:01 PM
Just installed it today , seems pretty good to me
Post by: MrCruza on July 30, 2015, 06:02:27 PM
I've also been running the beta for a while as a virtual and have the latest build installed.. It's pretty good but personally I won't be upgrading my Win7 machines for a while yet.

Couple of things I don't like (and these are techy type issue..)
You don't have ANY control over installing updates. Microsoft will push them out whenever they want and they will automatically install in the background.

Drivers.. If you have a manufacturers driver installed (the Nvidia is a classic example) and MS has there own version they will uninstall yours and install theirs. This is the "Nvidia issue" as theirs is buggie. If you re-install your own, the next time windows checks for updates... back to the buggie one :(

Ther is NO indication yet of how much "phone home" stuff is still in the RTM build. The beta was full of it so they could minitor what you're doing.

There are still quite a few other bugs apart fom these that will be addressed as patches.

Lots of stuff is being made available only through the App Store, so you HAVE to have a Microsoft account.

Edge the greatest thing since sliced bread?? Way to early to tell, and I'm a died in the wool Firefox user anyway.

I'll stick with my Win7 for the moment, thank you very much
Post by: D4D on July 30, 2015, 06:13:19 PM
As a matter of fact, I'm running it now :cup:
Post by: lino6 on July 30, 2015, 06:39:20 PM
I am a big fan of Windows 8 so I'll be keeping an eye on this thread to see if it is worth changing. My work tablet will never change, but thinking about upgrading the home laptop.
Post by: paceman on July 30, 2015, 06:59:45 PM
Couple of things I don't like (and these are techy type issue..)

You don't have ANY control over installing updates. Microsoft will push them out whenever they want and they will automatically install in the background.

Edge the greatest thing since sliced bread?? Way to early to tell, and I'm a died in the wool Firefox user anyway.

you can actually stop windows 10 from automatically installing system updates, if you choose... (not sure why home users would want to... )

edge is already much better than ie11, so that's a good start... :)  and in some performance metrics, it outdoes chrome, firefox and safari...

but, YMMV...
Post by: paceman on July 30, 2015, 07:19:23 PM
Ther is NO indication yet of how much "phone home" stuff is still in the RTM build. The beta was full of it so they could minitor what you're doing.

not sure what 'phone home' stuff you are referring to...

the only way that microsoft was getting feedback via the insider program was by testers using the feedback application, which was very visible in the technical previews...

and also the normal crash reports, which windows has had for years...
Post by: Bad Scott on July 30, 2015, 07:44:13 PM
I am a big fan of Windows 8 so I'll be keeping an eye on this thread to see if it is worth changing. My work tablet will never change, but thinking about upgrading the home laptop.
I would upgrade. Heaps better and easier to use. Been running various versions from the fast and slow rings being part of the windows insiders for a fair while, along with Windows 10 IoT on raspberry Pi 2.
Post by: lino6 on July 30, 2015, 07:48:04 PM
I would upgrade. Heaps better and easier to use. Been running various versions from the fast and slow rings being part of the windows insiders for a fair while, along with Windows 10 IoT on raspberry Pi 2.

In the end I don't think I'm getting a choice, looks like Windows update is downloading it now!! I just Google'd how to roll back if needed and looks easy enough to do. I'll upgrade the tablet and if it gets the tick of approval I'll probably do the laptop.

BTW I reckon 8 was easy to use! IMO I though 8 has been the best since 3.11!
Post by: Black Diamond on July 30, 2015, 07:48:59 PM
Whaddayouknow about IT you bogan, you drink too much Bundy   ??? :-* :-* :-* ;D ;D
Post by: lino6 on July 30, 2015, 07:51:25 PM
Whaddayouknow about IT you bogan, you drink too much Bundy   ??? :-* :-* :-* ;D ;D

Wonder does he think IT must "phone home"?!
Post by: Bad Scott on July 30, 2015, 07:54:17 PM
LOL.
Post by: Bad Scott on July 30, 2015, 07:55:46 PM
Wonder does he think IT must "phone home"?!
No wonder I was getting it all wrong. I thought it was ET
Post by: MrCruza on July 30, 2015, 08:04:51 PM
you can actually stop windows 10 from automatically installing system updates, if you choose... (not sure why home users would want to... )

You used to be able to change settings using gpedit. You can still change the settings but they no longer have any effect. Haven't tried the reg hack yet.
Things have changed in the final build. eg wuapp.exe doesn't exist anymore. It did 2 builds ago. Also there is no longer a control panel applet for updates. (yes I know, Settings>Update & security, still no option to disable updates)

I agree, Edge is better than IE11, but that wouldn't be hard, would it.
Post by: paceman on July 30, 2015, 08:12:28 PM
You used to be able to change settings using gpedit. You can still change the settings but they no longer have any effect. Haven't tried the reg hack yet.
Things have changed in the final build. eg wuapp.exe doesn't exist anymore. It did 2 builds ago. Also there is no longer a control panel applet for updates. (yes I know, Settings>Update & security, still no option to disable updates)

I agree, Edge is better than IE11, but that wouldn't be hard, would it.

like i said, i am not sure why home users would want to not install updates (drivers in the new OS, is a bit different), but microsoft provide a tool for preventing an update from installing:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3073930

Post by: MrCruza on July 30, 2015, 08:21:43 PM
like i said, i am not sure why home users would want to not install updates

Me neither, but that's not me. That tool will allow you to temporarily disable a particular update, true, but it will not change the way general updates are delivered.

And no, drivers in the new OS are not different if Microsoft insists on being the sole supplier of said drivers.
In a production environment you don't want updates or new drivers installing unexpectedly.
Post by: paceman on July 30, 2015, 08:34:15 PM
Me neither, but that's not me. That tool will allow you to temporarily disable a particular update, true, but it will not change the way general updates are delivered.

And no, drivers in the new OS are not different if Microsoft insists on being the sole supplier of said drivers.
In a production environment you don't want updates or new drivers installing unexpectedly.

agree totally on the updates/drivers installing automatically issue in a business production environment...

willing to bet that the microsoft-version of drivers issue will be resolved pretty quickly, especially if they want gamers to upgrade... :)
Post by: MrCruza on July 30, 2015, 08:36:21 PM

willing to bet that the microsoft-version of drivers issue will be resolved pretty quickly, especially if they want gamers to upgrade... :)
Certainly hope so.
Post by: D4D on July 30, 2015, 08:44:04 PM
edge is already much better than ie11, so that's a good start... :) 

I'm warming to it, certainly much faster than IE

Have you worked out how to move the tabs from the top to underneath the address bat like it used to be?
Post by: paceman on July 30, 2015, 09:00:49 PM
I'm warming to it, certainly much faster than IE

Have you worked out how to move the tabs from the top to underneath the address bat like it used to be?

i'm normally a chrome user mostly, but edge is now my second browser easily...

haven't really tried to move tabs... will have to check it out...  if i get anything, i'll post here...
Post by: Moggy on July 30, 2015, 09:47:28 PM
Will W10 work with the multitude of programs i have? Eg, Quickbooks. Photoshop, Illustrator etc. I seem to remember an issue with W8 for Quickbooks.  Plus any cad programs?
Think I'll probably delay install until i hear about all the disaster stories.

Post by: lino6 on July 30, 2015, 10:09:31 PM
I've just upgraded on my Surface Pro 2. So far so good.
Post by: Jasman on July 30, 2015, 10:36:35 PM
Personally, I'll wait for SP1.  Let the early adopters work out the bugs I reckon.
Post by: Bird on July 30, 2015, 10:39:46 PM
Personally, I'll wait for SP1.  Let the early adopters work out the bugs I reckon.
best advice yet.. it will only be a few hours LOL
Post by: Bad Scott on July 30, 2015, 10:41:43 PM
Will W10 work with the multitude of programs i have? Eg, Quickbooks. Photoshop, Illustrator etc. I seem to remember an issue with W8 for Quickbooks.  Plus any cad programs?

MYOB 2015.3 works.
Haven't done Inventor2015 yet.
Post by: Symon on July 31, 2015, 06:06:13 AM
Installed it last night, everything seems to work as it should.  See how well it goes when I fire up some games tonight.
Post by: paceman on July 31, 2015, 06:17:37 AM

the way microsoft are talking, there might not be a service pack.

it seems that it will a continuous stream of updates, not just one big hit of bug fixes and updates...
Post by: paceman on July 31, 2015, 06:19:56 AM

the general advice is that if it works in windows 7 and 8, it will work with windows 10...

a quick search on the vendor's website should be all you need to confirm...

but, YMMV...
Post by: D4D on July 31, 2015, 06:28:37 AM

it seems that it will a continuous stream of updates, not just one big hit of bug fixes and updates...

x2 'evergreen' is the term
Post by: paceman on July 31, 2015, 07:02:54 AM
here's a few videos that might help those with questions about windows 10...

http://www.hanselman.com/blog/GettingStartedWithWindows10.aspx (http://www.hanselman.com/blog/GettingStartedWithWindows10.aspx)
Post by: Moggy on July 31, 2015, 07:41:45 AM
^^^^^ Good vids. Will have to watch all before upgrade.
How is W10 likely to work with multiple monitors  i have 3 screens on my main machine?

Post by: paceman on July 31, 2015, 07:47:34 AM
How is W10 likely to work with multiple monitors  i have 3 screens on my main machine?

should work the same...  windows 10 has features that allow for better snapping of open windows to different areas of each screen...
Post by: Vickypoint on July 31, 2015, 08:01:24 AM
I think you will find nothing is free from Microsoft. After 12 months there is a subscription fee to use the program.

Post by: D4D on July 31, 2015, 08:02:14 AM
I think you will find nothing is free from Microsoft. After 12 months there is a subscription fee to use the program.

I think you'll find you're wrong.
Post by: paceman on July 31, 2015, 08:10:18 AM

if you are eligible for the free upgrade on a PC/laptop/tablet and you install it, Windows 10 will be free and supported for the life of the machine that it was installed on.

you have one year to access this free upgrade.  after that, you will have to pay for a Windows 10 license.

no subscription for Windows 10.

more info here (in plain language, not microsoft-speak):

http://www.howtogeek.com/220957/no-windows-10-won%E2%80%99t-require-a-subscription-heres-how-microsoft-plans-on-making-money-instead/ (http://www.howtogeek.com/220957/no-windows-10-won%E2%80%99t-require-a-subscription-heres-how-microsoft-plans-on-making-money-instead/)

relevant quote below (emphasis mine):

If you do upgrade within the first year, you get Windows 10 for free, permanently. You don’t have to pay anything. Even after it’s been a year, your Windows 10 installation will continue working and receiving updates as normal. You won’t have to pay for some sort of Windows 10 subscription or fee to continue using it, and you’ll even get any new features Microsoft adds.

plus, the upgrade is optional... you don't have to do it if you don't want to...
Post by: Moggy on July 31, 2015, 08:21:59 AM
I was just watching the vids from Paceman above & i noticed on the one about the tour of W10, if he wanted to remove the W8 type menu, then once he clicked to change it said he had to sign out & then sign back in for the change to happen.

Does this mean you have to be signed into MS for W10 to work ???

If thats the case, i dont think i'll be upgrading anytime soon. Whilst i dont have any state secrets, hackers have proven they can get just about anywhere & this may be the ultimate challenge
Post by: paceman on July 31, 2015, 08:29:53 AM
I was just watching the vids from Paceman above & i noticed on the one about the tour of W10, if he wanted to remove the W8 type menu, then once he clicked to change it said he had to sign out & then sign back in for the change to happen.

Does this mean you have to be signed into MS for W10 to work ???

If thats the case, i dont think i'll be upgrading anytime soon. Whilst i dont have any state secrets, hackers have proven they can get just about anywhere & this may be the ultimate challenge

scott (the guy in the videos) is a microsoft employee, so he most likely has a microsoft account to take advantage of microsoft service offerings (onedrive, etc).

i don't think a microsoft account is required for use with windows 10:

https://www.thurrott.com/windows/windows-10/4260/windows-10-drops-reliance-on-microsoft-account (https://www.thurrott.com/windows/windows-10/4260/windows-10-drops-reliance-on-microsoft-account)

here's a good installation faq:

http://winsupersite.com/windows-10/windows-10-upgrade-and-installation-faq-we-figured-out-who-pays-and-who-doesnt (http://winsupersite.com/windows-10/windows-10-upgrade-and-installation-faq-we-figured-out-who-pays-and-who-doesnt)

specific question from article above:

Q. Do I need to use a Microsoft Account to upgrade my Windows 7 (with Service Pack 1) or Windows 8 (with windows 8.1 Update) system to Windows 10?

A. NO

Post by: Kangaron on July 31, 2015, 09:12:35 AM
Anyone got Outlook as their main email proggy?
did it migrate everything over ok, or is a fresh install of Office required.
Post by: D4D on July 31, 2015, 09:37:13 AM
Anyone got Outlook as their main email proggy?
did it migrate everything over ok, or is a fresh install of Office required.

Yep, yep and no :)
Post by: gronk on July 31, 2015, 10:03:27 AM
I hope it works OK on my "old" 32 bit laptop !!
Post by: WilSurf on July 31, 2015, 10:19:47 AM
Still waiting for the download of Windows10 on my desktop.
I pulled out my laptop to see if MYOB 2013 could be installed.
I need SP3 for, wait for it, XP.  ;D
But I couldn't get I connected to internet.
Will try again another day.
Post by: paceman on July 31, 2015, 10:27:59 AM
Still waiting for the download of Windows10 on my desktop.
I pulled out my laptop to see if MYOB 2013 could be installed.
I need SP3 for, wait for it, XP.  ;D
But I couldn't get I connected to internet.
Will try again another day.

not sure whether you know, but no free upgrade from windows xp...
Post by: Kangaron on July 31, 2015, 01:35:49 PM
one last questions, can you just run a classic interface and turn all the Shit off
Post by: paceman on July 31, 2015, 02:00:56 PM
one last questions, can you just run a classic interface and turn all the Shit off

maybe something like this might help?

http://www.stardock.com/products/start10/ (http://www.stardock.com/products/start10/)
Post by: Kangaron on July 31, 2015, 05:53:55 PM
Every other windows platform that I have owned [ now on 7] has the option to run at classic.
I don't need transparent windows that slide across the screen etc etc
I need not tiles, gizmos, auto reporting of where I am, the weather etc.
Every install I do I get rid of excess crap like media player, messenger, that live Shit etc
I'll give it a try and see what happens.
Can always format.
Post by: D4D on July 31, 2015, 06:11:51 PM
Hmmm right-click show-properties no more worky with Edge...
Post by: CC2005 on July 31, 2015, 07:05:16 PM
I'm a little dubious to do a W10 upgrade on an OS that may have underlying issues.  So I would assume it would be best to do a clean install of everything now prior to the upgrade, just in case the new OS carries over some legacy issues from the old OS.

After your free upgrade, I'm wondering what will happen "if" your computer screws up and you need to format and do a clean install.  Do they give you a licence key so that you can do a fresh install, I hope so.  Or do you then have to fork out the $119.00 for a new user licence?

Eventually a time will come to upgrade to W10, or maybe to an Ubuntu version, or back windows 3.XX.

Post by: MrCruza on July 31, 2015, 07:30:03 PM
If you don't want to wait, or prefer to do a clean install, here's how you can download the install ISO.

Download Windows 10 (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10)

Here's a pretty good review of Win10

Windows 10 review (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2015/07/29/windows_10_review/)
Post by: WilSurf on August 03, 2015, 10:15:07 AM
not sure whether you know, but no free upgrade from windows xp...

The upgrade is for my desktop which has Win7.
My old laptop runs on XP which will stay on XP for the mini-VCI with Techstream.
I did a factory reset yesterday  and now have to get it connected to internet.
No luck so far.
Post by: Kangaron on August 03, 2015, 10:29:29 AM
The privacy issues are a worry.

“We will access, disclose and preserve personal data, including your content (such as the content of your emails, other private communications or files in private folders), when we have a good faith belief that doing so is necessary to […] protect our customers or enforce the terms governing the use of the services.”

http://www.bit.com.au/News/407268,the-5-windows-10-privacy-issues-you-should-be-aware-of.aspx?eid=59&edate=20150731&utm_source=20150731&utm_medium=newsletter&utm_campaign=daily_newsletter&nl=daily (http://www.bit.com.au/News/407268,the-5-windows-10-privacy-issues-you-should-be-aware-of.aspx?eid=59&edate=20150731&utm_source=20150731&utm_medium=newsletter&utm_campaign=daily_newsletter&nl=daily)
Post by: Dragonfly on August 03, 2015, 03:51:23 PM
"The trouble with the internet is that you never really know the source or validity of the information" - Abraham Lincoln.

If you believed everything you read online...

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows-10/windows-privacy-faq (http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows-10/windows-privacy-faq)

I will declare an interest, but suffice to say - it's the best Windows ever and you can upgrade for free. Why wouldn't you?
Post by: tk421 on August 03, 2015, 04:05:51 PM

s

Yes but businesses have the option to hold off the updates but not consumers

"For businesses, Microsoft is providing options to keep things stable, but for consumers running the Home edition of Windows 10, Microsoft has taken the bold decision to disallow the skipping or deferring of updates. Like it or not, upgrading means taking an open-ended leap of faith"

Post by: tk421 on August 03, 2015, 04:09:57 PM

very well by all accounts

"And it's good to finally see Windows adopting a sensible approach to scaling for multi-monitor setups. Windows 10 lets you set display scaling on a per-screen basis – so you can hook up your compact laptop to a 4K desktop screen, drag windows back and forth between the two, and get the best image quality from both. Sadly, this doesn't mean scaling problems will vanish entirely – that requires software developers to ensure their applications scale properly - but it's a step in the right direction."

Read more: http://www.alphr.com/windows-10-1/1001269/windows-10-the-review#ixzz3hjINKWOA (http://www.alphr.com/windows-10-1/1001269/windows-10-the-review#ixzz3hjINKWOA)
Post by: paceman on August 03, 2015, 04:35:22 PM
s

Yes but businesses have the option to hold off the updates but not consumers

"For businesses, Microsoft is providing options to keep things stable, but for consumers running the Home edition of Windows 10, Microsoft has taken the bold decision to disallow the skipping or deferring of updates. Like it or not, upgrading means taking an open-ended leap of faith"

as previously described, microsoft have a tool that allows for the uninstall of an update causing issues:

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=44347.msg744225#msg744225 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=44347.msg744225#msg744225)

but, in my experience, it is very rare for an update to causing dramas for home users...

bit of a 'damned if you do, damned if you don't' situation.  misinformed people still continue to hammer microsoft for it's 'unsecure' desktop operating systems (vista sp1 onwards), when in actual fact, if you are up to date with updates (security updates in particular), you will be as secure as reasonably possible.

and if you want a higher level of security again, then have a crack at installing and living with unix/linux... :) 

in the end, if you think any operating system is 100% secure, then i have a three-legged racehorse i would like to sell you... :)

Post by: tk421 on August 03, 2015, 04:47:17 PM
as previously described, microsoft have a tool that allows for the uninstall of an update causing issues:

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=44347.msg744225#msg744225 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=44347.msg744225#msg744225)

but, in my experience, it is very rare for an update to causing dramas for home users...

bit of a 'damned if you do, damned if you don't' situation.  misinformed people still continue to hammer microsoft for it's 'unsecure' desktop operating systems (vista sp1 onwards), when in actual fact, if you are up to date with updates (security updates in particular), you will be as secure as reasonably possible.

and if you want a higher level of security again, then have a crack at installing and living with unix/linux... :) 

in the end, if you think any operating system is 100% secure, then i have a three-legged racehorse i would like to sell you... :)

Preaching to the converted - been involved in the tech industry since 1998  :)
Post by: Redcherokee on August 03, 2015, 07:36:45 PM
Preaching to the converted - been involved in the tech industry since 1998  :)

You young un's are so funny.  You say that as if it is a long time  ;D  ;D

Post by: gronk on August 03, 2015, 07:47:47 PM
Tried to update to win10 and it seemed to have updated, but then came up with  "system exception thread not handled " error,  then does some thinking (a lot of thinking ) then shows it again, then comes up with recovery....restart PC (which comes up with same as above ) or advanced repair options.......3 options...exit and continue to win 10 (same as above ) ....turn off your PC  ( same as above on restarting ) ...troubleshoot.....reset this PC ( nope, it removes apps and settings )  or advanced options... which one option is go back to previous build ( but I don't know the windows password, so it won,t let me in ) 

Wish I didn't touch it now, but seems like I'm screwed....got my resume, photos etc , but not sure what I can do from here ???
Post by: MrCruza on August 03, 2015, 08:14:27 PM
Tried to update to win10 and it seemed to have updated, but then came up with  "system exception thread not handled " error,  then does some thinking (a lot of thinking ) then shows it again, then comes up with recovery....restart PC (which comes up with same as above ) or advanced repair options.......3 options...exit and continue to win 10 (same as above ) ....turn off your PC  ( same as above on restarting ) ...troubleshoot.....reset this PC ( nope, it removes apps and settings )  or advanced options... which one option is go back to previous build ( but I don't know the windows password, so it won,t let me in ) 

Wish I didn't touch it now, but seems like I'm screwed....got my resume, photos etc , but not sure what I can do from here ???

Restore from backup. You DID run a backup before updating, didn't you...
Post by: gronk on August 03, 2015, 08:21:22 PM
Nope, is that what you're supposed to do ??     I just pressed on update !!     It doesn't mention anything about doing that before you update ??

Does that mean the laptop is screwed ?  Can it be saved somehow ?
Post by: D4D on August 03, 2015, 08:27:04 PM
Try calling 132058 (MSFT Support)
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2015, 08:31:40 PM
Nope, is that what you're supposed to do ??     I just pressed on update !!     It doesn't mention anything about doing that before you update ??

Does that mean the laptop is screwed ?  Can it be saved somehow ?
yes.
if worst comes to worse, you take the drive out of it, sit it in an external drive caddy, and plug that into another running PC - and you access it like another drive - usually E: drive.. copy everything you need, and go from there...
Post by: MrCruza on August 03, 2015, 08:35:09 PM
Shite! Just typed a long reply and lost it...
As Bird says, get someone to take the drive out, hook it up to another pc and copy off your docs.
Then download the offline Windows 10 installer and try a clean install.
If that fails then use the recovery partition to reload your original windows.
Post by: gronk on August 03, 2015, 08:41:43 PM
What recovery partition ?  One of the options under advanced options is to go back to previous build.....but I don't know the password it asks for ??  It knnows my name (account ) , but any passwords I thought were for it are not recognised?.
Post by: MrCruza on August 03, 2015, 08:48:58 PM
What recovery partition ?  One of the options under advanced options is to go back to previous build.....but I don't know the password it asks for ??  It knnows my name (account ) , but any passwords I thought were for it are not recognised?.

Sounds like your profile is hosed.
One of the boot options is usually to boot into the recovery partition, but it depends on the make and age of your laptop, and also sometimes people delete the partition to free up more space. As stated, best to get it to someone who knows what they'rs doing before you do more damage. Not being facetious, but your're at a point where you need to hand it over if you don't have the skills yourself.
Post by: gronk on August 03, 2015, 08:54:28 PM
Yeh, you are probably 100% right....but $$ I didn't want to part with...

I'm waiting for microsoft to answer the phone, so we'll see whet they say ..
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2015, 08:58:04 PM
Yeh, you are probably 100% right....but $$ I didn't want to part with...

I'm waiting for microsoft to answer the phone, so we'll see whet they say ..
if its like optus, don't bother... I've been hung up- on twice tonight and their "Live" online chat thing just logged me out too..

if you were closer I'd sort it out for you...
Post by: gronk on August 03, 2015, 09:03:47 PM

[/quote]

If I could throw it that far,  you might see it flying past. .... ;D
Post by: Bad Scott on August 03, 2015, 09:05:44 PM

If I could throw it that far,  you might see it flying past. .... ;D
past the windows :D
Post by: lino6 on August 03, 2015, 09:06:39 PM
past the windows :D

All 10 of em....!
Post by: MrCruza on August 03, 2015, 09:06:59 PM
BTW folks, there's reports of a Crytolocker infection masquarading as a Windows 10 upgrade email notification. It has a zip file attached which purports to be a windowx 10 installer, but is in fact a version of cryptolocker.

Once again, NEVER, NEVER, NEVER click on a zip file that you don 't know where it came from. Same goes with links in emails.
Post by: gronk on August 03, 2015, 09:14:06 PM
I've got 4 recovery dvds....do I shove them in or leave the thing alone ?
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2015, 09:15:33 PM
take it to the shop.... you *MAY* wipe out the whole thing
Post by: MrCruza on August 03, 2015, 09:16:16 PM

Your call.. If you go down that path then anything on the drive is toast. If you want to keep your data, don't do it.
Post by: gronk on August 03, 2015, 09:17:54 PM
OK, I hear youse !!
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2015, 09:19:06 PM
OK, I hear youse !!
If you want you could ship it to me and i'll play with it for u if your happy with that.
Post by: gronk on August 03, 2015, 09:26:17 PM
That would be good mate, but I might need it like yesterday if job opportunities come up.....I have a relo who is an IT help desk person, so I should see if he'll fix it..

Thanks anyway..
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2015, 09:29:13 PM
That would be good mate, but I might need it like yesterday if job opportunities come up.....I have a relo who is an IT help desk person, so I should see if he'll fix it..

Thanks anyway..
kewl. no probs..
Post by: tk421 on August 03, 2015, 09:51:29 PM
You young un's are so funny.  You say that as if it is a long time  ;D  ;D

Hell yeah. Exciting times to start. It was all colour 14" CRT's, GUI's and  MS Word with colour buttons back then. None of that punch card and valves rubbish like you old farts.

Actually quite depressing to think I was in my final year of school when they released HTTP v1.0 and there were only 500 known web servers worldwide, and that I used Gopher more than WWW whilst at Uni. ;)

Where's my pipe and slippers?
Post by: xcvator on August 04, 2015, 01:22:04 PM
security again, then have a crack at installing and living with unix/linux... :) 

Pretty easy to do nowadays, I'm not the sharpest tack in the pack, but I've been using Tux for 7 or 8 years now with no more problems than with windoze  :cup:   
Post by: Bird on August 04, 2015, 02:24:06 PM
just installed 10 on a spare laptop.. took 2-3 hours to do...

... interesting.

FWIW, I have no issues with Windows 7 -its probably 1 of 2 Windows OS I'd pay for... that or XP
Post by: gronk on August 04, 2015, 04:21:33 PM
Spent a long time on the phone to the phillipines....the fault is ( athwb.sys ), which according to the bloke is a wireless adaptor...which needs updating...which doesn't help me atm....plus I don't have a boot disc, so tomorrow it goes to a service bloke and hopefully gets fixed...
Post by: Bird on August 04, 2015, 04:28:36 PM
The privacy issues are a worry.

“We will access, disclose and preserve personal data, including your content (such as the content of your emails, other private communications or files in private folders), when we have a good faith belief that doing so is necessary to […] protect our customers or enforce the terms governing the use of the services.”

http://www.bit.com.au/News/407268,the-5-windows-10-privacy-issues-you-should-be-aware-of.aspx?eid=59&edate=20150731&utm_source=20150731&utm_medium=newsletter&utm_campaign=daily_newsletter&nl=daily (http://www.bit.com.au/News/407268,the-5-windows-10-privacy-issues-you-should-be-aware-of.aspx?eid=59&edate=20150731&utm_source=20150731&utm_medium=newsletter&utm_campaign=daily_newsletter&nl=daily)

From a mate:

Microsoft’s Windows 10 has permission to watch your every move (Tech preview)
http://www.techworm.net/2014/10/microsofts-windows-10-permission-watch-every-move.html (http://www.techworm.net/2014/10/microsofts-windows-10-permission-watch-every-move.html)

=======================
Windows 10 is spying on almost everything you do
http://bgr.com/2015/07/31/windows-10-upgrade-spying-how-to-opt-out/ (http://bgr.com/2015/07/31/windows-10-upgrade-spying-how-to-opt-out/)
"Finally, we will access, disclose and preserve personal data, including your content (such as the content of your emails, other private communications or files in private folders)"

=======================
How to disable data logging in Windows 10
https://www.reddit.com/r/Windows10/comments/3f38ed/guide_how_to_disable_data_logging_in_w10/ (https://www.reddit.com/r/Windows10/comments/3f38ed/guide_how_to_disable_data_logging_in_w10/)

=======================
Windows 10 EULA - Note the Class Action Waiver
http://forums.hexus.net/windows/341705-windows-10-eula-released-v-10240-isnt-short-but-hard.html (http://forums.hexus.net/windows/341705-windows-10-eula-released-v-10240-isnt-short-but-hard.html)

=======================
Microsoft Services Agreement - 45 pages
https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/servicesagreement/default.aspx (https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/servicesagreement/default.aspx)

=======================
Windows 10 defaults to keylogging, harvesting browser history, purchases, and covert listening

http://boingboing.net/2015/08/03/windows-10-defaults-to-keylogg.html (http://boingboing.net/2015/08/03/windows-10-defaults-to-keylogg.html)

========================
Microsoft Confirms Windows 10 Updates Cannot Be Stopped - Even for drivers that break things
http://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkelly/2015/07/17/windows-10-forced-automatic-updates/ (http://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkelly/2015/07/17/windows-10-forced-automatic-updates/)

=========================
Windows 10 backs up your Bitlocker recovery key to OneDrive automatically. What can go wrong?
https://www.reddit.com/r/crypto/comments/3f0j44/windows_10_backs_up_your_bitlocker_recovery_key/ (https://www.reddit.com/r/crypto/comments/3f0j44/windows_10_backs_up_your_bitlocker_recovery_key/)

Windows 10: Here are the privacy issues you should know about
http://thenextweb.com/microsoft/2015/07/29/wind-nos/ (http://thenextweb.com/microsoft/2015/07/29/wind-nos/)

How to protect yourself against Windows 10’s controversial new Wi-Fi Sense feature

"First, Wi-Fi Sense means people you don’t know can connect to your secure Wi-Fi network without even knowing the password. Second, Wi-Fi Sense creates a direct connection between two computers that the user of the host PC does not initiate"
http://bgr.com/2015/08/03/windows-10-security-disable-wifi-sense/ (http://bgr.com/2015/08/03/windows-10-security-disable-wifi-sense/)
Post by: paceman on August 04, 2015, 04:55:39 PM
From a mate:

http://www.techworm.net/2014/10/microsofts-windows-10-permission-watch-every-move.html (http://www.techworm.net/2014/10/microsofts-windows-10-permission-watch-every-move.html)

=======================
http://bgr.com/2015/07/31/windows-10-upgrade-spying-how-to-opt-out/ (http://bgr.com/2015/07/31/windows-10-upgrade-spying-how-to-opt-out/)
"Finally, we will access, disclose and preserve personal data, including your content (such as the content of your emails, other private communications or files in private folders)"

=======================
https://www.reddit.com/r/Windows10/comments/3f38ed/guide_how_to_disable_data_logging_in_w10/ (https://www.reddit.com/r/Windows10/comments/3f38ed/guide_how_to_disable_data_logging_in_w10/)

=======================
http://forums.hexus.net/windows/341705-windows-10-eula-released-v-10240-isnt-short-but-hard.html (http://forums.hexus.net/windows/341705-windows-10-eula-released-v-10240-isnt-short-but-hard.html)

=======================
https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/servicesagreement/default.aspx (https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/servicesagreement/default.aspx)

=======================
Windows 10 defaults to keylogging, harvesting browser history, purchases, and covert listening

http://boingboing.net/2015/08/03/windows-10-defaults-to-keylogg.html (http://boingboing.net/2015/08/03/windows-10-defaults-to-keylogg.html)

========================
Microsoft Confirms Windows 10 Updates Cannot Be Stopped - Even for drivers that break things
http://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkelly/2015/07/17/windows-10-forced-automatic-updates/ (http://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkelly/2015/07/17/windows-10-forced-automatic-updates/)

Windows 10 backs up your Bitlocker recovery key to OneDrive automatically. What can go wrong?
https://www.reddit.com/r/crypto/comments/3f0j44/windows_10_backs_up_your_bitlocker_recovery_key/ (https://www.reddit.com/r/crypto/comments/3f0j44/windows_10_backs_up_your_bitlocker_recovery_key/)

http://thenextweb.com/microsoft/2015/07/29/wind-nos/ (http://thenextweb.com/microsoft/2015/07/29/wind-nos/)

How to protect yourself against Windows 10’s controversial new Wi-Fi Sense feature

"First, Wi-Fi Sense means people you don’t know can connect to your secure Wi-Fi network without even knowing the password. Second, Wi-Fi Sense creates a direct connection between two computers that the user of the host PC does not initiate"
http://bgr.com/2015/08/03/windows-10-security-disable-wifi-sense/ (http://bgr.com/2015/08/03/windows-10-security-disable-wifi-sense/)

lucky it's not compulsory, hey... :)
Post by: Dragonfly on August 04, 2015, 05:02:17 PM
I've read all of these. All of these settings are defaulted to most Private and are completely inside your control... It's not compulsory, but worth it.

If you don't want to change, don't. It's free (if your copy of Windows is legal...). Why wouldn't you?

Also - have you checked out the privacy settings and consequences of your IPhones? Apple does a good job of keeping that quiet...
Post by: xcvator on August 04, 2015, 08:45:38 PM
From a mate:

=======================

========================

Another reason to have a look at and learn to use Linux
Post by: Onion on August 04, 2015, 10:00:31 PM
+1 xcvator.
Linux user for ~17 years here (gawd, has it been that long?).
Been working in IT since 1989 (gawd has it been that long?).

If anyone would like Linux installed on their machine and they're northside in Brisbane, just ask.
Post by: paceman on August 05, 2015, 07:21:47 AM
for those concerned about windows 10 privacy issues, linked below is a good article from a reputable source regarding how to toggle privacy settings, both on initial upgrade and after install:

http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2015/08/windows-10-doesnt-offer-much-privacy-by-default-heres-how-to-fix-it/ (http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2015/08/windows-10-doesnt-offer-much-privacy-by-default-heres-how-to-fix-it/)

Post by: tk421 on August 05, 2015, 08:40:01 AM
for those concerned about windows 10 privacy issues, linked below is a good article from a reputable source regarding how to toggle privacy settings, both on initial upgrade and after install:

http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2015/08/windows-10-doesnt-offer-much-privacy-by-default-heres-how-to-fix-it/ (http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2015/08/windows-10-doesnt-offer-much-privacy-by-default-heres-how-to-fix-it/)

Use Google, or Wasteofspacebook, or pretty much any social platform?  They all hoover up tons of your data. iPhone? Android phone/tablet? Especially in U.S. With the terms of the patriot act. Used Siri on an iPhone? (Every single search gets sent back to Apple's data centre for processing, in the U.S.)

*puts on Foil hat*

And I had to LOL at this popping up whilst reading the article
Post by: noel_w on August 05, 2015, 09:54:20 AM
And I had to LOL at this popping up whilst reading the article
Ha, thought I was the only one.
Mine is "AFP_Surv_Van_24"
Post by: Bird on August 05, 2015, 10:38:26 AM
Quote from: paceman
for those concerned about windows 10 privacy issues,

... just stick with Windows 7.... it works, and does everything I and most people need. **** what M$ tells me I need.
Post by: whatsa on August 05, 2015, 12:28:21 PM
... just stick with Windows 7.... it works, and does everything I and most people need. **** what M$ tells me I need.

Bird there are lots of good reasons to upgrade ... and a few to stay where you are. (wmp being one)

For the average person w10 offers a lot of good stuff to make owning a PC easier.
If you own a droid or iPhone then the Cats out of the bag as far as your personal info so if you are not concerned about them MS is no different.
Most of those articles are FUD or from known anti-MS sites so lol its silly.

even the wifi sense is over done .... You need to connect to your wifi and explicitly check the box that you would like to share this ... by default its off.
so most will never know its there and nothing is shared.

Nearly everyone uses google and they have been aggressively selling your info for years... but that's OK right?

For most people its... more secure... better inbuilt recovery that anyone can do... and a app store for trusted apps and appv(w32 bundled ) that give users a trusted location for downloading or purchasing Software.

I get nerds may have their issues but for consumers its a far better place to be going forward. 

Post by: paceman on August 05, 2015, 12:38:35 PM
I get nerds may have their issues but for consumers its a far better place to be going forward.

i'm one of those nerds and i have no problem with it. 

it's about time users take some responsibility in their own cyber-security, instead of relying on operating system companies to do everything for them.

yes, microsoft, apple and others should do what they can, but their is also a duty of care for users in this day and age.

if people think that microsoft is the only one doing this (with regards to information gathering and privacy), then they have their head in the sand.

but normally, if people think microsoft are the only ones, they preface their arguments with the tired old comments of 'windoze' or 'micro$oft'... :)

Post by: Bird on August 05, 2015, 12:49:05 PM
it's about time users take some responsibility in their own cyber-security, instead of relying on operating system companies to do everything for them.
Agree.... but I still say that most users are better off with Windows 7...

Wait till they switch to Office 13 and try and use it... LMAO
Post by: whatsa on August 05, 2015, 01:08:28 PM
you're right Paceman.
its invariably a tired drum beat...
( businesses have been selling you info and lets not talk about credit agencies who sell to anybody for the last 30 years)

Yeah I play with all of this stuff( so nerd flag I guess) and everyone I know who used to call me have upgraded to w10 .... they can now do 99% of it themselves and both of us are happier.
Edge browser is great (needs the add-ons though sounds like aug/sept update will have that)
        -web notes and onenote is just great for the average user.

Cortana is a nice addition ... US region to enable but Au its coming in a few months.
I upgraded a 85 yr olds computer and they thought its easy to use so?....
Gamers get DX12 and more xbox titles will be coming to PC so good there too.

I just have a hard time finding a good reason not to other than you media PC "IF" you use wmc on it. most people in that boat use mpc-hc
and its good there too.

Post by: tk421 on August 05, 2015, 01:21:25 PM
Another warning for those wanting to upgrade to Windows 10. Be careful of what is in your pictures folder

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3184771/Man-updates-PC-Windows-10-wife-entire-PORN-collection-transformed-slideshow-repeat.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3184771/Man-updates-PC-Windows-10-wife-entire-PORN-collection-transformed-slideshow-repeat.html)
Post by: whatsa on August 05, 2015, 01:38:46 PM

Yeah we are all going to have different likes /needs ... just like why people buy into the phones they do.

For Office most will end up on 365 as most PCs are coming with a personal edition 1 yr license and these are cumulative so I know people with
3yrs as they have 2 devices and a phone so now they never pay for it as their HW upgrades will keep it current.
I haven't had any issues with my old office? though I don't use it a lot...
power users I know have already gone to 365 for all the collaboration features...

But I do get we all like to beat on MS at times and sometimes they deserve it (vista) but this is probably their best OS to date.

Post by: Bird on August 05, 2015, 01:39:03 PM
Another warning for those wanting to upgrade to Windows 10. Be careful of what is in your pictures folder

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3184771/Man-updates-PC-Windows-10-wife-entire-PORN-collection-transformed-slideshow-repeat.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3184771/Man-updates-PC-Windows-10-wife-entire-PORN-collection-transformed-slideshow-repeat.html)
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: paceman on August 05, 2015, 01:41:27 PM

what's wrong with office 2013 and windows 10?

it's been confirmed as compatible and i've been running it for a while now with no issues...
Post by: whatsa on August 05, 2015, 01:47:19 PM

A funny story....
but I don't know one person who doesn't know how to set a picture as their background in any version of windows 10 included.
( oops there was 1 moron)  :)
Post by: Bird on August 05, 2015, 01:47:52 PM
Quote from: whatsa
Yeah we are all going to have different likes /needs ... just like why people buy into the phones they do.

For Office most will end up on 365 as most PCs are coming with a personal edition 1 yr license and these are cumulative so I know people with
3yrs as they have 2 devices and a phone so now they never pay for it as their HW upgrades will keep it current.
I haven't had any issues with my old office? though I don't use it a lot...
power users I know have already gone to 365 for all the collaboration features...

But I do get we all like to beat on MS at times and sometimes they deserve it (vista) but this is probably their best OS to date.
Phones - I'd like a phone that's good as a phone... Nokia 5110 anyone? I have a good camera already.

In reality Wordpad does more than most people will need for word processing... Or at best Office 95... as in functions. Let alone Excel, Access etc.
The majority of people here at work are the same.. we keep updating cause its Globally mandated - like it or not just ****in do it..

Every second version of MS operating systems seems to be the go.. 95 / ME? / XP / Vista? / 7 / 8? / 8.1? / 10? who knows..

7 does everything I need.
I have no use for all the bullShit that I've found with 8/8.1/10 and its pretty menus and changing how everything looks and just renaming Shit for no good reason but so people have to do refresher courses to find Shit.
but alas some ****wit at IT HQ in France will no doubt think its an awesome idea to upgrade, and the pain will begin again after I've just finished our XP upgrade Project.

If I could get my games to run on Linux, I reckon I'd give it the thumbs up with Open Office.
Post by: paceman on August 05, 2015, 01:51:38 PM
A funny story....
but I don't know one person who doesn't know how to set a picture as their background in any version of windows 10 included.
( oops there was 1 moron)  :)

if he's stupid enough to put his p0rn collection in the main Pictures folder, then he deserves to get caught... :)
Post by: paceman on August 05, 2015, 01:58:24 PM
Phones - I'd like a phone that's good as a phone... Nokia 5110 anyone? I have a good camera already.

In reality Wordpad does more than most people will need for word processing... Or at best Office 95... as in functions. Let alone Excel, Access etc.
The majority of people here at work are the same.. we keep updating cause its Globally mandated - like it or not just ****in do it..

Every second version of MS operating systems seems to be the go.. 95 / ME? / XP / Vista? / 7 / 8? / 8.1? / 10? who knows..

7 does everything I need.
I have no use for all the bullShit that I've found with 8/8.1/10 and its pretty menus and changing how everything looks and just renaming Shit for no good reason but so people have to do refresher courses to find Shit.
but alas some ****wit at IT HQ in France will no doubt think its an awesome idea to upgrade, and the pain will begin again after I've just finished our XP upgrade Project.

If I could get my games to run on Linux, I reckon I'd give it the thumbs up with Open Office.

the 'tick-tock' of operating systems is a bit similar to the 'tick-tock' of intel CPU's...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Tick-Tock

although, i don't think microsoft intentionally meant it to go this way, it has sort of organically gone that way... :)

with all due respect, there is plenty going on under the hood of windows 10, that 99% is users won't care about, but it still makes a huge difference.  every operating system updates the way it looks with regards to general UI design.  linux, osx, ios, android, windows phone and windows have all updated their looks over the years to reflect current taste and design cues.

no one doubts that the windows 8 fiasco is exactly that, a fiasco, but windows 10 appears to right that ship, by giving users a fairly seamless upgrade scenario, with very little downside...

comparing a work environment windows 10 upgrade to a home user upgrade is comparing apples and oranges.  two totally separate cases with totally separate outcomes.

and, like previously mentioned, you don't have to upgrade... :)  and, if you do (within a year) it won't cost you a cent.  not too shabby...

i like windows 7 too, but that doesn't mean i am not going to upgrade all of my machines to windows 10...
Post by: whatsa on August 05, 2015, 02:11:05 PM

Yeah with you on the phone I still take my old N9 as it has one of the best bluetick ratings.
robust  the N8 was the best I had...
went down a 30m concrete tower onto concrete and through the car engine fan and under the wheels at 30 kph
still worked until my niece decided to wash it .. lol it was a trooper.

I would say they will as the big issues for IT will be the security enhancements to the OS kernel and also file security(crypto) on a file by file basis and
the ability to set policies on this. really solves the thumb drive issue with people constantly losing them.
Post by: Bird on August 05, 2015, 02:25:36 PM
.... really solves the thumb drive issue with people constantly losing them.

I've worked for companies that don't allow them, block CD drives and remove Floppys (remember them LMAO).. great idea.. although blocking USB ports isn't as useful as it once was with PS2 mouse/kb not being the norm anymore.
Post by: paceman on August 05, 2015, 02:29:16 PM
I've worked for companies that don't allow them, block CD drives and remove Floppys (remember them LMAO).. great idea.. although blocking USB ports isn't as useful as it once was with PS2 mouse/kb not being the norm anymore.

if they are allowed to use them, then use encryption and log usb drive activity.

if not, there is plenty of software and group policy settings around that can distinguish between usb input devices and usb data transfer devices, to block usb drive usage.
Post by: Bird on August 05, 2015, 02:38:23 PM
if they are allowed to use them, then use encryption and log usb drive activity.

if not, there is plenty of software and group policy settings around that can distinguish between usb input devices and usb data transfer devices, to block usb drive usage.
Yep.. but even the MD here lives by USB drives.. has about 50 x 1 gig ones all over his desk... NFI whats on them anymore.... :S
Post by: whatsa on August 05, 2015, 02:44:20 PM

Yeah the default in email will be encrypted for the organisation and unencrypted can be an option with logging.
Just depends on the policies.
It actually tightens up a lot of things but still allows some flexibility and mobility, for some businesses it will allow a less rigid framework for mobile data cases.
Post by: Bird on August 05, 2015, 02:56:08 PM
From my experience .. the more things you give people to screw around with, the more chances of them ****ing it all up and making my day worse cause you can bet your testicles and house on it that the first thing they will say is "I didn't touch anything - it just happened"...
Post by: noel_w on August 05, 2015, 03:04:45 PM
You would not imagine how many times our teachers come to us and say "My USB stick won't work anymore, just tells me it is not formatted. It's got all my stuff on it and it's not backed up" This really makes my day when I say "Your lack of planning does not make it my emergency"
Post by: gronk on August 05, 2015, 03:16:45 PM
Ha, I'm not sure why I decided to update to win 10....all I need a laptop for is to surf the web (like here ), do banking, store pics and write resumes... ( with open office, as I'm too scabby to pay for microsoft word )

Post by: whatsa on August 05, 2015, 04:13:36 PM
Ha, I'm not sure why I decided to update to win 10....all I need a laptop for is to surf the web (like here ), do banking, store pics and write resumes... ( with open office, as I'm too scabby to pay for microsoft word )

Have a look at the edge browser webnote feature (top right)
handy for saving to onenote...
Post by: Bird on August 05, 2015, 04:22:25 PM
*SHOCK*

The roll back to Windows 7 feature doesn't work... Who'd have thunk it.
Post by: whatsa on August 05, 2015, 04:31:35 PM
*SHOCK*

lol what did you do? (sorry IT guy hat ;)  )
it worked for me if you reset a win 10 install after upgrade then the backout is not possible?
Post by: Bird on August 05, 2015, 04:36:28 PM
lol what did you do? (sorry IT guy hat ;)  )
it worked for me if you reset a win 10 install after upgrade then the backout is not possible?
Clicked the button that said GET STARTED on the GO back to Windows 7...

My IT hat is still rolling on the floor pissing its pants that I expected it to work....
Post by: whatsa on August 05, 2015, 04:46:49 PM
Clicked the button that said GET STARTED on the GO back to Windows 7...

My IT hat is still rolling on the floor pissing its pants that I expected it to work....
LOL You sure you didn't have unix dude in your profile?

seriously thou .....was that a reserved upgrade or did you use the tool?
I had a quirky problem on a dell laptop but two days later the drivers were updated from dell
(it wasn't on dells supported list when I did it so I was not surprised)

Basically if you wait for the notification based on your specs it wont offer the upgrade till all the drivers are there.
Post by: Bird on August 05, 2015, 04:50:51 PM
LOL You sure you didn't have unix dude in your profile?

seriously thou .....was that a reserved upgrade or did you use the tool?
I had a quirky problem on a dell laptop but two days later the drivers were updated from dell
(it wasn't on dells supported list when I did it so I was not surprised)

Basically if you wait for the notification based on your specs it wont offer the upgrade till all the drivers are there.

Downloaded from my account on Volume Licensing Service Center ;)
Post by: whatsa on August 05, 2015, 05:00:10 PM
Was that a ELA  pc? domain?
Post by: gronk on August 05, 2015, 06:03:08 PM
Have a look at the edge browser webnote feature (top right)
handy for saving to onenote...

I haven't got win10......if I'm lucky, I MIGHT have a working laptop.....but what you wrote above means absolutely nothing to me .?????   >:(
Post by: Big Damo on August 05, 2015, 07:54:46 PM

Had much the same experience got stuck in an endless loop of restart blue screen for 8 hours
forced shut down and restarted managed to get back to the old version windows
might be best to stay this way at least laptop is working

Damo
Post by: gronk on August 05, 2015, 08:28:46 PM
Damo, I had restarted, rebooted, crashed and restarted, took battery out and crashed it but nothing would stop the blue screen..

Hopefully tomorrow I get the thing back.....fixed I hope..
Post by: Moggy on August 05, 2015, 09:16:11 PM
(http://i966.photobucket.com/albums/ae148/armoggy/computer97_zps1akdhpfk.gif) (http://s966.photobucket.com/user/armoggy/media/computer97_zps1akdhpfk.gif.html)
Post by: paceman on August 06, 2015, 08:31:54 AM
for those not so computer literate, here is a good 'laymens' explanation of the windows 10 privacy settings:

http://lifehacker.com/what-windows-10s-privacy-nightmare-settings-actually-1722267229 (http://lifehacker.com/what-windows-10s-privacy-nightmare-settings-actually-1722267229)
Post by: whatsa on August 06, 2015, 09:01:41 AM
Damo, I had restarted, rebooted, crashed and restarted, took battery out and crashed it but nothing would stop the blue screen..

Hopefully tomorrow I get the thing back.....fixed I hope..

then the media creation tool is what you need for the install.

easiest way is do the usb drive fresh install...( if you did the upgrade already "your license has been upgraded")
just select the version(home or pro) and 32 or 64 when you create the USB
Post by: GUEY on August 06, 2015, 11:21:22 AM
*SHOCK*

Thank **** it does work  ;D

Note to self, speak to machinery software people before upgrading in future.... :cup:
Post by: Bird on August 06, 2015, 11:22:20 AM
Quote from: GUEY

Note to self, speak to machinery software people before upgrading in future.... :cup:
ROTFLMAO

We got stuff still running on cut down versions of XP.. god help us if they run through with it....  to upgrade the GC's was going to cost 300k...
Post by: GUEY on August 06, 2015, 11:27:10 AM
ROTFLMAO

We got stuff still running on cut down versions of XP.. god help us if they run through with it....  to upgrade the GC's was going to cost 300k...

Yeah was a bit of a ummm oh **** moment.

Couple of machines out the back running xp. Not allowed to touch them  :angel:
Post by: whatsa on August 06, 2015, 12:03:41 PM

Yeah the safest way is to wait till you get the notification.
Too many sites have said yeah you can do this by down loading the tool.
(for geeks yes they can address any issues as they like to play and have multiple machines)

Yet MS has said they are pushing this out in waves and you will be notified when you PC is ready.

So if you install it even though MS has not said its ready by bypassing the process - you're expectation is?

Just wait and it will be fine ....
Post by: GUEY on August 06, 2015, 12:15:49 PM

Yeah the safest way is to wait till you get the notification.
Too many sites have said yeah you can do this by down loading the tool.
(for geeks yes they can address any issues as they like to play and have multiple machines)

Yet MS has said they are pushing this out in waves and you will be notified when you PC is ready.

So if you install it even though MS has not said its ready by bypassing the process - you're expectation is?

Just wait and it will be fine ....

Had notification that it was ready to go.
In fairness it loaded and ran most stuff fine. Just not all of it ;)

When I rang our machinery software bloke, he said they are miles away from even looking at it ( compatability wise) and what would you do that for.
Live and learn... No harm done :)

(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/08/05/d3ac955bf75feeb778728bc9459209f1.jpg)

Post by: Bird on August 06, 2015, 12:18:26 PM
Quote from: GUEY
and what would you do that for.
Best thing he could have said... ;D ;D ;D
Post by: GUEY on August 06, 2015, 12:20:44 PM
Best thing he could have said... ;D ;D ;D

Hehe, it's people like me that keep IT people employed. I should be given thanks   >:D
Post by: Mrs smith on August 06, 2015, 12:28:26 PM
Fake Windows 10 update leading to ransomware attack

https://www.communications.gov.au/what-we-do/internet/stay-smart-online/alert-service/alert-priority-high-fake-windows-10-update-leading-ransomware-attack (https://www.communications.gov.au/what-we-do/internet/stay-smart-online/alert-service/alert-priority-high-fake-windows-10-update-leading-ransomware-attack)
Post by: gronk on August 06, 2015, 01:29:38 PM
then the media creation tool is what you need for the install.

easiest way is do the usb drive fresh install...( if you did the upgrade already "your license has been upgraded")
just select the version(home or pro) and 32 or 64 when you create the USB

Ha ha, I dunno what a media creation tool is ?  How would I create a USB.......I don't have  my laptop....I'm typing this on a Samsung tablet..??

If I get the laptop back and it's back to win7, then it'll stay there.....forever !!!!
Post by: whatsa on August 06, 2015, 01:34:17 PM

Had notification that it was ready to go.
In fairness it loaded and ran most stuff fine. Just not all of it ;)

When I rang our machinery software bloke, he said they are miles away from even looking at it ( compatability wise) and what would you do that for.
Live and learn... No harm done :)

Yeah you may have some really old drivers(virus sw?) .... generally a reset after gets rid of the offending stone-age stuff.

Thing is too there is 2 main updates / defender scan / app updates / one drive sync that happens right after so you need to wait for that to be done too.
Same as a phone all the apps are out of date that it shipped with so ya just let it do its thing.
Post by: Bird on August 06, 2015, 02:05:42 PM
Yeah you may have some really old drivers(virus sw?) .... generally a reset after gets rid of the offending stone-age stuff.

Thing is too there is 2 main updates / defender scan / app updates / one drive sync that happens right after so you need to wait for that to be done too.
Same as a phone all the apps are out of date that it shipped with so ya just let it do its thing.
or just don't **** with it and live happily ever after ;D
Post by: gronk on August 07, 2015, 08:12:59 PM
Got my laptop back this arvo....fixed ( he had to replace the wireless card  and other stuff ?? ) with win 10 running......but as usual , everything is different....he said my list of IE websites were in there somewhere...but I haven't a clue where ??

Just replied to a post on my swag, when you highlight some text you want deleted ( right click ), it doesn't show a delete option ??  so I cut it ??  Tried to add an emoticon and it won't do it ??  All the peripherals around the Microsoft edge screen looks cheap and old fashioned...

And this is supposed to be 2015 ??  Is there anything GOOD about win 10 ??
Post by: Moggy on August 07, 2015, 08:28:03 PM
I got the notification yesterday so decided to use my laptop as the guinea pig before upgrading the main desktop system.
I have to say was reasonably seamless, i had no major issues & it basically gave me back my pre-existing desktop with the addition of the sidebar.

What i did find however was that i run kaspersky protection & i had to download the compatible update separately for it, as it has disappeared completely. Not a big deal though just another 15-30 mins stuffing around.

Like anything new will take a bit of getting used to menus etc, but will persevere on the laptop before upgrading desktop system(my main business machine).

The other thing i did notice was that it would seem iTunes has been give the flick, but may just have to download an updated version & it also seems a bit sluggish so will have to upgrade the ram me thinks.

Generally though hasnt been a drama & the MS browser is Shitloads better than the old ie
Post by: Robbo on August 08, 2015, 05:29:20 AM
Well, i have taken the plunge and installed Windows 10. It all went smoothly with no issues. It did, however, update most of my existing programs etc. during the process and used far more than the 3GB that i was expecting. The Edge Browser sure is faster and better than the old IE 11 so that's a bonus. I'm still getting used to the new and different bits and pieces that windows 10 has but overall i'm quite happy with the new OS. One question for you Techies, logging on and off to "MySwag" now is very slow, once opened it is ok. Could this be something to do with the new W10 or has the site got some traffic problems? There are a couple of other sites that are slow opening up also but most are fast and ok. As has been mentioned before, you need to tidy up your Pictures Folders for obvious reasons. ;D
Post by: Robbo on August 08, 2015, 05:57:35 AM
One more question, The new Edge Browser does not allow Norton 360 to run in it. Is there a fix for this or has Windows 10 got its own superior protection when using Edge?
Post by: Bad Scott on August 08, 2015, 07:49:04 AM
One more question, The new Edge Browser does not allow Norton 360 to run in it. Is there a fix for this or has Windows 10 got its own superior protection when using Edge?
Windows 10 runs every program in a sandbox. What this means is if the program/app gets hacked/corrupted its contained within itself and not affect the system.
Post by: D4D on August 08, 2015, 08:03:40 AM
Anybody got the BBcode icons to work in Edge?
Post by: Robbo on August 08, 2015, 08:13:20 AM
Windows 10 runs every program in a sandbox. What this means is if the program/app gets hacked/corrupted its contained within itself and not affect the system.

Great, thanks for that. Is there any way of getting Nortons "Identity Safe" programe to operate in Edge? It's the one that stores your passwords for easy access. 
Post by: MrCruza on August 08, 2015, 08:25:04 AM
Great, thanks for that. Is there any way of getting Nortons "Identity Safe" programe to operate in Edge? It's the one that stores your passwords for easy access.

No. It's currently not compatible with Edge.

Edge and Identity Safe (https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us/home/current/solutions/v113038371_EndUserProfile_en_us)
Post by: Bad Scott on August 08, 2015, 08:34:24 AM
Anybody got the BBcode icons to work in Edge?
No. Was hoping you maybe had a solution. Save me having to remember and type it in >:D
Post by: D4D on August 08, 2015, 08:38:35 AM
No. Was hoping you maybe had a solution.

Solution at the moment is to go back to IE11
Post by: krisandkev on August 08, 2015, 09:29:20 AM
Installed yesterday after getting the notification that it was good to go. Installed Ok but then I have had so much trouble with it.  Most of my desk top icons will not open and would just freeze the computer!  Had to reboot numerous times to get it working again.  Tried lots of help methods via google searches and this morning I just gave up and finally found how to roll back to my windows 7.  (There was no way I could open the settings in windows 10, half of the start up item would not open!!!)  Now happy, 7 is working fine again.   ;D   Kevin
Post by: gronk on August 08, 2015, 09:44:15 AM
http://www.myswag.org/Smileys/classic/cry.gif (http://www.myswag.org/Smileys/classic/cry.gif)

This is the only way to get a smiley on the page with win 10 ??

Also numbers work at the top of the keyboard, but the ones to the right won't unless num lock is activated 1st ??

Also got a msg on bottom of screen ...activate windows, go to settings and activate ??  went there and the license key I have didn't work ??
But if windows isn't activated, how come everything works ??  Well, nearly everything ??
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2015, 10:34:06 AM
Quote from: SJindustries
Windows 10 runs every program in a sandbox.
and what do cats do in sandboxes??
Post by: noel_w on August 08, 2015, 12:43:13 PM
and what do cats do in sandboxes??
run Linux?    (60's reference to cool dudes)
Post by: Robbo on August 08, 2015, 02:16:30 PM
No. It's currently not compatible with Edge.

Edge and Identity Safe (https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us/home/current/solutions/v113038371_EndUserProfile_en_us)

Great, thanks John. An interesting read. Looks like they are working on this and will have things available in the near future. :D
Post by: gutters on August 08, 2015, 07:03:00 PM
I upgraded last week and didn't have a problem....

Until this arvo when I attempted to edit some video with Windows Movie Maker... No go  >:D  http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows-10/movie-maker-is-not-available-in-windows-10 (http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows-10/movie-maker-is-not-available-in-windows-10)

Had to go on the search for a an alternative and found Filmora, which is great, spent the arvo learning to use it and edit some video to find out it puts a dirty big watermark on your videos. Anyway I'm happy with the software and it usability so was happy to register and pay, just a pity Windows Movie Maker no longer works.
Post by: Fizzie on August 09, 2015, 08:56:56 AM
Saw mention that Windows Media Centre has been removed from 10 as "no-one uses it anymore"  ???

Is that the same as WM Player?

Is there any program there to sort & play music?
Post by: D4D on August 09, 2015, 09:15:04 AM
Until this arvo when I attempted to edit some video with Windows Movie Maker... No go  >:D  http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows-10/movie-maker-is-not-available-in-windows-10 (http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows-10/movie-maker-is-not-available-in-windows-10)

Interesting, I upgraded to Win10 and still have Movie Maker from the 8.1 install, and it works on Win10...
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/get-movie-maker-download (http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/get-movie-maker-download)
Post by: gronk on August 10, 2015, 05:47:33 PM
Seems I'm with about 100,000 other people who have installed win10 but can't activate because the activation key is not accepted by windows..

But if you purchase windows, they'll give you a new one .........not a chance in hell..

It only happens on this site, but emoticons still won't work ?
Post by: Hairs on August 10, 2015, 07:03:00 PM

(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/flush.gif)

:cheers:    ;D
Post by: gronk on August 10, 2015, 08:02:58 PM

Only on my puter !! 
Post by: Hairs on August 10, 2015, 08:06:51 PM
Only on my puter !!

I wonder why.
Post by: gronk on August 10, 2015, 08:48:00 PM
I wonder why.

????  the odd little gremlin.....

The number pad on the right of the keyboard doesn't work unless you use num lock...??

And I paid $130 to get these features......my fault for downloading win10 crap...
Post by: MrCruza on August 10, 2015, 08:55:57 PM
????  the odd little gremlin.....

The number pad on the right of the keyboard doesn't work unless you use num lock...??

Thats usually a setting in the bios.
Post by: lino6 on August 10, 2015, 09:18:21 PM
Emojies don't work on mine either..... :(

Apparently the keyboard shortcuts work though
Post by: Bad Scott on August 10, 2015, 09:27:38 PM
Emojies don't work on mine either..... :(

Apparently the keyboard shortcuts work though
The only one I remember is >:D >:D >:D
Post by: lino6 on August 10, 2015, 09:30:00 PM
The only one I remember is >:D >:D >:D

Why am I not surprised :)
Post by: gronk on August 10, 2015, 09:34:25 PM
Thats usually a setting in the bios.

That sort of talk is all greek to me !!   ( insert emoticon that I don't have !!! )
Post by: Bad Scott on August 10, 2015, 09:36:58 PM
   ( insert emoticon that I don't have !!! )
Use this one ">:D" :D
Post by: xcvator on August 10, 2015, 09:57:27 PM
I think I'll just stick with the good old linux distro I've been using for years  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: gronk on August 10, 2015, 10:02:46 PM
Use this one ">:D" :D

I tried cutting and pasting !!!http://www.myswag.org/Smileys/classic/evil.gif.....that was a drag and drop !!!!

Funny how they work on other forums ??
Post by: Bird on August 17, 2015, 02:29:48 PM
YAY!

Consumer groups have slammed Microsoft for its policy of forced updates for Windows 10, which is hitting customers in remote locations with massive bill shock by blowing out their data caps.

But they warn bill shock may affect many more customers, regardless of where they are located. And, with many customers yet to receive their monthly internet bills, the full extent of the problem may not yet be apparent.

... According to digital rights group Electronic Frontiers Australia, one internet user in the Cook Islands, an autonomous region associated with New Zealand, has already racked up a $NZ600 ($532) internet bill for the month of August, thanks to Windows 10.

... To add insult to injury, Microsoft has confirmed it is hijacking users' internet connections to upload software updates to other users, through "peer-to-peer" technology.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/digital-life/computers/fears-windows-10-will-blow-data-caps-20150817-gj0i98.html (http://www.theage.com.au/digital-life/computers/fears-windows-10-will-blow-data-caps-20150817-gj0i98.html)

Post by: paceman on August 17, 2015, 02:50:12 PM
YAY!

interesting, considering that windows 7 (by default, unless changed) was using the exact same behaviour... so no difference...

once again, no-one is forcing anybody to upgrade to windows 10.... not sure what the problem is.

Post by: Bird on August 17, 2015, 02:54:14 PM
..., but you may not want to waste upload bandwidth to help reduce Microsoft’s bandwidth bills.  :cup: :cup:

http://www.howtogeek.com/224981/how-to-stop-windows-10-from-uploading-updates-to-other-pcs-over-the-internet/ (http://www.howtogeek.com/224981/how-to-stop-windows-10-from-uploading-updates-to-other-pcs-over-the-internet/)  :cup:

and for those in th workplace
http://microsoft-news.com/how-to-remove-windows-10-upgrade-notification-on-windows-7-and-windows-8/ (http://microsoft-news.com/how-to-remove-windows-10-upgrade-notification-on-windows-7-and-windows-8/)
Post by: MrCruza on August 17, 2015, 04:06:51 PM
interesting, considering that windows 7 (by default, unless changed) was using the exact same behaviour...

I never saw windows 7 start an automatic 2.7GB download..

not sure what the problem is.

Problem is, unaware punter clicks on link to reserve their copy of windows 10. So far so good. When Microsoft deems it is ready for that particular user it pushes the download, ready or not. That's when the fun starts. The punter has NO control over this download and can't stop it once it's started. Stiff bickies if your data is already at the limit for this period..
Post by: paceman on August 17, 2015, 04:43:27 PM
I never saw windows 7 start an automatic 2.7GB download..

Problem is, unaware punter clicks on link to reserve their copy of windows 10. So far so good. When Microsoft deems it is ready for that particular user it pushes the download, ready or not. That's when the fun starts. The punter has NO control over this download and can't stop it once it's started. Stiff bickies if your data is already at the limit for this period..

starts with updates enabled by default...  the amount may change, but the concept is the same... as soon as you do a fresh install of windows 7, updates start coming down...

perhaps users should take some responsibility for finding out the pros and cons of an OS install? 

'micro$oft' and 'windoze' is the devil, i get it.... 
Post by: MrCruza on August 17, 2015, 06:34:21 PM
Problem is Microsoft are maketing / pushing this in a way that cons the average punter. Most people don't know any better and aren't tech savvy enough to care.

You can stop a download of Win7 updates anytime you want. You CAN'T stop the Win10 download once it starts.
Post by: Supersi on August 17, 2015, 08:47:39 PM
..., but you may not want to waste upload bandwidth to help reduce Microsoft’s bandwidth bills.  :cup: :cup:

http://www.howtogeek.com/224981/how-to-stop-windows-10-from-uploading-updates-to-other-pcs-over-the-internet/ (http://www.howtogeek.com/224981/how-to-stop-windows-10-from-uploading-updates-to-other-pcs-over-the-internet/)  :cup:

Thanks Bird, good advice.
Post by: Bird on August 17, 2015, 09:40:21 PM
perhaps users should take some responsibility for finding out the pros and cons of an OS install? 
Pros/cons??  Its all good for IT savvy people... but we have people at work that struggle to open links on the Intranet - serious.. and a couple of them are in their 40's in senior positions.

We have had 2 see this pretty little icon on their laptops down near the clock... oh yes lets play..  and dance with the Devil so far. All good and well, but some of our Lab instruments wont work on Windows 7..

Maybe you need to think outside the square a touch more, not everyone is IT knowledgeable - no matter how much we know they should be in this day/age....
Post by: Kangaron on August 17, 2015, 10:04:52 PM

perhaps users should take some responsibility

Tell that to my 85 yr old Mother.
Post by: gronk on August 17, 2015, 10:47:45 PM

Maybe you need to think outside the square a touch more, not everyone is IT knowledgeable - no matter how much we know they should be in this day/age....

How true....most people have no need to know anything more than how to fire up their computer and surf the internet......and why would they need to have IT knowledge ??

It's a bit like not learning how to change your own engine oil if you intend to take your car to a mechanic to get it done !!

Most people can't see the advantage of gaining knowledge if that knowledge isn't going to be utilized !!
Post by: paceman on August 18, 2015, 06:23:15 AM
Tell that to my 85 yr old Mother.

part of my job is doing exactly that (my own parents are in their seventies, plus other clients as well).  they don't seem to have a problem with it.

they made a decision about whether to upgrade or not, after being given the facts.

look, i don't want to turn this into a slanging match. 

some of you don't like windows 10, some of us do. 

i apologise if i have caused offence.  i'm just trying to give another opinion to this thread. 
Post by: gronk on August 18, 2015, 09:35:15 AM

they made a decision about whether to upgrade or not, after being given the facts.

some of you don't like windows 10, some of us do. 

I updated....and I'll admit I did it without knowing any facts.....but therein lies some of the problem I've found with computers.....Microsoft offer something and don't give ANY info of how to do it......like backing things up....asking if you have a recovery disc etc etc......they ASSUME you have enough knowledge to know that beforehand ????

To be honest, win10 seems to work just the same as win7.....different screen, but I only go on forums, do banking, mail, etc...

I have a constant "activate windows" msg down the bottom corner, but I have got used to it now !!

But, getting in touch with Microsoft or windows ( are they one and the same ) is very hard....the person I finally got onto ( over my activation issue ) palmed me off to a paid tech person ( told them I wasn't paying for something they did )......and the 2nd time I got onto someone, he hung up on me when I pointed out it was their fault ( didn't raise my voice....but did afterwards )
Post by: paceman on August 18, 2015, 10:11:41 AM
I updated....and I'll admit I did it without knowing any facts.....but therein lies some of the problem I've found with computers.....Microsoft offer something and don't give ANY info of how to do it......like backing things up....asking if you have a recovery disc etc etc......they ASSUME you have enough knowledge to know that beforehand ????

microsoft's website is full of information about these topics...  just like every other OS provider...

in fact, microsoft probably has more information about their OS than any other provider, to the point where it is too much...

google search for 'backup windows 7' gives me these in the first few results:

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/1838/using-backup-and-restore-in-windows-7/ (http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/1838/using-backup-and-restore-in-windows-7/)
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows/back-up-files#1TC=windows-7 (http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows/back-up-files#1TC=windows-7)
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows/back-up-programs-system-settings-files#1TC=windows-7 (http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows/back-up-programs-system-settings-files#1TC=windows-7)

and a google search for 'create recovery disk windows 7' gave me these:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows7/create-a-system-repair-disc (http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows7/create-a-system-repair-disc)
http://www.7tutorials.com/how-create-system-repair-disc-cddvd (http://www.7tutorials.com/how-create-system-repair-disc-cddvd)

would you update the engine management system in your car/4wd, without finding out anything about what it might do (good or bad) beforehand?

I have a constant "activate windows" msg down the bottom corner, but I have got used to it now !!

activation issues normally point to an irregularity with the product key...

again, a google search provides some useful info:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows-10/why-activate-windows-10 (http://windows.microsoft.com/en-au/windows-10/why-activate-windows-10)
http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/5705-activate-windows-10-a.html (http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/5705-activate-windows-10-a.html)

hope this helps...

Post by: gronk on August 18, 2015, 11:41:49 AM
Paceman......all good to know these things AFTER the fact....but why would I ( or other dumb internet users )know about the need to backup or create a recovery disc ?????

The last issue you provided a link to is all good if you can go back to win7 and then update again ( even if it is a pain in the ar*e to do so ), but I don't have win7 on a disc ??

So I'm stuck in no mans land.....I can't go back and start again.....I refuse to pay more money for someone else to do it....so I'll put up with a logo on my screen saying to activate..

If the computer turns to sh*t in a yrs time, I'll buy a new laptop..
Post by: paceman on August 18, 2015, 11:49:16 AM
Paceman......all good to know these things AFTER the fact....but why would I ( or other dumb internet users )know about the need to backup or create a recovery disc ?????

The last issue you provided a link to is all good if you can go back to win7 and then update again ( even if it is a pain in the ar*e to do so ), but I don't have win7 on a disc ??

backing up your data is a fundamental task when using computers... as you have discovered, they are not perfect...

try this to go back to windows 7...

https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/software-download/windows7 (https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/software-download/windows7)
Post by: gronk on August 18, 2015, 02:21:36 PM
tried that thanks, but it wouldn't recognize my win7 key ??

Backing up data wasn't a biggy for me as I only had approx. 3 mths of photos that were critical....but not being able to go back to win7 was !
Post by: paceman on August 18, 2015, 02:24:49 PM
tried that thanks, but it wouldn't recognize my win7 key ??

then that is where your problems start.

possibly a dodgy/pirated key, which would explain why you are having activation issues...

when you were talking to microsoft, did you check with them that it was a valid product key?  that would be your next step...
Post by: gronk on August 18, 2015, 03:38:36 PM
then that is where your problems start.

possibly a dodgy/pirated key, which would explain why you are having activation issues...

when you were talking to microsoft, did you check with them that it was a valid product key?  that would be your next step...

It is on a hologram type sticker on the back of the laptop with windows marked on it..win7 home premium..

Talking to Microsoft is the hard thing....then getting someone who talks fluent English is another ??
Post by: gronk on August 18, 2015, 03:46:31 PM

try this to go back to windows 7...

https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/software-download/windows7 (https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/software-download/windows7)

Got a number wrong, but still no go..

Error

The product key you entered appears to be for software pre-installed by the device manufacturer. Please contact the device manufacturer for software recovery options.
Post by: paceman on August 18, 2015, 04:11:58 PM

Got a number wrong, but still no go..

Error

The product key you entered appears to be for software pre-installed by the device manufacturer. Please contact the device manufacturer for software recovery options.

So whoever made the laptop should be able to provide you with recovery media...

Post by: gronk on August 18, 2015, 04:22:46 PM
So whoever made the laptop should be able to provide you with recovery media...

At a cost I presume ??

I have 4 dvd's marked recovery that I burned a couple of yrs ago, what happens if I shove no.1 in and see what happens ??
Post by: paceman on August 18, 2015, 04:34:23 PM
At a cost I presume ??

I have 4 dvd's marked recovery that I burned a couple of yrs ago, what happens if I shove no.1 in and see what happens ??

most of the time it is free, depending on the manufacturer...

what's the make and model of the laptop?

if there is nothing on the laptop you want, then you could try the recovery.  IT WILL WIPE THE LAPTOP AND RESTORE IT BACK TO FACTORY DEFAULT.

i take no responsibility for the result!

Post by: gronk on August 18, 2015, 04:43:35 PM
Aahh, no, I don't want to go down that road !!

It's a Toshiba Satellite L750D...and I googled it and only came up with an option to buy an install disc..
Post by: Kangaron on August 18, 2015, 05:26:56 PM
Unbeknownst to me, my mother, remember 85 yrs old, pushed the magic button herself on the desktop, without any assistance, and is now very happy with a classic style start menu. Even happier after i got rid of all the tiles.
Very stubborn to accept help, walks to the shops when there are 3 cars in the driveway etc etc.
Only thing she can find so far that doesn't work is Clone DVD, so off to find an alternative for her.
Post by: paceman on August 18, 2015, 05:32:05 PM
Aahh, no, I don't want to go down that road !!

It's a Toshiba Satellite L750D...and I googled it and only came up with an option to buy an install disc..

up to you... :)

it sounds like you may have a set already...
Post by: Bird on August 28, 2015, 12:59:10 PM
Building a PC at moment for a mate.. the nasty icon has come up next to clock... should I punish him??? ;D ;D ;D

hes a nice bloke, I don't think I could be that nasty
Post by: gronk on August 28, 2015, 01:18:43 PM
I had fatal issues with my win 10 upgrade....took it back to repairer and he wiped everything and installed win 7...going as fast as when it was new ?

Not going to upgrade while ever this laptop keeps working.

I have the windows upgrade logo near the clock......so I suppose I just ignore it for ever a day ??

And my  ;D 8) work again as well !!  :cup:
Post by: scblack on August 28, 2015, 01:52:20 PM
I just spoke to the IT consultants we use at work. They have not heard any negative issues with Windows 10 and suggest downloading it when available. That's for my personal laptop at home.

He also suggests leaving our older work machines that have Windows 7 on them untouched.
Post by: Bird on August 28, 2015, 01:54:39 PM
I had fatal issues with my win 10 upgrade....took it back to repairer and he wiped everything and installed win 7...going as fast as when it was new ?

Not going to upgrade while ever this laptop keeps working.

I have the windows upgrade logo near the clock......so I suppose I just ignore it for ever a day ??
you can scrap that icon...
Goto Task Manager, (Cnt Alt Del) and stop the GWX process (right click on it and end process)

Then goto c:\windows\system32 and delete the GWX folder..
Post by: paceman on August 28, 2015, 01:55:00 PM
Building a PC at moment for a mate.. the nasty icon has come up next to clock... should I punish him??? ;D ;D ;D

hes a nice bloke, I don't think I could be that nasty

if you think that windows 10 is so bad, then you obviously haven't used it enough...

light years ahead of windows 8 and as user friendly (if not more so) than windows 7...

Post by: Bird on August 28, 2015, 01:56:11 PM
... then you obviously haven't used it enough...

Extremely happy to admit I haven't.
Post by: paceman on August 28, 2015, 02:01:50 PM
Extremely happy to admit I haven't.

so then where is your personal basis that it is so, so bad?

most problems experienced during install (at this early stage) can be put down to easily explainable issues such as incorrect/dodgy license keys or unstable drivers.

and either of those issues (for example) are not windows 10's fault and can be identified and possibly rectified with users performing the upgrade check BEFORE they attempt an upgrade.

Post by: gronk on August 28, 2015, 02:10:31 PM
you can scrap that icon...
Goto Task Manager, (Cnt Alt Del) and stop the GWX process (right click on it and end process)

Then goto c:\windows\system32 and delete the GWX folder..

I ended the process but it said I needed permission to do anything to the GWX folder ??
Post by: paceman on August 28, 2015, 02:12:57 PM
I ended the process but it said I needed permission to do anything to the GWX folder ??

try this method instead...

http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/how-remove-windows-10-nag-messages-3614204/ (http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/how-remove-windows-10-nag-messages-3614204/)

or, there's an app for that:

https://github.com/rn10950/I-Dont-Want-Windows-10/releases/tag/4.0 (https://github.com/rn10950/I-Dont-Want-Windows-10/releases/tag/4.0)
Post by: gronk on August 28, 2015, 02:13:58 PM
so then where is your personal basis that it is so, so bad?

most problems experienced during install (at this early stage) can be put down to easily explainable issues such as incorrect/dodgy license keys or unstable drivers.

and either of those issues (for example) are not windows 10's fault and can be identified and possibly rectified with users performing the upgrade check BEFORE they attempt an upgrade.

Mine did a latest upgrade before I installed win 10 and it said updated and ready to go ????  Then after a blue screen of death, the repairer said a driver wasn't compatible ?? WTF ??  Why wouldn't windows know a driver wasn't compatible ??
Post by: paceman on August 28, 2015, 02:16:46 PM
Mine did a latest upgrade before I installed win 10 and it said updated and ready to go ????  Then after a blue screen of death, the repairer said a driver wasn't compatible ?? WTF ??  Why wouldn't windows know a driver wasn't compatible ??

are you talking about the actual upgrade advisor than can be run from the windows 10 icon near the clock?

because that should have notified if there was going to be potential issues with drivers...

updating the driver through normal windows update methods wouldn't have stopped a possible BSOD...

Post by: Bird on August 28, 2015, 02:23:03 PM
Quote from: gronk
Why wouldn't windows know a driver wasn't compatible ??
Windows doesn't give a Shit, its job is to upgrade.... went well eh!
Post by: gronk on August 28, 2015, 02:27:03 PM
I don't know exactly what I did now....I got a win10 update logo, clicked on install and it installed, then 5 mins later...BSOD !!

I liked win10.......I'm now using Chrome with tiles on my homescreen ( still have Bing on startup screen )....but after spending a few hundred bucks on repairs, I will leave the thing alone !
Post by: paceman on August 28, 2015, 02:27:31 PM

not quite...

as previously posted, windows 10 has an upgrade checker built right into the upgrade advisor app that can identify potential issues before they arise:

http://www.groovypost.com/howto/check-computer-runs-windows-10/ (http://www.groovypost.com/howto/check-computer-runs-windows-10/)
http://www.zdnet.com/article/will-your-pc-run-windows-10-use-this-well-hidden-compatibility-checker-to-find-out/ (http://www.zdnet.com/article/will-your-pc-run-windows-10-use-this-well-hidden-compatibility-checker-to-find-out/)

and in gronk's specific case, I am willing to bet the BSOD was caused by a driver issue...

Post by: gronk on August 28, 2015, 02:29:22 PM

I, like about 100,000 others worldwide, had problems......so much for computers being smart !!
Post by: gronk on August 28, 2015, 02:31:58 PM

and in gronk's specific case, I am willing to bet the BSOD was caused by a driver issue...

And I believe it was......but why doesn't windows know that....don't they scan your computer 1st ? Isn't it supposed to check if your system is compatible ?
Post by: paceman on August 28, 2015, 02:36:51 PM
And I believe it was......but why doesn't windows know that....don't they scan your computer 1st ? Isn't it supposed to check if your system is compatible ?

please see previous links for compatibility checks...

and as for why?  if I could answer that, I wouldn't be working... :)

plenty of companies do just enough to get their drivers to work with windows and others do more, to avoid issues like this...

some manufacturers had windows 10 compatible drivers for their hardware available well before release date, others did not.

not really windows fault that your driver developer can't write decent driver code... windows can only do so much...

Post by: Bird on August 28, 2015, 02:38:47 PM
As I said building this PC for a mate, it even now has a BIOS update to run Windows 10...

If people are happy with 7 there is zero reason to update. If everything is working on 7, if it aint broke....

YMMV
Post by: paceman on August 28, 2015, 02:41:06 PM
As I said building this PC for a mate, it even now has a BIOS update to run Windows 10...

If people are happy with 7 there is zero reason to update. If everything is working on 7, if it aint broke....

YMMV

and no-one is doubting that windows 7 an excellent operating system...

but to insinuate that windows 10 is rubbish is just not correct.

windows 10 offers benefits to a lot of users.  if that isn't you, as previously stated, you are not forced to upgrade... :)
Post by: gronk on August 28, 2015, 02:46:30 PM

plenty of companies do just enough to get their drivers to work with windows and others do more, to avoid issues like this...

Thats what the repairer alluded to.....Toshiba only do enough for their mass produced things to work..

But what you're saying is windows doesn't know or check for drivers compatibility ??

What does win 10 do that win 7 didn't ??  Looks prettier !!
Post by: noel_w on August 28, 2015, 03:05:14 PM

What does win 10 do that win 7 didn't ??  Looks prettier !!

I haven't played with it "yet" but from what I have been reading M$t have done a lot of stuff under the hood to fasten bootup speed, utilise hardware to accelerate speed, have better power management for mobile devices and better gaming performance with Directx12.
So all in all most pc's will look to be zippier using win10 than win7. Whether they are zippier could depend on lots of issues most critical would be hardware driver performance. Something mostly not under Microsoft's control.
Post by: gronk on August 28, 2015, 04:18:57 PM
So, utilise hardware to fasten bootup speed is the only real advantage to old farts who don't play games !!    :laugh:
Post by: jclures on August 28, 2015, 04:58:58 PM
My young  fellow, “maybe not so young now”, but he is putting this new system together with windows 10 and is getting more errors than he likes, I can tell you.
(http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc145/jclures/My%20photos/IMG_1080_zpsrvt5gfh8.jpg) (http://s217.photobucket.com/user/jclures/media/My%20photos/IMG_1080_zpsrvt5gfh8.jpg.html)
Post by: Robbo on August 28, 2015, 05:05:18 PM
Been running Windows 10 for two weeks now and reasonably happy with it especially with Edge being a faster, and so far trouble free browser, compared to IE 11 on my previous Windows 7. One problem that i now have and have'nt been able to fix is playing videos.
I have the "RealTimes" video downloader/player programe that has been installed on my computer for the last five years and it has always worked perfectly. Since the upgrade to Windows 10 many of the videos that i have downloaded on my computer won't play properly. Some do and some don't. The audio is ok but the picture is all pixelated. (I think that's the term for it) I have set "RealTimes" player as the default player. Has anyone else experienced this and has anyone got a fix for it?

Thanks in advance :D
Post by: Moggy on August 28, 2015, 07:24:49 PM
My young  fellow, “maybe not so young now”, but he is putting this new system together with windows 10 and is getting more errors than he likes, I can tell you.
(http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc145/jclures/My%20photos/IMG_1080_zpsrvt5gfh8.jpg) (http://s217.photobucket.com/user/jclures/media/My%20photos/IMG_1080_zpsrvt5gfh8.jpg.html)

Is that a bare wire i can see  >:D >:D >:D >:D
Post by: bobnrob on August 28, 2015, 10:15:09 PM
not really windows fault that your driver developer can't write decent driver code... windows can only do so much...

Yep, always makes me laugh when I hear people complain of an 'add-on' not working, and blaming windows   ;D
Get a new (aftermarket) toy for the car that doesn't work...blame the car manufacturer  lol

I have the "RealTimes" video downloader/player programe that has been installed on my computer for the last five years and it has always worked perfectly. Since the upgrade to Windows 10 many of the videos that i have downloaded on my computer won't play properly. Some do and some don't. The audio is ok but the picture is all pixelated. (I think that's the term for it) I have set "RealTimes" player as the default player. Has anyone else experienced this and has anyone got a fix for it?

Thanks in advance :D

Have you updated Realtime?
http://www.real.com/resources/realtimes-now-available-for-windows-10/ (http://www.real.com/resources/realtimes-now-available-for-windows-10/)
Post by: gronk on August 28, 2015, 11:21:04 PM
Yep, always makes me laugh when I hear people complain of an 'add-on' not working, and blaming windows   ;D

I bought the laptop new....didn't add anything to it since !
Post by: Robbo on August 29, 2015, 05:25:10 AM

Have you updated Realtime?
http://www.real.com/resources/realtimes-now-available-for-windows-10/ (http://www.real.com/resources/realtimes-now-available-for-windows-10/)
[/quote]

Hi Bob, yes, i have done all the updates but am still having the problem. It is only happening on some of the videos.
I did notice last night that some of the problem videos opened with "QuickTime" and played ok. Even though they
had originally been downloaded with "RealTimes"

Cheers :D
Post by: Bad Scott on August 29, 2015, 07:32:58 AM
Windows mobile 10 looks awesome. Easier to use compared to windows phone 8.1.1 .
Post by: KingBilly on August 29, 2015, 09:33:33 AM
Reading this thread is funnier than the MDC vs Lifestyle thread  ;D

Some of the same members arguing as well  ;D
Post by: gronk on August 29, 2015, 10:03:48 AM

I might be one of those you're referring to, and I can't see where anyone on this thread is arguing ??

If you are not a computer genius, and you actually read thru the thread, you might even learn something  ( which I'm trying to do ) instead of trying to stir the pot !!
Post by: Terry W4 on August 29, 2015, 10:25:24 AM
I have been using Windows 10 for about 3 weeks. Only problem I confronted was with Lightroom 4.4 (photo software from Adobe). It would not import pics. Finally with advice from a LR Forum I checked on the privileges assigned to drive and then discovered that W10 had reset the privileges on my C:/ drive to limit access. A security thing I think. Once reset all is fine.

Post by: Robbo on August 29, 2015, 11:12:36 AM

Good that you find it so amusing. You are obviously a computer genius and know all about Windows 10.
This thread was started to share information and assistance on the new Windows changeover and as usual
we have some awesome members on here that have given very valuable advice, which i'm sure has been
appreciated by many of us. Your useful contribution to this appears to be sadly lacking.  >:(
Post by: davenmarcia on August 29, 2015, 12:23:48 PM
Been following this thread am looking at doing a backup before updating so was wondering is there anyway to stop the annoying windows 10 reserve your copy popup?.

Post by: paceman on August 29, 2015, 12:34:58 PM

And it appears some of the same members offering no help at all. 

Plenty of links and advice given in this thread.

Yet yours is lacking in both.  Imagine my surprise. 

Maybe go and troll another thread instead.

Post by: paceman on August 29, 2015, 12:37:41 PM
Been following this thread am looking at doing a backup before updating so was wondering is there anyway to stop the annoying windows 10 reserve your copy popup?.

A couple of links in a previous post show how to stop the upgrade notification.

Post by: gronk on August 29, 2015, 12:50:32 PM

And it worked...don't know for how long...thanks mate !!
Post by: paceman on August 29, 2015, 12:53:04 PM

And it worked...don't know for how long...thanks mate !!

No problem... Happy to help...

Post by: Kangaron on August 29, 2015, 12:53:57 PM
Anyone having problems with Utube and Edge ?

Post by: lino6 on August 29, 2015, 12:59:20 PM
Anyone having problems with Utube and Edge ?

Seems to work OK on my surface pro 2. Google maps however......
Post by: davenmarcia on August 29, 2015, 01:08:38 PM
Ooopps sorry guys I must have missed those links

Post by: paceman on August 29, 2015, 01:40:10 PM
Ooopps sorry guys I must have missed those links

No need for an apology, mate...

It's all good...

Post by: lino6 on September 19, 2015, 04:54:33 PM
(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/09/18/1bf4430ae838b13e50f208ba04eeb7f8.jpg)

tappa tappa tappa

Post by: WilSurf on October 02, 2015, 05:02:50 PM
And we are on page 10 for Windows 10.  ;D

Anyway, after reading this topic, it is my turn to have a question.
I bought a SSD and I would like to run Windows 10 from here, but also to keep Windows 7 on the HDD as it is now.
How does that work?
Post by: WilSurf on October 08, 2015, 12:00:47 PM
OK, since nobody replied I bit the bullet and have upgraded to Windows 10 on my HDD.
So far so good.
However, I tried to migrate to my new Samsung 850 Evo but got an error message: 205500 (0322BC): Failure to read source disk or something.
I ran check disk and tried again with the same result.
The weird thing is, when using Samsung Migration tool, the source disk is also titled 850 EVO SSD however with the correct size of 1TB.

Help.
Post by: WilSurf on October 20, 2015, 04:18:23 PM
Another reply to myself. :-)

The new SSD worked brilliantly....for 2 weeks.
I had the desktop running, Win10 installed all good.
One night I had to pick up my daughters and let  the pc running, all programs closed.
When I came back, the screen showed the start up screen before POST.
Now the SSD doesn't do anything.
It goes straight into Bios and it tells me to hit F1 to continue.
It went into checking and nothing happened.
I pulled out the SSD and everything runs.
Yesterday I pulled out the HDD and put the SSD back in (which had Win10 on it) and I got a black screen with some weird characters.
I connected the old HDD again and it started. Bios sees the SSD in SATA port but doesn't load.

Help.
Post by: MrCruza on October 20, 2015, 04:23:49 PM
Can you boot off the HD then access the SSD? Sounds like it's faulty.
Post by: WilSurf on October 21, 2015, 11:48:49 AM
I tried it again yesterday.
Attached are some screen shots.
One moment the SSD is detected: SATA3G_3: Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB (see the first picture)
The other moment there isn't a SATA3G_3. (seethe second picture)
When connected, finally it boot and Windows 10 starts but when I wanted to see Explorer, it hangs.
Post by: noel_w on October 21, 2015, 12:00:56 PM
Me thinks I would be taking it back where it came from. Having the SMART command fail and windows repairing it when booting are not good indications of a good drive.
Post by: jclures on October 21, 2015, 12:13:03 PM
Is that a bare wire i can see  >:D >:D >:D >:D
Moggy it was not the bare wires that worried me, it was the water leaking in the cooling that worries me. ;D
The bios needed an update, on the new board, not recognising the memory. Had to go back to 2133MHz not 2666MHz.

But now he has it going after sorting out the driver issue which was the nvidia experience network sharing, it goes well now.
I also now have a new windows pro 10 usb stick ready to install one day.
Post by: Bird on October 21, 2015, 12:21:23 PM
Long live windows 7....
(http://i.ytimg.com/vi/twJk7ymLmfA/maxresdefault.jpg)
Post by: jclures on October 21, 2015, 12:30:26 PM
WilSurf in the bios is the drive setting ide or ahci, could that be your problem.
Post by: WilSurf on October 21, 2015, 12:43:01 PM
WilSurf in the bios is the drive setting ide or ahci, could that be your problem.

No idea.
It did work for 2 weeks though.
Have to check tonight. What should it be?
Post by: jclures on October 21, 2015, 01:36:22 PM
No Idea, it is just that is what my son set my computer up on to run my ssd drive.
Post by: WilSurf on October 22, 2015, 09:49:11 AM
Checked yesterday, it was on AHCI.
I have also updated the bios, it was only 2 years old.
Haven't tried the SSD after the upgrade but before it was still no luck.
Post by: envee on October 27, 2015, 04:24:08 PM
Downloaded Win10 on to our ASUS laptop a few months ago and have had no real issues. Only problem we have is the laptop cam shows up upside down when we are skypeing. The first time we did it, our 1 yr old granddaughter was quite intrigued and kept turning her head upside down to look at us.

We have an old USB cam that works ok so it wouild seem to be an issue with our laptop cam. We have looked on the ASUS and Windows sites but none of the solutions mentioned on there work. Anyone have a solution?

Cheers  :cheers:

envee
Post by: WilSurf on October 28, 2015, 09:56:39 AM
Swapped the SSD for a new one yesterday.
A friend brought an external reader and the SSD showed up sometimes but most of the time it didn't.
I haven't tried the new one yet.
Post by: scblack on October 28, 2015, 11:04:39 AM
I downloaded Windows 10 about a month ago. All the printer drivers failed and had to be reset. Other than that, looks good so far.
Post by: Hairs on November 09, 2015, 05:31:35 PM
Fingers crossed here,  8)
Downloaded it last night onto a Toshiba lap top that is about five years old running Home Premium.
Took bugger all to download it,  got great ADSL+2 speed here  ;D
It took over 13 hours to install  >:D
All seems to be working great, firefox, Thunderbird, and all the addons, all my MP3's.
Fingers Crossed.

Post by: Hoyks on November 09, 2015, 05:52:02 PM
I downloaded and installed it.

Everything worked..... but was really slow.

My computer is a few years old now, but is still faster than most as it is a game machine, but Win 10 made it run slowly.

It is plugged directly to the modem via a LAN cable, but till my laptop on wifi loads pages quicker. i also get all sorts of random stuff happening, like 36+ tabs opening all at once when I single click on bookmarks ???.
Often the computer will hourglass for no apparent reason. I tried a number of things to rectify it, including deleting a bunch of files that killed any chance of going back to 8.1 or 7, so I'm stuck with it now, unless of course I do a massive backup and a clean install.

The laptop got rolled back to 8.1 and I'll stick with it on there.
Post by: alnjan on November 09, 2015, 06:53:16 PM
10 just seems to take heaps of ram to work for some unknown reason which every now and then slows things down or makes them 'Not Responding' while it thinks about it.  Bloody annoying that my laptop now runs slower then the internet
Post by: hawks667 on November 09, 2015, 06:55:26 PM
Had a similar issue that turned out to be chipset drivers ..have you checked the manufacturers website for drivers?

Post by: alnjan on November 09, 2015, 07:23:22 PM
Nah, I just use it, but I'll get one of the kids to check it
Post by: WilSurf on November 10, 2015, 10:10:22 AM
I have an issue with the netgear wifi adapter. I loaded the new driver but it still drops out regularly.
Post by: whatsa on November 18, 2015, 03:36:41 PM
Threshold 2 is out and a lot of things added.
Post by: Bad Scott on November 18, 2015, 08:31:53 PM
Threshold 2 is out and a lot of things added.
Edge still doesn't work properly when adding emoji's to posts.
Post by: Hairs on November 20, 2015, 05:36:22 AM
All has gone well on my laptop that is 5 years old, a few little tweaks here and there and I'm happy with it.
One thing I have noticed is my internet speed has dropped off to about a third of what it use to be.
I use to be able to get 9mb download easy, sometimes 15mb and .760 up.
Know I struggle to get 3mb down, but I can still get over 0.6 up.
I've google this and there seems to be some settings to change with the wifi settings.
I've tried these with no luck.
My Router has up to date firmware and I have checked all plugs & leads.
Might have to lodge a ticket with my ISP.
Apart from the speed issue I'm happy with the upgrade  :cheers:
Post by: Snow on November 20, 2015, 07:23:32 AM
I've tried installing it to a 4yr old laptop a half dozen times but the install bombs at 33%. Get nothing but a grey box saying " something went wrong" . Very informative. All updates are installed and the hdd has been cleaned up and tuned. I dunno.  ???
Post by: Hairs on November 20, 2015, 10:20:29 AM
Hi Snow,
That's a bummer.
Cause I am finding 'Apps" that are useful and it does seem easy to use.
Hope you can get it sorted.
Post by: WilSurf on November 20, 2015, 10:25:46 AM
So far so good.
I wasn't happy when I tried to play Myst IV Revelation, but the internet was my friend and offered the solution.
All good now.
Post by: gronk on November 20, 2015, 01:49:46 PM
I've tried installing it to a 4yr old laptop a half dozen times but the install bombs at 33%. Get nothing but a grey box saying " something went wrong" . Very informative. All updates are installed and the hdd has been cleaned up and tuned. I dunno.  ???

Quit while you are ahead !!   ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on November 20, 2015, 02:31:45 PM
Quote from: gronk
Quit while you are ahead !!   ;D ;D

I cant believe people are happy to battle on so much for no gain!
Post by: Snow on November 20, 2015, 02:52:59 PM
When Win7 goes the way of XP then Win10 will be the only choice, other than going to a Mac. May as well get it loaded while its free.
Post by: gronk on November 20, 2015, 03:10:08 PM
When Win7 goes the way of XP then Win10 will be the only choice, other than going to a Mac. May as well get it loaded while its free.

Chances are you'll have a new puter by then...that's my aim anyway after spending a few hundred dollars on repairs after win10 install problems !!
Post by: Hairs on November 20, 2015, 03:59:57 PM
Chances are you'll have a new puter by then...that's my aim anyway after spending a few hundred dollars on repairs after win10 install problems !!

I'm well and truly due for a new one anyway, was thinking 5+ years out this one I've done well, I'm thinking what the hell.
Hate spending money at the best of times, let alone on laptops.
Wonder why some people have had problems and other haven't (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/confused.gif)

Post by: xcvator on November 20, 2015, 10:03:03 PM
Edge still doesn't work properly when adding emoji's to posts.
Well download and install "Firefox" ffs ya big lump  >:D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: xcvator on November 20, 2015, 10:04:23 PM
I cant believe people are happy to battle on so much for no gain!
Coz they don't know about Linux  >:D >:D >:D
Post by: gronk on December 08, 2015, 08:01:46 PM
This is a general puter question......when I highlight and  right click on a quote, the delete option has gone ???  I know I can hit the delete button, but it's easier with the mouse.
Post by: MrEMan on December 08, 2015, 08:45:19 PM
The problem with OS upgrades is, in most cases, there is no justification or need. If you are running Windows 7 or 8.1 and your system is stable, you are confident it is secure, and it does everything you need it to do then why would you want to upgrade. There just seems to be this flawed mindset in the world today that newer is better.

Post by: xcvator on December 08, 2015, 11:11:25 PM
I ain't no windoze lover by any stretch of the imagination but a new laptop that I bought in the USA had it installed, and I really hate to admit this but atm I think it's as good as xp was, easy to configure , easy to navigate and really fast and everything seems to work.
I downloaded and installed both "thunderbird" and "firefox" and there is no problem with anything including "emojies" on any forum .

I will probably partition the drive and dual boot "Ubuntu" later but atm I have to say windows 10 is pretty good
cheers Keith  :cheers:
Post by: Rocky and Bullwinkle on December 09, 2015, 12:57:11 PM
My windows 10 burn in hell for all eternity or at least call it by its proper name windows ME.

Sorry I had a bit of a rant moment I wish I could go back to 8.1. It freezes up I have to reboot often, touch screen stops working. Very frustrating.

The specs on my Laptop.

HP Envy 17 in touch screen, Quad core i7 processor 16gb of ram 4gb video ram 1TB SSD for the OS only second 1 TB for storage(that is standard 2 x 1Tb HDD's on this model I have upgraded the OS drive to and SSD) removed the Blue Ray drive and have an extra 1 TB so 3 x 1TB drives in total.
Post by: Bird on December 09, 2015, 01:39:41 PM
It should have come with some recovery DVD's when you bought it..
just rebuild it.
Post by: Rocky and Bullwinkle on December 09, 2015, 02:36:31 PM
It should have come with some recovery DVD's when you bought it..
just rebuild it.

I still have untouched the original C drive taken out in the first week, untouched in my desk but I will lose to much info.
Post by: MrCruza on December 09, 2015, 03:19:10 PM
I still have untouched the original C drive taken out in the first week, untouched in my desk but I will lose to much info.

How did you do the install? there should be a roll back option if you just ran the update.
Post by: Bird on December 09, 2015, 03:31:40 PM
How did you do the install? there should be a roll back option if you just ran the update.
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/rollback-from-windows-10 (http://www.thewindowsclub.com/rollback-from-windows-10)
Post by: Rocky and Bullwinkle on December 09, 2015, 03:59:21 PM

I might have to try it.
Post by: Fizzie on December 09, 2015, 05:02:05 PM
Just back from taking a damaged laptop to the computer shop we use. Had a joke with him about the posters across the front of the counter "Introducing Windows 7" & asked if he was "upgrading" 10 back to 7?  :D

He said yes!  >:D

Reckons that when it came out, they all thought this is great, but as time has passed, the gloss has well & truly worn off.

Latest bit just in this last week is a new patch came out - download size is 1Gb!  >:D So if you go to upgrade tomorrow (please don't, at least not yet!) then it's 3Gb for original Win 10 then an immediate extra 1Gb patch, & if the patch download process is interrupted, it goes back to the beginning & starts over from scratch  >:(

So, all his built PCs & laptops are all still being put together with Win 7 in them & he has no plans to change, at least for a few MONTHS, while M$ try to get their act together.

I'm certainly not rushing into changing for the sake of it!
Post by: bobnrob on December 09, 2015, 08:45:04 PM
Tried it on a Surface Pro without a hitch, so installed it on a (6mth old) Laptop that came with 8.1...except for using IE over Edge, all my old programs are working fine, and neither has missed a beat.
Been using 10 for about 2.5mths now  :)
Post by: Rocky and Bullwinkle on December 10, 2015, 10:39:06 AM
I have decided to bite the bullet, format the SSD and clone it again from the original C drive which I took out. I would rather use win 7 but it does not support touch screen so it's back to 8.1.
Post by: gronk on December 10, 2015, 01:41:22 PM
This is a general puter question......when I highlight and  right click on a quote, the delete option has gone ???  I know I can hit the delete button, but it's easier with the mouse.

Anyone got an idea ?
Post by: MrCruza on December 10, 2015, 02:27:35 PM
Anyone got an idea ?

Please explain..  ;D  Do you mean when you highlight a quote in a Myswag thread in your browser? Or somewhere else?
Post by: gronk on December 10, 2015, 02:44:34 PM
Yep, although it doesn't matter which website, when I highlight part of a quote to delete, and right click,  it isn't there anymore. Seems old fashioned to have to do it with the keyboard !
Post by: MrCruza on December 10, 2015, 03:17:45 PM
Yep, although it doesn't matter which website, when I highlight part of a quote to delete, and right click,  it isn't there anymore. Seems old fashioned to have to do it with the keyboard !

Try a different browser..
Post by: gronk on December 10, 2015, 05:06:57 PM
Try a different browser..

Yep, works OK on IE, but not my normal Chrome !
Post by: Hairs on December 10, 2015, 05:31:07 PM
Sorry to rain on the parade of those that have had troubles,
All is working well here, don't have any of the problems that some have, all is working the same before the upgrade.
Hope you guys find a solution to your problems.

Post by: gronk on December 10, 2015, 05:58:21 PM

Hope you guys find a solution to your problems.

I'm still on win7 , win10 will have to wait until a new laptop comes along....which might be win15 by then !!  ;D
Post by: lino6 on December 10, 2015, 06:40:38 PM
So I have had no problems until.....

The wifi on my tablet kept dropping out when in use. Google'd the problem, found that the default setting is to "turn off power to adaptor to save power". So fixed that and all good again.

I much prefer Win 8.1 but haven't had any problems with 10 so didn't see the point in rolling back.
Post by: bobnrob on December 10, 2015, 07:58:13 PM

Yep, works OK on IE, but not my normal Chrome !

I didn't know that one, I always just hit the Del key
Post by: gronk on December 10, 2015, 08:14:15 PM
I didn't know that one, I always just hit the Del key

I'm naturally lazy, and always look for the easy way of doing things......same as my mouse has fwd and backwards buttons, side to side scroll and zoom buttons.....but I know nothing about computers !  ;D
Post by: xcvator on December 10, 2015, 08:16:56 PM
Probably the best browser now is "Mozilla Firefox " give it a try
Post by: gronk on December 10, 2015, 08:40:40 PM
Probably the best browser now is "Mozilla Firefox " give it a try

I'll look at it......but I do like the tiles with all my fav websites on one home page..
Post by: MrEMan on December 10, 2015, 08:49:56 PM
I'll look at it......but I do like the tiles with all my fav websites on one home page..

Firefox and Chrome have tiles and the have awesome additions that make the internet usable. A great start in cleaning up your browser is uBlock Origin Chrome (https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/ublock-origin/cjpalhdlnbpafiamejdnhcphjbkeiagm?hl=en) Firefox (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/ublock-origin/)

Post by: gronk on December 10, 2015, 09:34:04 PM
A great start in cleaning up your browser is uBlock Origin

What does it block ?
Post by: Troopy_03 on December 11, 2015, 08:43:24 AM
Well I finally got sick of that pesky Win10 update nag popping up, so I bit the bullet and decided to do something about it.
I installed this http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/gwx_control_panel.html (http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/gwx_control_panel.html)
Post by: Bird on December 11, 2015, 08:54:02 AM
you can just end GWX in task manager then delete the folder
c:\Windows\System32\GWX\

it wont bother you again.
Post by: WilSurf on December 11, 2015, 10:43:21 AM
So I have had no problems until.....

The wifi on my tablet kept dropping out when in use. Google'd the problem, found that the default setting is to "turn off power to adaptor to save power". So fixed that and all good again.

I had the same until someone on her mentioned a forum where those issues where discussed.
Same thing, disabled that feature and all good.
Post by: Troopy_03 on December 11, 2015, 01:24:41 PM
you can just end GWX in task manager then delete the folder
c:\Windows\System32\GWX\

it wont bother you again.
Until your next windoesn't update.  >:(
Post by: Bird on December 11, 2015, 01:51:08 PM
Quote from: Troopy_03
Until your next windoesn't update.  >:(
Nope. deleted mine months ago and never to return.. Although the spank I work with thought it would be funny to upgrade the spare  admin PC to 10... hes now been yelled at by management  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Troopy_03 on December 11, 2015, 02:48:43 PM
Nope. deleted mine months ago and never to return.. Although the spank I work with thought it would be funny to upgrade the spare  admin PC to 10... hes now been yelled at by management  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
OK, when I installed the GWX control panel I used it to clean out the GWX crap and delete the GWX folder and it reported that all was clean, but after doing the next win8 update yesterday, it found more GWX stuff again. I've got it running in monitor mode to automatically tell me if any more GWX cr*p gets installed anyway.
Post by: MrEMan on December 11, 2015, 04:33:32 PM
What does it block ?

Visit any of your favourite websites including social media that are covered in advertising and you'll see the difference  ;D

Post by: gronk on December 11, 2015, 06:51:09 PM
Visit any of your favourite websites including social media that are covered in advertising and you'll see the difference  ;D

I hate that stuff......I'll give firefox a go ( used it a couple of yrs ago ) and download the blocker thing !!
Post by: Hairs on December 11, 2015, 07:34:20 PM
I hate that stuff......I'll give firefox a go ( used it a couple of yrs ago ) and download the blocker thing !!
A good Addon(AddBlockPlus) for FF.
Post by: Rocky and Bullwinkle on December 12, 2015, 01:17:31 PM
Bit the bullet, formatted my SSD and cloned it again from the original disk, so back to 8.1 much happier.
Post by: Robbo on March 16, 2016, 03:24:06 PM
Righto you IT experts, here's a question for you. I installed Windows 10 in July last year and all has been going reasonably well but Windows 10 has locked out Norton 360 which is my anti virus system. So i set Chrome as my default browser, where norton works, and all was well. I use the Norton "Identity Safe" for all my logins so i needed this. Yesterday, Chrome was removed as my default browser, obviously by Windows, and when i go into "Settings" it shows Chrome as an option, but won't let me set it as default. It also removed the Chrome icons from my screen. Any helpful suggestions to help me sort this out??
Post by: Moggy on March 16, 2016, 07:01:01 PM
Thats what has stopped me from installing on main desktop, the fact it seems that even if you want to keep special settings MS will default to what THEY want.
I have Kaspersky suite & had Shitloads of problems when installing W10 on laptop, finally had to delete & reinstall program.
I'm the other end of it scale so sorry cant offer anything more.

Post by: Rocky and Bullwinkle on March 18, 2016, 04:50:45 AM
Windows 10 caused nothing but problems on my laptop, not enough memory warnings, etc. Its a HP Envy 17, i7 quad core, 16 GB ram, 4 GB video ram, 2 x 1 tb HDD's but it saying under powered very happy back with win 8.1.
Post by: Bird on March 18, 2016, 08:29:04 AM
Windows 10 caused nothing but problems on my laptop, not enough memory warnings, etc. Its a HP Envy 17, i7 quad core, 16 GB ram, 4 GB video ram, 2 x 1 tb HDD's but it saying under powered very happy back with win 8.1.
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Fizzie on March 18, 2016, 02:45:14 PM
Its a HP Envy 17, i7 quad core, 16 GB ram, 4 GB video ram, 2 x 1 tb HDD's but it saying under powered

That's the clincher as far as I'm concerned thanks Rocky  :D

The power & so on of your laptop is basically equivalent to the 2 PCs (1 is pretty old though  :-[) & 3 laptops we have in the house combined!  :o

& if you reckon that you haven't got enough vroom to run W10, then I'm not even going to think about it! (not that I was too excited about the prospect in the first place  >:D)
Post by: Wazza999 on March 18, 2016, 03:31:14 PM
Reading people's experiences and comparing to my experience with three machines, it is very machine specific. I even managed to load Win10 onto an 8yo dual core machine with only 2 Gb of ram without any bleating about resources, runs fine certainly as well as could be expected. Certainly better than Vista that it came with and possibly a little better than 8.1. I must admit I was surprised that it was deemed compatible with Win 10. Out of the three, the only problem was with USB drivers on an ASUS Zen book. I used 7 at work and both 8.1 and 10 load and shut down faster. All of these were the pro versions, perhaps this has been the difference but I don't see why.

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk

Post by: Kangaron on April 25, 2016, 02:45:00 PM
I notice that a lot of Desktops for sale now come with a version of Win 10 on a USB Flash Drive.
Can you run it from the flash drive without actually installing anything, just like Ubantu ??
I am looking for a new machine soon, but have Win 7 disc I want to use.
I cbf buying and assembling another machine so wish to buy without an Op System.
Am I asking too much?
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 25, 2016, 03:45:45 PM
I notice that a lot of Desktops for sale now come with a version of Win 10 on a USB Flash Drive.
Can you run it from the flash drive without actually installing anything, just like Ubantu ??
I am looking for a new machine soon, but have Win 7 disc I want to use.
I cbf buying and assembling another machine so wish to buy without an Op System.
Am I asking too much?

Probably. 

You will get the chance to choose, if the dealer/sales person is at all reasonable about it.
Can't see anyone at Hardly Normal going to the trouble to help with this.  They'd just say here it is, it works ok.
You want something else, you fix it.  Don't expect any sort of support if you change the OS yourself.
Besides, the OS is stored on the Hard Drive.
Just get a new hard drive, and slave it to your current one, if the rest is ok.
Post by: Kangaron on April 25, 2016, 05:03:09 PM
Present components are showin their age. A quad amd cpu, outdated ram &  gpu, slow hard drives etc. Its time to update all but am happy with 7.
So getting back to the original question re retailers and Win 10  on a flash drive, is it their way of keeping MS happy and still selling systems to keep the geeks happy.
Fyi I usually deal with pc case gear.
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 25, 2016, 06:10:44 PM
Have you called Computer and Parts Land in Ferntree Gully Road.  Near Notting Hill Pub.
They do parts and system assembly.  They also have entries in the Green guide Classifieds.
Post by: Bird on April 25, 2016, 06:13:52 PM
Just hit up MSY for the bits and assemble ya own and install as ya go..

Although its getting hard to beat some of the deals on ebay on puters...
Post by: Kangaron on April 25, 2016, 06:40:46 PM
I'm aware of my options in a custom build thanks men, just would like an answer so I can make a decision accordingly.

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 25, 2016, 07:23:29 PM
Ok, sounds like cost and not assembling it yourself.
Your the one who makes the decision about outlay.
Also, Bruce, myself and others have proved that a bargain to one isn't a bargain to someone else.
It's a suck it and see.  You won't know until you give it a try.
Plus it's the use you put the 'puter too, when your not on the forum.

If your using a business already, go and have a chat with them.
Never know they might do you a deal for return business.
Post by: Kangaron on April 25, 2016, 07:52:54 PM
Cost is not an issue, neither is time. Just wanted the info whilst everything was closed, and thought someone here may have the knowledge.
Guess I'll ring them tomorrow.
Thanks anyway.

Post by: bobnrob on April 26, 2016, 09:50:24 PM

You've probably rang 'em by now, and finally gotten your answer, but just in case....

My educated guess, would be no....their flash drive 10 won't run from the stick, simply a case of boot off the flash drive, and install Win 10 over the 8/8.1
I see a lot are advertising as a 'free upgrade to Win 10' - which I PMSL at, because it's free anyway   ::)  but it's a good gimmick  lol  it's just their way of being your typical lazy salesmen, get the customer to do the work....and pay for the privilege!

But having said that - and this is why I've said my educated guess above, I wouldn't be the least surprised if some typical moronic office worker somewhere has hit on the idea of being even lazier, and cut productivity time down, thus saving $$$, and see it as a way of the future to tie up a USB port and have computers run off a flash drive!
Post by: Kangaron on April 26, 2016, 10:36:32 PM
I did what I said I would never do again, bought the bits and put it together, only took a couple of hours.
Am on it now.
Always nice on a fresh install.
Post by: edz on May 18, 2016, 10:05:07 AM
Well Im not sure what happened, But it seems Windows 10 self installed while I was out this morning, Closed out of programs I was using like normal and left home with the computer running and showing normal windows 7 desktop / came home to find a black screen with a blue circle  " upgrading windows " at 80%..
 Couldnt find a way to stop it installing and wasnt sure if I shut the computer down at the power, I would lose all my stuff so just went ahead and agreed to finish the install.
No one else at home so its got me stuffed how it did it by itself, though the last few shut downs it was showing updates to be installed symbol on the shut down icon .
Heres hoping we havent lost any important imformation . Anyone else had this happen ? .
Post by: Bird on May 18, 2016, 10:09:23 AM
Well Im not sure what happened, But it seems Windows 10 self installed while I was out this morning, Closed out of programs I was using like normal and left home with the computer running and showing normal windows 7 desktop / came home to find a black screen with a blue circle  " upgrading windows " at 80%..
 Couldnt find a way to stop it installing and wasnt sure if I shut the computer down at the power, I would lose all my stuff so just went ahead and agreed to finish the install.
No one else at home so its got me stuffed how it did it by itself, though the last few shut downs it was showing updates to be installed symbol on the shut down icon .
Heres hoping we havent lost any important imformation . Anyone else had this happen ? .
:cup: :cup: :cup: that's awesome :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: paceman on May 18, 2016, 10:15:07 AM

http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2015/10/windows-10-upgrade-installing-automatically-on-some-windows-7-8-systems/ (http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2015/10/windows-10-upgrade-installing-automatically-on-some-windows-7-8-systems/)
Post by: Bird on May 18, 2016, 10:19:53 AM
http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2015/10/windows-10-upgrade-installing-automatically-on-some-windows-7-8-systems/ (http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2015/10/windows-10-upgrade-installing-automatically-on-some-windows-7-8-systems/)

'For those not wanting to make the switch to Windows 10 just yet, all is not lost; the installer does require human intervention to actually proceed, so you won't run the risk of waking up to find your PC running a different operating system.
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: Long live the overlord Microsoft.  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

' In the recent Windows update, this option was checked as default; this was a mistake and we are removing the check.' Dated: Oct 16, 2015 5:45am
Well obviously not!

Do this before its too late everyone else...
http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/windows-7-to-10-gwx-how-to-remove.html (http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/windows-7-to-10-gwx-how-to-remove.html)
Post by: edz on May 18, 2016, 10:49:27 AM
Well that explains it then .. Guessing the only way to go back to windows 7 is to copy all our files to an external drive uninstall Win 10 and reload the OEM Win 7 Discs ... Or just suck it up and leave it alone .
Post by: paceman on May 18, 2016, 10:52:41 AM
Well that explains it then .. Guessing the only way to go back to windows 7 is to copy all our files to an external drive uninstall Win 10 and reload the OEM Win 7 Discs ... Or just suck it up and leave it alone .

try it, you might like it... :)

if it hasn't affected your data and it runs correctly, then why go back?

windows 10 operates in much the same way as windows 7, no learning curve required.

if you have any queries, i am happy to take a PM and help out...
Post by: Bird on May 18, 2016, 11:12:38 AM
Quote from: edz
Well that explains it then .. Guessing the only way to go back to windows 7 is to
http://www.howtogeek.com/220723/how-to-uninstall-windows-10-and-downgrade-to-windows-7-or-8.1/ (http://www.howtogeek.com/220723/how-to-uninstall-windows-10-and-downgrade-to-windows-7-or-8.1/)
Post by: GeoffA on May 18, 2016, 12:13:49 PM
Started happening at work yesterday. We nipped it in the bud and unchecked the offending boxes before it took hold. Did the same to the computers at home last night.

Can't wait for the sting. Microsoft aren't in the habit of giving anything away totally free of charge.......

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 18, 2016, 01:41:50 PM
Microsoft are putting a product on the market that undoubtedly has flaws.
They don't have the time or people power to test it properly, so they offer it free to the public.
The public now do 'the BETA TESTING' for them.  Saves them heaps.
There will be an error reporting section in the software that users won't have to interact with.
They will just have to patch things, and if past history is anything to go by, it'll be a never ending job for someone.
Started happening at work yesterday. We nipped it in the bud and unchecked the offending boxes before it took hold. Did the same to the computers at home last night.

Can't wait for the sting. Microsoft aren't in the habit of giving anything away totally free of charge.......

Totally agree. 
Post by: Onion on May 18, 2016, 03:39:21 PM
I'll just leave this here - https://slashdot.org/story/16/05/16/1526227/microsoft-adding-more-ads-to-windows-10-start-menu (https://slashdot.org/story/16/05/16/1526227/microsoft-adding-more-ads-to-windows-10-start-menu).

Please stop apologising for Microsoft. My favorite quote from the link:

Why would you continue to patronize a vendor that blatantly abuses its customers? At some point, the abuser is no longer to blame, the blame lies with the abusee who refuses to leave and willingly submits to the abuse.

I left years ago and haven't looked back. Of course I am not you and your requirements may be different. But if you are willing to try hard enough, you can leave. You might need to change your workflow. You might need to learn new things. You might even have to forego some things. But you can leave.
Post by: MattNQ on May 18, 2016, 03:46:14 PM
'For those not wanting to make the switch to Windows 10 just yet, all is not lost; the installer does require human intervention to actually proceed, so you won't run the risk of waking up to find your PC running a different operating system.
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: Long live the overlord Microsoft.  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

' In the recent Windows update, this option was checked as default; this was a mistake and we are removing the check.' Dated: Oct 16, 2015 5:45am
Well obviously not!

Do this before its too late everyone else...
http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/windows-7-to-10-gwx-how-to-remove.html (http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/windows-7-to-10-gwx-how-to-remove.html)

Thanks for that. Mine has started to run the installer automatically a couple of times now & I had no idea what was going on.
I was blaming the kids for clicking on buttons ;D
 Lucky there's some  human intervention required, so I've managed to head it off at the pass so far.
Post by: paceman on May 18, 2016, 04:03:50 PM
I'll just leave this here - https://slashdot.org/story/16/05/16/1526227/microsoft-adding-more-ads-to-windows-10-start-menu (https://slashdot.org/story/16/05/16/1526227/microsoft-adding-more-ads-to-windows-10-start-menu).

Please stop apologising for Microsoft. My favorite quote from the link:

Why would you continue to patronize a vendor that blatantly abuses its customers? At some point, the abuser is no longer to blame, the blame lies with the abusee who refuses to leave and willingly submits to the abuse.

I left years ago and haven't looked back. Of course I am not you and your requirements may be different. But if you are willing to try hard enough, you can leave. You might need to change your workflow. You might need to learn new things. You might even have to forego some things. But you can leave.

just trying to offer some help, mate... i don't get paid by microsoft...

i am not forcing anyone to use anything.

just trying to put across the other side of the equation.  millions of users (both novice and experienced) have upgraded to windows 10 without issue and are happily using it, including me.

yes, users have had issues.  i'm not denying that for a second.  but, name me an OS that doesn't have its share of usability issues?

whatever works for you, use it.

i'll stop offering help and advice in this thread now...
Post by: Bird on May 18, 2016, 04:15:50 PM
Quote from: MattNQ
Thanks for that. Mine has started to run the installer automatically a couple of times now & I had no idea what was going on.

Just be careful, it has a habit of coming back...
Post by: edz on May 18, 2016, 06:05:48 PM
Thanks Paceman, yep its on there to stay atm .. Ju8st dirty that they, for want of a better word effectively Raped my computer .If I was more tech savvy and knew I wouldnt have lost my files I wouldnt have accepted the install..
Your right though its not that much different in most things, just a few niggly things to work / find where thing are is all .
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 18, 2016, 07:07:32 PM
Microsoft are putting a product on the market that undoubtedly has flaws.
They don't have the time or people power to test it properly, so they offer it free to the public.
The public now do 'the BETA TESTING' for them.  Saves them heaps.
There will be an error reporting section in the software that users won't have to interact with.
They will just have to patch things, and if past history is anything to go by, it'll be a never ending job for someone.
Totally agree.
They've been doing that since windows 3
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 18, 2016, 07:10:48 PM
Well I finally got sick of that pesky Win10 update nag popping up, so I bit the bullet and decided to do something about it.
I installed this http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/gwx_control_panel.html (http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/gwx_control_panel.html)

I'm still using this, well the new version, and it's kept the GWX under control.  ;D
Post by: D4D on May 18, 2016, 07:13:11 PM
This thread makes me laugh every time I read it :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on May 18, 2016, 08:30:32 PM

You could link it to this thread, What made me smile.  ;D
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=46419.new;topicseen#new (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=46419.new;topicseen#new)
Post by: Bird on May 18, 2016, 09:21:28 PM
3 updates on my home machine
The first one....

https://support.microsoft.com/en-au/kb/3123862 - Updated capabilities to upgrade Windows 8.1 and Windows 7
Wonder if this is the one causing issues

Post by: Bird on May 19, 2016, 04:57:28 PM
Nice work by Cyanide and Happines :D

(http://files.explosm.net/comics/Rob/magic-8-ball2.png)
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 19, 2016, 10:47:27 PM
Yeah, me too.. windows is a joke...
Post by: feisty on May 21, 2016, 10:05:06 AM
Built a pc for the neighbour yesterday. Installed 10. I have no experience with 10.
Far easier and quicker to install the older versions of Windows.  Hooked up her dslr and it couldn't be seen. Bugger.
Turns out you need to install a media pack from Microsoft.
WTF?????

On the upside it actually runs really well.  They are not power users and not very technical so   should manage with their basic tasks.

I'm the one who has to has to spend a week looking for device manager etc part of the fun I suppose

Anyway it can't be as bad as vista or Windows 2.
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160521/f15d2257313901736eba7fc8e58342f3.jpg)
Post by: GeoffA on May 22, 2016, 06:28:32 PM
Was at a transmission place on Friday. The bloke there was pulling his hair out. Windows kept trying to update his workshop computers. Problem is, Windows 10 doesn't recognise any of their scanners or diagnostic equipment.

Nice work Microsoft.... :cup: :cup:
Post by: tk421 on May 22, 2016, 07:13:10 PM
Been running Windows 10 since August 2015 without an issue.

Its funny how everyone whinges about the automatic updates from MS but barely mentions being bugged by upgrade notifications every day by iOS, everytime there is an update including the last two for serious security flaws.
Post by: D4D on May 22, 2016, 07:22:27 PM
Been running Windows 10 since August 2015 without an issue.

Its funny how everyone whinges about the automatic updates from MS but barely mentions being bugged by upgrade notifications every day by iOS, everytime there is an update including the last two for serious security flaws.

Finally somebody with logic :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on May 22, 2016, 07:25:48 PM
Why update the OS of old hardware? If it ain't broke.....
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 22, 2016, 11:07:58 PM
Was at a transmission place on Friday. The bloke there was pulling his hair out. Windows kept trying to update his workshop computers. Problem is, Windows 10 doesn't recognise any of their scanners or diagnostic equipment.

Nice work Microsoft.... :cup: :cup:
That's something I don't understand too. Why do companies who write technical software use a windows platform. It would make much more sense to use a Linux OS.
Post by: KingBilly on May 23, 2016, 05:35:52 AM
That's something I don't understand too. Why do companies who write technical software use a windows platform. It would make much more sense to use a Linux OS.

Haha, if they did that, nobody would buy upgrades from them.

Post by: Robbo on May 23, 2016, 08:13:51 AM
Well, since starting this thread back in July last year and having installed Windows 10 then also, i must say that i am quite happy with it. I did have a few small user issues but thanks to Paceman, he gave me some valuable assistance to address these.
I find that "Edge" browser is quite fast compared to previous browsers. I guess my one and only complaint would be not having control of updates as sometimes they tie up my computer when i need to use it urgently at times. There might be a way of dealing with this that i have'nt yet discovered. Otherwise Windows 10 gets the "Thumbs Up" from me. :cup:
Post by: feisty on May 23, 2016, 10:44:34 PM
Well, since starting this thread back in July last year and having installed Windows 10 then also, i must say that i am quite happy with it. I did have a few small user issues but thanks to Paceman, he gave me some valuable assistance to address these.
I find that "Edge" browser is quite fast compared to previous browsers. I guess my one and only complaint would be not having control of updates as sometimes they tie up my computer when i need to use it urgently at times. There might be a way of dealing with this that i have'nt yet discovered. Otherwise Windows 10 gets the "Thumbs Up" from me. :cup:
Day 5 and I am wondering what all the fuss is about.

Thanks for the tip about edge Robbo.  First thing I did was ditch edge but after reading your comments gave it another go.

It is a fair bit quicker which is great.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 24, 2016, 01:18:43 AM
In windows before TEN there is an update menu.
Within Control panel in the updates menu you get the opportunity to stop Auto updates and just be notified of the updates.
This should turn off all the madness for people who retain control of the machines they use.
Where the machine is maintained by an outside Contractor or a separate IT  group within the company.
You will still have them wanting to update, if they're connected to the internet directly, if you haven't switched off the Auto updaters.
Post by: Bird on May 24, 2016, 09:38:03 AM
Mate works support for an ISP... they have had a flood of calls in the last week or 2 of machines auto-updating to 10 with no input from users...

Nothing that Comrade Microsoft has done though... honest.
Post by: KingBilly on May 24, 2016, 11:26:20 AM
Mate works support for an ISP... they have had a flood of calls in the last week or 2 of machines auto-updating to 10 with no input from users...

Nothing that Comrade Microsoft has done though... honest.

Yep, happened to daughter's two days ago.  Happened to mine last night but the first screen after it loaded asked me to accept something or other and I declined.  Next screen asked me if I didn't want to install W10, and I clicked no or whatever.  Windows then spent 5 minutes reverting back to W7 so all good.  Daughter reckons she didn't get that option.

Post by: Bird on May 25, 2016, 08:39:05 PM
http://www.theage.com.au/technology/gadgets-on-the-go/microsoft-uses-malware-tactics-to-foist-windows-10-on-more-pcs-20160524-gp355z.html (http://www.theage.com.au/technology/gadgets-on-the-go/microsoft-uses-malware-tactics-to-foist-windows-10-on-more-pcs-20160524-gp355z.html)
Post by: Fizzie on May 26, 2016, 08:17:10 AM
From the links in that article

Go to: https://www.grc.com/never10.htm#top (https://www.grc.com/never10.htm#top), download & run the program & all fixed!  8)
Post by: Bird on May 26, 2016, 08:33:51 AM
Quote from: Fizzie
From the links in that article
Go to: https://www.grc.com/never10.htm#top (https://www.grc.com/never10.htm#top), download & run the program & all fixed!  8)
beat me to it

If you're still getting the Windows 10 'nagware' icon appearing daily and don't want Windows 10,
you can use either (or both) of these programs to remove it :

Never 10 = https://www.grc.com/never10.htm (https://www.grc.com/never10.htm)

and/or

GWX Control Panel =   http://ultimateoutsider.com/downloads/ (http://ultimateoutsider.com/downloads/)

This removes all the downloaded Windows 10 files/updates and it stops the popups appearing.

**Important - If using GWX control panel, don't click the option in the lower right hand side to :

"Clear Windows Update Cache " - as this resets all updates and can bring back old unwanted ones.

Microsoft is being very aggressive about getting Windows 10 on everyone's machine any way it can.

" Microsoft uses malware tactics to foist Windows 10 on more PCs "
Post by: tk421 on June 29, 2016, 09:59:36 AM
Let it upgrade and then sue....

http://www.smh.com.au/technology/technology-news/microsoft-forks-out-13k-to-reluctant-windows-10-upgrader-20160628-gpu5gz.html (http://www.smh.com.au/technology/technology-news/microsoft-forks-out-13k-to-reluctant-windows-10-upgrader-20160628-gpu5gz.html)
Post by: Bird on June 29, 2016, 10:09:29 AM
Let it upgrade and then sue....

http://www.smh.com.au/technology/technology-news/microsoft-forks-out-13k-to-reluctant-windows-10-upgrader-20160628-gpu5gz.html (http://www.smh.com.au/technology/technology-news/microsoft-forks-out-13k-to-reluctant-windows-10-upgrader-20160628-gpu5gz.html)
GOLD!
Post by: bluejay on July 21, 2016, 08:18:23 AM
Im running windows 8 and the windows 10 upgrade for free ends on 29/07/16 dont anything  about  windows 10 i sit much different /better than 8 have many done the up grade and what are your thoughts yay or nay
thanks
Post by: Fizzie on July 21, 2016, 08:29:34 AM
G'day Blue

There's a full thread concerning the pro's / con's / many & varied opinions about Win 10: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=44347.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=44347.0)

Personally, I'm not bothering - 3 of our PCs / laptops are on Win 7, with 2 on 8 / 8.1 - I'm happy with 7 & seriously thinking about rolling others back to 7, rather than up to 10!

Graeme
Post by: Bird on July 21, 2016, 08:48:39 AM
Im running windows 8 and the windows 10 upgrade for free ends on 29/07/16 dont anything  about  windows 10 i sit much different /better than 8 have many done the up grade and what are your thoughts yay or nay
thanks
wow.. someone who runs 8!
Post by: Rocky and Bullwinkle on July 21, 2016, 08:50:15 AM
I had so many problems with Win 10, I will stay with 8.1.

Post by: tk421 on July 21, 2016, 08:59:29 AM
Upgraded to Win10 pro from 8.1 a month after release, on a 5 year old  i5 Laptop with 8GB RAM, and have never had an issue. Personally I don't see what the fuss is about.

wow.. someone who runs 8!

We've got 1500+ devices at work running 8.1 pro without issue. :)
Post by: edz on July 21, 2016, 09:11:31 AM
The only real annoying bug I have with Win 10 since it self installed, is that it freezes sometimes when you click the mouse pointer or fails to respond when clicking on program icons .
Personaly I reckon Win 7 was more user freindly, For me.
Post by: WilSurf on July 21, 2016, 10:39:58 AM
No issues with Win10 for us.
Post by: Bird on July 21, 2016, 10:47:23 AM
just got this from a mate in Batemans Bay LMAO!!!

"... just upgraded to Windows 10 on the PC and it's doing my head in trying to find where everything is. Why cant they just leave things where they are and improve performance instead of moving stuff around? When they update a new model car they don't put the steering wheel in the boot!" :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: edz on July 21, 2016, 12:05:29 PM
Yep I know how he feels  ;D
Post by: tk421 on July 21, 2016, 12:08:10 PM
just got this from a mate in Batemans Bay LMAO!!!

"... just upgraded to Windows 10 on the PC and it's doing my head in trying to find where everything is. Why cant they just leave things where they are and improve performance instead of moving stuff around? When they update a new model car they don't put the steering wheel in the boot!" :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

I got similar comments from users when we went from win 3.11 to NT4, and XP to Windows 7.

Windows 10 isn't that hard - Windows Key - type what you want to find.  I've not used the start menu /tiles since XP.
Post by: beagle on July 21, 2016, 07:21:19 PM
Tried 10 for a couple of days, went back to 7. Much simpler for an old fart like me.

Sent from my SM-T110 using Tapatalk

Post by: bluejay on July 21, 2016, 07:51:42 PM
Thank you all for the replies
Post by: envee on July 21, 2016, 07:53:45 PM
Upgraded ages ago and apart from a driver issue with the laptop cam haven't had a problem. Pretty happy with it really.
Post by: Paddler Ed on July 21, 2016, 07:57:39 PM
Running a 3 year old Lenovo Laptop with 8GB of RAM that started off with Win8, and is now on Win10

Use it every day for work, and it's not a problem. All the machines at work are also Win 10

I've set it up so that all my common programmes (Firefox, Thunderbird, Word, Excel, Memory Map, EndNote, PDF Exchange, Cyclo Agent and OneNote) are along the Taskbar so I hardly use the Start menu. Much easier that way...
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2016, 03:08:39 PM
WEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

https://community.spiceworks.com/topic/1734274-10-things-sysadmins-need-to-know-about-windows-10-anniversary-update
Post by: tk421 on August 03, 2016, 07:47:46 PM
WEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

https://community.spiceworks.com/topic/1734274-10-things-sysadmins-need-to-know-about-windows-10-anniversary-update (https://community.spiceworks.com/topic/1734274-10-things-sysadmins-need-to-know-about-windows-10-anniversary-update)

(http://i.imgur.com/sO0Nu7d.jpg)
Post by: Bird on October 28, 2016, 10:31:52 AM
Some poor **** has been "elected" to be the test guinea pig for the SE Asia region for windows 10...
He is very pissed about it and would much eat broken glass... also rather do a fresh install than an upgrade due to it never being as good as a clean installation...

after 3 hours, he's already being spammed with bullShit...
http://view.engage.windows.com/?qs=3b27272919b76adac30c419fa35b8c4f694e60c17c7f729b3371f0d9a09702a514db590271a63129019fb1b5de8d2f19117c54062b1c466d6e49e6cdb280b4d3 (http://view.engage.windows.com/?qs=3b27272919b76adac30c419fa35b8c4f694e60c17c7f729b3371f0d9a09702a514db590271a63129019fb1b5de8d2f19117c54062b1c466d6e49e6cdb280b4d3)
Post by: aussie9 on October 28, 2016, 02:21:50 PM
So after W10 decided it didn't like some of the program's I have written and use on my laptop only.   It decided to render them as deleted and replace them with "Windows preferred programs".   I removed W10 and all its bloat ware and now run Linux Ubuntu.    Should have done it years ago

Post by: archer63 on October 28, 2016, 02:25:43 PM
Got my windows 10 update this am....said something about asking if it could remove any old windows stuff..I said yes  ???
Thought that meant I would have more space on my drive now.....fingers crossed  :-[

Or maybe I have just done the dumbest thing possible ?

Post by: Bird on October 28, 2016, 03:42:07 PM
Quote from: archer63
Got my windows 10 update this am....said something about asking if it could remove any old windows stuff..I said yes  ???
Thought that meant I would have more space on my drive now.....fingers crossed  :-[

Or maybe I have just done the dumbest thing possible ?
(http://img.wennermedia.com/article-leads-vertical-380/mankato-popcorn-beer-0ba83dbb-18c7-4236-924a-ce09055f893d.jpg)
Post by: archer63 on October 28, 2016, 04:01:26 PM
I guess that means yes  :cheers:
Post by: tk421 on October 28, 2016, 04:07:15 PM
(http://img.wennermedia.com/article-leads-vertical-380/mankato-popcorn-beer-0ba83dbb-18c7-4236-924a-ce09055f893d.jpg)

Why?

Happily running Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update (Version 1607, build 10.0.14393.351)  on a 5/6 year old laptop. No issues upgrading same laptop from 7 to 8 to 8.1 to 10 (v1507) to 10 (v1511) to 10 (v1607 - 10.0.14393.321 )
Post by: Bird on May 01, 2018, 11:55:36 AM
https://www.neowin.net/news/microsoft-announces-the-windows-10-april-2018-update-and-its-coming-on-monday (https://www.neowin.net/news/microsoft-announces-the-windows-10-april-2018-update-and-its-coming-on-monday)
https://www.neowin.net/news/microsoft-details-features-being-removed-or-deprecated-in-the-windows-10-april-2018-update (https://www.neowin.net/news/microsoft-details-features-being-removed-or-deprecated-in-the-windows-10-april-2018-update)
Post by: gronk on May 01, 2018, 06:04:47 PM
Wow, some updates to things I've never heard of ??   ;D

I have win10 on a spare laptop ( thanks to Drew XT ) and win7 on my trusty old Toshiba and I fire up the win10 one every week or two..

For general web browsing ( what else is there to do ? ) I MUCH prefer the win7 version as I can have all my tiles on the home screen and open and close all web pages from there. On win10 I don't seem to be able to do the same thing....all my tiles are on the "other" screen, accessed by hitting the windows button.

Post by: DrewXT on May 01, 2018, 08:59:51 PM
I must admit for my non work computer now, I run Ubuntu Linux, because it just works, and on old crappy hardware

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: Fizzie on May 02, 2018, 08:34:58 AM
https://www.neowin.net/news/microsoft-details-features-being-removed-or-deprecated-in-the-windows-10-april-2018-update (https://www.neowin.net/news/microsoft-details-features-being-removed-or-deprecated-in-the-windows-10-april-2018-update)

"or they've been replaced by something Microsoft thinks is better, so it's time to trim the fat."

& too bloody bad if whatever you're currently using works perfectly for you :'(
Post by: paceman on May 02, 2018, 09:00:20 AM
"or they've been replaced by something Microsoft thinks is better, so it's time to trim the fat."

& too bloody bad if whatever you're currently using works perfectly for you :'(

like what?

every OS developer removes features that they see are not necessary any more... microsoft, above all others, tends to actually go the other way and leave things for a lot longer than they should, to appease those who don't move as quickly with newer OS's than others might...
Post by: gronk on May 02, 2018, 07:25:48 PM
like what?

every OS developer removes features that they see are not necessary any more... microsoft, above all others, tends to actually go the other way and leave things for a lot longer than they should, to appease those who don't move as quickly with newer OS's than others might...

Ha ha, sometimes it takes people months or even years to get used to a feature on a computer and then they take it away ???  :'(

Lucky I'm still getting used to win7.....I think they've finished playing with it !!
Post by: Bird on October 08, 2018, 01:33:58 PM
YAY MS!

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-update/windows-10-1809-update-deleted-all-files-from/ff608374-2686-4a08-a4c2-caa4caa6d4e1 (https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-update/windows-10-1809-update-deleted-all-files-from/ff608374-2686-4a08-a4c2-caa4caa6d4e1)

Q: Windows 10 1809 update deleted all files from Documents!
A: Hi Stuart, this does seem to be an emerging bug today on the 1809 update, quite a few users reporting this . .

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/windows-10-october-update-is-no-longer-being/62e8e6b4-0089-41c2-a104-5a5a768a48f6 (https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/windows-10-october-update-is-no-longer-being/62e8e6b4-0089-41c2-a104-5a5a768a48f6)

Windows 10 October update is no longer being provided by any of the methods

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/microsoft/microsoft-says-they-can-recover-files-deleted-by-windows-10-october-2018-update/ (https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/microsoft/microsoft-says-they-can-recover-files-deleted-by-windows-10-october-2018-update/)
Microsoft Says They Can Recover Files Deleted by Windows 10 October 2018 Update

.... Unfortunately, it appears that the Microsoft tech support agents do not know about these tools.
Post by: D4D on October 08, 2018, 02:23:27 PM
That's a shocker!
Post by: Bird on October 08, 2018, 02:30:16 PM
That's a shocker!
disgruntled MS employee strikes ??? ??? :D :D :D or genuine fuqup LMAO
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on October 08, 2018, 02:37:27 PM
Might also be programming from one of these AI's they're trying to develop.
I can hear it now, "Cirie doesn't like that, so no-one can have it."
Look Out for the Terminators, coming soon near you.   >:D >:D >:D
Post by: Fizzie on October 08, 2018, 02:45:29 PM
"I’m sorry Dave, I’m afraid I can’t do that"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEu4Iq5KL-Q (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEu4Iq5KL-Q)
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2018, 12:51:36 PM
so... whose gonna be first.... LMAO

Microsoft Says It's Fixed That Windows 10 October Update Bug That Mass-Deleted Entire Directories

Over the weekend, Microsoft pulled the latest update build of Windows 10 (version 1809) after a bug that flew past its Feedback Hub without the company’s notice resulted in mass file deletion for some users.

Now, the company’s director of program management for Windows servicing and delivery, John Cable, says that the bug has been resolved.

Cable wrote in a blog post that the issue, while serious, affected only a very tiny number of users who installed the update in advance of its wider release (which would have resulted in all Windows 10 users receiving prompts to install the buggy release):

In this case the update was only available to those who manually clicked on “check for updates” in Windows settings. At just two days into the rollout when we paused, the number of customers taking the October 2018 Update was limited. While the reports of actual data loss are few (one one-hundredth of one per cent of version 1809 installs), any data loss is serious.

(That still means several hundred people likely lost files, per ZDNet’s estimation.)

According to Cable, the bug was related to how Windows handled a feature called Known Folder Redirection (KFR), in which “known folders of Windows including Desktop, Documents, Pictures, Screenshots, Videos, Camera Roll, etc.” are reassigned to different locations on a machine’s hard drive.

After an April 2018 update, some users reported that they had empty, duplicate KFR folders, but the method used by version 1809 to clean up those useless folders could sometimes result in Windows deleting everything in a directory that actually contained files. Here’s one of the examples Cable provided in the blog post:

https://www.gizmodo.com.au/2018/10/microsoft-says-its-fixed-that-windows-10-october-update-bug-that-mass-deleted-entire-directories/ (https://www.gizmodo.com.au/2018/10/microsoft-says-its-fixed-that-windows-10-october-update-bug-that-mass-deleted-entire-directories/)

Post by: D4D on October 11, 2018, 04:25:53 PM
When you read the article to understand the use cases that were impacted there is not much risk if you haven't played with KFR settings.
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2018, 02:42:39 PM
On a roll..

Don’t install the Windows 10 cumulative update if you have an HP computer

The most recent cumulative update for the Windows 10 October 2018 Update is causing the blue screen of death on some HP devices, according to Windows Latest. Only a small subset of consumers appear to be impacted, and the issue appears to be primarily linked to a conflict related to HP drivers.

Concerns over the most recent KB4462919 cumulative update were documented on the Microsoft answers forum. “After installing KB4464330 (build 17763.55) my HP EliteDesk 800 G3 the machine refuses to boot, ending with BSOD WPF_VIOLATION,” explained post author Mikael Sillman.

The post suggests that the issue is only due to compatibility issues with HP keyboard driver. Concerned consumers in the Microsoft forum reported seeing the issue with HP Elitedesk G3 and the HP 600 G2. A separate discussion on Reddit also confirms the issue happens on HP Prodesk 400 G3 machines, though most there weren’t using HP keyboards.

Microsoft has yet to officially issue a comment on these forums, but the author of the post in the forum cites a chat with Microsoft support which attempts to explain the situation. Again, this isn’t an official response, so take it lightly.

“Actually HP computers are not the only product affected for this issue other computers as well like Dell, etc. That’s why for now, we’ve temporarily paused the update for people who seek to check for updates, to investigate an isolated reported issue and will make it available for download again once ready. That’s correct and other issue has been reported as well but our higher level of support already working on it.”

https://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/windows-10-october-2018-update-blue-screen-death-hp/ (https://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/windows-10-october-2018-update-blue-screen-death-hp/)
Post by: paceman on October 12, 2018, 04:51:06 PM
considering the millions of hardware/software configuration combinations to be dealt with, i can't see how you can safely say that an update won't be 100% reliable.

just like any update.

damned if they do, damned if they don't.  if they don't provide updates, people complain.

if they do and affect a subset (and it is normally only a very small subset) of users, people complain.

linux and mac updates cause issues too... microsoft are just an easy target...
Post by: DrewXT on October 12, 2018, 05:10:48 PM
Given my employer, all my hardware is HP, and no issues on any of it, be it our SOE or my own build...

YMMV

Post by: Troopy_03 on October 12, 2018, 08:27:36 PM
considering the millions of hardware/software configuration combinations to be dealt with, i can't see how you can safely say that an update won't be 100% reliable.

just like any update.

damned if they do, damned if they don't.  if they don't provide updates, people complain.

if they do and affect a subset (and it is normally only a very small subset) of users, people complain.

linux and mac updates cause issues too... microsoft are just an easy target...

And they make it such an easy target. Seriously, if you install an update, and it starts deleting your docs and pics, that just garbage.
Post by: Bird on November 30, 2018, 12:34:33 PM
https://www.crn.com.au/news/microsoft-confirms-yet-another-windows-10-october-update-bug-516108 (https://www.crn.com.au/news/microsoft-confirms-yet-another-windows-10-october-update-bug-516108)

Post by: GeoffA on November 30, 2018, 06:50:33 PM
Lemon laws, anyone?

If it was anything but IT, people would be after their blood....
Post by: paceman on November 30, 2018, 07:04:16 PM
Which other operating system works perfectly for every user?

Sent from my SM-T355Y using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on November 30, 2018, 07:12:55 PM
Which other operating system works perfectly for every user?

windows 7 :D
Post by: paceman on November 30, 2018, 07:28:45 PM
No better than 10...

The point is, every OS has issues... bar none...

Post by: gronk on November 30, 2018, 07:44:45 PM

Post by: Bird on November 30, 2018, 08:23:21 PM
No better than 10...
yea... ok
Post by: DrewXT on November 30, 2018, 09:16:45 PM
I'm happily running Ubuntu with very few issues fit my give laptop - I can't be arsed with windows at home unless I'm photo processing, as I still use Lightroom

Post by: paceman on November 30, 2018, 09:17:37 PM
yea... ok

not that hard to get windows 10 running smoothly... as easy as it was with windows 7...

both at home and enterprise.

Post by: DrewXT on December 01, 2018, 05:55:15 AM
not that hard to get windows 10 running smoothly... as easy as it was with windows 7...

both at home and enterprise.
Agree with this too... To be fair to Microsoft, they have had a pretty solid product in Windows 7 and 10... I rarely get asked by family for support anymore, and in the enterprise is the hardware that lets us down more than the operating system these days