Author Topic: Have you found a bargain - 2017 version  (Read 108939 times)

Offline bagpuss

• Living the dream
Re: Have you found a bargain - 2017 version
« Reply #200 on: August 07, 2017, 10:08:28 PM »
Fusion Digital Media Player with iPod control & Bluetooth CA-ML700BT from Super cheap down from $179 to $75 happy with that

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #201 on: August 07, 2017, 10:24:40 PM »
Not so much found a bargain but saved one.
Had a garage sale on the weekend to clear out some stuff after we lost Mum a few weeks ago. Mum loved Albert Namatjira and had a few prints on the wall, so we had them for sale at $5 each. The dealers rolled up an hour early and tried to pick the eyes out of the stuff we had. One of the dealers grabbed a picture, but I happened to look at it a bit closer and noticed that two of the pictures, were not by Albert, but by Maurice Namatjira and Benjamin Lantara. Turns out that Maurice is the son and Benjamin is the son in law, and both are original watercolors bought by my mum in Alice Springs in the 60's. The dealer was pretty pi$$ed off when he could not get them for $5 each

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #202 on: August 07, 2017, 11:14:31 PM »
Not so much found a bargain but saved one.
Had a garage sale on the weekend to clear out some stuff after we lost Mum a few weeks ago. Mum loved Albert Namatjira and had a few prints on the wall, so we had them for sale at $5 each. The dealers rolled up an hour early and tried to pick the eyes out of the stuff we had. One of the dealers grabbed a picture, but I happened to look at it a bit closer and noticed that two of the pictures, were not by Albert, but by Maurice Namatjira and Benjamin Lantara. Turns out that Maurice is the son and Benjamin is the son in law, and both are original watercolors bought by my mum in Alice Springs in the 60's. The dealer was pretty pi$$ed off when he could not get them for $5 each
Sorry to hear bout ya mum...
but I ****in hate those scamming parasites, like the ones on the tele on those Hockshop shows.. "THATS RARE AS WORTH MILLIONS.. but yours is dirty I'll give you $2.00 for it" kind of Shit

« Reply #203 on: August 11, 2017, 03:36:14 PM »
A good 24 hour period.

Last night picked up two items in brand new condition. $120 for both on FleaBay.

A Bushmaster 4WD Step valued @ $79.95
A 100w Folding Mono-c Solution X panel valued @ $299.00

Then off the the Local BCF for some price matching.

An Oztent RV4 for $989 down from $1299
Both deluxe side panels for $299 down from $399
The front deluxe panel for $169.95 down from $249.00
and the fly for $130 down from $179.00

and a great lunch on the way home, via the bottle shop.

« Reply #204 on: August 12, 2017, 09:13:40 AM »
48 hour sale from Sun-Yee

http://mailchi.mp/sunyee.com.au/friday-night-is-flash-sale-buy-200w-12v-folding-solar-panel-kit-now-only-190home-delivery?e=c1bfde85d0

including a 200w folding solar panel for $190!

Specs on it say:

Max Power:200W
Open-Circuit Voltage:22.10V
Short-Circuit Current:5.88A (Each Panel)
Max Power Voltage:18.3V
Max Power Current:5.46A (Each Panel)
Temperature Range:-40°C - 85°C
Weight:6.4kg(Each Panel)
Size:770x670x30mm (Each Panel)

So, guru's of solar :D, does that sound like a "real" 200w panel ???

I got one of there LED light bars a few years ago & got to say I'm happy with it (at least with the small amount of night-time bush driving we do :'()

« Reply #205 on: August 13, 2017, 03:09:08 PM »
48 hour sale from Sun-Yee

http://mailchi.mp/sunyee.com.au/friday-night-is-flash-sale-buy-200w-12v-folding-solar-panel-kit-now-only-190home-delivery?e=c1bfde85d0

including a 200w folding solar panel for $190!

Specs on it say:

Max Power:200W

I purchased a 200watt from them about 2 months ago...$221  Works ok.  Yet to take it away but all seems good. I removed the cabling and put my own heavy copper cables plus used my own regulator.  Actually the wiring is quite acceptable on the set up .  The regulator needs to as near the battery as possible. PWM or MPPT...it doesnt really matter as long as the panel works. Solar is getting cheaper all the time.
Open-Circuit Voltage:22.10V
Short-Circuit Current:5.88A (Each Panel)
Max Power Voltage:18.3V
Max Power Current:5.46A (Each Panel)
Temperature Range:-40°C - 85°C
Weight:6.4kg(Each Panel)
Size:770x670x30mm (Each Panel)

So, guru's of solar :D, does that sound like a "real" 200w panel ???

I got one of there LED light bars a few years ago & got to say I'm happy with it (at least with the small amount of night-time bush driving we do :'()

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #206 on: August 14, 2017, 01:11:37 PM »
Repco looks to have a sale on their latest Sydney catalogue with some decent prices on various camping and 4wd items including ctek chargers, solar etc

http://catalogues.repco.com.au/catalogue/top-gifts-for-dads/5bnaatvee.html?pid=promotedCatalogue#pageNo=1
Bought a what?
Researching my next camper

Offline Axl

« Reply #207 on: August 14, 2017, 05:56:58 PM »
Scored this today, at that price I couldn't say no even though I already have one.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2017, 05:59:07 PM by Axl »
Cheers Axl

2010 14.44.3 OB Jayco Expanda
2018 Dual Cab LS-M Isuzu D-max
2013 Lifestyle Camper Trailers Explorer (Sold)

« Reply #208 on: August 16, 2017, 01:21:58 PM »
iphone 6 is starting to give me the irrits...

came across an iphone SE (telstra prepaid) from harvey norman for $399...

proceeded to unlock for free via telstra live chat...

will sell the iphone 6 for about $300...

iphone SE (with iphone 6s hardware inside) for effectively $100...

giddy up... :)

The following users thanked this post: Watty2975

« Reply #210 on: August 22, 2017, 08:24:01 PM »
MAXTRAX on Ebay with 20% discount and free delivery. Only pay $233.98 ;D ;D ;D

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/MAXTRAX-BLACK-4WD-RECOVERY-TRACKS-SAND-MUD-SNOW-4X4-MAX-TRAX-EXTRACTION-TRED-/282042975947?epid=506714995&hash=item41ab1246cb:g:1c4AAOSwfRdZMqIm

Maxtrax were $250 at the AgQuip ARB Stand today, so not a bad price (and that was for any colours)

Offline carlyle

« Reply #211 on: August 22, 2017, 09:16:53 PM »

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/MAXTRAX-BLACK-4WD-RECOVERY-TRACKS-SAND-MUD-SNOW-4X4-MAX-TRAX-EXTRACTION-TRED-/282042975947?epid=506714995&hash=item41ab1246cb:g:1c4AAOSwfRdZMqIm

Bought 2 sets during the last 20% sale from this supplier can confirm fast postage and well packaged delivery. Would recommend.
2012 Mazda BT50
2015 Complete Campsite Kakadu

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #212 on: August 22, 2017, 10:19:39 PM »
ARB are no longer dealing with Maxtrax for some reason, so are dumping stock at the 4wd shows

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

Offline Watty2975

« Reply #213 on: August 23, 2017, 06:58:25 PM »
Ordered a second pair of maxtrax tonight :cheers:
Landcruiser 200 TTD GXL with a few goodies & campomatic camper

« Reply #214 on: August 23, 2017, 09:48:52 PM »

Actually TRED's from $140 with the code for yellow, a little bit more for other colours.

And Matrax for $215.20 with the code here

both pretty good prices

Offline melba

« Reply #215 on: August 25, 2017, 08:37:18 PM »
Bf goodrich giving away a free swag for 4 new at or muds. Not sure on type / size of swag but a swag anyway. Ive got mine coming hopefully soon.

Offline bagpuss

• Living the dream
« Reply #217 on: August 26, 2017, 08:43:14 AM »

« Reply #218 on: August 26, 2017, 09:29:39 AM »
A bargain in 1981  ;D

« Reply #219 on: August 26, 2017, 10:50:29 AM »

« Reply #220 on: August 26, 2017, 12:29:04 PM »
May be ok for someone http://auctions.gregsons.com.au/m/
some of those ute tray custom campers would make a good buy i reckon, the ones with the doors that don't stay up would be simple strut replacements or regas even to fix them.

« Reply #221 on: August 26, 2017, 05:19:27 PM »
A bargain in 1981  ;D

Yeah, I waited till the price came down and paid $480 for a 110MB SCSI in 1992  ;D. I think it was about a year later, I stripped down a 5MB HDD that stood about 750mm High, and was 600mm X 600mm. It had a cooling blower motor that weighed about a Kg, and you could attach it to a piece of rectangular PVC to the outlet, to make a nifty lawn blower.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Offline Terry W4

• Retired - loving every minute of it
« Reply #222 on: August 26, 2017, 05:25:07 PM »
A bargain in 1981  ;D

In 1986 I bought a 40 Meg HD for $550. I now have it mounted on my wall as a bit of historical art.

Terry - Canberra ACT
2008 Prado 120 D4D and 2009 Swan Outback
Blog Travels with Terry: https://terrywalls.wordpress.com

AdrianLR

« Reply #223 on: August 26, 2017, 08:03:01 PM »
A bargain in 1981  ;D

Accounting for inflation, the 5MB cost $10,954 in 2016 dollars. $2191 per MB. A 2TB drive is about $100. This is $0.00005 per MB. So......43,816,000 more expensive.

(Another wild Saturday night at home in case you hadn't guessed:) )

« Reply #224 on: August 26, 2017, 08:12:21 PM »
Quote from: AdrianLR
Accounting for inflation, the 5MB cost $10,954 in 2016 dollars. $2191 per MB. A 2TB drive is about $100. This is $0.00005 per MB. So......43,816,000 more expensive.
How can you be that bored ;D