Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1744177 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4050 on: January 30, 2018, 03:56:38 AM »
Yesterday actually.
Started turning a railroad tie into an anvil.
Why? Because I want to, and I can.
Will I ever use it? Who knows, but I’ll have it if I need it much like the forge I’ll build in a couple weeks...
Before starting

Cut to length

Starting to shape

Getting there

You must have got a Great deal on grinder disks  , those rail are tuff stuff    :cheers:

« Reply #4051 on: January 30, 2018, 06:57:05 AM »
I see he wears the same brand of shoes as his pop... ;D

G'day Geoff .

I have never had to replace mine yet , so makes sense to let the kids wear the same style .  ;D ;D

Hi Bird ,

Yes the trailer is a little large , 2.2 long x 1.8 wide and will be 1.5 high .

I am currently carting around 4 race bikes , but the eldest boy would like to start racing the cruiser 24" BMX class as well as the 20" class , so that will be another bike .

When we go to a carnival , Atherton , Cairns , Townsville and other places we will be able to carry the Gazebo , 5 folding chairs , all there race gear , ( this stuff will stay in the trailer when not in use ) a 12 volt fridge ( food and drinks ) , spare wheels/tyres and other parts .

I am going to fit a on board 12 volt compressor and lighting as well .

« Reply #4052 on: January 30, 2018, 07:19:59 PM »
G'day Geoff .

I have never had to replace mine yet , so makes sense to let the kids wear the same style .  ;D ;D

Hi Bird ,

Yes the trailer is a little large , 2.2 long x 1.8 wide and will be 1.5 high .

I am currently carting around 4 race bikes , but the eldest boy would like to start racing the cruiser 24" BMX class as well as the 20" class , so that will be another bike .

When we go to a carnival , Atherton , Cairns , Townsville and other places we will be able to carry the Gazebo , 5 folding chairs , all there race gear , ( this stuff will stay in the trailer when not in use ) a 12 volt fridge ( food and drinks ) , spare wheels/tyres and other parts .

I am going to fit a on board 12 volt compressor and lighting as well .
What   no solar to a rack of Deepies to feed the compressor , fridges, lights , spa pump , etc  ??? ???                     :cheers:

« Reply #4053 on: January 30, 2018, 08:45:26 PM »
You must have got a Great deal on grinder disks  , those rail are tuff stuff    :cheers:

33- 100mmx1mm
7- 150mmx1mm
I bought them in bulk through work with my employee discount so it wasn’t to bad a price.
Pack of 100 - 100mm x 1mm disks was a bit over $30.00
It’s now finished but I haven’t any pictures of it yet...
Ok photobucket is not hating me at the moment so here is the finished product.
I couldn’t be bothered trying to grind the top flat so I just welded a piece of 6mm plate to the top.
It will be perfect for what I want.

n
« Last Edit: January 31, 2018, 03:09:15 PM by Bill »
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #4054 on: January 30, 2018, 09:17:17 PM »
What   no solar to a rack of Deepies to feed the compressor , fridges, lights , spa pump , etc  ??? ???                     :cheers:

Jamie ,
There will be a solar panel and there will be a battery . 

Patience grasshopper .

« Reply #4055 on: January 30, 2018, 09:24:57 PM »
G'day Geoff .

Yes duggie, proven performers, and a perfect fit.... ;D ;D

« Reply #4056 on: January 31, 2018, 07:23:02 AM »
Jamie ,
There will be a solar panel and there will be a battery . 

Patience grasshopper .
Just 1 battery?
 ;D ;D
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline Anakist

« Reply #4057 on: January 31, 2018, 04:56:18 PM »
Finally fixed my positive camber issue on the RHS front of my Mini Cooper S. Against all expectation the brittle AF cast steel knuckle bent instead of broke. I put off getting a new one until now since I couldn't believe it wouldn't have failed way more catastrophically.

Old on the bottom, new on the top. The top of the mount further out to the left means negative camber, finally!

Also got a set of Toyo Nanoenergy3 in 205/55-16 since the Contis were well ****ed and starting to go off and have problems. Now for a wheel alignment and continue driving 400km a week to work.

And I got a spare last week following my get-stranded-on-the-side-of-the-highway a while back when I got a 3"nail in a tyre. Had to wait for my Wife to drive out and rescue me with a wheel and tyre!

James

Offline Ragman

« Reply #4058 on: February 02, 2018, 11:35:15 PM »
33- 100mmx1mm
7- 150mmx1mm
I bought them in bulk through work with my employee discount so it wasn’t to bad a price.
Pack of 100 - 100mm x 1mm disks was a bit over $30.00
It’s now finished but I haven’t any pictures of it yet...
Ok photobucket is not hating me at the moment so here is the finished product.
I couldn’t be bothered trying to grind the top flat so I just welded a piece of 6mm plate to the top.
It will be perfect for what I want.

n

So are you planning on taking up watch repairs?

« Reply #4059 on: February 03, 2018, 06:08:51 AM »
So are you planning on taking up watch repairs?
I will accidentally drop it on the foot of the next person who attempts to put dirty tools back in my toolbox...
The following users thanked this post: Ragman

Offline Raym

« Reply #4060 on: February 08, 2018, 08:23:17 PM »
Working on this. It is a half size rocking horse out of a pallet for this event. There has been a reasonable investment of swear words to get to this stage & not looking forward to trying to hand carve the body. I think there may be some mechanical carving/sanding going on.

https://events.toowoombahospitalfoundation.org.au/event/pop-up-pallets

Plenty of time to get involved if you are around Toowoomba.

« Reply #4061 on: February 08, 2018, 10:06:42 PM »
Working on this. It is a half size rocking horse out of a pallet for this event. There has been a reasonable investment of swear words to get to this stage & not looking forward to trying to hand carve the body. I think there may be some mechanical carving/sanding going on.

https://events.toowoombahospitalfoundation.org.au/event/pop-up-pallets

Plenty of time to get involved if you are around Toowoomba.
Great work mate

« Reply #4062 on: February 09, 2018, 06:49:24 AM »
Very nice...

« Reply #4063 on: February 10, 2018, 11:45:24 AM »
another addition to the french cleats in the garage:

these baskets are about $4 each at the big green shed and come in a few different sizes...

(although, i have just noticed that i have put my screws on the top of the cage, instead of underneath... still holds well, though)

« Reply #4064 on: February 10, 2018, 02:32:48 PM »
Not really in the shed or man cave, more just out in the yard....

Friend bought a $100 ride on from the local buy swap sell page. Didn't start, no key (reputable owners though) as it had snapped inthe lock, on the logic that we'd get it going.

Turn lock barrel to somewhere approximating go, apply jump leads to starter, and motor spins, spary contact cleaner in as a substitute to start ya bastard. No go though. Friend is watching us trying to get going and asks how we haven't killed ourselves yet.... Jump leads were running off the Land Cruiser as we decided more amps are always better...

Today it was fit new spark plug and fuel filter($10), drained tank and fresh fuel ($3) and its off.... Not bad for an unknown cheapo.

466cc Briggs and Stratton motor, 20 year Murray body and gubbins.

« Reply #4065 on: February 10, 2018, 05:41:08 PM »
I'm heading away with work for a month, so headed off to the shed to do a quick check on the girls cars before I left.

Wifes car is good, but as its only a month old I would hope so.

Daughters car I found a leak from the radiator hose. No problem I thought, it had a split before when I was away (always when I'm away), so they took it to the local mechanic who trimmed the damaged bit off and did it all up again.

So I buy a new hose that of course arrives late on the friday before I leave and I head out to fix it this afternoon. The new hose all lines up nicely, but one clamp has been installed before the bumper and grill were installed and was virtually impossible to remove. A stanley knife and pliers were wielded with reckless abandon, blood was shed and in the end it only came off with the aid of a 1.5' screwdriver being used as a prybar >:D.

So I get it all back in and am lining up to push the hose onto the manifold and notice a bit of a hole in the clamping surface of the manifold.
Some numb nut has cranked the hose clamp down so hard that the plastic manifold has crushed and now there is only a 3mm surface for the hose to seal against >:(. I strongly suspect it was done when the dealer replaced the transmission, but that was a while ago and good luck proving anything... another reason I do my own maintenance.

So 4 hours sweating my coight out in the shed and now I'm further behind, no hope of getting a new coolant manifold in the next 24 hours and a car stuck in the shed for at least the next 5 weeks.

If it was metal I could TIG a new bit of pipe on, but its bloody plastic >:(.

« Reply #4066 on: February 10, 2018, 05:47:57 PM »
You can get plastic welding tools at Bunnings now.  In the tool shop.

« Reply #4067 on: February 10, 2018, 07:27:07 PM »
There isn't much left to weld and its high temp plastic, so I don't think I'd have much luck.

The kid is also on her L's, so it isn't critical, just very inconvenient.

Offline Ragman

« Reply #4068 on: February 11, 2018, 10:13:20 PM »
something I've been getting around to for a long time. the linen cupboard is in a dark part of the house so I lit it up with 12V LED strip lights and a door switch.
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #4069 on: February 11, 2018, 11:56:27 PM »
Sunroof jambed open on the Prado.  Wifes fault, not mine. I don't use the dam thing.

Although it became my problem.   A 6 hour problem.  Headlining out and entire sunroof mechanism.

Bugger me there's a lot of crap going on in the roof space of cars these days.
Air con ducting.
Curtain air bags
DVD players
Seat belts
Sunglass holders
#$&% sunroofs
2000 grab rails and 50,000 interior lights!

I don't think I've had anymore than 1 dome light in my own cars....

« Reply #4070 on: February 12, 2018, 01:06:36 AM »
So, did you cut a sheet of colourbond to the right size, and use lotsa sikaflex?

« Reply #4071 on: February 12, 2018, 06:08:45 AM »
So, did you cut a sheet of colourbond to the right size, and use lotsa sikaflex?
Formply and long tek screws. There's 50mm overlap on the edges, so I figured I wouldn't need sealant.
The bonus is the cars black, so the Formply is colour coded....

The following users thanked this post: Bill, Rumpig

« Reply #4072 on: February 12, 2018, 10:07:19 AM »
Formply and long tek screws. There's 50mm overlap on the edges, so I figured I wouldn't need sealant.
The bonus is the cars black, so the Formply is colour coded....

She won't like that.

« Reply #4073 on: February 12, 2018, 10:27:32 AM »
something I've been getting around to for a long time. the linen cupboard is in a dark part of the house so I lit it up with 12V LED strip lights and a door switch.

that's a great idea...  :cup:

so the 12v strip just plugs into a power point?

got a photo of the switch setup and the mounting of the strip? 
The following users thanked this post: Ragman

« Reply #4074 on: February 13, 2018, 08:28:53 AM »
She won't like that.

If she is short she will never see it.
Opening the sunroof again might be a bit of a job though.