Author Topic: The Scammers  (Read 3770 times)

The Scammers
« on: April 03, 2020, 05:42:46 AM »
The leeches are at it, preying on people in these times
I'm getting hammered with both emails and texts to my business contacts offering cheap financed loans,
"just provide us your ABN"
"Just like thousands of other ABN holders you can access cheap loans"
Mark it as spam, and they appear again with a slightly different email address.

If in doubt, contact your account or ask someone.
I would hate to see anyone that is struggling as it is to be caught by these bastards.

Take care Swaggers.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2020, 05:44:52 AM by Hairs »

Re: The Scammers
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2020, 06:27:25 AM »
Do you have a setting on your e-mail that can detect and delete these e-mails before they appear.  I use Thunderbird as e-mail client and have no worries with spam and other such rubbish.

« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2020, 06:45:17 AM »
Do you have a setting on your e-mail that can detect and delete these e-mails before they appear.  I use Thunderbird as e-mail client and have no worries with spam and other such rubbish.
Hi mate,
I use my tablet & phone(Samsung Email) for most email communication these days, I do have on the laptap(w10) Thunderbird.
The Samsung email client, you can flag emails as spam, what I'm finding is the address maybe different by one character.
I think I will dig into my web hosting settings and see if there is the ability to flag emails these as spam.

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2020, 07:36:32 AM »
that's why i tend to use gmail for my personal email account...

it's top notch in filtering out all of the rubbish.

easily added to a thunderbird client, which i use on my desktop at home...

« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2020, 07:56:48 AM »
Hi mate,
I use my tablet & phone(Samsung Email) for most email communication these days, I do have on the laptap(w10) Thunderbird.
The Samsung email client, you can flag emails as spam, what I'm finding is the address maybe different by one character.
I think I will dig into my web hosting settings and see if there is the ability to flag emails these as spam.

On Thunderbird I can also right click on the senders e-mail address and then select     create filter form...from there I just add the address to either trash, important, personal or whatever folder you wish to use.  95% it goes to the trash bin for me..

« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2020, 08:07:31 AM »
The Samsung email client does a great job catching spam and scams.
Just in the last hour it has stopped 37 emails from going to the inbox of 6 accounts thst I monitor.
The ones it doesn't stop are the ones not on Blacklists yet or where the address looks like a legitimate source.
I've spoken to a couple of IT techs, they say the scammers are getting better at their craft.
I guess it is a first world problem.
Hmmm

« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2020, 09:10:38 AM »
Quote from: Bigfish
On Thunderbird I can also right click on the senders e-mail address and then select     create filter form...
doesnt work when they change the email address by 1 character each time... you spend your life doing it.

Like others I find Gmail pretty good at filtering. Not perfect, but there isnt a perfect solution anymore. Find one, scum find a way round it.

« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2020, 09:15:47 AM »
doesnt work when they change the email address by 1 character each time... you spend your life doing it.

Depending which character they change!

If they change from eg scam1@scammers.net to scam2@scammers.net, you should be able to just load scammers.net with a wild card so anything from that address is blocked. ;D

« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2020, 09:28:40 AM »
I think they buy a Shite load of cheap domain names.
Imaprick@scammer.az
Imaprick@scammer.ya
And so on.

« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2020, 10:00:39 AM »
Yep, the're fishing.
Common types of coronavirus scams
We have received reports of:
phishing emails and phone calls impersonating entities. These include the World Health Organisation, government authorities, people confirmed to have the coronavirus, and legitimate businesses such as travel agents and telecommunications companies
people receiving misinformation about the coronavirus, being sent by text, social media and email
products claiming to be a vaccine or cure for the coronavirus
investment schemes
https://www.scamwatch.gov.au/news/covid-19-coronavirus-scams

Offline Wukkers

« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2020, 10:05:29 AM »
Phone scammers have been very quiet at my place over the past 2 - 3 weeks.  Only one attempt the other day with a recorded message from Amazon telling me $499 had been deducted from my account.  BullShitting pricks.  Wish I could send a dose of Covid back over the phone.

« Reply #11 on: April 03, 2020, 12:12:53 PM »
Had that one yesterday and another weird one saying I have been billed for answering this call, only answered it as I'm waiting on a call from work .

« Reply #12 on: April 03, 2020, 03:23:17 PM »
On the radio this morning they were talking about rights of renters and landlords in today’s environment and what different things both are doing to get through it. 

A guy rings through who owns a rental property and he got a request to phone the tenant about the rent. Before ringing back the landlord did his sums on how much and how long he could help his tenant this difficult time. So he rings the tenant back and like expected he was asked can he waive the rent for a month and was about to say no problems, but during the conversation asked when did you lose your job.

Tenant says he hadn’t lost his job and if anything he is busier than ever due to the particular industry he is in, but figured everyone else is getting rent reduced or waived, so why not him.

Like expected the landlord said no because at the end of the day he still has a large mortgage to repay on that investment property.

« Reply #13 on: April 03, 2020, 03:31:24 PM »
Beachman,
There are going to be some that are going to try it on.
Pity there can't be a public register for such low life's.

« Reply #14 on: April 03, 2020, 04:21:11 PM »
another weird one

& on the subject of weird ...

Was reading your post earlier, Edz, when my laptop's internet crashed, then wouldn't reconnect, despite everybody else in the house still being OK.

After much button pushing, swearing & hair pulling, it says the wireless adaptor has been disabled, do you want to enable it? Yes! & all good again ???

So just what sort of evil nastiness did you post to the Scammers thread ??? >:D

« Reply #15 on: April 03, 2020, 04:38:09 PM »
On the radio this morning they were talking about rights of renters and landlords in today’s environment and what different things both are doing to get through it. 

A guy rings through who owns a rental property and he got a request to phone the tenant about the rent. Before ringing back the landlord did his sums on how much and how long he could help his tenant this difficult time. So he rings the tenant back and like expected he was asked can he waive the rent for a month and was about to say no problems, but during the conversation asked when did you lose your job.

Tenant says he hadn’t lost his job and if anything he is busier than ever due to the particular industry he is in, but figured everyone else is getting rent reduced or waived, so why not him.

Like expected the landlord said no because at the end of the day he still has a large mortgage to repay on that investment property.
what a deadset flog! Hope the landlord gives him a clip round the lugs.

« Reply #16 on: April 03, 2020, 09:05:31 PM »

Imaprick@scammer.az
Imaprick@scammer.ya
And so on.
This is why you are getting spammed Hairs, you keep giving your email address out.  :cheers: :cheers: :laugh: :laugh:

« Reply #17 on: April 04, 2020, 05:12:56 AM »
This is why you are getting spammed Hairs, you keep giving your email address out.  :cheers: :cheers:
Ehehehehe

Cheers mate :)

« Reply #18 on: April 04, 2020, 09:12:59 AM »
This is why you are getting spammed Hairs, you keep giving your email address out.  :cheers: :cheers: :laugh: :laugh:

Or he keeps visiting the "wrong" ::) websites ??? >:D

« Reply #19 on: April 04, 2020, 10:53:02 AM »
Or he keeps visiting the "wrong" ::) websites ??? >:D

Only followed the links you sent me.
;)