General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Stewart on May 01, 2019, 06:05:21 PM

Title: Diesel heaters
Post by: Stewart on May 01, 2019, 06:05:21 PM
We are heading out in July in our camper and would like to take a diesel heater to keep us warm when free camping. We don’t want to cut holes and take up storage space inside the camper. We are looking for a portable option that we can store at home when we are not camping in the cold. Any suggestions happy to go with Chinese options as we don’t want to spend big dollars just to keep warm for a couple of weeks a year.
Title: Re: Diesel heaters
Post by: tryagain on May 01, 2019, 06:53:11 PM
This is probably worth a watch https://youtu.be/ApakOCUqNFU
Post by: macca on May 01, 2019, 06:53:47 PM
Don't know how to do the link thing but search eBay for "12volt all in one diesel heater", seen one for $255.00 ,free delivery

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: loanrangie on May 02, 2019, 12:38:49 PM
Mate bought one exactly the same as in the video (complete unit) and its a little ripper, sounds like a jet while warming up but pumps out the heat once its going.
 Will get one when we upgrade to a van.
Post by: moeite on May 02, 2019, 01:13:13 PM
We're about to order one of them for our camper. As soon as I can figure out how and where to mount it.
Does anyone have any ideas ?

Post by: BBull on May 02, 2019, 01:58:01 PM
We're about to order one of them for our camper. As soon as I can figure out how and where to mount it.
Does anyone have any ideas ?
Mounted mine under the end of the bed. But if I was going to do it again I would make it portable. This way I can use it in else where.
Also for the other 75% of the year you don't need it you don't have to take it. But i do love putting it on flat out 30 min before pack up to make sure no condensation is in the tent.
Post by: Bird on May 02, 2019, 02:21:10 PM
Quote from: BBull
. But i do love putting it on flat out 30 min before pack up to make sure no condensation is in the tent.
yea Old Keith did that at our Knockwood weekend... Except it was on overnight till about 10.30 - and around 10.30 he hadnt risen... we thought he was dead LOL!
Post by: macca on May 02, 2019, 05:01:42 PM
When you going to organise another Knockwood weekend?
Was talking to Keefy today when he come into work

Post by: Bird on May 02, 2019, 05:12:21 PM
Was talking to Keefy today when he come into work
dunno,..... but need to
Post by: Bad Scott on May 02, 2019, 08:10:29 PM
Well played  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: edz on May 02, 2019, 11:41:17 PM
We are heading out in July in our camper and would like to take a diesel heater to keep us warm when free camping. We don’t want to cut holes and take up storage space inside the camper. We are looking for a portable option that we can store at home when we are not camping in the cold. Any suggestions happy to go with Chinese options as we don’t want to spend big dollars just to keep warm for a couple of weeks a year.

http://www.dieselheatingaustralia.com/products-pricing/snugger-remote-sf2-diesel-heater/ (http://www.dieselheatingaustralia.com/products-pricing/snugger-remote-sf2-diesel-heater/)    Pretty sure  I'll be going something along this route for our set up ..
Just a cheapy Chinese $150 >>  $300 heater but set up as a DIY portable unit
Post by: Alan Loy on May 03, 2019, 08:28:46 AM
Mate bought one exactly the same as in the video (complete unit) and its a little ripper, sounds like a jet while warming up but pumps out the heat once its going.
 Will get one when we upgrade to a van.

Me too.  Only bench tested it but it seems to work fine.  Certainly throws out the heat!  Not to noisey.
Post by: Bird on May 03, 2019, 10:02:30 AM
Quote from: edz
http://www.dieselheatingaustralia.com/products-pricing/snugger-remote-sf2-diesel-heater/ (http://www.dieselheatingaustralia.com/products-pricing/snugger-remote-sf2-diesel-heater/)    Pretty sure  I'll be going something along this route for our set up ..
Just a cheapy Chinese $150 >>  $300 heater but set up as a DIY portable unit
always thought that looked like a good idea.
still have issues with soft floors without walk up areas, etc working out pipe work without cutting holes in canvas etc.
Post by: loanrangie on May 03, 2019, 12:23:35 PM
still have issues with soft floors without walk up areas, etc working out pipe work without cutting holes in canvas etc.

My dingo's trailer is open on the tent side and plenty of room for a heater but would need a hole cut for the exhaust.
Post by: Bird on May 03, 2019, 02:22:29 PM
Quote from: loanrangie
but would need a hole cut for the exhaust.
we all need to - thats what I meant. :(
Post by: edz on May 03, 2019, 02:49:37 PM
any under trailer access zipped sections or velcro in floor area that you could insert a removable car type demister vent
Post by: Bird on May 03, 2019, 03:06:05 PM
any under trailer access zipped sections or velcro in floor area that you could insert a removable car type demister vent
not without letting 20398203948s of crawlers into the camper... - there maybe, but I can only see getting a special opening made for it by a canvas place - certainly doable.
Post by: loanrangie on May 03, 2019, 04:18:29 PM
I can mount one to the right of the wheel well and vent the exhaust to the front of the trailer, only needs a 1 inch hole.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190503/75cbef7e7dcd25ca02a7d829fd0da7c2.jpg)

Sent from my K10000 using Tapatalk

Post by: jr on May 04, 2019, 01:55:41 PM
I built one and incorporated exhaust etc so its portable
Exhaust gets crazy hot so needs mount and insulation, gas out the end of exhaust is spectacular hot too
I fed heated air back into tent via tube and without care it is hot enough to melt PVC flooring too or whatever else kids leave in front of it

Great bit of gear but 5kw heater needs to be setup responsibly
Post by: Fizzie on May 04, 2019, 04:37:58 PM
Exhaust gets crazy hot so needs mount and insulation, gas out the end of exhaust is spectacular hot too

Wouldn't that then pose a pretty decent fire risk if it's lying on dry grass ???
Post by: jr on May 07, 2019, 05:06:18 PM
without doubt - they aren't designed to sit on the ground,  and theres instructions on clearance to combustibles for exhaust
I put on insulation and mounted on larger ground plate to stop this risk and that of it falling over
Post by: edz on May 07, 2019, 10:19:02 PM
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2150606468293261&set=pcb.2057702807585996&type=3&theater&ifg=1 (https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2150606468293261&set=pcb.2057702807585996&type=3&theater&ifg=1)    a set up on face book that might be an idea for some .
Post by: austastar on May 08, 2019, 09:59:52 AM
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2150606468293261&set=pcb.2057702807585996&type=3&theater&ifg=1 (https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2150606468293261&set=pcb.2057702807585996&type=3&theater&ifg=1)    a set up on face book that might be an idea for some .
    Need to log in to faceplace.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: xcvator on May 08, 2019, 11:59:26 AM

Lift your game Edz, link not working  :angel:
Post by: edz on May 08, 2019, 03:12:41 PM
Works for me  ;D ;D
Post by: Stewart on May 09, 2019, 05:12:37 AM
Thanks everyone. We have just ordered a cheap diesel heater from an Australian supplier. We will use your information to make up a portable heater to take on our trip to Lake Eyre in July. It should keep us nice and warm when we free camp.
Post by: Poita on May 09, 2019, 04:18:42 PM
Works for me  ;D ;D

That's a 5kw isn't it? Don't you roast? 2kw is heaps for a soft floor!
Post by: macca on May 09, 2019, 05:51:21 PM
That's a 5kw isn't it? Don't you roast? 2kw is heaps for a soft floor!
There's talk that a 5 kw running on low is quieter than a 2kw running on a higher setting, I don't know for sure tho only going off things I read on the internet

Post by: tryagain on May 09, 2019, 06:23:39 PM
And the 5kw is actually cheaper than the 2kw now!
Post by: Poita on May 09, 2019, 06:35:55 PM
On low they tend to carbon up real bad though.
Post by: Rumpig on May 09, 2019, 06:39:18 PM
On low they tend to carbon up real bad though.
which is why if you watch the YouTube series on them that I think is linked in this thread earlier, the guy says to every so often run them flat out for 15 minutes to clean them out.
Post by: gronk on May 09, 2019, 09:13:29 PM
which is why if you watch the YouTube series on them that I think is linked in this thread earlier, the guy says to every so often run them flat out for 15 minutes to clean them out.

Is that "every so often" once a day, every time you use it or once an hour ??
Post by: tryagain on May 10, 2019, 12:04:46 AM

Here are the videos, more diesel heater info than you can point a stick at, he mentions it somewhere in the 4+hrs of video's he has done on them  ;D
https://www.youtube.com/user/johnmck1147/videos (https://www.youtube.com/user/johnmck1147/videos)

But if you start a video 1 it won't take to long.
Post by: Rumpig on May 10, 2019, 06:40:21 AM
i forgot the time period which is why I wrote that....lol...think it was once a month but the video above will tell you.
Post by: gronk on May 10, 2019, 06:42:30 AM
Here are the videos, more diesel heater info than you can point a stick at, he mentions it somewhere in the 4+hrs of video's he has done on them  ;D
https://www.youtube.com/user/johnmck1147/videos (https://www.youtube.com/user/johnmck1147/videos)

But if you start a video 1 it won't take to long.

I'm thinking of getting a heater, but watching 4hrs of vids will have to wait.
Post by: GBC on May 10, 2019, 07:06:12 AM
The better units are all automatic and decoke themselves. The Chinese short circuited the tech and released controllable fan speed models without Understanding the basics.
Post by: tryagain on May 10, 2019, 08:02:27 AM
I'm thinking of getting a heater, but watching 4hrs of vids will have to wait.

His take is once a month or so, he discusses the issue in the first few minutes of video 1. I guess it would really depend on how much you are using it though, someone who is on the road full-time would be different to someone heading away once or twice a month.

They are $160 shipped for a full kit including the tank, I think it's a no brainer at that price. Once you have one you will probably wonder why you took so long. The first video is worth a watch though before you pull the pin as he discusses controller types etc.

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com.au%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F223486564232 (https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com.au%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F223486564232)

The better units are all automatic and decoke themselves. The Chinese short circuited the tech and released controllable fan speed models without Understanding the basics.

Maybe not choke up as quickly might be more accurate, even then, from my understanding, it would only be an issue if you turned the dosing up disproportionally  to the fan speed.
Do you know of this actually being a widespread issue? Just sounds a little like marketing speak for people trying to justify much higher prices, happy to be proven wrong though..
Each to their own but I think that the possible slight increase in chocking up is probably preferable to having the unit cycle.

Post by: BBull on May 10, 2019, 09:34:59 AM
His take is once a month or so, he discusses the issue in the first few minutes of video 1. I guess it would really depend on how much you are using it though, someone who is on the road full-time would be different to someone heading away once or twice a month.

They are $160 shipped for a full kit including the tank, I think it's a no brainer at that price. Once you have one you will probably wonder why you took so long. The first video is worth a watch though before you pull the pin as he discusses controller types etc.

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com.au%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F223486564232 (https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com.au%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F223486564232)

Maybe not choke up as quickly might be more accurate, even then, from my understanding, it would only be an issue if you turned the dosing up disproportionally  to the fan speed.
Do you know of this actually being a widespread issue? Just sounds a little like marketing speak for people trying to justify much higher prices, happy to be proven wrong though..
Each to their own but I think that the possible slight increase in chocking up is probably preferable to having the unit cycle.
I have a cheap 5kw in the KK. the one I have goes through a shut down sequence. I believe it stops it chocking up. Mine is the one with the little LCD screen. I'm not sure the dial type actually have a shut down sequence.
Post by: GBC on May 10, 2019, 11:42:57 AM

I don't know. I approached the owner of the company I bought mine from about running kero/kero mix etc and was told not to waste my time or money on the model I have (snugger). If you go to the 'belief' site they publish warnings about running at low fan speed for too long and to run them flat out before turning off - which mine does automatically.
I don't know how long it takes to clog one, in the northern hemisphere they get run for seasons rather than days on all sorts of mixes. Probably not a huge deal for us guys with camper trailers in QLD where it is going to be lucky to run for 48 hours a year.
Post by: Inland_Sailor on May 10, 2019, 09:54:04 PM
What amazes me is the number of these heaters on Ebay. How do you determine which is better than the next on the list?