Author Topic: "Must haves" for a new camper?  (Read 7980 times)

Offline juliezap

"Must haves" for a new camper?
« on: October 27, 2014, 07:54:03 PM »
Hey all,

So after much deliberation, we are going to order amligestyle off road walkthru trailer at the camping show in bris Saturday. So, am just wondering what people's must haves that you would have put on before it leaves the manufacturer etc?

We're thinking the stone guard, hubby wants the hyland hitch thing.. Budget is a factor...

Cheers.....
Just starting out

« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2014, 08:03:36 PM »
12v power and lighting possibly adding a solar panel
« Last Edit: October 27, 2014, 08:06:47 PM by scarpsD40 »

Offline lyn4680

Re: "Must haves" for a new camper?
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2014, 08:11:20 PM »
Definitely 12 volt.

Consider gas struts on the tent bows. Doesn't sound like much but hubby can set the whole thing up on his own with these.

Id also look at a larger torneau. We've got a lifestyle with an innerspring mattress and it can be a bit tight to get on. Especially if it's slightly damp.

The list of mods is endless. Enjoy your new toy

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2014, 08:14:29 PM »
I would look at adding things you may want at a later date, but would be difficult or more expensive after delivery.
such as boat loader provisions, larger/extra water tank, provision for children's room, etc etc

That way if you do want to add them it shouldn't be cost prohibitive.
It also depends how handy you are, for some people adding a full electrical set up is a piece of cake, for others it is an impossibility.

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2014, 11:16:24 AM »
We were in the same situation when buying our trailer as money was also tight. But I looked at the accessory price list and did rough calculations on what some of those things would have cost if I did the job myself. I know with the electrical side of things it worked out to be about $40 cheaper if I did everything myself, so would have taken me 2 hours. So while I could have done this job myself I was happy to pay the extra $40 for them to do it.

Agree the off road hitch is important, I would also be getting a water tank now and some form of basic kitchen. This way the trailer is user friendly from day 1 as you want your maiden voyage to be enjoyable.   

Our way of thinking is we had a list of what we wanted, so we moved money around within our weekly budget (IE Less Alcohol/Take Away/Movies etc) and directed that money into the camper.

Offline juliezap

« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2014, 06:22:45 AM »
Thanks for your suggestions everybody, we definitely hadn't thought of getting a bigger tonneau.
Some great suggestions, my list has just got bigger... Lol now to try an work it all into the budget. Lol

Just starting out

Offline vicandug

• Get ready. Get set.......
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2014, 07:08:15 AM »
A bed where you don't have to climb over each other to go to loo at night time
The dream - to travel like a snail with my home behind me, seeing every inch of Australia.

Life is a gift and too short to waste.

Offline Roaring.Chicken

« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2014, 07:27:47 AM »
Upgrade to a larger water tank.

« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2014, 07:36:55 AM »
A handbrake

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2014, 08:04:56 AM »
Here's a few things  would recommend:

1. Get the large fridge box with power and ventilation.  Fits a 50l Weaco easily and you can store other large stuff there.
2. At least 200ah of battery power if you plan to free camp a bit for extended periods
3. Get the shower option on the kitchen sink. Great for washing down stuff or yourself.
4. Anderson plug for charging batteries from the car.  This can double as a plug in point for an external solar panel.
5. Galvanised chassis.  Their power coat looks nice until your first outback dirt road takes it all off.
6. As someone said before, bet the bigger tonneau cover....!
7. I would get the extended drawbar and consider a second spare wheel carrier.
8. DO-35 hitch.
9. Get the full annex...its brilliant...!  Probably the best I've seen on any camper.
10. A couple of additional 12v outlets at the rear near the kitchen.

There's probably heaps but that would be my top tips.  Lifestyle make a great camper and they are tough as nails.  Just a few little things will make your life easier.

Darcy

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2014, 08:49:58 PM »
G'day juliezap,

Main things i'd recomend.........

12v Power Supply
12v Fridge, I can recomend Evakool RF60 (white fibreglass model)
12v Lights like Korr Lighting Kits, they'll probably have a stand at the camping show too, might grab a bargain.
Drifta Kitchen and Pull Out Draw set up, or something similar. (i like the pull out draw as there is no need to lift bed base.)
Inner spring mattress or good comfy foam one.
Definately, as others have said, the high canvas cover.... allows for bed pillows doona's folding chairs etc to be stored on bed when packing up/travelling.

catch ya!

« Reply #11 on: October 29, 2014, 09:24:43 PM »
Beer!!!

And a wife who knows how to get one.

Oops. Did I just think that out loud ;D
« Last Edit: October 29, 2014, 09:43:58 PM by oldmate »

« Reply #12 on: October 29, 2014, 09:26:16 PM »

Beer!!!

And a wife who knows how to get one.

Oops. Did I just think that out load ;D

« Reply #13 on: October 29, 2014, 09:28:25 PM »
Yep. That should cover it. Till the fire is going

« Reply #14 on: October 29, 2014, 09:33:17 PM »
Oh and Julie, you'll definitely need one of speewa's PDFP's.  It's ok, if you're not sure what these are, speewa will be along around 4:30am to sell you one......

Offline juliezap

« Reply #15 on: October 29, 2014, 10:12:59 PM »
Lol old mate, my husband has 2 legs!!!

Scarps, I have absolutely no clue what u are on about lmao!!! Im really not sure if i am to old or to young to get it bahahaha!

Please explain.... Lol
Just starting out

« Reply #16 on: October 29, 2014, 10:14:31 PM »
Lol old mate, my husband has 2 legs!!!

Scarps, I have absolutely no clue what u are on about lmao!!! Im really not sure if i am to old or to young to get it bahahaha!

Please explain.... Lol
I could, but better if speewa does. He's the PDFP master. He rises at 4am.......your reply I'm sure will be there when you awake:-)
« Last Edit: October 29, 2014, 10:16:22 PM by scarpsD40 »

« Reply #17 on: October 29, 2014, 10:27:37 PM »
Lol old mate, my husband has 2 legs, that will be buggered after setting up my new 15 room Taj Mahal   ;D

Fixed it for you  ;D

Offline McTavish

« Reply #18 on: October 29, 2014, 11:46:14 PM »
12v water pump to the sink (if not already provided).
12v outlets inside on the bed base and near tail lights to plug in LED lights inside/and out (again can recommend Korr Lighting kits) and for fridge or contact Jetcrew for all things solar.
Higher Tourneau - you can always strap it down if too loose but expensive to buy another if not enough room.
Tropical roof.
A vehicle big enough to tow it :) Especially the walkthrough model - it is BIG and long so make sure it will fit in your garage/storage spot.
Darren from Lifestyle campers is a very helpful guy and extremely patient with all newbie questions...
Vacation Camper & McTavish surfboard - what more does a guy need??

« Reply #19 on: October 30, 2014, 07:05:41 AM »
Hey all,

So after much deliberation, we are going to order amligestyle off road walkthru trailer at the camping show in bris Saturday. So, am just wondering what people's must haves that you would have put on before it leaves the manufacturer etc?

We're thinking the stone guard, hubby wants the hyland hitch thing.. Budget is a factor...

Cheers.....

Everything and anything I can afford and fit in  ;D

Offline vicandug

• Get ready. Get set.......
« Reply #20 on: October 30, 2014, 08:11:26 AM »
Then you have to go gadget shopping and I have the man in my house who can help with that.....Graeme the gadget man has a paypal account and finds every gadget that is needed and in most cases not needed ever!

If you see it he probably has it or it's waiting at the post office for collection.

Maybe I can just give you him AND his gadgets to save you the hassle of looking....  I will also throw in his credit card and statements!!!
The dream - to travel like a snail with my home behind me, seeing every inch of Australia.

Life is a gift and too short to waste.

« Reply #21 on: October 30, 2014, 10:03:18 AM »
Did someone mentioned the 12V coffee machine yet?

Offline juliezap

« Reply #22 on: October 30, 2014, 08:11:59 PM »
Lol vicandug, your post made me giggle.   I have a husband very similar, his nickname is mr gadgetman lol.

Scarps!!! Portable first dunny piss??? Lol
Just starting out

« Reply #23 on: October 30, 2014, 08:16:41 PM »
Scarps!!! Portable first dunny piss??? Lol
nah, speewa let himself down, he should have answered by now, but I have heard he has man flu at the moment.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2014, 08:21:18 PM by scarpsD40 »

Offline McTavish

« Reply #24 on: November 07, 2014, 10:32:47 PM »
Juliezap.   How did you go?  Did you bag yourself some bargains? Camper ordered?

Vacation Camper & McTavish surfboard - what more does a guy need??