Author Topic: 2022 (WAS 2021) Myswag.org National Meet 30/9-03/10/2022 Discussion Thread  (Read 45225 times)

Offline listo

Re: 2021 Myswag.org National Meet - Discussion Thread
« Reply #26 on: June 04, 2019, 09:02:08 PM »
Shit yeh! We’re doing the Cape that year for our 40th, it’d be good to tie this in

« Reply #27 on: June 05, 2019, 08:41:55 PM »
Just had a look taking my van over bit of a shock  but at least Brett and Jillsy’s bill will be more.

Rusty

::)

« Reply #28 on: June 08, 2019, 07:29:25 PM »
Looks good.
Two questions, Firewood and

you guessed it Firewood

« Reply #29 on: June 08, 2019, 08:23:35 PM »
Looks good.

you guessed it Firewood

It’s Queensland. Even we are swimming at Easter 😂😂😂

« Reply #30 on: June 08, 2019, 10:58:03 PM »
It’s Queensland. Even we are swimming at Easter
Sitting around a fire at night in board shorts and tank top. Sounds like the best of both worlds. You Victorians will just have to tone the camp fires down from an inferno to a more gentle bon fire level.

« Reply #31 on: June 09, 2019, 04:44:28 AM »
Sitting around a fire at night in board shorts and tank top. Sounds like the best of both worlds. You Victorians will just have to tone the camp fires down from an inferno to a more gentle bon fire level.

Us Vics don’t do a half ass job

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

Offline ehsc

• FIRE EARTH MOON STARS THATS LIVING
  • JUST DO IT
« Reply #32 on: June 09, 2019, 07:04:18 AM »
Organisers :Rusty,Ehsc and Isuzumu

Time of year : Easter 2021

Venue name : Wyper park scout camp

Maximum capacity :300 people we can book the whole place exclusive to My swag

Number of showers available ladies x5  men x5
Number of toilets available ladies x5 men x5 and x2 trough
There is 2 blocks at the camp

Powered sites : there is only 2 powered sites that will be held for people that really need it medical reasons ect

Bush camping : there is bush camping every where in the park

Campfires : there is some fire rings scattered through out the park and fire pits off the ground are permitted every where else

Pets : are allowed but must be kept on lead at all times

Communal gathering area: massive covered area with tables and chairs and spot next to it to have fires in drums (bad scott your job ;D)

i will put up some photos of the area also with Bundaberg being only 9.5ks away we have beaches to go explore the famous Bundaberg rum factory,Bundaberg ginger beer factory plus heaps more.Childers is only 30 mins away or Agnes water 90min.

i know Qld has had a turn but with no one putting up anything yet i thought i better put one in we don't want those Vic mob to do it again  ;D

Rusty

Some other activities in the area are Canoeing on the Burnett River and Lake Gregory a few Klms down the road, Bring own canoes, Also 4x4 driving in the Pine creek area not far away .

« Last Edit: July 16, 2019, 10:25:44 PM by Jillsy »
2017 Isuxu D-max
2003 Jayco Freedom Outback

« Reply #33 on: July 12, 2019, 04:53:27 PM »
2021 Myswag National Meet Nomination.

MYRTLE PARK, North East Tasmania.

1) Organisers- VKPrado, Mace, Danny G  (and others at the time)

2) Time of year- September school holidays 2021.  Potentially commencing Saturday 24th
     September, the middle weekend of  Vic, NSW & Qld Holidays and first weekend of
     Tas/SA/WA Holidays.

3) Venue name- Myrtle Park

4) Location- 38250 Tasman Hwy. 35km from Launceston & 30km from Scottsdale

5) Maximum capacity- 400 people plus.

6) Number of showers- 3 unisex

7) Number of toilets- 5 unisex (separate block also at hall)

.8) Number of powered and unpowered sites – Anticipated that sites 1 – 9 will be booked for
    Myswag use.  Each of these sites can accommodate 4 or 5 CT’s or Vans. No mains power
   but generators allowed.  The organising committee will consider provision of additional
   generators if required.

https://youtu.be/udoBlEqd1ss

Fees:  $7.50 per adult per night.  $15 per night Family (2 Adults & 2 Children)

9) Campfires- 2 Fire pits within sites 1 – 9.  Above ground fires allowed in portable fire pits and stoves. 
    Bring your own, or hire one from the shop on site. Firewood will be provided.

10) Communal area- BBQ x 4, microwave x 2, hall available for hire.

11) Miscellaneous- tennis courts, cricket grounds, river adjacent (fishing), fresh water supply, small shop. 
      Dogs permitted on lead and under control.

12) Why here:

•   easy to arrange day drives to nearby Bridport for a beach run
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FHSavKPjZ1w

or to Weldborough and the nearby iconic Pub in the Paddock @ Pyengana
http://pubinthepaddocktas.com.au/

VKPrado has drive notes already prepared and knows the local area well.

•   heaps of nearby wineries

•   The campground can be quickly accessed, within 1.5 hours travel from the Ferry Terminal at Devonport.

•   September school Holidays in Tasmania are not super busy like January or Easter Holidays. 
        You will have room to move in this (and any other campground on the island) location.  The proposed date
       (middle weekend of eastern big island school holidays) gives additional travelling/holiday times for those
       wanting to have a longer visit to the island.  The September/Oct period usually has pretty settled weather.

More images to come
Loooks magnificent!

CTL

« Reply #34 on: July 12, 2019, 06:58:15 PM »
How do we vote? Qld or Tas?

« Reply #35 on: July 12, 2019, 07:01:05 PM »
How do we vote? Qld or Tas?

We don't. Brett and Jillsy make the call....

CTL

« Reply #36 on: July 12, 2019, 07:04:09 PM »
Rodger.  Sorry, hard being a newbie

« Reply #37 on: July 12, 2019, 07:22:05 PM »
Rodger.  Sorry, hard being a newbie

No probs.

We'll be there, either way....

« Reply #38 on: July 12, 2019, 09:34:40 PM »
Looks awesome Mace n crew  :cup: :cup:

Edit: We’ll be there, where ever it is. Even got my leave approved  ;D

« Reply #39 on: July 12, 2019, 09:39:57 PM »
Looks good.

you guessed it Firewood

As the barman said to the pollar bear                                                          Why such a long pause                        ??
« Last Edit: July 16, 2019, 10:28:19 PM by Jillsy »

« Reply #40 on: July 12, 2019, 09:42:21 PM »
Looks good.

you guessed it Firewood

As the barman said to the pollar bear                                                          Why such a long pause                        ??

Because

I

Wanted

To

« Last Edit: July 16, 2019, 10:28:49 PM by Jillsy »

Offline VKPrado

« Reply #41 on: July 15, 2019, 08:52:23 AM »
If you can keep your length 10m and under the price stays the same but unfortunately if you go over 10.1m you pay extra by the meter.

You can only book 11 months in advance so it pays to book as soon as you can, especially if over 2.1m in height. It doesn't cost any more for the extra height, just that there is less places.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2019, 08:54:39 AM by VKPrado »

« Reply #42 on: July 15, 2019, 11:26:43 AM »
Re: tassie, I think the ferry price is reasonable but is you’re looking at the price just for the weekend plus a day or two either side than yes the numbers don’t stack up.

Our last trip was three weeks over Xmas, ferry cost spread over three weeks in tassie than the five weeks of the trip was a distant memory.

Agree tassie would affect numbers but it’s those that turn up that make the gathering. I reckon it would be no different to the big caravan clubs.

« Reply #43 on: July 15, 2019, 12:15:13 PM »
I always tell friends if they want to come over with a camper to come for at least 10 days.

Having the potential meet in the anticipated middle week of the most populated states school holidays gives mainlanders something to plan around.

If anyone wants to come for a shorter time I would swag it (like we did to the Mansfield National Meet) , or potentially team up with someone else and camp with a friend.

« Last Edit: July 15, 2019, 12:17:12 PM by Mace »

Offline VKPrado

« Reply #44 on: July 16, 2019, 04:19:56 PM »
People seem to forget just how long it takes to get to places in Tasmania due to the nature of the roads here. Yes they are twisty, yes they are narrow in places, yes the road conditions vary greatly from corner to corner, yes there are tourists on the road getting in the way, but at the end of the day the journey is part of the adventure.

Slow down and enjoy the scenery, smell nature and have a great time in the smallest state of Australia.

« Reply #45 on: August 01, 2019, 01:38:12 PM »
A decision has been made Folks! Standby for an announcement!

« Reply #46 on: August 01, 2019, 02:05:21 PM »
Congratulations Mace, VKPrado and DannyG! You’re hosting the 2021 National Meet at Myrtle Park in North East TASMANIA!!!

Book your leave Swaggers! You have just over 2 years to save up and plan for this amazing event!!!
« Last Edit: August 01, 2019, 02:28:19 PM by Jillsy »

« Reply #47 on: August 01, 2019, 02:19:09 PM »
Woohoo. Congrats team Tassie.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

« Reply #48 on: August 01, 2019, 03:59:38 PM »
Congrats guys. This sounds good, haven't been overseas for years. Might have to buy another hat  :laugh: :laugh:

« Reply #49 on: August 01, 2019, 05:21:41 PM »
I've upgraded my snorkel.

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA