General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2010 Fraser Island Members Trip => Topic started by: Karen on April 26, 2010, 11:19:11 AM

Title: How Are The Preparations Going?
Post by: Karen on April 26, 2010, 11:19:11 AM
Well, here it is Monday and only a handful of days to go until the Fraser Fiasco hits Fraser Island.  8)  How are everyone's preparations going?  Are you ready?

This morning has seen the last of the major jobs completed and now we are just doing small housekeeping bits and pieces.  We even have the grog loaded.  ;D  All we need to do now is pack the clothes over the next couple of days and fill the fridge with food.

I hope it's going well for the rest of you, can't wait for the next few days to fly by..................................

Karen
Title: Re: How Are The Preparations Going?
Post by: MnMs on April 26, 2010, 11:38:51 AM
Where do I start.....

The Cruiser is pretty much ready, there are a few little things to tidy up this arvo and tomorrow. But we hope to have the cruiser done and ready to just be packed by Wednesday.

The Camper has not even been touched yet..... :o
~ A new hitch to fit
~ Bearings to be done
~ Brakes to be checked
~ Lanolin the underside
~ Service the Honda Genie
~ Fill all grease nipples
~ Change over the mattress

Yep, so a few late nights ahead there in that list alone.  :-[

Grocery shopping is to be done on Thursday. Some cloths are out ready to be packed. Some grog is out, more is to be purchased yet. So a lot has been done already, but there is still a ways to go.  ::)

Thursday night will inevitably be a late night, an early rise on Friday morning for swim squad, then be ready by 9am to hit the road. It is always this crazy rush......but I feel confident when it is like this. When we are ready days in advance we think we have forgotten stuff......

It will all get done, and we will leave on time for sure.  ;)
Post by: chinman on April 26, 2010, 01:15:22 PM
hi, just introducing ourselves we are coming along on the fraser trip, :cheers: friends with berg and jody,. Im jenny , partner kirk and son trent. Cant wait.
Post by: MnMs on April 26, 2010, 01:21:19 PM
hi, just introducing ourselves we are coming along on the fraser trip, :cheers: friends with berg and jody,. Im jenny , partner kirk and son trent. Cant wait.

Welcome aboard guys......we look forward to meeting you all. Sir Berg has spoken about you so much already...... >:D

It will be a great time indeed.....see you all soon.

Marc.
Post by: jk on April 26, 2010, 01:32:26 PM
Welcome to the kaos guys  :cheers: , looking forward to the trip, need to buy food and pack a couple of bags of cloths, apart from that I thing it's all under control. BEER must buy BEER my favourite blend is on special so I went down to stock up but.............they've run out OH MY GOD  :'( . Have put a few boxes on rain check for pick up on Wednesday at the special price. Apart from that I think we're good for launch date  ;D .
Post by: Karen on April 26, 2010, 04:05:09 PM

Welcome Jenny, Kirk and Trent.  Hope you enjoy your time with us at Fraser and we promise not to be on our best behaviour. 

Karen
Post by: Johnny Trackabout on April 27, 2010, 05:53:08 AM
Camper is packed....4by is packed. I picked up a platinum fridge slide on friday and just waiting on the new fridge to turn up today and we are sorted......3 MORE SLEEPS :cheers:
Post by: Brett on April 27, 2010, 06:03:27 AM
Still no brake controller, wiring power to rear of ute, clean ute after weekend efforts, food shop, pack camper, 1 dayshift and 2 nightshifts still to do....
Post by: Berg on April 27, 2010, 07:52:47 AM
This picture is yesterday morning after I just put the kitchen back on the new tailgate. It's now all wired and plumbed back up and all the drawers have gone back in. I've wired up some switches for various lighting positions around the camper but it doesn't look likely they will all turn up in time... :'( but if they do it's a quick job to just hook them up.
Gave the camper a good vaccum and now it's just a case of putting all the gear back in.
That sounds easy doesn't it, just put the gear back in. It never seems to turn out easy though  ???

See the spare wheel on the tailgate? lovely  :cheers:   
Post by: MnMs on April 27, 2010, 08:51:18 PM
Got the camper home today and the fun has begun already........ ::)

It will be a full 2 days ahead, though the rewards of getting to Fraser will be worth it.

Bought all the grog supplies today, filled the grease nipples, Genie has been serviced, Recovery gear packed, Extra jerries of diesel and unleaded for genie all filled, and water filled too.

I am guessing that everyone is in panic mode by the lack of posts on Fraser threads........ :-X

Marc.
Post by: jk on April 27, 2010, 08:56:34 PM
We're all over it like a fat kid on a cup cake  ;D , we leave for my dad's on Friday morning and on to River Heads on Saturday morning, if this trip lives up to half of it's hype it'll be a blinder  :cheers:
Post by: Karen on April 28, 2010, 06:56:25 AM
We're all over it like a fat kid on a cup cake  ;D , we leave for my dad's on Friday morning and on to River Heads on Saturday morning, if this trip lives up to half of it's hype it'll be a blinder  :cheers:

Do you have permits for the vehicle and camping yet jk. ::)
Post by: Karen on April 28, 2010, 06:58:58 AM
Got the camper home today and the fun has begun already........ ::)

It will be a full 2 days ahead, though the rewards of getting to Fraser will be worth it.

Bought all the grog supplies today, filled the grease nipples, Genie has been serviced, Recovery gear packed, Extra jerries of diesel and unleaded for genie all filled, and water filled too.

I am guessing that everyone is in panic mode by the lack of posts on Fraser threads........ :-X

Marc.

Yeah I thought it was a bit too quiet although no panic mode here.  Just sitting back counting down the hours, staring at too many cartons of beer and way too much food for a week.  :cheers:
Post by: McGirr on April 28, 2010, 07:02:52 AM
Yeah I thought it was a bit too quiet although no panic mode here.  Just sitting back counting down the hours, staring at too many cartons of beer and way too much food for a week.  :cheers:

Karen Is that before or after the midday day movie, afternoon nap and reading the Womans Day. ;D
Post by: Berg on April 28, 2010, 07:30:08 AM
 ;D hehehe, love your work Marko  :cheers:
Post by: Karen on April 28, 2010, 10:36:11 AM
Karen Is that before or after the midday day movie, afternoon nap and reading the Womans Day. ;D

Before and after.  I've been out today and taken a last look around BCF just in case there was something we needed to buy.  Lucky they don't sell food or alcohol because I came out of there empty handed for once.

So now I could be persuaded to have a nap.  It's the best thing for passing time when you're really excited and can't wait to go somewhere.  Oh, maybe not  :cheers: but it's a bit early!
Post by: Berg on April 28, 2010, 10:39:31 AM
PMSL  ;D I can relate to that  ;D
Post by: Ketsi on April 28, 2010, 10:43:50 AM

I'm not posting because I have too much to do to waste too much time telling you how much I have yet to do and how little time I have to do it... what a great time to be busy at work...  >:( Late evening finishes at work means it's too dark to do the work I want to do when I get home... Last weekend and weekend before were busy ones... so look out if I don't get to relax and unwind when we hit the beach....  >:D I'll be there no matter what tho and whatever is done is done and the rest can be left out or not required....

Cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi
Post by: McGirr on April 28, 2010, 11:02:15 AM

Ketsi
The old saying.
You have your:
car
camper
food
alcohol

You can go into battle. ;D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 28, 2010, 11:07:25 AM
Before and after.  I've been out today and taken a last look around BCF just in case there was something we needed to buy.  Lucky they don't sell food or alcohol because I came out of there empty handed for once.

So now I could be persuaded to have a nap.  It's the best thing for passing time when you're really excited and can't wait to go somewhere.  Oh, maybe not  :cheers: but it's a bit early!

You could always walk down to the newsagents and get the latest 4wd action dvd and watch the Fraser Island speacial on it, then you would really want the next two days to go quickly. Have a good time to all while away, hope to see lots of pics and good stories when you return. I think the forum traffic will slow up a bit while you are away.

Post by: Karen on April 28, 2010, 11:47:57 AM
You could always walk down to the newsagents and get the latest 4wd action dvd and watch the Fraser Island speacial on it, then you would really want the next two days to go quickly. Have a good time to all while away, hope to see lots of pics and good stories when you return. I think the forum traffic will slow up a bit while you are away.

Thanks GG.  Better not do too much to build the excitement level even more so I'll stay home.  Of course I have found a few more things in the last couple of hours to put in the trailer while no-one is watching.  >:D

We're a quiet bunch heading to Fraser so the forum should tick along as usual.  Enjoy your coolers, I know we will.  :cheers:

Karen
Post by: Pipeliner on April 28, 2010, 11:58:56 AM
Camper is packed....4by is packed. I picked up a platinum fridge slide on friday and just waiting on the new fridge to turn up today and we are sorted......3 MORE SLEEPS :cheers:

If you can afford a fridge slide made of platinum you are obviously charging far too much for your CTs!

Have a great trip - wish I was going with you, but the trip to the Kimberleys in July takes precedence.
Post by: MnMs on April 28, 2010, 02:10:17 PM
I'm not posting because I have too much to do to waste too much time telling you how much I have yet to do and how little time I have to do it... what a great time to be busy at work...  >:( Late evening finishes at work means it's too dark to do the work I want to do when I get home... Last weekend and weekend before were busy ones... so look out if I don't get to relax and unwind when we hit the beach....  >:D I'll be there no matter what tho and whatever is done is done and the rest can be left out or not required....

Ketsi

Hearing you loud and clear Big K. Juggling an endless to do list to ensure the business will be fine in our absense and the to do list to be completed for the actual trip is proving to be a great challenge.  >:(

I visited my friendly butcher mate this morning and stocked up on some animals to consume.  ;)

I was up before the sun this morning to get stuck into my list and the camper is almost completely serviced and ready to pack. Lanolin is to be done under the camper and a new jockey wheel handle yet too.

All is on track.......just......I think anyway. :-[
Post by: Berg on April 28, 2010, 02:15:14 PM
So long as you can get there with food and drink it's all good  :cheers:

And a shovel if you're a beach camper  :-* >:D ;D
Post by: sablesoft on April 28, 2010, 02:21:07 PM

Glenda is still wheel chair bound with her broken ankle so we will not be able to make the trip to Fraser Island.

We are very envious of you lucky people who will have a great time up there, I am hoping we can head up to Fraser once Glenda is walking but I am sure it would more fun to be up there with a bunch of myswagers.

Ray
Post by: MnMs on April 28, 2010, 02:24:16 PM
And a shovel if you're a beach camper  :-* >:D ;D

BWAHAHAHAHAHA  ;D :cheers: ;D
Post by: Karen on April 28, 2010, 03:45:23 PM
BWAHAHAHAHAHA  ;D :cheers: ;D

You two need a shovel for the amount of sh!t you carry on with. ;)
Post by: MnMs on April 28, 2010, 04:18:11 PM
You two need a shovel for the amount of sh!t you carry on with. ;)

You love it Kazza....... ;D
Post by: Johnny Trackabout on April 28, 2010, 06:41:56 PM
Had a big upset this morning....set the new fridge slide and fridge up yesterday....woke up this morning and the temp said 14 deg ??? all the beer I put in there was warm >:( went to work and got to the bottom of the problem the mighty battery had dropped cell and was sitting on 10.5 volts....sorted and lucky too the Battery runs out of warranty  next week...soooo now have new Battery and fridge has dropped down to 1 deg and am testing and tasting beers just to make sure its ok..... Just finished loading the ipod with heaps of cool tunes I have everything from Wolfmother to Lady Gaga and sure to be a tune that will keep everyone happy......2 MORE SLEEPS  ;D ;D ;D

R U READY TO PAR-TAE PEOPLE  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Disco dude  O0
Post by: McGirr on April 28, 2010, 07:18:34 PM
JT

Be gentle with these members as some are heading to the Gulf and will need their livers working.  :cheers:
Post by: Berg on April 29, 2010, 07:22:00 AM
The first of my LED strips turned up yesterday and I promptly fitted them.

Camper and vehicle now ready  :cheers: to be jammed packed with 'stuff'  ;D
Post by: MnMs on April 29, 2010, 09:18:27 AM
Lanolin underneath and the mattress change over to do on the camper and we are set.

Put the awning on the Cruiser, play with the scan gauge, seat covers on and we are set.

Fun then begins to jam everything in........ ::)

Off to a training seminar now to twiddle my thumbs and have some down time (sleep), and back home to pack then.  :cheers:

Roll on tomorrow morning! ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Johnny Trackabout on April 29, 2010, 12:23:01 PM
Everything is packed and am leaving work shortly to go home and stand around the Camper with a beer in hand and think of what I may have forgotten ??? Is 6 ctns of beer and 3 bottles of spirits too much for one person to drink in a week ??? hmm guess I'll find out next weekend  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: MnMs on April 29, 2010, 12:54:23 PM
Is 6 ctns of beer and 3 bottles of spirits too much for one person to drink in a week ???

Not if you have a drinking problem....... ;D :cheers:  ;D
Post by: Ketsi on April 29, 2010, 01:00:29 PM
Well, a late nighter last night for Jules and I has us back in the game...  ;D We have camper packed and ready including food and fridges. The gear for stuffing the car to the windows is sitting ready in the garage for tonight's entertainment after a late finish at work.

Dunno if you've got enough booze JT as I've seen you on the drink and heard stories that made what I saw an afternoon tea party... :-[ I've gone for 2 & 1/2 cartons of beer, 2 bottles of spirits and some hefty litrage of vino.....  :cheers: I reckon Adrian might have our combined totals licked tho...  8)

Only 24 hours to go till I kiss this desk goodbye for a while...  ;D

Ketsi
Post by: Karen on April 29, 2010, 01:00:57 PM
Everything is packed and am leaving work shortly to go home and stand around the Camper with a beer in hand and think of what I may have forgotten ??? Is 6 ctns of beer and 3 bottles of spirits too much for one person to drink in a week ??? hmm guess I'll find out next weekend  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Like I told Adrian, "You can always bring it home if it doesn't get drunk".  With all the other stuff we need to take our problem is where to stash it all!  Don't laugh if the kids open a car door and a tinny rolls out.  8)

Post by: Berg on April 29, 2010, 01:08:13 PM
You don't need to drink to have a good time you know   :angel:

But just in case we are taking 3 cartons and 3 bottles of spirits  :cheers:
Post by: MnMs on April 29, 2010, 01:19:22 PM
You people ALL have issues.  >:(

Meagan and I are only taking Powerade, Apple Juice, Water, and some cordial......... :angel:

Only LOSERS have to drink to have a good time.........don't you read the signs on the highways?

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!  :police:

But because we are sharing and caring people, we are bringing along the back up supplies for you all.

3 bottles of rum, carton and a half of rum and cola, and 2 cases of beer.  :cheers:

Lunatics......ALL OF YOU!  :cup:
Post by: McGirr on April 29, 2010, 02:56:14 PM
I have just heard as of the 1st May they have implemented alcohol restrictions due to the amount of car accidents on the island. I will find the link that mentioned it somewhere.
Post by: MnMs on April 29, 2010, 03:32:12 PM
Ah, the preparation is going beautifully.......so good in fact, that I have decided to kick back, watch a DVD of Fraser Island and enjoy a Bundy and Coke.  :cheers:

Hang on, there is a knock at the door.........the BCF TV Crew are here........ 8)

Sorry, I forgot to mention it earlier. JT and I will be starring in the new BCF commercial that they are doing. It is being filmed tomorrow afternoon on Fraser Island........anyone else wanna star in it too?

Johnny, have you been practising your script? I'll just run my script and the scene setting past you...... ;)

It is 4pm on Friday 30 April, set is on Fraser Island. The 2 new Silver 200 Series Land Cruisers are parked high on the beach. The Fox Wing is out, the tail gates are down with the fridges full of beer and teasing viewers of the "good life", and under the Fox Wing is 2 fine looking blokes consuming some of Qld's finest brews. They are enjoying the afternoon breeze, the gentle sunshine, the serenity of Fraser Island, and the voluptuous bare chested Swedish Back Packer exiting the ocean and she runs up the beach towards them :o :o :o........ The men raise their tinnies, salute the gods, and say.........Ha-Hum-Huuum...cough cough...Hum! (Just clearing the throat)

:cheers: THIS IS LIVING!!!  :cheers:

Pity the rest of you won't be there with us for the shoot.  >:D >:D >:D
Post by: Johnny Trackabout on April 29, 2010, 05:30:37 PM
Ah, the preparation is going beautifully.......so good in fact, that I have decided to kick back, watch a DVD of Fraser Island and enjoy a Bundy and Coke.  :cheers:

Hang on, there is a knock at the door.........the BCF TV Crew are here........ 8)

Sorry, I forgot to mention it earlier. JT and I will be starring in the new BCF commercial that they are doing. It is being filmed tomorrow afternoon on Fraser Island........anyone else wanna star in it too?

Johnny, have you been practising your script? I'll just run my script and the scene setting past you...... ;)

It is 4pm on Friday 30 April, set is on Fraser Island. The 2 new Silver 200 Series Land Cruisers are parked high on the beach. The Fox Wing is out, the tail gates are down with the fridges full of beer and teasing viewers of the "good life", and under the Fox Wing is 2 fine looking blokes consuming some of Qld's finest brews. They are enjoying the afternoon breeze, the gentle sunshine, the serenity of Fraser Island, and the voluptuous bare chested Swedish Back Packer exiting the ocean and she runs up the beach towards them :o :o :o........ The men raise their tinnies, salute the gods, and say.........Ha-Hum-Huuum...cough cough...Hum! (Just clearing the throat)

:cheers: THIS IS LIVING!!!  :cheers:

Pity the rest of you won't be there with us for the shoot.  >:D >:D >:D

Nice, better do my hair....its getting harder trying to look good......bit like polishing a turd me thinks and that takes some serious work !!
Post by: Johnny Trackabout on April 29, 2010, 05:36:18 PM
Like I told Adrian, "You can always bring it home if it doesn't get drunk".  With all the other stuff we need to take our problem is where to stash it all!  Don't laugh if the kids open a car door and a tinny rolls out.  8)

Nice thats commitment Karen !! I packed the fridges B4 and could not fit the tomatoes and Lettuce in..... 12 beers later they now fit.....NOW thats commitment as well.....we do what it takes !!!! cya up there looking forward to catching up  :cup:

JT the guy with space saving solutions  ;D
Post by: Karen on April 29, 2010, 08:07:22 PM
Nice thats commitment Karen !! I packed the fridges B4 and could not fit the tomatoes and Lettuce in..... 12 beers later they now fit.....NOW thats commitment as well.....we do what it takes !!!! cya up there looking forward to catching up  :cup:

JT the guy with space saving solutions  ;D

Beer = Lettuce/Tomato  ???

Good luck with the campsite.  I know you'll get the best spot available and keep me a prime position cause you know I love your music!  ;D
Post by: MnMs on April 29, 2010, 11:04:37 PM
Well, we are all set and done.  8)

Just kickin back, havin a rum, and watchin some TV before hittin the sack.

Everything just fell into place perfectly today. See ya all soon.

Marc.
Post by: Johnny Trackabout on April 30, 2010, 06:15:47 AM
NO MORE SLEEPS ;D ;D we are meeting up with Marc around 10am and hopefully be on the island around lunchtime. I'll be on Channel 40 Sat morning. Hope I can find a great spot. My mate is up there for the Fraser clean up weekend and he tells me there will be around 300 vehicles participating with the clean up so camp areas might get a little tight, but I will do my best to find a great spot ;D ;D

Cya's all up there
JT
Post by: Karen on April 30, 2010, 07:02:08 AM
NO MORE SLEEPS ;D ;D we are meeting up with Marc around 10am and hopefully be on the island around lunchtime. I'll be on Channel 40 Sat morning. Hope I can find a great spot. My mate is up there for the Fraser clean up weekend and he tells me there will be around 300 vehicles participating with the clean up so camp areas might get a little tight, but I will do my best to find a great spot ;D ;D

Cya's all up there
JT
Lucky bugger!  See ya tomorrow.  :cheers:
Post by: Brett on April 30, 2010, 08:44:57 AM
Leaving Moranbah now... I sure I have forgot something!!!
Post by: MnMs on April 30, 2010, 09:00:50 AM
We are about to hit the road and here is a pic to rub it in a little....... >:D >:D >:D

See you all in paradise tomorrow morning sometime. :cup:

Safe travels....... :angel:

Marc.
Post by: seqfisho on April 30, 2010, 09:13:29 AM
15 or so mins and we are on our way cya all there ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: sablesoft on April 30, 2010, 10:59:52 AM
15 or so mins and we are on our way cya all there ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Hi SeqFisho,

I am not happy to be still here at home, we should have been up at Rainbow Beach about now. With Glenda's busted ankle we are stuck at home.

Ray
Post by: Ketsi on April 30, 2010, 11:44:51 AM
We feel your pain Ray and are disappointed to miss out on catching up with you and Glenda. All the best for a speedy recovery and hope you do make it up to Fraser soon. We'll leave some of the magic behind when we leave the island for you to enjoy...  ;D

Add us to the list of those chucking in the workload and about to migrate towards Fraser...  ;D  ;D  ;D

Will be celebrating some dude named 'fisho' birthday this evening with a few drinks on the shores of inskip... waiting for first light and a barge over to fraser in the morning...

See those of you coming... when you get there... for the rest of you swaggers... wish you were beautiful...  :-* (weather is here)

Ketsi
Post by: MnMs on May 01, 2010, 11:22:45 AM
Sending this report from the island........ >:D

Paradise...... :cup:

JT found a great camp on the beach for the beach goers and the park for the rest of us is fantastic too (showers are AMAZING) ;D.

Ketsi, Fishy, and Yogi have arrived this morning already and we are still waiting for Kazza, JK, and Brett from the first barge. Berg, Leso, and co will arrive after lunch once the the second barge arrives and the tides recede a bit.

Anyway, gotta run, beers to drink and camp ovens to prepare for dinner........

Damn this is tough!!!

Marc.