Author Topic: Where To Stay - Fraser Island members Trip  (Read 26190 times)

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
Re: Where To Stay - Fraser Island members Trip
« Reply #25 on: February 16, 2010, 08:23:28 PM »
Thanks for the info D4D. Thats a real shame.

Oh well. What can you do. Guess the new kitchen will get a workout.

Offline seqfisho

• So much Australia, Never enough Holidays
Re: Where To Stay - Fraser Island Members Trip
« Reply #26 on: February 16, 2010, 08:26:25 PM »
After reading Ketsi's Moreton Island trip report I think it's a certainty that we will need to be camping beachfront with the Karaoke King himself!  :cup:

Seriously, we had discussed the option of Cathedral but as we initiated this trip with dreams of watching the ocean from our doorstep I think we will stick with that plan.  Also the complaints from our kids over the weekend about not getting to bath in the plastic tub and having to use the showers in the caravan park have also swayed us.  And while our girls still love the novelty of sitting on the porta-potti out in the middle of nowhere I think we should seize the opportunity. 

The camping zone we hope to stay in is right beside Cathedral so not too far for regular visits with our fellow swaggers.  ;D

Bring it on...............................................................

PS We're hoping Uncle Ketsi & Aunty Julie are up for some babysitting.  :angel:

Looks like it will at least 3 for the Ketsi Karaoke Kampground amongst the dunes :cup:
2007 Rodeo VCDi DCab, Reasonably stock no longer ;-)
Now Camperless

Offline Ketsi

• Going Nowhere - and can't wait to get there!!!
« Reply #27 on: February 17, 2010, 10:48:37 AM »
I reckon there will be enough to even the numbers up a little between 'Kamp Karaoke' and the 'Crocheting Campground Crowd'  8)  :angel:  >:D All under the one umbrella of the Myswag Fraser Fanatics team tho....  ;D

Cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #28 on: February 17, 2010, 12:34:41 PM »
I reckon there will be enough to even the numbers up a little between 'Kamp Karaoke' and the 'Crocheting Campground Crowd'  8)  :angel:  >:D All under the one umbrella of the Myswag Fraser Fanatics team tho....  ;D

Ketsi

BYO shower head and knitting needles!

Offline campercaz

• Look and Feel Great.. WHEREVER you are!!
« Reply #29 on: February 17, 2010, 05:33:15 PM »
Hi Guys

I have just come off Fraser Island at the beginning of January. You may wish to check out with the locals which camping areas are closed due to Dingoes. there were 3 or 4 areas closed while we were there due to aggressive behaviours (from the dogs... not the people).

Barges -
I used the Mantaray barge at Inskip Point. You can get a return ticket which works out a bit cheaper. You can purchase those at the national parks place just before you enter Rainbow Beach. It also allows you to get a fuel discount at the servo in town. It was 8c a litre discount in January. They can supply you witha  current beach/water/track/dingo/crocodile condition report as well, which I found really useful. And a current tide chart to avoid being stuck trying to get off the island at high tide  ;D

Frasers at Cathedral is a far cry from your standard Big4. But the pub next door is very good with lots of backpackers to make it interesting.

Camper Caz ;)

Offline MnMs

• 'Specialist Trip Stirrer'
« Reply #30 on: February 17, 2010, 11:38:03 PM »

Ketsi

Just ensure you leave all your needles and sharp objects in your crochet handbag before you come to our Karaoke party Ketsi :-*. There will be a few children loitering around our camps.........it's all fun and games till someone loses an eye.
How about the Serenity!!!!!!!

2010 Land Cruiser Twin Turbo Diesel V8 with mods.
Jayco Outback Expanda 18.57-6.

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #31 on: February 18, 2010, 11:36:38 AM »
Just ensure you leave all your needles and sharp objects in your crochet handbag before you come to our Karaoke party Ketsi :-*. There will be a few children loitering around our camps.........it's all fun and games till someone loses an eye.

I'll be sure to take some lessons from you about safe handling of my crochet needles and safe handbag storage around kiddies old mate... ;D Not that the kiddies wouldn't be thankful about losing an eye or two and save them the mental scarring they risk incurring by seeing you in lycra....  >:D  :-*

Ketsi

Offline MnMs

« Reply #32 on: February 18, 2010, 01:41:47 PM »
You need some new material my friend, that ones getting a little old........similar to you mate.  >:D :angel:

While we are on old material, when are you going to start a "sleeps to go" countdown? ;D

Keep it coming big boy, loving the healthy banter......

Offline Berg

« Reply #33 on: February 19, 2010, 12:00:05 PM »
Nothing wrong with lycra Ketsi   ;)

« Reply #34 on: February 19, 2010, 12:39:50 PM »
Nothing wrong with lycra Ketsi   ;)

You guys sure you do not want my pink Tutu. I have washed it. :-*

Offline LesNJules

« Reply #35 on: February 19, 2010, 08:11:25 PM »
 ;D No need for the tutu as some just keep getting of on wearing it  ;D
I never get  lost ,as people alway tell me where to go

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #36 on: February 20, 2010, 08:05:41 AM »

Who, these two?

« Reply #37 on: February 20, 2010, 08:28:17 PM »

With driving on the sand what sort of fuel consumption do you expect.I know this can vary depending on the sand but It would be interesting to know and what is fuel worth on the island. Information for a future trip.

Offline seqfisho

• So much Australia, Never enough Holidays
« Reply #38 on: February 26, 2010, 02:00:30 PM »

Who, these two?

Not sure if it is the tutu that scares me of the position of the hands and the smirks on the faces :o :cup:
2007 Rodeo VCDi DCab, Reasonably stock no longer ;-)
Now Camperless

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #39 on: March 02, 2010, 03:23:15 PM »
Thought that Kamp Knitting Kneedles might be able to use this link:

http://t-shirts.cafepress.com.au/knitting?page=1

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #40 on: March 03, 2010, 10:21:15 AM »
Thought that Kamp Knitting Kneedles might be able to use this link:

http://t-shirts.cafepress.com.au/knitting?page=1

That's gold...  ;D  :laugh:  :laugh:

Hope to see them wearing their team shirts during this trip...  ;D

Offline Berg

« Reply #41 on: March 03, 2010, 11:29:05 AM »
The picture of what is to come for the beach campers......and of 'watt' awaits the Big 4 softies  ;D

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #42 on: March 03, 2010, 11:45:30 AM »
Are you drinking already bergsta.... ???

Mother nature will have all of this out of her system by the time the "fiasco" arrives...  8)

Offline Berg

« Reply #43 on: March 03, 2010, 11:53:17 AM »
Remember Chilli Beach ..... ;D

I'm sure it will be perfect weather for us (I touched wood when I said that)

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #44 on: March 03, 2010, 12:06:38 PM »
Remember Chilli Beach ..... ;D

Heard of Wolf Creek....  >:D

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #45 on: March 03, 2010, 12:06:51 PM »
Nothing's final until that first peg is put in the ground.  ;D

Offline MnMs

« Reply #46 on: March 03, 2010, 12:17:29 PM »

It will be final once that Big 4 is booked solid for a long weekend!!!  :-* :'(

Offline Berg

« Reply #47 on: March 03, 2010, 01:09:36 PM »
You can't have a foot in both camps Missy  >:D

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #48 on: March 03, 2010, 01:22:06 PM »
You can't have a foot in both camps Missy  >:D

Mission accomplished.  >:D

Offline MnMs

« Reply #49 on: March 03, 2010, 01:24:25 PM »
The picture of what is to come for the beach campers......and of 'watt' awaits the Big 4 softies  ;D

How about the serenity Berger!!!  ;)

Looking forward to laying by the pool on the banana lounge, waving to the bar wench to fetch me another Bundy......it will be damn hard to take for sure  :cheers: