Author Topic: Companion 125w solar mat at Bunnings  (Read 69099 times)

Re: Companion 125w solar mat at Bunnings
« Reply #125 on: May 19, 2019, 06:33:46 PM »
I got two for $100.  Bargain with the manager.

How did you manage that!

CTL

« Reply #126 on: May 19, 2019, 06:35:04 PM »
Asked for the manager and bargained.  The last two in the store

Offline Let560

« Reply #127 on: May 19, 2019, 07:28:17 PM »
Heaps at Warwick drove down from Toowoomba to get 2 and got them for $100 each on sat morning then used one Saturday arvo as we went camping at Gordon Country and went well
The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #128 on: May 20, 2019, 10:49:47 AM »
mate got yesterday 2x $75ea at carrum :'(

« Reply #129 on: May 20, 2019, 12:35:08 PM »
Picked one up last week, the day before the price dropped :'( >:(

Went back to the BGS this morning for something else, took the receipt with me & asked the Service Desk if there was any chance of a refund as it had dropped $50 the next day ???

"Yep, no worries"!!! :o :o :o

Done & one very happy customer :cup:

So they've either got a price drop policy, or the young bloke on the Service Desk is going to get reamed by his manager ??? :D

BTW, Burleigh Waters still has 8 - 10 in aisle 32 with the Eskys

« Reply #130 on: May 20, 2019, 12:58:26 PM »
I rang the store I bought mine from to see if they have further reduced the prices. Apparently they still have around 10 left and won’t reduce prices until most are gone.

She told me a couple of other stores in Brisbane that have less in stock so might go in one evening and see if I can get a second one.

« Reply #131 on: May 20, 2019, 01:10:00 PM »
mate got yesterday 2x $75ea at carrum :'(

Bargained or listed price?
and can you get a pic of his receipt? Would be worth going in and see if my local would match it at that price!
« Last Edit: May 20, 2019, 01:41:36 PM by tryagain »

AdrianLR

« Reply #132 on: May 20, 2019, 01:32:30 PM »
Only one left in the Geelong area apparently is in the Leopold store.

« Reply #133 on: May 20, 2019, 01:43:47 PM »
Bargained or listed price?
and can you get a pic of his receipt? Would be worth going in and see if my local would match it at that price!
apparently wasnt him - he saw it here ->  https://4x4earth.com/forum/index.php?threads%2Fsolar-blankets-and-soft-style-panels.45591%2Fpage-4
https://4x4earth.com/forum/index.php?attachments/cb0e97f7-8ff6-4d2b-8886-451eb0d24c7c-jpeg.61122/

« Reply #134 on: May 20, 2019, 02:07:20 PM »
apparently wasnt him - he saw it here ->  https://4x4earth.com/forum/index.php?threads%2Fsolar-blankets-and-soft-style-panels.45591%2Fpage-4
https://4x4earth.com/forum/index.php?attachments/cb0e97f7-8ff6-4d2b-8886-451eb0d24c7c-jpeg.61122/

Old mate has already posted his receipt  ;D might see what my local can do tonight!

« Reply #135 on: May 20, 2019, 04:50:55 PM »
I sent the boss in to the Maroochy store this afternoon, she was armed with the photo of that receipt and her usual take no prisoners negotiating skills.

No extra discounts or 2 for 1 deals around here unfortunately.
They wouldn’t budge on the $149 price at all.

There’s now 3 left a Maroochy and there was only 1 left at Caloundra when I called them at 3pm today.

« Reply #136 on: May 20, 2019, 05:26:17 PM »
I sent the boss in to the Maroochy store this afternoon, she was armed with the photo of that receipt and her usual take no prisoners negotiating skills.

No extra discounts or 2 for 1 deals around here unfortunately.
They wouldn’t budge on the $149 price at all.

There’s now 3 left a Maroochy and there was only 1 left at Caloundra when I called them at 3pm today.
So much for lowest price guarantee - they won’t even match their own prices!

Companion 125w solar mat at Bunnings
« Reply #137 on: May 20, 2019, 05:38:01 PM »
So much for lowest price guarantee - they won’t even match their own prices!

Yeah apparently his words were; “if you want that price looks like you’re going to have to go to Victoria”.
The guy on the floor was cool, but couldn’t do the deal. He called over the boss, who said he didn’t need to mark them down, they’ll all sell at full price.

Once an item goes into clearance it’s up to each store what they want to do with it.
Maroochy store doesn’t even have them marked as clearance.

« Reply #138 on: May 20, 2019, 05:49:19 PM »
Just sent you a PM. Might be able to sort you out.

Offline Paul (SA)

« Reply #139 on: May 20, 2019, 06:17:51 PM »
I just bought two at Seaford in SA for $75 each.
2014 NW Pajero
2012 Jayco Swift OB

« Reply #140 on: May 20, 2019, 08:19:30 PM »
Went in to see if I could maybe get a couple at $75ea, even though I didn't really need them.......... Walked out with 4  :o at $75ea

Will post up the receipt incase someone wants to use it to try and get them for $75
« Last Edit: May 20, 2019, 10:39:48 PM by tryagain »

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #141 on: May 20, 2019, 09:24:05 PM »
Yes please

« Reply #142 on: May 20, 2019, 09:50:30 PM »
Ditto,

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

« Reply #143 on: May 20, 2019, 10:38:09 PM »
Just to clarify, I am pretty sure their price match policy says they don't match other bunnings stores (or clearance prices), they are under no obligation to sell them for the lower price. With this in mind, I went in and basically said that I knew of someone who got the panels for $75ea so had come in hoping to get the same but they are still $149 on the shelf here, is it possible to get them at the price the other store sold them at, I have a pic of their receipt here with the lower price as proof. After umming and ahhing for a bit, and a couple of phone calls they said yep we can do that. As Pete experienced though, it is up to their discretion, so it probably pays to be as nice as possible. I have also found in the past the staff/managers who are in charge at night seem to be a bit more laid back than those on during the day, but again, this will vary from store to store.

Offline sharkcaver

• My ramblings:
« Reply #144 on: May 21, 2019, 12:01:01 AM »
My panels from the ebay link Tryagain posted last week arrived today. Just in time, I'm off for another little solo walk in the desert come Wednesday.

Reading the above posts, I thought I had a bargain, now I feel ripped.

For $75 each, I'd buy all their stock at that price.

Quick view, panels seem pretty cool. Even comes with waterproof zippers. Not keen on storing the plugs/cables in their little zippered bags though. Panels will sit much flatter putting the adaptors elsewhere. And the stand doesn't fit in the bag with the panel. That said, they seem quality at first glance.
An NX Paj, a D-Max and an Ultimate X-trk

http://sharkcaver.blogspot.com.au/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoz71vk1CWl6lp6Tv3dXhkQ/videos?sort=dd&view=0&shelf_id=0

« Reply #145 on: May 21, 2019, 12:14:44 AM »
My panels from the ebay link Tryagain posted last week arrived today. Just in time, I'm off for another little solo walk in the desert come Wednesday.

Reading the above posts, I thought I had a bargain, now I feel ripped.

You still got a very good bargain, I just got a bit better one, in a week or two when they are all gone, a brand name equivalent costs 3x as much.

For $75 each, I'd buy all their stock at that price.

I did, will offer the extra two to my folks and see if I can run two in series to make the most of my MPPT Charger.

« Reply #146 on: May 21, 2019, 06:12:17 AM »
Quick view, panels seem pretty cool. Even comes with waterproof zippers. Not keen on storing the plugs/cables in their little zippered bags though. Panels will sit much flatter putting the adaptors elsewhere. And the stand doesn't fit in the bag with the panel. That said, they seem quality at first glance.

agree about the cable storage...

i will probably get a bag made up for both panels/stands and then another smaller one for cables...

don't worry about the price, mate... tryagain is right... the nearest one i can see is the ridge ryder 100w and it is not as user-friendly, IMO with the two rows of panels and it doesn't come with stands... and it is $400...

Offline BBull

« Reply #147 on: May 21, 2019, 06:12:45 AM »
Bloody hell this has turned into a how much can I screw Bunnings over thread. No wonder the world is the way it is at the moment, everyone is just worried about screwing everyone over.
Yes Bunnings is a corporation and will handle this loss but you are also dealing with people who have to answer why they gave it at that price and potentially get in trouble for it.

To go into a shop with all guns blazing to save 50 bucks is just plain wrong.

« Reply #148 on: May 21, 2019, 06:55:46 AM »
Bloody hell this has turned into a how much can I screw Bunnings over thread. No wonder the world is the way it is at the moment, everyone is just worried about screwing everyone over.
Yes Bunnings is a corporation and will handle this loss but you are also dealing with people who have to answer why they gave it at that price and potentially get in trouble for it.

To go into a shop with all guns blazing to save 50 bucks is just plain wrong.
likely Bunnings aren’t selling them at a loss at that price, might be cost price for them. Being in the building industry over 25 years i’ve seen how they’ve screwed the hardware industry over, so care factor is low if they are selling at a loss anyhow....not that I am buying one anyway.

Offline BBull

« Reply #149 on: May 21, 2019, 07:12:30 AM »
likely Bunnings aren’t selling them at a loss at that price, might be cost price for them. Being in the building industry over 25 years i’ve seen how they’ve screwed the hardware industry over, so care factor is low if they are selling at a loss anyhow....not that I am buying one anyway.
Yes that's fine for Bunnings as I stated. Its the people on the counter that cop the flack.
The poor 15 year old on the counter that gets questioned why they gave them the money back.
That kid goes home and has it in their head all night they are a failure, and potentially pushes them over the edge.

You are not dealing with Bunnings when you buy a product, you are still dealing with a human who then has to answer to Bunnings.
But everyone is just worried about themselves and how much they can screw people over.
I paid $199 and I am more than happy with that price.

It's just interesting that people think they are screwing Bunnings over, when its the people on the counter who greet you with a smile and say hello to you, they are the ones you are screwing over mentally just to save $50.
Where is the Humility??????