General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2019 Myswag.org National Meet => Topic started by: Jillsy on May 03, 2017, 01:32:36 AM

Title: 2019 Myswag.org National Meet @ Rawnsley Park, SA (Easter) - Discussion Thread
Post by: Jillsy on May 03, 2017, 01:32:36 AM
Please discuss the 2019 Myswag.org National Meet in this thread  ;D

It is being held Friday 19th - Monday 22nd April, 2019 (the Easter Long Weekend)
Title: Re: 2019 Myswag.org National Meet - Discussion Thread
Post by: Bird on May 03, 2017, 09:06:15 AM
Vote 1 Tasmania  :cup:
Post by: DrewXT on May 03, 2017, 09:06:15 PM
Spirit of Tasmania would make a killing

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: Brodie Tas on May 03, 2017, 09:35:52 PM

X2 great spots down here
Post by: lincolnland on May 03, 2017, 11:18:45 PM
wine glass bay?
Post by: smartyingreen on May 03, 2017, 11:51:26 PM
Didn't expect to see this thread so soon!
JCOJ, Pog, Paul (SA), worth trying to get people back to SA?
Barossa, Riverland, Yorks or Eyre Peninsula?

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 04, 2017, 04:03:19 AM
A central location would make it very attractive to more swaggers. HOWEVER

It will be determined in the end, if someone wants to put their hand up and run it.
You can suggest places until ya blue in the face, but unless ya prepared to do it..... it doesn't matter a rat's arse.

Post by: GeoffA on May 04, 2017, 06:08:27 AM
A central location would make it very attractive to more swaggers.....

Alice Springs then....?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 04, 2017, 06:58:16 AM
Alice Springs then....?

Not that friggin central.

I'd like to see the N.Q. guys and girls put their hand up again. FNQ would be a great venue. (Who gives a rats if it goes to one state twice)
Post by: Bad Scott on May 04, 2017, 07:23:33 AM
Chambers Pillar, NT south of Alice Springs
Post by: Ben.Archer on May 04, 2017, 07:27:25 AM
No suggestions as to where it is, but based off the last one if there is any chance we can make it we will!
Post by: Bird on May 04, 2017, 09:58:12 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Not that friggin central.

I'd like to see the N.Q. guys and girls put their hand up again. FNQ would be a great venue. (Who gives a rats if it goes to one state twice)
yea that about as central as Mawson Station
Post by: Mace on May 04, 2017, 11:02:48 AM
Tin Can Bay/Hervey Bay/Fraser Island  ??
Post by: wakychapmans on May 04, 2017, 11:59:00 AM
Tin Can Bay/Hervey Bay/Fraser Island  ??

non national park would be our personal preference.

No puppy... no us.

Post by: wakychapmans on May 04, 2017, 12:00:13 PM
Alice Springs then....?

actually... I'd be happy with somewhere more "outback". Chambers Pillar... whatever...
Post by: GeoffA on May 04, 2017, 12:08:05 PM
We should familiarise ourselves with the requirements before suggesting locations.

Just a waste, otherwise....

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52115.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52115.0)

Post by: BaseCamp on May 04, 2017, 01:08:58 PM
How about West Kunderang
(near Armidale NSW).

www.westkunderang.com.au

Privately owned
Lots of space
Has a sort of "hidden valley" feel about it...
Wild, wilderness feeling..
Fishing, canoeing, 4wd tracks
Toilets, but no showers..
Off grid, but generator ok?
No mobile phone coverage,
But satellite phone on site.

Just a suggestion?

BaseCamp
 (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170504/aefc1ed354c4466eedb4e15110dfae0b.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170504/d556e33fcc952181ef61c4b2bc10ae78.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170504/97deb74a09eb57de001e67adafa857fb.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170504/f5eb81c3e70aff10c11e51bb40f1434f.jpg)

Post by: Mace on May 04, 2017, 01:26:39 PM
We should familiarise ourselves with the requirements before suggesting locations.

Just a waste, otherwise....

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52115.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52115.0)

The rules for nominating a prospective venue for the 2019 Myswag.org National Meet are as follows:

4.     The venue must meet the following criteria:
     *Capacity to cope with at least 150 people (or more if the Venue is a central location) 
     *Ample ablution facilities
     *Both powered and unpowered sites
     *Both bush camping and site camping availability
     *Permit camp fires
     *Have a central area for communal gathering
Post by: VKPrado on May 04, 2017, 02:38:26 PM
Might just need to give this a really good look once I get back from the Kimberly for the 2017 Pradopoint GTG.

I am sure there would be a few from Tasmania on here who could get together and see what we have to offer here.

In 2015 the FJ forum and Pradopoint both had their gathering here so it can be done without a problem.
Post by: Steffo1 on May 04, 2017, 03:03:33 PM
How about West Kunderang
(near Armidale NSW).

www.westkunderang.com.au (http://www.westkunderang.com.au)

Privately owned
Lots of space
Has a sort of "hidden valley" feel about it...
Wild, wilderness feeling..
Fishing, canoeing, 4wd tracks
Toilets, but no showers..
Off grid, but generator ok?
No mobile phone coverage,
But satellite phone on site.

Just a suggestion?

BaseCamp
 (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170504/aefc1ed354c4466eedb4e15110dfae0b.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170504/d556e33fcc952181ef61c4b2bc10ae78.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170504/97deb74a09eb57de001e67adafa857fb.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170504/f5eb81c3e70aff10c11e51bb40f1434f.jpg)

Post by: Terry W4 on May 04, 2017, 04:26:30 PM
Remember many myswaggers will want power option. We didn't at Mansfield but on reflection running a heater would have been more comfortable.

Post by: GeoffA on May 04, 2017, 05:22:41 PM
Remember many myswaggers will want power option.....

Power is a requirement for the venue, as are showers and a sheltered communal area....

Post by: BaseCamp on May 04, 2017, 06:25:53 PM
No worries - needing power; showers;  communal shelter understandable  ... even though the alternative would have been an adventure   ...   

BaseCamp

Post by: peter01 on May 04, 2017, 06:28:57 PM
May have to be back in Vic in 2019 probably another dozen locations around the state that offer up similar sights as the VHC  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Steffo1 on May 04, 2017, 07:36:48 PM
No worries - needing power; showers;  communal shelter understandable  ... even though the alternative would have been an adventure   ...   

BaseCamp

Photo of Kunderang communal shelter.  ;D    (The shower & power thingy is a no go, though, sadly.)

Post by: Bad Scott on May 04, 2017, 07:43:36 PM
May have to be back in Vic in 2019 probably another dozen locations around the state that offer up similar sights as the VHC  ;D ;D ;D
Go Team Vic  :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on May 04, 2017, 07:50:06 PM
We went through some similar discussions early in the planning for the 2017 meet.
Some great locations were ruled out because they didn't satisfy the criteria.

Post by: Nomad on May 05, 2017, 07:46:25 PM
We went through some similar discussions early in the planning for the 2017 meet.
Some great locations were ruled out because they didn't satisfy the criteria.

We didn't Jeeps just picked the most midgee infested swamp he could find and said "F6ck em all that'll do."
Post by: Redcherokee on May 05, 2017, 08:13:58 PM
Bungendore showground, just out of Canberra, is an excellent venue that meets all the requirements - very comparable to Mansfield. 

But we would need a group of volunteers who are willing to help with organisation.  That is probably the hardest bit. 

Post by: Brodie Tas on May 05, 2017, 08:36:03 PM
If tassie is a option wayatinah caravan park could be a good place or Myrtle park both have big camp areas enough room for everyone
Post by: peter01 on May 05, 2017, 08:39:51 PM
Bungendore showground, just out of Canberra, is an excellent venue that meets all the requirements - very comparable to Mansfield. 

But we would need a group of volunteers who are willing to help with organisation.  That is probably the hardest bit.

PM sent
Post by: Fizzie on May 06, 2017, 08:36:27 AM
How about Hosanna Farmstay, Stokers Siding, near Murwillumbah NNSW?

https://www.hosannafarmstay.com.au/ (https://www.hosannafarmstay.com.au/)

On-site cabins & huts, ~45 campsites, 10 of them powered, 2 ablution blocks, fires & dogs allowed, heaps of things for kids to do, camp kitchens & apparently even catering available! :D

Review from Renno on here: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=43252.msg726539#msg726539 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=43252.msg726539#msg726539)

We could possibly book the whole place out for a long weekend?
Post by: MarkGU on May 06, 2017, 02:58:25 PM
NYMBOIDA

8)
Post by: Jillsy on May 06, 2017, 03:54:54 PM
Just a reminder Folks...

The rules for nominating a prospective venue for the 2019 Myswag.org National Meet are as follows:

1.     Don't nominate it unless you and at least two other Myswag Members are 
        happy to assume responsibility for organising a Meet there.

2.     Please don't nominate a location, please nominate a venue. For example, instead of   
        nominating "Grafton area", nominate "Nymboida Canoe Centre, Nymboida".
3.     Nominate a time of your ie Summer, Autumn, Winter or Spring (when will your Venue be most enjoyable).
     *Capacity to cope with at least 150 people (or more if the Venue is a central location) 
     *Permit camp fires
Post by: Alien on May 07, 2017, 01:42:05 AM
Just a reminder Folks...

A link for once 3 or more of you good folk have got your hand up and want to nominate a location...

Unfortunately due to other trip commitments I couldn't make the national meet this year.
I'm enjoying reading the ideas people have for where a 2019 meet could be held.
Hopefully this thread may encourage a few who live close to some these locations to get together and make a proposal.

Don't forget to think outside the square too.
I have attend a few events where portable toilets are brought in to cater for for larger groups.
Quite large generators are available to provide 24/7 power where the cost can be divided amongst those connected to it also.
Yes it adds to the costs but it may also open up areas previously dismissed.

Cheers, Kyle.

Post by: weeds on May 07, 2017, 10:27:54 AM
I understand toilets and showers and an extent....I even arrange a porta lol for day event I run every two years.

Re: power, what are the main reasons power is required, given nearly everybody seems to have solar farms?

As alien said...generators can be hired...I hired one for our wedding so that caravans could plug into overnight..oh and to run the cold room, lights and music.

Post by: BaseCamp on May 07, 2017, 01:43:40 PM
If generators or a big kva unit: and portable toilets are permitted for the Meet;  I'm happy to put my hand up to help organise West Kunderang. ...

WK also has no showers btw, but a magnificent river for potential washing  ### provided 100% biodegradable soaps etc were used, and causes no grief with the epa ###....   But that would mean icy cold bathing....  LOL

That, and that you pretty much need a 4WD to get in....

But get through all those hurdles; and its all glorious upside from then on in....

But no doubt; there would be several other top notch areas I am sure; that do have 240 and hot showers ...  WK is just a thought, as I know it's probably a MySwaggers idea of a wet dream  ....   lol

BaseCamp

Post by: Jillsy on May 07, 2017, 01:44:24 PM
I understand toilets and showers and an extent....I even arrange a porta lol for day event I run every two years.

Re: power, what are the main reasons power is required, given nearly everybody seems to have solar farms?

As alien said...generators can be hired...I hired one for our wedding so that caravans could plug into overnight..oh and to run the cold room, lights and music.

The reason that we ask that proposed venues have toilets, showers, water and power is because we need to take into consideration that Myswag.org Members have a range of different set ups, capabilities and requirements and we need to cater for that.  Not everyone is able to camp with no facilities, no water and/or no power (although I personally love that style of camping).  Some of our Members require power for sleep apnoea machines, others have (or have family members) with disabilities and require access to suitable ablution facilities etc.  In a nutshell, National Meets need to be at an "all inclusive" style of venue.

The less we need to hire (generators, port-a-loos etc) the better as it cuts down on costs.  As most of you know, Myswag is funded by donations, the meager profit we make from merchandise and our (Brett & my) pocket so our venue hire budget is pretty tight as Myswag's Server Fees and Accountant Fees alone keep the kitty pretty skinny. Yeah sure, we could charge out the cost of hiring such things to those attending but we try and make National Meets as budget friendly for attendees as possible. 

If you are keen to have a local Meet in a more isolated location or at a venue with little or no services, please feel free to organise one.  They don't have to be a flash affair. Some tips on how to get started are HERE (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=38751.msg630140#msg630140). 
Post by: weeds on May 07, 2017, 01:53:08 PM
The reason that we ask that proposed venues have toilets, showers, water and power is because we need to take into consideration that Myswag.org Members have a range of different set ups, capabilities and requirements and we need to cater for that.  Not everyone is able to camp with no facilities, no water and/or no power (although I personally love that style of camping).  Some of our Members require power for sleep apnoea machines, others have (or have family members) with disabilities and require access to suitable ablution facilities etc.  In a nutshell, National Meets need to be at an "all inclusive" style of venue.

The less we need to hire (generators, port-a-loos etc) the better as it cuts down on costs.  As most of you know, Myswag is funded by donations, the meager profit we make from merchandise and our (Brett & my) pocket so our venue hire budget is pretty tight as Myswag's Server Fees and Accountant Fees alone keep the kitty pretty skinny. Yeah sure, we could charge out the cost of hiring such things to those attending but we try and make National Meets as budget friendly for attendees as possible.

If you are keen to have a local Meet in a more isolated location or at a venue with little or no services, please feel free to organise one.  They don't have to be a flash affair. Some tips on how to get started are HERE (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=38751.msg630140#msg630140).

No worries....only questioned power really.

Arranged a local trip last weekend (well the venue) which raised dollars, I'm across local gigs.

Post by: Jillsy on May 07, 2017, 02:01:36 PM
No worries....only questioned power really.

Arranged a local trip last weekend (well the venue) which raised dollars, I'm across local gigs.
Post by: Jillsy on May 07, 2017, 02:42:24 PM
The less we need to hire (generators, port-a-loos etc) the better as it cuts down on costs. 

In saying that, we wouldn't immediately rule out a venue that required hire of some equipment. Those that nominate it would have to put forward a good case though regarding why the venue would be worth it...
Post by: Ben.Archer on May 07, 2017, 03:04:47 PM
I'd find any excuse to hire out the BeerBQ - that was by far the best trailer at Mansfield
Post by: Bird on May 07, 2017, 03:11:53 PM
www.rawnsleypark.com.au/ (http://www.rawnsleypark.com.au/)
has everything, massive joint, can have your own spot... has showers, dunnys Shitloads of driving to do, sights to see etc..  just no power, but theres more sun than everyone could ever need
Post by: wakychapmans on May 07, 2017, 04:41:48 PM
has everything, massive joint, can have your own spot... has showers, dunnys Shitloads of driving to do, sights to see etc..  just no power, but theres more sun than everyone could ever need

been there... great place. and they like dogs too.

Post by: JCOJ on May 07, 2017, 07:13:50 PM
And there are powered sites there too.
Just we couldn't have the place to ourself and the central undercover gathering area may be difficult too.
However, happy to look into it further.
Post by: MarkVS on May 07, 2017, 07:54:01 PM

It reads as a fabulous place
Post by: Bird on May 08, 2017, 09:01:00 AM
Quote from: JCOJ
And there are powered sites there too.
Just we couldn't have the place to ourself and the central undercover gathering area may be difficult too.
However, happy to look into it further.
I'm sure a few gazebos' could be had.. not that you'd need much there - its not Melbourne weather ;)

not have it to ourself, the paddock we had down the back when we went there was massive and you woke up looking directly at the Pound wall :D
Post by: Rusty on May 11, 2017, 08:31:35 AM

Just had a look on there web site looks good hopefully you can get some people to help you out

Rusty
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 12, 2017, 04:24:06 PM
We didn't Jeeps just picked the most midgee infested swamp he could find and said "F6ck em all that'll do."

Ya forgot, it had to close to home for me. :D
Post by: ehsc on May 13, 2017, 07:05:19 AM
Some where in the corner country would be good , it's central to everyone.

:cheers: :cheers:ehsc

Post by: Isuzumu on May 13, 2017, 07:51:39 PM
Some where in the corner country would be good , it's central to everyone.

:cheers: :cheers:ehsc

We are in that area now Troy and there would be heaps of places to hold a meet around say Eulo, Hungerford, Thargomindah etc, but not many members out this way to organise anything. Unless you want to do a trip out this way with us some time to check it out hahaha.
Post by: ehsc on May 13, 2017, 08:11:41 PM
We are in that area now Troy and there would be heaps of places to hold a meet around say Eulo, Hungerford, Thargomindah etc, but not many members out this way to organise anything. Unless you want to do a trip out this way with us some time to check it out hahaha.

Sounds like maybe a plan Bruce.

Post by: AdrianLR on May 13, 2017, 08:44:37 PM
Bruce, just the other day I was thinking about the ExplorOz meet at Innamincka all those years ago where we first met at Cameron Corner. A great location.
Post by: Isuzumu on May 15, 2017, 05:39:11 PM
Bruce, just the other day I was thinking about the ExplorOz meet at Innamincka all those years ago where we first met at Cameron Corner. A great location.

Yes Adrian plenty to do out there thats for sure mate.
Post by: MrCruza on May 19, 2017, 07:57:47 PM

Jeez, that's  a blast from the past :) I remember that meeting too.  :cheers:
Post by: Isuzumu on May 19, 2017, 08:11:47 PM
Jeez, that's  a blast from the past :) I remember that meeting too.  :cheers:

Was a good trip, I have a photo of a few of us going up the Bore Track, have to see if I can find it  :D
Post by: AdrianLR on May 19, 2017, 08:49:13 PM
Was a good trip, I have a photo of a few of us going up the Bore Track, have to see if I can find it  :D
Here are a couple:
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170519/c56b6f56b3ca44b142f6e3a837d5fd35.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170519/b333058d37992f7b656afe92563717a9.jpg)
Post by: Isuzumu on May 20, 2017, 08:14:24 AM
Here are a couple:
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170519/c56b6f56b3ca44b142f6e3a837d5fd35.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170519/b333058d37992f7b656afe92563717a9.jpg)

Good one Adrian, what was the head line in the photo on the Bore Track "Vicky Viscount and the Supremes"
Thanks mate.
Post by: Jillsy on May 24, 2017, 08:29:45 PM
Folks

Venue nominations close 31st July 2017.

A reminder that the rules for nominating a prospective venue for the 2019 Myswag.org National Meet are as follows:
1.     Don't nominate it unless you and at least two other Myswag Members are 
        happy to assume responsibility for organising a Meet there.
2.     Please don't nominate a location, please nominate a venue. For example, instead of   
        nominating "Grafton area", nominate "Nymboida Canoe Centre, Nymboida".
3.     Nominate a time of your ie Summer, Autumn, Winter or Spring (when will your Venue be most enjoyable).
     *Permit camp fires

Full details regarding how to nominate a venue are in this thread ---> http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52115.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52115.0)
Post by: JCOJ on May 29, 2017, 02:16:07 PM
Still 2 months to go before nominations close, but we thought we would put up at least an option incase nothing transpires from the preferred states as it would be a shame not to have anything.
Post by: MarkVS on May 29, 2017, 02:44:17 PM
Still 2 months to go before nominations close, but we thought we would put up at least an option incase nothing transpires from the preferred states as it would be a shame not to have anything.

Well done on the nomination.... :cup:
Post by: Rusty on May 29, 2017, 03:00:57 PM
looks good so who else is putting one up

I heard uncle Jeepers is looking somewhere also

Rusty
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 29, 2017, 03:52:41 PM
No he's not..... ???

We did our bit and held the 2015 meet.  :cup:
Post by: Bird on May 29, 2017, 03:59:13 PM
I reckon Rawnsley is great.. Lover it there myself.
Also pretty central to majority of people even from the West...

You'll never please everyone.
Post by: Bad Scott on May 29, 2017, 05:29:20 PM
Woohoo, sounds good
Post by: peter01 on May 29, 2017, 05:45:38 PM

Great dates, Anzac day is on the Thursday easy week to get home
Post by: Jillsy on May 30, 2017, 07:15:28 PM

Great work Team SA! We stayed at Rawnsley Park enroute to the 2011 National Meet and LOVED it!
Post by: listo on May 30, 2017, 07:53:31 PM
If that's where it ends up being, we will be there. Not as far from here as I thought  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on May 30, 2017, 08:27:17 PM
Great location... :cup: :cup:

I reckon we'll be there, wherever it's held.

Post by: Hairs on May 30, 2017, 09:16:19 PM
Hey    listo,
Another ale or two, always is on the cards  :cheers:

Geoff,
Yep, planning to be there, hoping Fysh(karen) can join us this time.
Travel safe guys.
Post by: GeoffA on May 30, 2017, 09:35:21 PM
Geoff,
Yep, planning to be there, hoping Fysh(karen) can join us this time.

You have a tradition to uphold Jon.
Would be great if Karen could be there as well.
 :cup: :cup:
Post by: Hairs on May 31, 2017, 09:43:45 AM
The light at the end of the tunnel is,
The 2019 National Meet's Camp Fire 👌
Looking forward to it 😁

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

Post by: listo on May 31, 2017, 09:01:21 PM
Hey    listo,
Another ale or two, always is on the cards  :cheers:

Looking forward to it mate, wherever it is, we'll most likely be there  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on May 31, 2017, 09:02:03 PM
👍

Post by: DrewXT on May 31, 2017, 09:27:41 PM
We'd be happy to travel within a couple of days of Melbourne - wouldn't mind getting back to Rawnsley Park and combine it with a Flinders trip for the family

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: Jillsy on June 19, 2017, 08:13:55 AM
Anymore nominations?
Post by: KingBilly on June 19, 2017, 10:14:47 AM

Wow, just caught up on this thread.  Well done John and team for the nomination  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:  John is an absolute craker of an organiser and the location looks fantastic.  Just hope we can get there  ;D

Post by: Bad Scott on June 20, 2017, 07:56:57 AM
Wow, just caught up on this thread.  Well done John and team for the nomination  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:  John is an absolute craker of an organiser and the location looks fantastic.  Just hope we can get there  ;D

You'll be there 😁
Post by: KingBilly on June 20, 2017, 08:30:45 AM
You'll be there 😁

Mate, if you will be, I will

Post by: Rusty on June 20, 2017, 08:37:13 AM

vb time again

Rusty
Post by: KingBilly on June 20, 2017, 08:39:54 AM
vb time again

Rusty

Enough from the peanut gallery

Think we should keep it local

Post by: Rusty on June 20, 2017, 08:41:54 AM
you are on you own there kingbilly

Rusty
Post by: speewa158 on June 20, 2017, 09:14:20 AM
Enough from the peanut gallery

Think we should keep it local

Not going the that Happy Hour  , more like a Grummpy 60 seconds    :o :o
Post by: Mace on June 20, 2017, 11:42:06 AM
Was thinking about doing one for down here, but I think somewhere a bit further north than this years High Country meet is a better idea going forward for 2019.

Perhaps an "International"  meet at Rivers Edge in 2021.

http://www.riversedgecamping.com.au/ (http://www.riversedgecamping.com.au/)

Rawnsley Park is a great location.

Post by: Brodie Tas on June 20, 2017, 04:46:25 PM
Was thinking about doing one for down here, but I think somewhere a bit further north than this years High Country meet is a better idea going forward for 2019.

Perhaps an "International"  meet at Rivers Edge in 2021.

http://www.riversedgecamping.com.au/ (http://www.riversedgecamping.com.au/)

Rawnsley Park is a great location.

Sounds good to me not a bad spot there
Post by: Bad Scott on June 20, 2017, 06:39:51 PM

Got my leave approved. It's very rare, but I have a good boss.   >:D  :cup: :cheers:

I'll leave that beer all for you  ;D
I'll get your snow Peak fire glowing  >:D >:D >:D
Post by: Hairs on July 08, 2017, 07:27:50 PM
Time is running out real quick,
Do we have any other nominations  ???
The clock is ticking  8)
Awesome effort to put your hand up guys,  JCOJ, smartyingreen, and db.
In 2011, we didn't get to see a lot of the Flinder's that we would of hope to of before the National meet in Wilmington, this gives us a crack at seeing a lot more.
We are making plans now to attend where ever it is.

Post by: listo on July 08, 2017, 08:04:00 PM
I've been counting the days down for nominations to close too & we've been hoping that it's down there. We're already looking into going via Ayers Rock for a bit of a road trip
Post by: fuji on July 14, 2017, 07:14:29 PM
Chambers Pillar, NT south of Alice Springs

Dogs??
Post by: Cloud Basher on July 17, 2017, 08:35:36 PM
Jillsy and crew,
I have only just got back onto Myswag after a hiatus after we sold our camper trailer in 2014. 

Anyway what this means is I don't know of any MySwaggers in Newcastle who would be able to help me organise the 2019 National meet but I do have one of the pearls of places that is available and could easily cater for everyone and ticks every box you mention I believe.

Anyway have a look at this and see what you think.  If there are other local Newcastle or surrounds members who might be happy to meet up and see if we would be happy working together if you are interested in this option then happy ti investigate.

Riverwood Downs - in the foothills of Barrington Tops.

http://www.riverwooddowns.com.au/# (http://www.riverwooddowns.com.au/#)!LOCATION

CB
Post by: Frostd on July 17, 2017, 08:59:46 PM
Jillsy and crew,
I have only just got back onto Myswag after a hiatus after we sold our camper trailer in 2014. 

Anyway what this means is I don't know of any MySwaggers in Newcastle who would be able to help me organise the 2019 National meet but I do have one of the pearls of places that is available and could easily cater for everyone and ticks every box you mention I believe.

Anyway have a look at this and see what you think.  If there are other local Newcastle or surrounds members who might be happy to meet up and see if we would be happy working together if you are interested in this option then happy ti investigate.

http://www.riverwooddowns.com.au/# (http://www.riverwooddowns.com.au/#)!LOCATION

CB

CB,  Just checked out their website. Great looking spot. :)

Frostd
Post by: Ben.Archer on July 18, 2017, 06:02:01 AM
I'd be willing to assist with any meet at barrington tops.
Post by: wakychapmans on July 18, 2017, 01:21:42 PM

wife and I went there last year. Puppy was welcome. Nice river frontage and plenty of places for swimming. Certainly wouldn't want to go in winter though... or Easter for that matter... (we went in mid November and it perfect)
Post by: Cloud Basher on July 18, 2017, 01:39:02 PM
Wayne,
I am thinking September school holidays may work, and with this much notice we could certainly book a good portion of the place out?

CB
Post by: xcvator on July 18, 2017, 03:12:49 PM
Rawnsley Park is a great spot, the only thing I can think of against it is getting firewwod  ???
Post by: Bird on July 18, 2017, 03:25:25 PM
Rawnsley Park is a great spot, the only thing I can think of against it is getting firewwod  ???

http://www.campibulkfirewoodsupplies.com/ (http://www.campibulkfirewoodsupplies.com/)
"Firewood Blocks start from $175 (plus GST) per tonne for delivery to metropolitan Melbourne (minimum 40 tonne load). "

"Split Firewood pieces start from $200 (plus GST) per tonne for delivery to metropolitan Melbourne (minimum 40 tonne load)."
(http://www.campibulkfirewoodsupplies.com/uploads/1/6/7/3/16733794/5482056.jpg)
IM THERE!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Bad Scott on July 18, 2017, 06:56:18 PM
http://www.campibulkfirewoodsupplies.com/ (http://www.campibulkfirewoodsupplies.com/)
"Firewood Blocks start from $175 (plus GST) per tonne for delivery to metropolitan Melbourne (minimum 40 tonne load). "

"Split Firewood pieces start from $200 (plus GST) per tonne for delivery to metropolitan Melbourne (minimum 40 tonne load)."
(http://www.campibulkfirewoodsupplies.com/uploads/1/6/7/3/16733794/5482056.jpg)
IM THERE!!!!!!!!!!

And We WILL burn every piece  >:D >:D >:D
Challenge Accepted  :cup: :cup:
Post by: Bird on July 18, 2017, 07:03:40 PM
And We WILL burn every piece  >:D >:D >:D
Challenge Accepted  :cup: :cup:
(http://egotvonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/Huge-Bonfire-20.jpg)
Post by: Bad Scott on July 18, 2017, 07:05:55 PM
(http://egotvonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/Huge-Bonfire-20.jpg)

That's just the cooking fire right :angel:
Post by: JCOJ on July 18, 2017, 09:01:37 PM

Should the MSNM be held at Rawnsley, I will ensure there is plenty of firewood.
Post by: Hairs on July 18, 2017, 09:20:19 PM
There's the spirit. 😊

Post by: Jillsy on July 21, 2017, 12:40:22 PM
Not long till nominations close Folks! 
Post by: ehsc on July 23, 2017, 06:49:55 AM
Welcome back Cloud Basher, looks good. It's a beautiful part of the world around there.

Post by: Hairs on July 26, 2017, 08:46:46 PM
Ready, Set, Go.
5 days to go,
Till we know,
Where we go.

Post by: GeoffA on July 26, 2017, 08:48:58 PM
Is that so?
Well there you go...
Post by: speewa158 on July 26, 2017, 08:50:46 PM
Is that so?
Well there you go...    & that's exact  where you are  :cup: :cup:
Post by: Hairs on July 26, 2017, 08:52:04 PM
Got No idea Geoff,
Where ever it is, we'll be there.
And Fysh this time  ;D
Travel safe mate  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on July 26, 2017, 08:53:28 PM
where you are  :cup: :cup:
I'm there  8)
Post by: Fizzie on August 01, 2017, 06:59:30 AM
It would sort of appear that we're all going to South Aussie ??? :D
Post by: GeoffA on August 01, 2017, 07:05:49 AM
That's fine with me....
Post by: MarkVS on August 01, 2017, 07:45:15 AM
Already planning it out....
Post by: MrCruza on August 01, 2017, 08:14:56 AM
Hmmm... Brizvegas to Flinders via the Darling River run. Then home via the Madigan line..

BRING IT ON!!   ;D
Post by: Hairs on August 01, 2017, 06:29:59 PM
Hmmm... Brizvegas to Flinders via the Darling River run. Then home via the Madigan line..

BRING IT ON!!   ;D
I know, the choices are a plenty.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on August 02, 2017, 04:03:31 PM
Spose i better pull my finger out and buy another camper trailer then since i sold the goldstream
Post by: Bird on August 02, 2017, 04:30:31 PM
Quote from: Fizzie
It would sort of appear that we're all going to South Aussie ??? :D
Top spot..
Title: Re: 2019 Myswag.org National Meet @ Rawnsley Park, SA - Discussion Thread
Post by: Blinky Bill on August 18, 2017, 11:50:25 AM
Thanks for the advice about the Flinders Ranges in 2019. As soon as I told the good lady she said 'you beauty, let's aim for that'. We have been wanting to go there for some time and here's the perfect excuse.  :laugh:
Title: Re: 2019 Myswag.org National Meet @ Rawnsley Park, SA - Discussion Thread
Post by: Bird on August 18, 2017, 01:31:52 PM
have we thought of dates
Post by: Jillsy on August 18, 2017, 01:47:53 PM
have we thought of dates

See below Mate  :cheers:

Organisers: JCOJ, smartyingreen, and db
Time of Year: Easter 2019: Friday 19th - Monday 22nd April, 2019
Post by: Bird on August 18, 2017, 01:51:02 PM
I'll start planning in 19 months.
Post by: Jillsy on August 18, 2017, 02:20:31 PM

;D ;D ;D
Post by: Hairs on August 20, 2017, 06:16:41 PM
Locked in,
Another road trip with the young fella, And this time Fysh will be flying to Adelaide where we will meet her and then head North.
Look out Speewa, She who shall be obeyed will be there  8)
Post by: MarkGU on August 20, 2017, 06:23:54 PM

Was so looking forward to coming to the next Nat meet but easter, count us out  :'(
Post by: Jillsy on August 20, 2017, 08:28:47 PM

Was so looking forward to coming to the next Nat meet but easter, count us out  :'(

Have you already got plans?
Post by: listo on August 20, 2017, 09:23:54 PM
We'll be there, we can't wait!
Post by: MarkGU on August 21, 2017, 09:06:48 AM
Have you already got plans?
yeah Jill, we have had a my swag meet every easter at Levuka for the last 9 years.
Plus, travelling down this way at easter time on the highways is just plain horrendous.

Post by: Gandalf the White on August 21, 2017, 10:04:36 AM
Dates locked in and hoping to back another trip off it into central Aus. Looking forward to it.
Post by: Bird on August 21, 2017, 10:51:18 AM
I don't know what I'm doing in 19 days time let alone months.. LOL
Post by: envee on August 21, 2017, 11:42:45 AM
We'll be on the road by then so should be able to work it into our plans.   :cheers:
Post by: KingBilly on August 21, 2017, 01:20:23 PM
Can I bring my new pooch?

Post by: Hairs on August 21, 2017, 06:30:06 PM
Can I bring my new pooch?

I was just looking through their web site, doesn't appear to mention Fido  :'(
Post by: Hairs on August 21, 2017, 07:09:58 PM
I'll ask JCOJ if he can chase it up Folks and find out either way...
Thanks Jillsy  :cheers:
Post by: Jillsy on August 21, 2017, 07:10:47 PM
Turns out he already found out  ;D

Do They Allow Pets: Pets are allowed as long as they are kept on a leash

Post by: Hairs on August 21, 2017, 07:12:15 PM
Awesome,
Thank You  :cup:
Post by: Bad Scott on August 21, 2017, 07:37:17 PM
Were locked and loaded.  :cheers:
Lets hope we can have one small fire.  >:D >:D >:D and a cooking fire  8)

KB you doing your usual Thirsty Thursday Pooch thing again with swannie???  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: peter01 on August 21, 2017, 07:57:52 PM

KB you doing your usual Thirsty Thursday Pooch thing again with swannie???  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: Jillsy on August 21, 2017, 09:02:22 PM
yeah Jill, we have had a my swag meet every easter at Levuka for the last 9 years.
Plus, travelling down this way at easter time on the highways is just plain horrendous.

Perhaps you could change it up in 2019 and come to the National Meet instead and see something different (other than Levuka)?  You'll have plenty of time between now and then to plan your trip so that you aren't using the highways?  I know that when Brett and I plan our trips we avoid the highways as much as possible so that we get to really explore the areas we pass through.

Your call though Mate  :cheers:
Post by: KingBilly on August 21, 2017, 09:23:41 PM

I'm up for it if Greg is  ;D ;D ;D

Holidays booked.  Wouldn't miss a JCOJ event for anything  :cup:

Post by: brickiematt on August 21, 2017, 09:37:04 PM
I'm up for it if Greg is  ;D ;D ;D

Holidays booked.  Wouldn't miss a JCOJ event for anything  :cup:

Hmmmmmm......... >:D >:D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: KingBilly on August 21, 2017, 09:51:24 PM
Hmmmmmm......... >:D >:D ;D ;D ;D

Hey, leave me alone  ;D

Post by: ScarpsD40 on August 27, 2017, 09:17:17 AM
Cool, I should be out by then.
Post by: Bad Scott on August 27, 2017, 09:28:19 AM
Day release Today??
Post by: GeoffA on August 27, 2017, 09:30:18 AM
Day release Today??

...or a slip-up??
Post by: Bad Scott on August 27, 2017, 09:33:10 AM
...or a slip-up??
Na. Day release. Must mean he's getting closer to the end
Post by: speewa158 on August 27, 2017, 09:01:20 PM

Frits Release the Dogs      Scarps   Has Escaped        >:D      AGAIN  :police:

Less Marcy this time            :( :( :(        ::) 
Post by: Rusty on January 18, 2018, 09:46:19 AM
Holidays are approved so all good for the one will have about 2.5 weeks to get there and back from Bundy

Just waiting for my trip planner to do the itinerary for me

Rusty
Post by: xcvator on January 18, 2018, 10:51:31 AM

So you're not going then,  :'( >:D
Post by: Bird on January 18, 2018, 10:55:03 AM
Quote from: xcvator
So you're not going then,  :'( >:D

I don't know what I'm doing Australia day - this year.. ****ed if I know what I'm doing in March, or Easter or June, let alone next year.
Post by: VKPrado on January 18, 2018, 02:13:19 PM
We are look at the logistics of this as we are doing a lap in the centre and will be going right past Rawnsley Park.

We have stayed there before and found it to be good place.
Post by: Tim - Stratford on February 22, 2018, 09:13:37 PM
Long service leave application in.....hopefully early enough!  ;D

Tim
Post by: JCOJ on February 24, 2018, 10:35:31 AM
Sounds great Tim!

Lots of info to come after this year's Easter as I will be up there for a week doing lots of planning!
Post by: tracker on April 12, 2018, 07:26:25 AM

Just run the dates past the wife..... She sounds pretty keen... Just a short drive from Mackay.....

Hoping to be able to attend......  Cheers Tracker.
Post by: Fizzie on April 19, 2018, 09:26:41 AM
My BiL & his Mrs have just stayed at Rawnsley Park last week on their lap.

His comment "Rawnsley Park Station (the last word in dustiness) but the atmosphere of the place was nice." ;D
Post by: JCOJ on April 19, 2018, 11:34:20 AM
My BiL & his Mrs have just stayed at Rawnsley Park last week on their lap.

His comment "Rawnsley Park Station (the last word in dustiness) but the atmosphere of the place was nice." ;D

So far from Jan - Apr 2018 they have only had 15.2mm of rain whereas the average for that time period is 72.9mm.  It's been a very dry year for them so far, hence the dust.

Post by: Bird on April 19, 2018, 12:12:42 PM
Rawnsley Park is heaven in any condition  :cup:
Post by: Fizzie on April 19, 2018, 08:10:09 PM
Hope it returns to normal levels of damperishness next year then :-\
Post by: Nikki and Malcolm on April 24, 2018, 01:13:26 PM
We are definitely in. Have stayed here twice and it's a great spot and a perfect base for seeing the area. Looking forward to it! :cheers:
Post by: oldblade on April 24, 2018, 07:55:41 PM
We have done Rawsley park a couple of times but the second time during school holidays we then mid way through our stay we found

http://alpanastation.com (http://alpanastation.com)

WOW just WOW

4x4ing heaps of space and just a great place check it out you won't be disappointed

next time we are back in the Flinders we are going straight there
Post by: Rumpig on April 25, 2018, 06:17:57 AM
We have done Rawsley park a couple of times but the second time during school holidays we then mid way through our stay we found

http://alpanastation.com (http://alpanastation.com)

WOW just WOW

4x4ing heaps of space and just a great place check it out you won't be disappointed

next time we are back in the Flinders we are going straight there
looks like it only has 4 powered sites, so unsuitable to hold the National Meet at on It's criteria of what's needed to host the event from memory.
Post by: GeoffA on April 25, 2018, 09:09:42 AM
looks like it only has 4 powered sites, so unsuitable to hold the National Meet at on It's criteria of what's needed to host the event from memory.

"Alpana offers 4 powered sites with private ensuite bathrooms that are perfect for campers and caravanners visiting the Central Flinders Ranges. Modern and clean, they add convenience to your holiday experience. The sites are adjacent to our shearers' quarters in the homestead area and on the tree-lined banks of Alpana Creek. The shelter next to the bathrooms has a gas BBQ, table, bench seats and fire pit for general use. The Ensuite bathrooms offer a shower, toilet, hand basin and wash trough with hot water on tap and are easily accessed by standard cars and vans on a sealed road from Wilpena Pound with a 300m dirt driveway.

There are 4 powered sites in the Trees Area Campground strictly for self-contained vans.
"

I count 8 powered sites Mal. That may be enough for a NM (with needs-based allocation), but it doesn't matter, 'cos Rawnsley Park is the selected venue.

Post by: Rumpig on April 25, 2018, 02:06:05 PM
"Alpana offers 4 powered sites with private ensuite bathrooms that are perfect for campers and caravanners visiting the Central Flinders Ranges. Modern and clean, they add convenience to your holiday experience. The sites are adjacent to our shearers' quarters in the homestead area and on the tree-lined banks of Alpana Creek. The shelter next to the bathrooms has a gas BBQ, table, bench seats and fire pit for general use. The Ensuite bathrooms offer a shower, toilet, hand basin and wash trough with hot water on tap and are easily accessed by standard cars and vans on a sealed road from Wilpena Pound with a 300m dirt driveway.

There are 4 powered sites in the Trees Area Campground strictly for self-contained vans.
"

I count 8 powered sites Mal. That may be enough for a NM (with needs-based allocation), but it doesn't matter, 'cos Rawnsley Park is the selected venue.

all of which means little to me in the end, because I have a family wedding to attend that weekend  ::)
Might be an idea for someone to include the dates in the title I would suggest, because page one of this t thread doesn't have the details, and I'm unsure where they are actually mentioned.
Post by: GeoffA on April 25, 2018, 02:09:15 PM
all of which means little to me in the end, because I have a family wedding to attend that weekend  ::)

...bugger...
Post by: Rumpig on April 25, 2018, 02:11:41 PM
...bugger...
yeah, lets just say i'm not real happy about the date they choose...lol....but it was chosen about a year ago apparently
Post by: Charlie Brown on April 25, 2018, 04:10:13 PM
Announced 9th August

Book your leave and plan your trips Swaggers so that you can join us for the 5th Myswag.org Biennial National Meet - Friday 19th - Monday 22nd April, 2019 (the Easter Long Weekend)
Title: Re: 2019 Myswag.org National Meet @ Rawnsley Park, SA (Easter) - Discussion Thread
Post by: tracker on July 02, 2018, 01:10:40 PM

Just trying to fine tune departure and travel times to orginize leave ect. to be able to attend 2019 Nat. meet....... Looking not to bad at the momnent.  Not sure as to which way to go down... or back..... Any suggestions from any other Swaggers traveling from up QLD way ??....... MB. just wing it .

Title: Re: 2019 Myswag.org National Meet @ Rawnsley Park, SA (Easter) - Discussion Thread
Post by: Rusty on July 04, 2018, 03:25:30 PM
    Just trying to fine tune departure and travel times to orginize leave ect. to be able to attend 2019 Nat. meet....... Looking not to bad at the momnent.  Not sure as to which way to go down... or back..... Any suggestions from any other Swaggers traveling from up QLD way ??....... MB. just wing it .

Tracker we are leaving Bundy Thursday 11th April and meeting up with some rowdy bunch from Rocky on the way. Not real sure on exact way to go yet but are heading to Adelaide before the meet. Will put up itinerary once it is done

Rusty

Post by: xcvator on July 04, 2018, 04:50:04 PM
Love Rawnsley Park, but not at those prices, too rich for me  :'(   
Post by: Ben.Archer on July 04, 2018, 07:07:37 PM
Sadly we are out, was really looking forward to it, but just going to be too expensive - we were shocked when we saw the costs, especially the difference between powered and unpowered sites when you take the whole family into consideration.

Sure those that do go will have a great time like we did in Mansfield last year.  Have fun :-)
Post by: Hairs on July 04, 2018, 07:16:40 PM
250 odd bucks for us for the 4 nights,
Maybe more depending on how long we stay using it as a base camp.
In the scheme of the trip that's just part of the adventure.
Safe travels

Post by: brickiematt on July 05, 2018, 06:06:12 AM
We'd love to go, but one of my mates has decided that Easter next year would be a great time to get married....... >:( >:(  He must have got a cheap deal >:D
It'll no doubt be a fantastic meet, we've been on a few trips with John and he organises a great event!
Have fun all ;D
Post by: MrCruza on July 05, 2018, 08:01:34 AM
We'd love to go, but one of my mates has decided that Easter next year would be a great time to get married....... >:( >:(  He must have got a cheap deal >:D
It'll no doubt be a fantastic meet, we've been on a few trips with John and he organises a great event!
Have fun all ;D

Bummer.. Was looking forward to catching up. Will be in your neighborhood over Xmas so might give you a buz..
Post by: Rumpig on July 05, 2018, 11:59:50 AM
Have fun all ;D
my nephew is doing the same thing....why would you ruin a 4 day break with a wedding?
Post by: brickiematt on July 05, 2018, 03:48:05 PM
Bummer.. Was looking forward to catching up. Will be in your neighborhood over Xmas so might give you a buz..

Sounds good John, it'd be great to catch up!
Post by: brickiematt on July 05, 2018, 03:49:49 PM
my nephew is doing the same thing....why would you ruin a 4 day break with a wedding?

Yeah, my thoughts exactly.
Bloody rude I reckon  ;D :D
Post by: listo on July 09, 2018, 09:11:22 PM
I was a bit alarmed at the price too, for a powered site, 2 adults, 2 kids I’ve got at $69 a night if my maths doesn’t fail me?
That’s pretty close with a lot of big 4 parks & they won’t have the high quality clientele that Rawnsley will have over that weekend  ;D
Post by: Marcus73 on July 09, 2018, 09:28:20 PM
I was a bit alarmed at the price too, for a powered site, 2 adults, 2 kids I’ve got at $69 a night if my maths doesn’t fail me?
That’s pretty close with a lot of big 4 parks & they won’t have the high quality clientele that Rawnsley will have over that weekend  ;D

Bird's not coming then?  :)
The price is a bit steep but if they can they will I suppose

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy
Post by: JCOJ on July 10, 2018, 06:29:58 PM

Regarding the pricing - yes it is up there, and more than we wanted it to be.  However the biggest expense we have is the actual cost of the accommodation that Rawnsley are charging us. We have added $0 to the kids prices, and very little to the adults prices to keep the overall cost as low as we can, but this means running the rest of the Meet on an absolute busted shoestring budget!!
We are 'hoping' we get the support of you guys to actually make it to the Meet just to cover the cost to Rawnsley we have to pay regardless of the numbers that do show up, not alone the other things.

Rawnsley is pretty remote and 450km from Adelaide so to give you an idea of what we're up against, we had the idea of getting a marquee in case the weather turns bad as it would be a communal place we could all hang out - we had quotes of up to $3,500 as it has to come from Adelaide!!  Needless to say we canned that idea pretty quickly, but even essential things like firewood has to be bought.

We released the pricing as early as possible which would hopefully give you enough time to save to enable as many people to attend what is this awesome every second year event.

Also, if there is any money left over at the end, no one makes any profit out of it, but rather it goes to supporting this wonderful forum that we all enjoy so much.
Post by: Hairs on July 10, 2018, 06:56:03 PM
Hi guys
You don't have to explain it,
Either members will come/attend or they wont.
I'm busting an arse to get there.
Cheers :)

"Built it and they will come"
Thank you to Bigjules for that quote, when I asked about maybe hosting a meet at Nymbodia. This was when I attended our first meet at the 2011 national meet at Wilmington.
A few swags got together and it happened.

Post by: Bird on July 10, 2018, 07:15:02 PM
Hi guys
You don't have to explain it,
what he said.
Post by: listo on July 10, 2018, 08:34:16 PM
Well said Hairs, plenty of time to save up & it’ll be another great family adventure. Can’t wait!
Post by: JCOJ on July 12, 2018, 01:59:59 PM
OK - this pricing issue has been really getting to me.

I have gone back to Rawnsley and have been able to negotiate a 3 night minimum for both powered and unpowered sites instead of the previous 4 night minimum.

The pricing amount for each night will still stay the same (I couldn't do anything about that), but if you only wanted to stay the three nights that is fine. (Of course you can stay as long as you want to if it is more than the 3 nights).

For those that have booked already I have sent you a PM or e-mail.

Thanks.
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2018, 03:30:56 PM
Quote from: JCOJ
The pricing amount for each night will still stay the same

I would have thought they would be keen as mustard to have this many people turn up... Must be making too much $.
Is it too late to look for somewhere else close by that may want a few thousand $?
Post by: JCOJ on July 12, 2018, 05:11:19 PM
Is it too late to look for somewhere else close by that may want a few thousand $?

1) There has been waaay too much time and effort gone in so far to move it at this stage
2) I am not at all keen on losing the big deposit that had to be paid to secure this many campsites over an Easter weekend
3) Wilpena Pound Campgound's pricing was very much the same but they couldn't offer us what Rawnsley could in terms of other things we requested
4) Willow Springs doesn't offer any powered sites at all
5) Alpana Station is not big enough to accommodate all of us
6) This will be an awesome weekend as it is and will be well worth it
Post by: Marcus73 on July 12, 2018, 05:26:25 PM
Totally agree with what Hairs said. To be honest when I replied originally I’d only had a boys look and must have skipped the inclusions.... my bad. Still booked on that basis so now it’s just a bonus.

Post by: Hairs on July 12, 2018, 06:21:15 PM
OK - this pricing issue has been really getting to me.

I have gone back to Rawnsley and have been able to negotiate a 3 night minimum for both powered and unpowered sites instead of the previous 4 night minimum.

The pricing amount for each night will still stay the same (I couldn't do anything about that), but if you only wanted to stay the three nights that is fine. (Of course you can stay as long as you want to if it is more than the 3 nights).

For those that have booked already I have sent you a PM or e-mail.

Thanks.
You are a good man,
I appreciate your effort and time that you are putting in to making this an awesome National Meet for everyone.
Thanks mate.

Post by: Bird on July 12, 2018, 06:21:46 PM
1) There has been waaay too much time and effort gone in so far to move it at this stage
2) I am not at all keen on losing the big deposit that had to be paid to secure this many campsites over an Easter weekend
yea i understand, just expected more out of them to be honest. maybe Im still on the wrong planet.
Post by: GeoffA on July 12, 2018, 07:03:38 PM
Well we'll be there.....hope that doesn't put too many off..... ;D

Post by: Hairs on July 12, 2018, 07:43:10 PM
Well we'll be there.....hope that doesn't put too many off..... ;D

We haven't booked yet, waiting for the planets to line up, then it's on mate.

Post by: GeoffA on July 12, 2018, 08:20:15 PM
We haven't booked yet, waiting for the planets to line up, then it's on mate.

Looking forward to it Jon...
Post by: Hairs on July 12, 2018, 08:22:32 PM

Looking forward to it Jon...
Same mate.
Happy Days.

Post by: Wazza999 on July 12, 2018, 10:31:24 PM
Hi folks,
We've just booked for five days, Thursday to Tuesday as we figure we'll do some additional travel after the meet, the sort of thing one can do in retirement :) Thought there was no point in leaving on Easter Monday as we'll need to do a resupply before heading north (weather permitting) and will do a fuel top-up at Hawker prior to arrival. We will also need to stock up of fresh fruit and veg in SA once through the fruit fly quarantine zone, so plan on arriving on the Thursday. Looking forward to meeting people in person and testing out the new tug on a long trip.
Warren (Wazza999)
Post by: Bookleaf on July 15, 2018, 05:15:33 PM
They do have a fuel available at the camp site.
Fuel also available at Wilpena Pound resort a few KM up the road.
Post by: Wazza999 on July 15, 2018, 07:15:59 PM
They do have a fuel available at the camp site.
Fuel also available at Wilpena Pound resort a few KM up the road.
Thx, knew about Wilpena but not the campsite. I guess the Wilpena bowsers will be open over Easter?

Post by: JCOJ on July 15, 2018, 08:13:03 PM
Yes they will be.

The cheapest place for fuel is the Repco in Hawker then Rawnsley and Wilpena is the most expensive!
Post by: Bad Scott on July 16, 2018, 06:30:29 AM
We will be there. Haven’t booked yet. Firewood, I’ll see what we can put in the ute  >:D
Post by: vicandug on July 16, 2018, 06:39:55 PM
I have just seen this lol.
We will be there but didn’t even realise we had to book
Post by: Rusty on July 19, 2018, 08:00:02 PM
We will be there. Haven’t booked yet. Firewood, I’ll see what we can put in the ute  >:D
will be good to catch up again for a few  :cheers:does it get cold there that time of year like Mansfield

Rusty
Post by: Hairs on July 19, 2018, 08:45:50 PM
will be good to catch up again for a few  :cheers:does it get cold there that time of year like Mansfield

Rusty
Ya getting soft mate,
Mansfield wasn't cold

Post by: Bad Scott on July 20, 2018, 05:35:44 AM

Rusty
Cold, Na. It’ll be shorts n singlets weather.   8)  8)  8).  Bloody oath, Here’s to the  :cheers: and some great laughs again  :cup:
Post by: Tim - Stratford on July 24, 2018, 10:04:16 AM
Still waiting for the LSL to be approved......
Post by: Black Diamond on July 24, 2018, 10:00:39 PM
Just organising some leave so should be able to make a trip of it over a few weeks.
Would be good to catch up for a few sips  :cheers:
Post by: Tim - Stratford on July 26, 2018, 10:19:49 PM
Still waiting for the LSL to be approved......

Stuff waiting.....We're in!!!   ;D >:D :cheers:
Post by: DannyG on July 29, 2018, 08:02:14 PM
I just want everyone that meets Marcus73 at the National meet to know that I dont know him, never met him, have never had anything to do with him, anything he does or says has nothing to do with me.  ;D
Post by: Marcus73 on July 29, 2018, 08:07:04 PM
I just want everyone that meets Marcus73 at the National meet to know that I dont know him, never met him, have never had anything to do with him, anything he does or says has nothing to do with me.  ;D

I’ll back what he’s said 100%

Post by: JCOJ on August 28, 2018, 05:16:30 PM
Just an update for you as far as bookings go:

Powered Sites - Plenty still available.

Local Unpowered Sites - Only 6 left.

Remote Unpowered Sites - This area is unlimited.  There are already a few staying out here but room for plenty more.
Post by: JCOJ on October 19, 2018, 12:56:02 PM
Only 6 months to go!!!
Post by: Bad Scott on October 20, 2018, 04:51:15 AM
Woohoo 6 months
Post by: Rusty on October 21, 2018, 06:33:31 PM
Can’t wait

Rusty
Post by: Black Diamond on October 23, 2018, 07:48:54 PM
Yep looking forward to it  :cheers:
Post by: achjimmy on November 06, 2018, 03:50:06 PM
Yep looking forward to it  :cheers:

Yes us too
Post by: Hairs on November 06, 2018, 06:48:16 PM
Just a heads up,
We can't do.
Sent Brett & Jillsy a message.
Was still hoping to, but the straw that broke the camels snapped.
The 80 needs a rebuild on the injector pump.
Shit happens.
Look forward to the pics & stories that will come.
Safe travels
Have a blast

Post by: MrCruza on November 07, 2018, 11:06:01 AM
Just a heads up,
We can't do.
Shit happens.
Safe travels
Have a blast

Bugger  :'(
Post by: chester ver2.0 on November 07, 2018, 11:10:20 AM
Just a heads up,
We can't do.
Shit happens.
Safe travels
Have a blast

Pfffft its an 80 series hit the pump with a hammer a few times and start packing ;D

Post by: speewa158 on November 10, 2018, 10:31:28 AM
Anybody want to Swag<Mail Hairs to & from  ??? ??? ???
 Well its a thought          :-*                              :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on November 10, 2018, 01:57:54 PM
Don't think I would fit in a Glove Box

Post by: GeoffA on November 10, 2018, 02:57:53 PM
Don't think I would fit in a Glove Box

Maybe strapped onto a roof rack or camper top?
Post by: Hairs on November 10, 2018, 05:54:51 PM
Maybe strapped onto a roof rack or camper top?
That's the way I like to ride

Post by: Hairs on November 10, 2018, 05:58:54 PM

I wish it was that simple,
How good would it be to be, just to hit it on the head with a hammer, problem sorted
Solve alot of problems in life

Post by: Bad Scott on November 11, 2018, 06:57:17 AM
Anybody want to Swag<Mail Hairs to & from  ??? ??? ???
 Well its a thought          :-*                              :cheers:
One word. Scarps  :worthles: >:D
Post by: Briag Camper on February 02, 2019, 06:55:20 AM
My first time at the national meet and looking forward to it.    Have done a lot of 4wd'n and camping but I've just recently purchased a Lumberjack Johanna camper trailer which I've tested on a few short trips and will be bringing (along with the family).    We plan to leave Gippsland (Vic) on 11/04 and travel via The Great Ocean Rd, Robe, Adelaide and arrive on 18/04.     Will be great to meet some other forum members face to face.   
Post by: JCOJ on March 03, 2019, 04:19:12 PM
Just 7 weeks to go Swaggers!

Time to get those bookings in - all need to be confirmed by 9th April!!

Book Here and Don't Miss Out: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=54835.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=54835.0)
Post by: Marcus73 on March 03, 2019, 06:47:18 PM
Bring it on!!

Post by: Bad Scott on March 17, 2019, 06:41:31 PM
SWMBO asked a question, is there a laundry at Rawnsley Park. I couldn’t find any reference on the web page.
Post by: JCOJ on March 17, 2019, 07:27:17 PM
SWMBO asked a question, is there a laundry at Rawnsley Park. I couldn’t find any reference on the web page.

Yes there is a laundry.