Author Topic: What am I Grateful for today.  (Read 59856 times)

Re: What am I Grateful for today.
« Reply #275 on: January 28, 2021, 05:22:43 PM »
Hmm,
Today I am grateful for,
Our youngest, Jack, well he is having a Gap year before he goes to Uni to do his Bachelor of Science, he has applied and was offered work on a local Macca farm, $32 an hour, not full time, on call. He chased up this job, he contacted the farm owner, pretty proud of the lad.
This will contribute to his other part time job.
That makes all three of our kids working, they have done this themselves.
Happy days.

On a side note, they are many out of work atm, I'm just proud as.

« Reply #276 on: February 07, 2021, 07:16:48 AM »
I am Grateful for knowing a Man that,  as rough as he was, he did everything for others.
He called a Spade a Spade, he would give you the shirt off his back, then call you a dickhead for not having a shirt.
25 odd years is only a short time to of know him, 6 of those years were as a committee member of The Lawrence Rodeo Committee, and being involved in our local council Sports Committee.
Speaking with others at his memorial service at The Maclean Showground that was packed,  their spent time with him on other committees(Maclean Show, Grafton Show, Camp Draft, The Royal Easter Show & Brisbane's Ekka), it's not until you hear their personal accounts of his life, that you realise how much time he gave to others.
RIP Cowboy.
You will be missed.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2021, 07:57:10 AM by Hairs »
The following users thanked this post: alnjan, GeoffA

« Reply #277 on: February 21, 2021, 01:57:34 PM »
I am Grateful today for knowing an amazing woman, Jean.
Last night, along with her sister, three children(who we spent many a night at the pub with), 6 Grand children & 3 Great Grand Children, we helped her celebrate her 90th Birthday.
Jean is like a second mother to many of us that spent our mid teens to mid 20's in Byron
Held at The Suffork Park Hotel, it was like a reunion of types.
Had a Rum and milk with her, laughed and cried with her over mate that are no longer with us.
11pm, we were asked to leave, a dozen of us could of chatted all night.
Every time we visit family, we always visit Ma, cause if she got wind that you had been in town & didn't stop in, boy, you copped it next time.
Family, really.
:)

« Reply #278 on: March 27, 2021, 05:36:20 AM »
Well, what a week.
We've come throught it pretty good.
The Kids are safe & dry, I might not of been able to go to work, but we are in a better situation then others.
Today our RFS Brigrade will start hosing off mud on the roads, helping those that got water through their homes and properties.
Take care Swaggers.
The following users thanked this post: alnjan, Jillsy

« Reply #279 on: March 27, 2021, 05:36:24 PM »
Just spent 6 hours hosing mud off the road with our RFS Brigrade, after the flood waters had dropped near our post office.
One of our other trucks, cleaned up around the Lawrence Genral Store.
A great bunch of people to work alongside of, And a great communitty to be apart of.
Love my Town/Communitty

The following users thanked this post: alnjan, Jillsy, Fizzie

« Reply #280 on: April 11, 2021, 07:46:10 AM »
The Sun is out,
I'm off to do some training with our RFS Brigrade.
Thought I would share this with you.
Have a great day Swaggers.
The following users thanked this post: alnjan

« Reply #281 on: April 20, 2021, 05:03:09 PM »
Hey Swaggers,
I kicked this Thread off to get you thinking about life, what it means to you.
To be positive, I've used this to change how I view alot of stuff.
I am involved in a couple of Mens Groups, there are a lot of Blokes struggling atm, relationships, family, Work.
It about being positive.
I'm not everyones cup of tea, and that's cool .
But, If I can get you to think about yourself, your family,  your world a little differently, that has to be a good thing.
I posted the below meme in a help group,
It triggered other blokes to tag their mates.
Take care Swaggers.

« Last Edit: April 20, 2021, 07:39:07 PM by Hairs »
The following users thanked this post: Mace

« Reply #282 on: April 25, 2021, 03:54:17 PM »
Today.....

I am grateful for those who lost their lives in battle to give us what we enjoy today.

Sent from my CPH2069 using Tapatalk

« Reply #283 on: April 25, 2021, 03:59:19 PM »
Today.....

I am grateful for those who lost their lives in battle to give us what we enjoy today.

Sent from my CPH2069 using Tapatalk

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk

« Reply #284 on: April 25, 2021, 04:11:39 PM »
Yes, X3
Agree completely.

« Reply #285 on: April 26, 2021, 12:43:47 PM »
COVID lockdown here in the West
1st I’m rostered on so it’s not so bad
2nd got one of the best offices going I reckon

« Reply #286 on: May 05, 2021, 04:27:53 PM »
Mate, that's a pretty cool office.
Nice :)

« Reply #287 on: May 05, 2021, 04:36:07 PM »
So What Am I Grateful for?
Had a Shit of a day, bloody rain, showers.
Booked in a Cherry Picker to replace gutter on a 2 story join, only 30Meters.
Pulled the old off, repaired water damaged fascia, installed new.
Then the heavens opened up.
Got away with it by the skin of my teeth.
Come home & Fysh has the fire crackin, house it warm, Beer is cold.

« Reply #288 on: May 05, 2021, 06:06:53 PM »
So What Am I Grateful for?
Had a Shit of a day, bloody rain, showers.
Booked in a Cherry Picker to replace gutter on a 2 story join, only 30Meters.
Pulled the old off, repaired water damaged fascia, installed new.
Then the heavens opened up.
Got away with it by the skin of my teeth.
Come home & Fysh has the fire crackin, house it warm, Beer is cold.

What a top women. We've had the fire going all day as, we peaked at 16°! Had 16ml of rain, too.

« Reply #289 on: May 05, 2021, 06:14:43 PM »
What a top women. We've had the fire going all day as, we peaked at 16°! Had 16ml of rain, too.
Fysh is a Keeper.
Love her dearly.
My late father reminded me many times 27 years ago,
"Karen is the best thing that ever happened to you boy"
Man, how right was he.
:)

« Reply #290 on: May 05, 2021, 09:18:28 PM »
   Behind every successful man is a woman-
rolling her eyes!

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

« Reply #291 on: May 06, 2021, 07:42:07 AM »
Yep ;)

« Reply #292 on: May 11, 2021, 05:28:29 PM »
Life is better when you cry a little,
Laugh a lot and are thankful for everything you've got.

« Reply #293 on: May 14, 2021, 07:11:07 AM »
Another day in paradise.

« Reply #294 on: May 21, 2021, 05:44:55 PM »
Today while working on a property that fronts a busy intersection, a semitrailer lowloader pulls up.
The driver gets out and asks me if I can help him by stopping traffic as he reverses out and swings around to get into the new subdivision across the road.
Sure, I've got hivis on, so a trundle up the road about 300 meters, All good, he's in.
So I walk back to my work site, I get two phone calls from mates asking if I'm Ok,
Wanting to know because I'm walking.
Then I get another Phone call from another mate, who was talking to another bloke I know who mentioned to him at the Hardware Depot that he had seen me walking along the road.
All wanting to know If I was OK.
That I am Grateful for.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2021, 06:58:29 PM by Hairs »

Online GeoffA

« Reply #295 on: May 21, 2021, 06:56:01 PM »
 :cup: :cup:

Nice to know that some people care....

« Reply #296 on: May 21, 2021, 06:59:15 PM »
:cup: :cup:

Nice to know that some people care....

It does mate,
It made my day, :)

« Reply #297 on: May 22, 2021, 11:59:26 AM »
     and yet.......
There I was, trailer full of green waste, pulling it out with a long tined rake at a busy tip site. Utes etc unloading both sides.
A strong pull to dislodge a stubborn branch slipped and sent me reeling backwards, tripping on stuff already on the ground and falling heavily.
Winded, I lày in the mud, wondering if I had injured anything, thinking a helping hand to get back up would be good.
I sort of imagined opening my eyes to a circle of concerned faces offering to help.
Nope!
Silence!
I was alone. They had driveñ off and left me lying on the ground.
Not very impressed with that lot.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

« Reply #298 on: May 22, 2021, 12:18:23 PM »
That's terrible mate :(

« Reply #299 on: May 24, 2021, 08:06:48 PM »
Kindness is loaning someone your strength instead of reminding them of their weakness.