General => General Discussion => Topic started by: firefox on May 08, 2014, 08:00:32 PM

Title: "NOMAD" the Awesome! Credit to a myswagger!
Post by: firefox on May 08, 2014, 08:00:32 PM
So ive had an interesting day as most would know im having problems with the range rover again. I took it down today for the day down at Pacific Landrover..

Well this afternoon heading back up the beach at Teewah, the car blows up! Yep my $180,000 range rover that was in today getting fixed by Landrover (which it didnt)... BLOWS UP! Same problem as 3 times previously.

So in the middle of the rain, 6PM stuck on a beach. Where did i turn to.. MYSWAG...

Not that i had meet Nomad, but i did have his number in a PM and proceeded to call. Well the Myswag lifeline swung into action, he was up the beach collected me and the family and is even helping out tomorrow.

Its times like these i am SO PROUD and LOVE this forum. The amount of great natured people are just fantastic. Nomad had never meet me but went out of his way to help. I owe him a lot and i've really grown to appreciate the forum and it's members. We all have something very special here, when we can all do the things that we do for each other and i know its not just nomad.

But for tonight, NOMAD THANKYOU. Coming and getting us at a difficult beach, in the pouring rain and getting us out and youre offer for help is so appreciated..

I hope you don't mind me posting this, i just wanted to let you know what a great credit to this forum you are..

Title: Re: "NOMAD" the Awesome! Credit to a myswagger!
Post by: Black Diamond on May 08, 2014, 08:03:40 PM
That's awesome well done :cup:
Post by: D4D on May 08, 2014, 08:04:14 PM
Well done Nomad! :cup:

Another example of Nomad being a great bloke. When I was in his neighbourhood recently, I was very thirsty and he helped me with some Jack Daniels whilst he just drank beer :cheers:

Oh and Firefox, about time you gave in and bought a 200 Series ;D
Post by: Nay-DMAX on May 08, 2014, 08:04:23 PM
Well done Nomad helping out a fellow swagger it is always good to hear these stories of people helping others out.  Justin I hope your car troubles are put behind you soon good luck.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 08, 2014, 08:05:51 PM
Great Swagger spirit, well done Nomad, hope the car woes end soon

Post by: lino6 on May 08, 2014, 08:06:22 PM

Nice work

Post by: Brett B on May 08, 2014, 08:08:04 PM
Good stuff Nomad  ;D
Post by: achjimmy on May 08, 2014, 08:08:57 PM
Well done Nomad. Often thought we need some sort of private register to help out my swaggers on there travels. Iam in the Mtns off the gt western and I know a lot of my swaggers would go past my way.
Post by: oldmate on May 08, 2014, 08:14:35 PM
 :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Well done nomad
Post by: Nomad on May 08, 2014, 08:15:09 PM
No worries JD.
Talk to you tomorrow.
Cheers everyone.  :cheers:
Post by: baldheadedgit on May 08, 2014, 08:15:39 PM
Good stuff Nomad   :cup:

Well done Nomad. Often thought we need some sort of private register to help out my swaggers on there travels. Iam in the Mtns off the gt western and I know a lot of my swaggers would go past my way.
I could call in and drink your Beer ?   ;D
Post by: briann532 on May 08, 2014, 08:15:56 PM
Hey NOMAD -  :-* :-* :-*
Post by: achjimmy on May 08, 2014, 08:17:08 PM
Good stuff Nomad   :cup:
I could call in and drink your Beer ?   ;D

No worries, let me know so I can get the west end draught cold.
Post by: Clouty on May 08, 2014, 08:17:30 PM
That's awesome :cup:
Great work Nomad..
Post by: scarps on May 08, 2014, 08:21:08 PM
Great stuff Nomad and to all for being part of a great community. Firefox and family, glad to hear you're all safe.
Post by: JCOJ on May 08, 2014, 08:22:13 PM
Top stuff NOMAD!!!

I too have been on the receiving end from the generosity of people on this forum for all sorts of things including screwing on a number plate onto my camper and rigging up my fishing rod, to camper mods and repairs, introducing our family to Geocaching, and even transporting tyres and tool boxes!!  Makes me feel proud too to be part of such a great forum!
Post by: Bird on May 08, 2014, 08:28:47 PM
It would have been a shame for that 180k car to have caught fire on the beach due to that blown engine ... Hint..
Post by: martyst on May 08, 2014, 08:29:47 PM
Nice one!!

Post by: scarps on May 08, 2014, 08:30:44 PM
It would have been a shame for that 180k car to have caught fire on the beach due to that blown engine ... Hint..
firefox, shoulda bought the Jeep:-)
Post by: KingBilly on May 08, 2014, 08:58:58 PM
Well done Nomad  :cup:  You are what makes myswag so great  :cheers:

Hope everything works out Justin.

Post by: noel_w on May 08, 2014, 09:03:38 PM
Good stuff Nomad. Way ta go bro.

Hope all goes well with the Rover Firefox. Ya haven't had a good run with it so far.  :'( :'(
Post by: JCAT on May 08, 2014, 09:06:04 PM
Well done Nomad.

Post by: edz on May 08, 2014, 09:08:15 PM
Fanbloodytastic Well done that man .. As for Landrover.... It seems that you certainly DONT get what you pay for ...Credit to you for putting up with all the troubles you've had ...
Post by: mrdenn1s on May 08, 2014, 09:19:08 PM
Defenders are bloody expensive these days

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Post by: Barry G on May 08, 2014, 09:28:54 PM
MySwag truly is a self selected 'band of brothers' and sisters.
That is what makes it so special. Come through the door, hang around a bit and you are part of the family.
Post by: komaterpillar on May 08, 2014, 09:34:17 PM
Great work nomad,  :cheers:

Defenders are bloody expensive these days

far cheaper than a similarly speced new Y61 patrol or new 76 series cruiser. Just sayin...  ;D
Post by: lindamc on May 08, 2014, 10:49:40 PM
I know im a big sook, but it brings tears to my eyes reading this stuff...well done Nomad!

Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk 2

Post by: drenno on May 08, 2014, 10:56:31 PM
Well Done Nomad, makes you proud to be Australian.
Post by: SteveandViv on May 09, 2014, 12:35:29 AM
Yea, that is awesome.... :cup:
Post by: pinarelloman on May 09, 2014, 01:46:35 AM
Yep, I agree, well done to Nomad. Looks like the original poster should upgrade to a Toyota..oh what a feeling!
Post by: Renno on May 09, 2014, 06:05:47 AM
 :cheers: :cheers: :cup:
Renno  :cheers:
Post by: Robbo on May 09, 2014, 06:09:29 AM
Yep, well done Nomad and to Justin for posting his appreciation of a good deed from a fellow Myswagger.  :cup:
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on May 09, 2014, 07:38:16 AM
Great to hear everyone's fine.

If you need towing, sing out. Only 1/2 hour away with a tow truck.

Shane.

Post by: Bird on May 09, 2014, 09:51:21 AM
So.. define blew up?

What has happened, and what is the recurring issue? apart from it being a landrover??? :D
Post by: gibbo301 on May 09, 2014, 10:32:54 AM
Well done Nomad your a champion  :cheers: :cup:
Post by: BigJules on May 09, 2014, 10:36:16 AM
Glad to hear you finally met up with another good fella, and also that now you have no excuse not to get a big Tojo. Happy birthday for yesterday as well.
Post by: WilSurf on May 09, 2014, 10:53:13 AM
Well done guys.
That's the right spirit.
You hear so less of this.

Now, what color did you pick for the 200 serie?
Post by: scarps on May 09, 2014, 11:39:46 AM
What's the towing capacity of a 200?
Post by: lino6 on May 09, 2014, 01:17:50 PM
Something like this might tow the Firefox "camper" ok  >:D
Post by: scarps on May 09, 2014, 01:30:34 PM

Something like this might tow the Firefox "camper" ok  >:D
yep:-)
Post by: firefox on May 09, 2014, 01:44:39 PM
ha ha very funny.
sitting at landrover dealer attempting to get it back on the road.. (sort of looks a ittle promising) but we will see. Finally someone inside landrover decided not talking to the customer was a good idea and they have reached out, hopefully next step is that we get a resolution..

my only real option outside of a landrover is a LC200 sahara.. But one way or another i need to get tthis sorted... not going to buy a Yank tank... sorry

wife wouldnt mind a jeep
Post by: Bird on May 09, 2014, 02:16:59 PM
Quote from: firefox
wife wouldnt mind a jeep
that's understandable, they are a ladies car.

http://www.american.com.au/ (http://www.american.com.au/) speak with SierraJim on this forum, that's his business.
Very good bloke to boot, we have done many fire recovery efforts after the last 2 big Victorian fires.

So... whats wrong with this $180,000 ubermobile?
Post by: dazzler on May 09, 2014, 02:32:09 PM

So.. define blew up?

What has happened, and what is the recurring issue? apart from it being a landrover??? :D

snicker snicker

Land Rovers.  Like cheap hookers.  Promise a lot, knife you in the back.

Post by: Bird on May 09, 2014, 02:39:03 PM
Quote from: dazzler
snicker snicker

Land Rovers.  Like cheap hookers.  Promise a lot, knife you in the back.
don't mention th war.. or depreciation... ;)
Post by: Bunyip on May 09, 2014, 02:46:17 PM
(sort of looks a ittle promising)

You would hope after three times they know what the problem is and have some spares ready to go. When they start referring to you by name when you walk in the door you know you're in trouble :D
Post by: aussieducker on May 09, 2014, 03:30:32 PM
Here you go(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/09/gutega7y.jpg)

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

Post by: scarps on May 09, 2014, 04:08:33 PM

that's understandable, they are a ladies car.

yep, ya right. They sure do attract the foxy laydeees
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/09/y3aha2aq.jpg)
Post by: Bird on May 09, 2014, 04:20:31 PM
yep, ya right. They sure do attract the foxy laydeees
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/09/y3aha2aq.jpg)

(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Smileys/peace.gif)(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Smileys/peace.gif)(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Smileys/peace.gif)(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/patrol_zps9abd5e26.jpg)(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Smileys/peace.gif)(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Smileys/peace.gif)(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Smileys/peace.gif)
Post by: lino6 on May 09, 2014, 04:27:18 PM

my only real option outside of a landrover is a LC200 sahara.. But one way or another i need to get tthis sorted... not going to buy a Yank tank... sorry

wife wouldnt mind a jeep

Bet the kids would love a transformer! And imagine the pack up "autobots transform and roll out"!!

Sent from somewhere on something with that tap thing

Post by: scarps on May 09, 2014, 05:38:13 PM
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Smileys/peace.gif)(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Smileys/peace.gif)(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Smileys/peace.gif)(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/patrol_zps9abd5e26.jpg)(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Smileys/peace.gif)(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Smileys/peace.gif)(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Smileys/peace.gif)
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/09/rusaje9a.jpg)
Lol......
Post by: DropBearRacing on May 09, 2014, 06:36:20 PM
Well done Nomad  :cup:
Justin I hope you sort the RR out but I think it's time to give in and admit defeat and buy a LC200.
Post by: GeoffA on May 09, 2014, 06:48:06 PM
So.. define blew up?

What has happened, and what is the recurring issue?......

I'm interested in this, too......
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 09, 2014, 07:07:05 PM
Do we have 2 Nomad's on this forum?

It can't be that dodgy salesman from Noosa they're all talking about.... can it?
Post by: firefox on May 09, 2014, 08:22:09 PM
Well let's say it's be on 13 tilt trays in 10 months. For recovery due to failure. That ranges from engine limp mode, to suspension failure to computers failure to cooling system failures etc. ummm take your pick..

Last night it was cooling system failure.. Blew a hose off the front of the engine. Though it was pouring rain it was 17deg outside and we wer doing about 20km and hour? Make sense...

Anyhow got back tonight to van and family, we've got to come off early now so we have to try and make some sense of the vehicle whilst I let the third parties deal with them.
Post by: GeoffA on May 09, 2014, 08:50:04 PM
Well let's say it's be on 13 tilt trays in 10 months........

I feel for you......that's gotta be some kind of record......and very disappointing (mild understatement).

My patience would have evaporated long ago......
Post by: D4D on May 09, 2014, 08:50:53 PM

Post by: Nomad on May 09, 2014, 08:55:10 PM
I think it did!
Post by: GeoffA on May 09, 2014, 08:58:51 PM
I think it did!

Full marks, Nomad.  :cup: :cup:
Post by: oldmate on May 09, 2014, 09:00:24 PM

X3. I would be demanding a refund. Product is clearly not fit for purpose.

Hope it works out for you :cheers:
Post by: Meltdown on May 09, 2014, 11:13:38 PM
Great stuff Nomad.
Post by: lino6 on May 09, 2014, 11:50:42 PM
Fingers crossed it will be all sorted.

13 tilt trays, did you see any black cats just before?
Post by: duggie on May 10, 2014, 06:28:53 AM

wife wouldnt mind a jeep

Toyota LC200 Sahara - 4.5 V8 twin turbo diesel -195 Kw- 650 Nm - 6 speed auto - 3.5 tonne braked towing - Driveaway price $ 128,000.00

Toyota LC200 Sahara - 4.6 V8 Petrol                   -227 Kw- 439 Nm - 6 speed auto - 3.5 tonne braked towing - Driveaway price $ 122,800.00

NISSAN PATROL Ti-L    - 5.6 V8 Petrol                   - 298 Kw- 560 Nm - 7 speed auto - 3.5 tonne braked towing - Driveaway price $ 122,900.00

There is not much between the Toyota or the Nissan , both top of the range, both have the same towing capacity, both must be better than the Landrover.

For my money I would choose the Nissan, but I am a bit bias.

Hope you get the landie sorted, and it is great to see the Myswag spirit in your time of need.

cheers duggie
Post by: speewa158 on May 10, 2014, 07:34:35 AM
firefox, shoulda bought the Jeep:-)

English Jeep  :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on May 10, 2014, 07:42:31 AM

wife wouldnt mind a jeep
here ya go ff..... http://www.exploroz.com/Classifieds/Vehicles.aspx?id=22188 (http://www.exploroz.com/Classifieds/Vehicles.aspx?id=22188)
great work by the "dodgy salesman from Noosa" also  :cup: :cheers:
Post by: DaveCQ on May 10, 2014, 07:49:04 AM
We'll done Nomad. A great effort.

Firefox, best of luck mate. Hope you get it all sorted.
Post by: speewa158 on May 10, 2014, 07:54:21 AM
Rumpig l have drrrroooollled over this rig since they 1st hit the road . Arwsome Kit  :cheers:
Post by: Offroad 4x4 Accessories on May 10, 2014, 07:58:49 AM
Good work NOMAD helping a fellow swagger out  :cheers: :cup:
Post by: Rumpig on May 10, 2014, 08:04:09 AM
Rumpig l have drrrroooollled over this rig since they 1st hit the road . Arwsome Kit  :cheers:
geez if you've drooled over that one, then he's asking too much i reckon  ;) ;D ;D
Post by: gclan on May 10, 2014, 08:20:31 AM
Bet the kids would love a transformer! And imagine the pack up "autobots transform and roll out"!!

My daughter wanted this Ranger as a replacement for our Defender ;D
http://www.themotorreport.com.au/content/image/f/o/ford_ranger_wildtrak_torque_transformer_01_1-1102.jpg (http://www.themotorreport.com.au/content/image/f/o/ford_ranger_wildtrak_torque_transformer_01_1-1102.jpg)

Post by: gclan on May 10, 2014, 08:53:33 AM
So sorry to hear that this happened to a fellow black Sport owner. I hope they sort the RRS out quickly, but knowing what LR Australia are like, I won't hold my breath.

Our Sport has had the odd ride on a tilt tray as well, though thankfully not quite as many as yours.

Unfortunately, we know too many Land Rover/Range Rover owners who have become disenchanted with the brand, swearing they'll never own another LR(though I think the problem is more with LR Australia than the actual vehicles themselves).

Maybe we put up with them because when they're running well, they are incredible vehicles, and there's nothing else like them in the market (LRs get into your blood >:D)

As much trouble as they are, I couldn't see myself driving anything other than our RRS and hopefully, another Defender :angel:

Good luck with your dilemma. I hope everything works out for you, and that you get that amazing Sport back on(and off) the road again soon ;D

Karen

Great effort coming to the rescue Nomad :cup:
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 10, 2014, 11:35:12 AM
Good Luck getting another Defender.
They cannot  fit Airbags to the current design.
They Fail the Euro Standards for Safety that are being enforced real soon.
So bye bye boxy Pommy Farm Truck. (No I didn't misspell boxy).
What are you doing then?
Post by: Bird on May 10, 2014, 12:52:37 PM
just think what you could do to a GU or 100 series with $180,000.. or GQ.....
... V8 chev, Duramax, Cummins, or the HKS 1000rwkw 4.8 GU that arab dude has..

Sorta destroys that "pay for what you get theory"....

13 tilt trays?? I think you have a case to get your money back from Landrover Australia.
Post by: speewa158 on May 10, 2014, 01:02:30 PM
Burn Baby Burn if it can make it to Knockwood . >:D >:D >:D :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on May 10, 2014, 02:22:43 PM

13 tilt trays?? I think you have a case to get your money back from Landrover Australia.

Absolutely

Post by: Dkirk on May 10, 2014, 08:35:43 PM
Well done Nomad it's the support of others that make clubs and forums worthwhile. As suggested
 By achjimmy, I have been in bike clubs (funnily enough they have been for European stuff) which have a register of people willing to assist in such circumstances. Probably 0200 and out of beer would be a stretch though.
Cheers Derek
Post by: KeithB on May 11, 2014, 02:15:31 PM
I don't think anyone actually pays full list price for a 200 Series Sahara any more.
A mate of mine, a former RR driver just took deliver of his and say that it's the best vehicle he has ever had.
Post by: GeoffA on May 11, 2014, 02:47:15 PM
A mate of mine, a former RR driver just took deliver of his and say that it's the best vehicle he has ever had.

It may very well be, but remember, EVERYONE says that about their new car.....
Post by: komaterpillar on May 11, 2014, 03:00:09 PM

and after you burn 180k on it, its still a yucky POOTROL  >:D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 11, 2014, 03:00:33 PM
Toyota will be putting on an EOFYS.
Might be a good chance to squeeze a good deal out of them.
Post by: D4D on May 11, 2014, 03:08:49 PM
I don't think anyone actually pays full list price for a 200 Series Sahara any more.
Yup, low 100's is the going rate
Post by: firefox on May 11, 2014, 04:42:08 PM
Already priced top spec diesel Sahara for 108 drive away
Post by: lino6 on May 11, 2014, 06:10:01 PM
How is the rig going Firefox? Any solutions yet? Fingers are still crossed for you mate. Would be a shame if I never got stuck behind a Jeep and a Range Rover around lake Eildon again!
Post by: firefox on May 11, 2014, 06:18:19 PM
Well we know what jeep drivers are like on hills. Ie the wife jumping out...
As for me, they have taken the car, and they are being told when it returns it will be a different shape, size and potentially a d4. Not going to accept the vehicle back.

Had enough.

Post by: Bird on May 11, 2014, 06:19:48 PM
Already priced top spec diesel Sahara for 108 drive away
why does it need to be a top spec Sahara?
Post by: D4D on May 11, 2014, 06:24:21 PM
why does it need to be a top spec Sahara?

because he can...
Post by: scarps on May 11, 2014, 06:29:29 PM

that's coz I didn't have both hands on the wheel:-). If ya know what I mean.......
Post by: ozstickman on May 11, 2014, 06:30:27 PM
Great work Nomad.

For that sort of coin you'd expect it to be better than that!  But then again I can't justify spending that much on a vehicle. That's just me. Each to their own.

Good luck with sorting it out, I'm sure with the amount of trouble you've had with it you would have legal rights for a refund for sure.
Post by: Topender on May 11, 2014, 06:47:59 PM
As for me, they have taken the car, and they are being told when it returns it will be a different shape, size and potentially a d4. Not going to accept the vehicle back.

Had enough.

Great stuff and good luck.  Hopefully they come to the party and you can move on.  At the very least you need some sort of reward for your patience.  And great work Nomad!

Post by: WilSurf on May 12, 2014, 10:03:32 AM
13 trips on a tilt tray.
Sure you have a free ride the next time?