Author Topic: NSW Fires  (Read 94511 times)

Re: NSW Fires
« Reply #700 on: January 23, 2020, 06:09:57 PM »
Last night saw the same article which included a little bit about the author and who funds him.  Hmmm easy to see why he wrote the cash for comment piece.

Ahhhhhhhhhh. The truth behind the news.

One might think it was all about the money.

If one was cynical ;D

« Reply #701 on: January 23, 2020, 07:41:17 PM »
America lost  three of its sons to help  Australia today.   R.I.P.
Yes,
:(

Offline Champin

« Reply #703 on: January 24, 2020, 07:49:30 AM »

« Reply #704 on: January 24, 2020, 11:17:52 AM »

« Reply #705 on: January 24, 2020, 12:59:10 PM »
Coupled with the drought, have any of the bad fires killed any large areas of forest?

« Reply #706 on: January 24, 2020, 04:31:34 PM »
Coupled with the drought, have any of the bad fires killed any large areas of forest?

Yep,
The Clarence area has lost a lot of timber, natural as well as plantation, private lands.
There are pictures on FB, local groups, of the devastation.
The East coast has suffered greatly.

« Reply #707 on: January 24, 2020, 05:46:56 PM »
That is what I feared, after lose of life of course, that vast areas for animal refuge wont exist. Hopefully Im mistaken.
I watched the post Bird put up that showed the ferocity of the bushfires. All I can say is, to all the fire fighters out there, you are truly brave souls. We still have a while to go this summer. Stay safe, and thank you for your service.

« Reply #708 on: January 24, 2020, 06:14:19 PM »
Just received this email from the mob that did my solar.
If anyone here knows someone that could benefit.

e-Solar, 22 Canham Way, Greenwood, WA 6024,
ph 6363 5420

Im only re-posting their email. They were excellent to deal with, and Im taking them on face value.

« Reply #709 on: January 24, 2020, 06:17:16 PM »
That is what I feared, after lose of life of course, that vast areas for animal refuge wont exist. Hopefully Im mistaken.
I watched the post Bird put up that showed the ferocity of the bushfires. All I can say is, to all the fire fighters out there, you are truly brave souls. We still have a while to go this summer. Stay safe, and thank you for your service.

The lost of wild life is huge, there are folk tring their best to help these animals, shouldn't call them that, we share our world with them.
Wonder what they think of us.
The RFS, other services have done an enormous service, we are in their debut.
Their effort is not lost, we have a couple of members of our 4wd club who have attended most of tbe fires in the Clarence.
Our area was the first to be impacted, back in August, then this stretched down the Eastern coast.
Many communities, a hell of alot of country has suffered.

One aspect that has only just come out,
The utter destruction of country, has now lead to an increase in wild dog attacks on not only stock(fences down) but wild life just tring to survive.

Not only NSW, But Vic  and SA.

Hey, tourism is a part, but all the other industies, they are hurting.

Hmmm
« Last Edit: January 24, 2020, 06:28:55 PM by Hairs »

« Reply #710 on: January 24, 2020, 07:13:16 PM »
Forestry have decided to log the only bit of green left around on Styx and the Kempsey Road...

« Reply #711 on: February 02, 2020, 11:47:08 AM »
Filled out the forms this morning to become a RFS member.
I'll hand the paper work in on Tuesday evening at their Meeting.
Friday arvo they held an information evening for communitty members wanting to know more about how the operate, and information if you wanted to join.
About 25 odd communitty members attended, men & women, as well as k8ds in their late teens/early 20's.
The Lawrence unit is a small one(as is many in country areas), only about dozen members, if they can get half the number that showed interest, it would help them heaps.
The following users thanked this post: Spada, Fizzie

« Reply #712 on: February 02, 2020, 12:17:52 PM »
Filled out the forms this morning to become a RFS member.
I'll hand the paper work in on Tuesday evening at their Meeting.
Friday arvo they held an information evening for communitty members wanting to know more about how the operate, and information if you wanted to join.
About 25 odd communitty members attended, men & women, as well as k8ds in their late teens/early 20's.
The Lawrence unit is a small one(as is many in country areas), only about dozen members, if they can get half the number that showed interest, it would help them heaps.

Well done Jon.   I'm going to rejoin.  They closed our local Brigade expecting us all to join a neighbouring Brigade.  I think the only one that stayed in the RFS was the Brigade Captain.  Bit of politicking went on behind the scenes with it all.  The Brigade we were supposed to go to has to move still to an unknown location.

« Reply #713 on: February 02, 2020, 12:26:57 PM »
Cheers Al.
I know most of these guys & girls, I'm still trying to get young Jack to join.
I reckon it would do him the world of good.

« Reply #714 on: February 11, 2020, 02:28:33 PM »
Just saw this on facebook feed. 

Fire victims have received some comforting news today, with the NSW Government releasing an amendment to the legislation that prohibits caravans being used to house bushfire victims.

NSW residents who have been bushfire affected can now live in a caravan for up to TWO years, the previous law only allowing occupation for two days:

https://www.vanhomes.com.au/articles/nsw-government-changes-caravan-law?fbclid=IwAR1UZU7JW6r8nL33pZasGDnEodhyb76TCIdA3Vvd0mLvMd9si1M4BuNahUY

« Reply #715 on: February 11, 2020, 02:37:23 PM »

Fire victims have received some comforting news today, with the NSW Government releasing an amendment to the legislation that prohibits caravans being used to house bushfire victims.

NSW residents who have been bushfire affected can now live in a caravan for up to TWO years, the previous law only allowing occupation for two days:

https://www.vanhomes.com.au/articles/nsw-government-changes-caravan-law?fbclid=IwAR1UZU7JW6r8nL33pZasGDnEodhyb76TCIdA3Vvd0mLvMd9si1M4BuNahUY

A vote for common sense.

« Reply #716 on: February 11, 2020, 02:40:47 PM »
A vote for common sense.
About bloody time

« Reply #717 on: February 11, 2020, 03:05:17 PM »

Shouldn't this be in the WTF section ???  ;D

« Reply #718 on: March 16, 2023, 07:28:00 PM »
Just up the road from mates place.. Hume closed too.
https://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/fire-information/major-fire-updates/mfu?id=11135

« Reply #719 on: March 16, 2023, 08:26:19 PM »
Hey Bird,
Many places are still in flood, yet the state is burning.
At lest once a week I get an alert, 'Asking for members(RFS), crews/strike teams to depart to help.
There are many fire fronts around NSW, and other states.

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

Offline 6knights

« Reply #720 on: March 16, 2023, 09:41:56 PM »
Hey Bird,
Many places are still in flood, yet the state is burning.
At lest once a week I get an alert, 'Asking for members(RFS), crews/strike teams to depart to help.
There are many fire fronts around NSW, and other states.

Not long home from putting out one of those little triangles.
2006 100 series towing a 2012 modcon HFA  🙂
The following users thanked this post: db

« Reply #721 on: March 17, 2023, 05:28:09 AM »
Not long home from putting out one of those little triangles.
Rest up mate.

The following users thanked this post: 6knights