Author Topic: Myswag Whisky Drinkers  (Read 72239 times)

Re: Myswag Whisky Drinkers
« Reply #175 on: December 11, 2017, 07:24:27 PM »
Nikka from the barrel is a nice Japanese whiskey.
Redbreast 12 year old single pot (Irish) is a favourite of mine.
The following users thanked this post: Chappie

« Reply #176 on: December 12, 2017, 08:25:11 AM »
Anyone keen to offer up an opinion on what to request for Christmas?  I am only starting out, have tasted Glenfiddich 12yo but no other single malts and have been steadily getting more confused as I troll through the Dan Murphy reviews.
The important part is it can be up to $100.  So fire away.
Chappie

Chappie, I think the only way of doing this properly is to approach it scientifically.

You buy one bottle of each of the likely candidates, then get a heap of Swaggers round to your place to sample them all & vote on which they think is the best. You can then tell the family "I'd like this one please" :D

When & where would you like us to come ??? :D

Offline Chappie

« Reply #177 on: December 12, 2017, 10:03:31 AM »
What a great idea, however I can see a couple of issues the most pressing would be I can't afford the amount of free whisky I would need for all the freeloading myswagging whisky drinkers.

How about we meet down the coast somewhere, maybe at the Casa del Fizzie? we could check the truth (scientifically of course) about the quality of stored whisky not changing?

Thanks for your help??  also Glen and Gordo, Talisker Storm and 10 were among those I had looked at but not the Irish or Japanese drops.
Chappie

« Reply #178 on: December 12, 2017, 10:12:52 AM »
Anyone keen to offer up an opinion on what to request for Christmas?  I am only starting out, have tasted Glenfiddich 12yo but no other single malts and have been steadily getting more confused as I troll through the Dan Murphy reviews.
Chappie

Throw a dart mate, nobody can guess what your palate likes and MOST CERTAINLY paying $100 for any bottle doesn't guarantee you won't like a $50 bottle more. Same with wines. The problem with $100 bottles is if you find one that knocks your socks off, you have to keep buying them - or not.

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #179 on: December 12, 2017, 10:31:19 AM »
All depends on personal palate.
Tried an experiment a few weeks ago.
Had several to try- Red label, gold label, dimple, Singleton, 12 yo Chivas and Grants.
Did a blind tasting with 4 of us, and for each bottle opinions were evenly divided.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL
The following users thanked this post: GBC

Offline britts

« Reply #180 on: December 12, 2017, 11:43:39 AM »
Dimple i find terrible, Singleton on the other hand

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #181 on: December 12, 2017, 12:01:44 PM »
Just a matter personal choice.
I have found the Chivas to my liking.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

Offline gordo350

« Reply #182 on: December 12, 2017, 02:18:53 PM »
All depends on personal palate.
Tried an experiment a few weeks ago.
Had several to try- Red label, gold label, dimple, Singleton, 12 yo Chivas and Grants.
Did a blind tasting with 4 of us, and for each bottle opinions were evenly divided.
I did a blind testing last Friday.  Well, I didn't start out blind 😎
Gordo 350
2015 Ford Ranger Super Cab
Aussie Jays Big Red
everyone is entitled to my opinion

« Reply #183 on: December 12, 2017, 03:34:01 PM »
Monkey Shoulder is my current favourite. Around $50 per 700ml.  Worth a try IMO.

« Reply #184 on: December 12, 2017, 03:56:37 PM »
Its out 30th anniversary, my pressie from her.???

« Reply #185 on: December 12, 2017, 05:46:39 PM »
Well done.  She is spoiling you, do you think?

Or is she teasing you, by not letting you have any before the big day?
« Last Edit: December 12, 2017, 05:48:14 PM by Cruiser 105Tvan »

« Reply #186 on: December 12, 2017, 05:57:59 PM »
Well done.  She is spoiling you, do you think?

Or is she teasing you, by not letting you have any before the big day?
I reckon Im worth it, though others may have a slighly different opinion.

Offline Chappie

« Reply #187 on: December 14, 2017, 11:32:52 AM »
This Jim Murray bloke agrees with one of your favourites Glen

Top three picks in the Whisky Bible this year were;

2018 World Whisky Of The Year – Colonel EH Taylor Four Grain Bourbon
Second Finest Whisky In The World – Redbreast 21 Years Old
Third Finest Whisky In The World – Glen Grant 18 Years Old

The rest of his list is here
https://www.thewhiskycompany.com.au/australian-whisky-wins-award-jim-murrays-whisky-bible-2018/

« Reply #188 on: December 14, 2017, 05:44:45 PM »
This Jim Murray bloke agrees with one of your favourites Glen

Top three picks in the Whisky Bible this year were;

2018 World Whisky Of The Year – Colonel EH Taylor Four Grain Bourbon
Second Finest Whisky In The World – Redbreast 21 Years Old
Third Finest Whisky In The World – Glen Grant 18 Years Old

The rest of his list is here
https://www.thewhiskycompany.com.au/australian-whisky-wins-award-jim-murrays-whisky-bible-2018/
Havent tried the 21yo, just the poor mans 12yo.

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #189 on: December 22, 2017, 07:01:55 AM »
For my 2 cents worth, when you are just starting out.

Any of the Bowmore range - ($70 upwards) a little smoke and lovely balance.
If you want something heavier in smoke try 16 Lagavulin. You can pick it up on special for about $90. This is one of the best.
I just bought Starwards - $95. Its an Australian whisky which has won many awards and is stunning.

You are going to have fun trying to work out which one to buy. ;)

Offline timmyh80

« Reply #190 on: December 27, 2017, 01:13:31 PM »
Chappie
I know it is past Christmas, but my 2 cents worth:
Jura superstition
Clynelish 14 y.o
Bowmore 12 y.o
Lagavulin 16 y.o
Glenkinchie 12 y.o
The Balvinnie 12 y.o double wood
Highland park 12 y.o
Bruichladdich rocks (or anything else from them)
Monkey shoulder.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2017, 01:16:35 PM by timmyh80 »

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #191 on: December 27, 2017, 08:13:56 PM »
I know it is past Christmas, but my 2 cents worth:
Jura superstition
Clynelish 14 y.o
Bowmore 12 y.o
Lagavulin 16 y.o
Glenkinchie 12 y.o
The Balvinnie 12 y.o double wood
Highland park 12 y.o
Bruichladdich rocks (or anything else from them)
Monkey shoulder.

That is a very nice list timmyh80. That would make for a great night. lol

Offline gordo350

« Reply #192 on: December 28, 2017, 06:33:38 AM »
Yeah
 Nice list. Just be careful not to  confuse highland Park with highland mist. Bought the mist once by mistake.  Couldn't disguise the taste with coke 😲
Gordo 350
Aussie Jays Big Red

Offline MadMarv

« Reply #193 on: December 28, 2017, 12:54:44 PM »
This is more from the bourbon side off whiskey ,

Drunk many over the years however i did love Wild Turkey , Rare Breed was very yumm , but then i found Elijah Craig extremly tasty ...

Marv

Offline Chappie

« Reply #194 on: January 22, 2018, 09:13:01 AM »
Thanks for the suggestions. 
I ended up with a bottle of Glenlivet and Dalwhinnie.
I also have a list to look at when they are on special,
Lagavulin, Talisker, Bowmore, Redbreast to start off with.
Also bought a bottle of Jaimeson's to try as it is on special at the moment.
Cheers Iain

« Last Edit: January 22, 2018, 09:15:34 AM by Chappie »

« Reply #195 on: January 22, 2018, 11:11:01 AM »
I don't think most of you should be voicing any opinions   :-* coz you're not qualified, but I am  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D since 1997  :cheers:

The following users thanked this post: Ragman

Offline gordo350

« Reply #196 on: January 22, 2018, 12:44:15 PM »
Yeah but. That's irish whisky.  They give them to anyone 😎
Gordo 350
Aussie Jays Big Red

« Reply #197 on: January 22, 2018, 07:56:41 PM »
Yeah but. That's irish whisky.  They give them to anyone 😎
Tis true it's at an Irish distillery, but it was a blind sniff/taste test  ;D with real whisky , not American hooch  >:D

Offline Ragman

« Reply #198 on: January 22, 2018, 09:18:16 PM »
I don't think most of you should be voicing any opinions   :-* coz you're not qualified, but I am  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D since 1997  :cheers:

I'm quite a fan of Irish whisky.

Lately we've been sipping "Rusty Nail" during cocktail hour or 2.
in case you don't know, 2 parts Scotch whisky (or Irish) 1 part Drambuie. some put ice and a slice lime, but I don't need the extras.

A very nice tipple.

Offline britts

« Reply #199 on: February 21, 2018, 07:45:51 PM »
Currently sipping on this one, Marinated a steak in it over the weekend, Awesome.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk