Author Topic: Thermomix  (Read 63930 times)

Re: Thermomix
« Reply #75 on: December 14, 2014, 05:10:02 PM »
After 5 years of nagging the missus got me at a weak point and I agreed she could buy a Thermomix. The wait did have a benefit as she took delivery of the shiny new model yesterday. It has an integrated cook book that even I can use. I must say they're very expensive but I've had choc/banana smoothie, strawberry sorbet, sundried tomato dip, fresh bread with fresh butter so far and it has been awesome. I hope it comes with a fitness plan...

« Reply #76 on: December 15, 2014, 06:43:45 AM »
Friends have one and I looked at it with s very cynical eye. But I think they really are a good bit of gear.

« Reply #77 on: December 15, 2014, 06:48:18 AM »
my wife is trialing the much cheaper 'bellini' from target, $299 but does not come with a scale like the thermomix...

if after a couple of years she is still using it (using it heaps at the moment), we will probably get a thermomix...

« Reply #78 on: December 15, 2014, 06:55:30 AM »
The inbuilt scale is actually one of the best features.

« Reply #79 on: December 15, 2014, 07:33:19 AM »
The inbuilt scale is actually one of the best features.

that's what i have heard...

i can see us getting one of these in a couple of years...

« Reply #80 on: December 15, 2014, 08:39:39 AM »
My wife is driving me nuts for one of these things but I'm trying to not yield to the pressure!!!

« Reply #81 on: December 15, 2014, 08:48:46 AM »
My wife is driving me nuts for one of these things but I'm trying to not yield to the pressure!!!

my wife is doing the same so I just drag out all the cooking appliances that she rarely, or has never used and suggests that these need to be used before adding another to collect dust :)

Offline gordo350

« Reply #82 on: December 15, 2014, 09:54:45 AM »
Just be careful she doesn't do the same with your tools in the shed
Gordo 350
2015 Ford Ranger Super Cab
Aussie Jays Big Red
everyone is entitled to my opinion

Offline jayjay

« Reply #83 on: December 15, 2014, 11:42:02 AM »
my wife is doing the same so I just drag out all the cooking appliances that she rarely, or has never used and suggests that these need to be used before adding another to collect dust :)
No........ you don't get it :)..........
Most of those appliances you have just dragged out, you will be able to flog off on fleabay once you get her the thermomix!!
I did- love all the extra space in my appliance drawers- and the thermomix just sits on the bench, as I use it so often!!
Go on.... jump in-   it's worth it!!
Mitsubishi Challenger
Rearfold Safari Trackabout

« Reply #84 on: December 15, 2014, 04:19:43 PM »
No........ you don't get it :)..........
Most of those appliances you have just dragged out, you will be able to flog off on fleabay once you get her the thermomix!!
I did- love all the extra space in my appliance drawers- and the thermomix just sits on the bench, as I use it so often!!
Go on.... jump in-   it's worth it!!
I do get it - she will not use it and the old un used appliances will still have to stay I have Shit loads of Tupperware still in the plastic bags in MY garage waiting to be used.

Offline barrel01

« Reply #85 on: December 15, 2014, 05:04:59 PM »
I do get it - she will not use it and the old un used appliances will still have to stay I have **** loads of Tupperware still in the plastic bags in MY garage waiting to be used.
You need one of those signs thatvsays anything left in the garage for more than 90 days will become your property and sold off

Offline dales133

« Reply #86 on: December 15, 2014, 05:17:26 PM »
If you don't want the heat function and want the best food processor on the planet with plenty of diversity you can't go past the magimix 4200xl.
Same running gear as the commercial robot coup and 25 year garunte on the motor.
Best kitchen apliance I ever got.pricy but worth it

Offline Redcherokee

« Reply #87 on: December 15, 2014, 06:49:27 PM »
I was lucky enough that Aldi had a recall on their version, so I returned it and got my money back.  After about 8 months, I still struggled to find anything to use it for that wasn't just as easy if not easier and better using conventional appliances (like a knife, saucepan, stick blender etc). And the conventional stuff was easier to wash up.

Jeep Rubicon SWB 2013. Outback Campers Sturt 2011
4.2L Patrol and Billabong Grove 16 hard roofed camper.

« Reply #88 on: December 15, 2014, 06:54:24 PM »
Tucking into some strawberry sorbet, brain freeze ;D

« Reply #89 on: December 15, 2014, 06:56:00 PM »
Tucking into some strawberry sorbet, brain freeze ;D

Its even better with a bit of vodka, take out a small batch for the young fella first then add the good stuff

« Reply #90 on: December 15, 2014, 06:57:32 PM »
You're a thinker GG, even better Tequila for a Margarita 8)

Between the Weber Q and the Thermomix, what else would you need to take camping :cup:
« Last Edit: December 15, 2014, 06:59:59 PM by D4D »

« Reply #91 on: December 15, 2014, 07:06:59 PM »
You're a thinker GG, even better Tequila for a Margarita 8)

Between the Weber Q and the Thermomix, what else would you need to take camping :cup:

A baby sitter good on the eye  ;D

« Reply #92 on: December 16, 2014, 01:56:02 PM »
After 5 years of nagging the missus got me at a weak point and I agreed she could buy a Thermomix. The wait did have a benefit as she took delivery of the shiny new model yesterday. It has an integrated cook book that even I can use. I must say they're very expensive but I've had choc/banana smoothie, strawberry sorbet, sundried tomato dip, fresh bread with fresh butter so far and it has been awesome. I hope it comes with a fitness plan...

Hey D4D,

I'll see if I can get my Mrs (Phatassphairy, who started this thread) to post up her egg cooking timer details, basically she has a fail safe timer instruction to cook eggs in the basket thingy, so u can get ur eggs for brekky exactly how u like them, soft boiled, slightly runny yoke, hard boiled etc..... seems to be pretty spot on, and takes out the guess work. They are good bits of gear and yep, the thermo does appear to do everything, we've had ours for a few years now, and it stays out on the kitchen bench top, as it's always getting used. The Mustard Chicken meal is great too, i'll see if she can share that one as well, it might even be in the Thermo Recipe book.... glad u like yours.

Catch ya,

Barrabart.

« Reply #93 on: December 16, 2014, 02:32:28 PM »
That would be good Barrabart, the first egg attempt ended badly.

« Reply #94 on: December 16, 2014, 02:45:25 PM »
That would be good Barrabart, the first egg attempt ended badly.

« Reply #95 on: December 16, 2014, 03:04:27 PM »
It may take a week or so, the wife is away at present, visiting family and I'm up here in PNG........... but stayed tuned.

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #96 on: December 19, 2014, 01:23:20 PM »
After several years of thermomix ownership we still use ours at least once a day. Great for what they are, but I still think they are very overpriced for what they are.

« Reply #97 on: December 21, 2014, 10:42:22 AM »

After several years of thermomix ownership we still use ours at least once a day. Great for what they are, but I still think they are very overpriced for what they are.

They use the toyota supply and demand pricing guide.

Demand high - price high.

Offline 2impulsiv

« Reply #98 on: December 22, 2014, 06:39:40 PM »

TM5?

My wife got me one night too, I was very drunk!!!! VERY DRUNK!!!!!!!!!

It has arrived and so far she hasn't had much time to learn how to master it. So I'm still waiting for my good feed. Oh, and apparently it does not make beer. I asked the question for the price of it!!

:)

2012 GIC Extreme Off-Road Camping Trailer. Here!
2014 GXL Prado. Here!

Offline phatassphairy

• BarraBarts better half
« Reply #99 on: December 23, 2014, 01:23:03 PM »
hello everyone ,,

and i still love my thermo sooooooooo much :)  .... they have bought out a newer model .... but i am not interested in changing a thing.

i have got my honey mustard recipe from a book but i have tweaked it to our tastes ...

Honey Mustard Chicken
  • 600g of diced chicken thighs (i cut these by hand cause i like the chunkier size... but you can do a pulse but it is more mincey ...you can use breast no problem too)
  • 1 onion
  • 30g cornflour
  • 25g oil
  • 30g smooth mustard (i use australian)
  • 15g of seedy mustard (i use hot)
  • 1 teaspoon of tumeric
  • 1 flat tablespoon of beef stock powder (you can use chicken or vegie ... but the beef is my favourite as i have tried all 3 )
  • 1 cup of frozen corn peas and carrot
  • 50g of honey
  • 100g water
  • 80g thicken cream

chop onion                 --3secs--sp7--scrap down sides
add oil                        -- 100d--2mins--sp1
add tumeric and flour -- 8 sec--sp4
add water                   -- 70d -- 1 min --sp1
add chicken, stock, mustards, honey and vegies --100d --rev --soft --9 mins... i like to stick my Spatula in and give a jiggle at the start ... in the middle .. and at the end of this step.
add cream                  -- 100d --rev --soft -- 22mins

if you like a thicker consistency .. add extra 20g of cornflour ---- 100d --rev --soft -- 3mins.... MC off (the clear measure cup )

i hope you enjoy  that one .

now as for the eggs ..... i make my hollandaise sauce first ... then set it aside in a ceramic jug (but you could use a coffee mug ) with a bit of foil over the top and sides to keep it warm.

Hollandaise Sauce
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 65g butter
  • 15ml of lemon juice
  • salt and pepper(i love cracked black pepper)
  • a hand full of baby spinach

insert butterfly
add first 4 ingredients....90d--7mins--sp3
add spinach ................90d--2mins--sp2

this recipe can be doubled in size ..... but add 2 mins to the first cook time.

My Eggs

place in basket .... add one layer of eggs .. straight from the fridge .. rinse under tap water

add 500g of water .... set on veroma temp ...speed 1

11 mins --liquid yolk creamy white
12 mins --creamy yolk firm white
13 mins -- softish yolk
14 mins --firm yolk
15 mins -- hard boiled

*NOTES*--i use large or jumbo eggs only ... small eggs might need reduced time .. and maybe the temp of your fridge might make it a little different .... i also peel or crack with only 1 minute delay .. as the eggs continue to cook.... to remove your basket .... use the slit in you spatula to lift basket out ... and sit in the sink as it is hot hot hot!!! ... it doesn't seem to matter if i do one or 4 .. and i have popped a small slice of baking paper between the eggs and added some bacon and poached it at the same time ....

i will get back to you with pics of the honey mustard ....sighs...  :-*  i will just have to make it for dinner when BarraBart  gets home  :angel:
« Last Edit: December 23, 2014, 09:40:39 PM by phatassphairy »
have you ever noticed, that whenever you run into a spiderweb, you turn into a ninja?!
The following users thanked this post: Darren253