Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730334 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4950 on: September 09, 2019, 02:42:17 PM »
Really? You must be fussy mate, how can you bugger it up?

Cook meat until it is to yout liking and eat.....simple??  If it is a bit tough doing the skewer poke test leave it longer.

This is the first time I have used this little barrel smoker but I have done heaps of slow cooked smoked meat just on the barby in a real primitive method and they always turn out pretty good i thought.
trying to smoke the meat, struggling badly to keep the heat even.. tried 3 different coals so far without any success in completely cooking the meat right through.

« Reply #4951 on: September 09, 2019, 02:49:26 PM »
Be careful trying to smoke ya meat, you'll throw ya back out.

The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #4952 on: September 09, 2019, 03:45:42 PM »
trying to smoke the meat, struggling badly to keep the heat even.. tried 3 different coals so far without any success in completely cooking the meat right through.

What sort of smoker do you use and what meat cut/type are you cooking?

« Reply #4953 on: September 09, 2019, 04:24:21 PM »
Quote from: plusnq
What sort of smoker do you use and what meat cut/type are you cooking?

Hark Chubby.... roast beef, roast pork so far.. tryin to use same size/weight to get it right... Not sure if the ambient temp of **** all in melbourne is making a difference...
Having issue keeping the temp even throughout the cook for hours on end. I dont want to stand there for 8 hours watching it. But it is losing its appeal rapidly.
There is certainly an art to it.... the day I picked it up a couple came in for another bag of charcoal and said 'we nearly have it right after 9 roasts'

thought about https://www.bbqschool.com.au/ but they want kidneys and both nuts to go there

« Reply #4954 on: September 09, 2019, 04:43:55 PM »
Yes it takes time to know your smoker. I use a Pro Q myself which I’ve had for eight years. I’m not familiar with yours but I did find this guide which may help. http://hark.com.au/media/wysiwyg/HK0521_-_Tri_Fire_Smoker_-_Cooking_Guide.pdf

« Reply #4955 on: September 09, 2019, 05:18:27 PM »
Yes it takes time to know your smoker. I use a Pro Q myself which I’ve had for eight years. I’m not familiar with yours but I did find this guide which may help. http://hark.com.au/media/wysiwyg/HK0521_-_Tri_Fire_Smoker_-_Cooking_Guide.pdf
been there done that...
been to local joint for advice etc.

« Reply #4956 on: September 09, 2019, 06:52:04 PM »
I put some stickers on my shed wall......the wife and kids call it Bogan Central  ;D

Good to see a full compliment of lubricants in the rack on the RHS
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

Offline aussie9

« Reply #4957 on: September 09, 2019, 07:33:58 PM »
Hark Chubby.... roast beef, roast pork so far.. tryin to use same size/weight to get it right... Not sure if the ambient temp of **** all in melbourne is making a difference...
Having issue keeping the temp even throughout the cook for hours on end. I dont want to stand there for 8 hours watching it. But it is losing its appeal rapidly.
There is certainly an art to it.... the day I picked it up a couple came in for another bag of charcoal and said 'we nearly have it right after 9 roasts'

thought about https://www.bbqschool.com.au/ but they want kidneys and both nuts to go there
Charcoals aren't all the same. You have to find one that is real low ash. I've tried gidgee in my Kamado and it created the most ash of any I have used. The charcoal get a coating of ash and that insulates the heat from the lump and your cooker drops temp. Then the lump shifts marginally, the ash falls off and the heat rises. You can chase for ages.
I have found the Weber lump charcoal works well with no ash after a 12 hr cook.
Try and stay away from Asian imports as well. Most are mangrove.
Check out John Setzler on the Kamado channel on YouTube.
He is a legend.

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: September 09, 2019, 07:35:47 PM by aussie9 »

« Reply #4958 on: September 09, 2019, 07:56:11 PM »
Good to see a full compliment of lubricants in the rack on the RHS

Yeh there’s plenty where that come from....

The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #4959 on: September 10, 2019, 05:22:33 AM »
I have just started smoking on the 1986 Weber kettle my father in law found for me. It’s been sitting untouched for 30years.

I started off with chicken wings and I am slowly progressing mainly because I don’t want to waste meat.

There’s a few groups on Facebook with good info on woods/beads to use etc as well as recipes and rubs.

The one I mainly look at is the Weber kettle Australia group.

Bought a what?
Researching my next camper

« Reply #4960 on: September 12, 2019, 01:53:42 PM »
Wifey mentioned that the RH bar indicator on the old 'tilly wasn't working so I thought I'd have a look. :o :o :o

Got some LEDs on line to install although I'm a bit worried how they will stand up to the vibrations as it's definitely no road biased, made in Thailand, pseudo-one tonner.

« Reply #4961 on: September 12, 2019, 02:50:29 PM »
Gees Steve, got another 20 yrs left in them old ones. Promoting a throw away society, though I guess it is a Tojo  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Wonder who it will be that hits the 200th page on this thread.

Offline Palmer

« Reply #4962 on: September 12, 2019, 07:41:41 PM »

Don't know, but I'll make it one step closer...

Offline Watty2975

« Reply #4963 on: September 12, 2019, 07:43:32 PM »
Gees Steve, got another 20 yrs left in them old ones. Promoting a throw away society, though I guess it is a Tojo  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Could this be it🤪
Landcruiser 200 TTD GXL with a few goodies & campomatic camper

« Reply #4964 on: September 12, 2019, 08:33:33 PM »
I wanted a lid for the kitchen on the camper stove. I also will make a good wind break when camping.

« Reply #4965 on: September 12, 2019, 08:38:32 PM »
I wanted a lid for the kitchen on the camper stove. I also will make a good wind break when camping.

That’s a serious windbreak 👍

« Reply #4966 on: September 12, 2019, 08:40:46 PM »
Nothing by half measures here. :D

« Reply #4967 on: September 13, 2019, 06:02:04 AM »

You ever heard him break wind...... that lid ain't gunna do it.  ;D

« Reply #4968 on: September 13, 2019, 08:16:28 AM »
You ever heard him break wind...... that lid ain't gunna do it.  ;D

Have you been sneaking around in my shed again Jeepers.  ;D

« Reply #4969 on: September 13, 2019, 09:01:07 AM »
Nah, i was in Rockhampton, but could still hear it.

« Reply #4970 on: September 13, 2019, 09:10:52 AM »
Went down into the man cave and stuck the boat battery on charge for the weekend

Smiled as i realised spring has sprung and boating season is back on

Offline Traveller

« Reply #4971 on: September 13, 2019, 09:24:33 AM »
Thanks for the reminder, I need to do the trailer one. :cheers:

« Reply #4972 on: September 13, 2019, 09:40:24 AM »
Not today but over the weekend..  Prepping for three weeks on the road.
Organising all the camping stuff
Fill the water tanks..
Fill the gas tank..
Charge the battery..
etc etc etc........

Offline Palmer

« Reply #4973 on: September 13, 2019, 09:43:24 AM »
Not today but over the weekend..  Prepping for three weeks on the road.
Organising all the camping stuff
Fill the water tanks..
Fill the gas tank..
Charge the battery..
etc etc etc........
Half your luck. Wish I was looking at taking off

« Reply #4974 on: September 13, 2019, 09:50:13 AM »
Half your luck. Wish I was looking at taking off
Been a while coming. My ute has been out of action since May when I was rear ended. Nice to have my wheels back on the road again.