General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on March 13, 2018, 10:32:56 AM

Title: NRL 2018
Post by: Bird on March 13, 2018, 10:32:56 AM
Go the Roosters.

Title: Re: NRL 2018
Post by: Bird on March 13, 2018, 10:36:06 AM
Full steam ahead... I know the sharks are irrelevant but ... :D

New ARL Commission chairman Peter Beattie has apologised for his Cronulla Sharks gaffe, putting it down to a case of nerves.

The former Queensland premier and self-described lifelong rugby league fan appeared unable to name the Cronulla NRL side in an interview with commentator Phil Gould on

New ARL Commission chairman Peter Beattie has apologised for his Cronulla Sharks gaffe, putting it down to a case of nerves.

Beattie subsequently laughed off the incident as a case of not getting Gould's joke and pointed out he went into the Sharks' dressing sheds following Friday's loss to North Queensland in Townsville.

"This was me Saturday night with the Sharks' coach," Beattie posted to social media with a photo of him and Shane Flanagan minutes after the interview aired on the Nine Network's 100% Footy.

"Yes I stuffed up the answer; just nervous in front of the great Phil Gould.

"Yeah I'm human. I had a mental blank. The price of doing the NRL & the Commonwealth Games at the same time !! Thanks Gus for having me on the show."

In a gaffe reminiscent of his predecessor John Grant, Beattie appeared unable to identify the NRL side which plays out of the Sutherland Shire.

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/new-footy-boss-apologises-for-blanking-on-cronulla-s-team-name-20180313-p4z42j.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/new-footy-boss-apologises-for-blanking-on-cronulla-s-team-name-20180313-p4z42j.html)
Title: NRL 2018
Post by: Pete79 on March 13, 2018, 11:20:12 AM
Was going to put this in the what made you smile thread, but on 9’s alternative footy show last night was the number 1 grub him self, Paul Gallen trying to say that the Sharks aren’t grubs.
That was almost as hilarious as him keeping a straight face while saying that he has never had a coach tell him to or has he ever taken it upon himself to deliberately target an injured opponent..

Yeah good one mate...
Post by: weeds on March 13, 2018, 12:00:18 PM
I don’t follow NRL week to week, AFL I do.......

But......I used to tune into the NRL footy show from time to time as it was entertaining and a bit of fin and a little bit of footy thrown in....I missed the first footy show this year and by the sounds of it I didn’t miss much as it nothing like it used to be

Post by: ewoksta on March 13, 2018, 12:38:11 PM
Go the Roosters.

Hahaha. Great start losing to the Tigers!!  :cheers:
Post by: rockrat on March 16, 2018, 07:56:13 PM
Half time at Suncorp and looking forward to a great 2nd half.
Post by: Banjo16 on March 16, 2018, 09:03:54 PM
You would have thought 2 refs = half as many bad decisions, not from what I see so far.
Post by: grmas1 on March 18, 2018, 04:37:59 PM
Hope the season gets better as the standards of refereeing so far has been terrible.
Post by: Rumpig on March 18, 2018, 04:54:32 PM
Great start to the season for my guys with 2 wins from 2, even taking down The Storm yesterday 8) considering I had my boys pegged for the wooden spoon this year, the start of the season has gone alot better then expected.
Geez Parra are woeful today, down 50 - zip and still 10 minutes to go
Post by: Pottsy on March 18, 2018, 05:51:51 PM
You would have thought 2 refs = half as many bad decisions, not from what I see so far.

Wait till you get three like AFL, then you get three bloody interpretation of the rules. I've always thought that if you notice the umpires generally the decisions have been poor, if you don't the game has generally flowed well and the decisions correct.
Post by: Bird on March 19, 2018, 08:17:12 AM
Quote from: Pottsy
Wait till you get three like AFL, then you get three bloody interpretation of the rules.
Yup - more means worse...

I think the Refs want more of themselves on tele these days, easiest way is blow the whistle... or when there is the obvious try, why call for the review, or to they have to do so many per game to keep sponsors happy?
Post by: Banjo16 on March 25, 2018, 06:56:25 PM
Oh when the Saints go marching in.
Post by: discoteddy on March 25, 2018, 07:35:05 PM

X 2👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Disco teddy
Post by: Spada on March 26, 2018, 09:08:11 AM
why call for the review, or to they have to do so many per game to keep sponsors happy?

They need to go to the bunker KFC advert for commercial reasons................In 2015, video ref sponsorship was worth $10m to KFC, it's probably a bit more by now.
Post by: Bird on March 26, 2018, 09:22:08 AM
Quote from: Spada
In 2015, video ref sponsorship was worth $10m to KFC...

(https://gwendolynhoff.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/a4448-jaw-drop.jpg)
Post by: Rumpig on April 08, 2018, 07:56:10 AM
Another great win to my boys over The Storm yesterday 8) 8) Already won twice as many games for the year then I expected my team to do 8) 8) 8) only loss so far was against The Donkeys when the ref robbed us on a dodge penalty call  >:( and he got stood down the following week over that.
This gave me a laugh this morning https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/nrl-2018-knights-coach-nathan-brown-gives-wayne-bennett-an-extraordinary-postgame-serve/news-story/a3bb0a83d851a6170f6e60d0b5516b4c (https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/nrl-2018-knights-coach-nathan-brown-gives-wayne-bennett-an-extraordinary-postgame-serve/news-story/a3bb0a83d851a6170f6e60d0b5516b4c)
Post by: rags on April 08, 2018, 10:46:46 AM
Another great win to my boys over The Storm yesterday 8) 8) Already won twice as many games for the year then I expected my team to do 8) 8) 8) only loss so far was against The Donkeys when the ref robbed us on a dodge penalty call  >:( and he got stood down the following week over that.
This gave me a laugh this morning https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/nrl-2018-knights-coach-nathan-brown-gives-wayne-bennett-an-extraordinary-postgame-serve/news-story/a3bb0a83d851a6170f6e60d0b5516b4c (https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/nrl-2018-knights-coach-nathan-brown-gives-wayne-bennett-an-extraordinary-postgame-serve/news-story/a3bb0a83d851a6170f6e60d0b5516b4c)

I can share your joy in the Tigers, I didn't have too much hope pre season and glad for being wrong.

With Wayne, he is fast becoming irrelevant. It is good to see 2 former dragons now coaching and dismantling Wayne's legacy and now in charge of well performing teams. I was a bit astounded when listening last night to a post match interview with Sam Thugthaiaday were he said for the Broncos it not about winning but rather it is about improving. Maybe that is why Kevie Walters quit assisting Wayne coaching, as I think he is a winner rather than a loser.
Post by: listo on April 09, 2018, 09:05:29 PM
Got home this arvo after camping & saw results, headlines & replays. Pumped about another Knights win & suck my balls Wayne Bennett, that post match presser was awesome! Finally seeing the boys tans up, but still a long long way to go.
Was going to go to Tamworth next week to watch them but will be in Brisbane instead looking at campers... probably a good thing the way the Tigers are going!
Ivan Cleary’s a bloody good coach isn’t he rumpig?
Post by: Rumpig on April 10, 2018, 05:44:47 AM
Got home this arvo after camping & saw results, headlines & replays. Pumped about another Knights win & suck my balls Wayne Bennett, that post match presser was awesome! Finally seeing the boys tans up, but still a long long way to go.
Was going to go to Tamworth next week to watch them but will be in Brisbane instead looking at campers... probably a good thing the way the Tigers are going!
Ivan Cleary’s a bloody good coach isn’t he rumpig?
he's certainly turned things around and added some stability and belief back into the club, after last year's debacle of cry baby Mitch Moses leaving part way during the season and Tedesco and Woods going also.
Post by: Bird on April 14, 2018, 09:25:32 PM
gee Parra look solid LMAO
Post by: Rumpig on April 15, 2018, 06:17:38 PM
Cop that Manly....Wests 5 from 6 to start the season, with the only loss being from a dodgy refs call 8) 8)
Post by: hainess on April 15, 2018, 08:05:00 PM
Cop that Manly....Wests 5 from 6 to start the season, with the only loss being from a dodgy refs call 8) 8)

Yep

Rod
Post by: Foo on April 15, 2018, 08:22:30 PM
How UnManly of them.  ;D

Wasn't Jarrod Plain going to save Parramatta?  :P

Post by: Rumpig on April 15, 2018, 09:24:18 PM
How UnManly of them.  ;D

Wasn't Jarrod Plain going to save Parramatta?  :P

Manly were pretty ordinary today, way to much dropped ball to put any pressure on Wests and way to many missed tackles. In saying that, Wests carved them up in attack in the first half and controlled the ball giving Manly no chance to mount any fight back that first 40, the game was over by half time really. Manly came out the second half needing to score first, but they dropped the ball the first set of 6 instead...was great to watch....lol.
As for Hayne and Parra...the club was better off without him, he's done them no favours at all ending up back there.
Post by: Foo on April 16, 2018, 06:43:40 AM
Jarrod Plain was never a team player and I don't/can't understand why they would of let him come back. ???

Post by: gronk on April 16, 2018, 08:33:05 PM
The story is Brad Arthur has "lost the room".....

Will he be the 1st to get the boot this year ??
Post by: Rumpig on April 16, 2018, 08:53:41 PM
The story is Brad Arthur has "lost the room".....

Will he be the 1st to get the boot this year ??
Hayne claims another coach yet again will it be
Post by: briann532 on April 16, 2018, 08:57:33 PM

Hayne "Plain" to coach Parra???
 ;) ;D
Post by: rags on April 16, 2018, 09:53:50 PM

Actually it is Corey Norman not getting along with Mitch Moses, and then Corey Norman not getting along with the coach. Norman may need to go back to snorting on the GC.
As the club is still being run by Max Donnelly, the administrator appointed by the govt liqueur licensing board, there is no club board (1) to back the coach to sack Norman or (2) sack the coach.
Parra football club is different to most other member clubs in that the licence leagues club controls the football club. It is why the former players jostle to get on leagues club board, to get control of the football club running and has lead to why they have suffered in previous years through poor board decisions.One club is a multi million dollar business the other a fledgling footy club in comparison.
Post by: Rumpig on April 16, 2018, 09:56:47 PM
Actually it is Corey Norman not getting along with Mitch Moses, and then Corey Norman not getting along with the coach. Norman may need to go back to snorting on the GC.
As the club is still being run by Max Donnelly, the administrator appointed by the govt liqueur licensing board, there is no club board (1) to back the coach to sack Norman or (2) sack the coach.
Parra football club is different to most other member clubs in that the licence leagues club controls the football club. It is why the former players jostle to get on leagues club board, to get control of the football club running and has lead to why they have suffered in previous years through poor board decisions.
maybe Mosses will start crying about wanting to leave the club like he did at Wests.
Post by: Rumpig on April 17, 2018, 06:37:28 AM
What’s the go with Manly players saying they don’t want to play with Jackson Hastings?....those guys need to concern themselves more with learning how to catch a football rather then petty school boy squabbles in the team.
Post by: Bird on April 20, 2018, 09:14:40 PM
So what is considered tackled in footy now?? The bloke has to be on the ground with 4-5 blokes on top?

I've seen so many blokes stopped for 5+ seconds, 2- 3 tacklers... they are not going anywhere, no offload chance... but they keep battling him to the ground then blokes lay on him until the 3 bears come back for their porridge..

Used to be once the bloke was stopped, and no offload - that was tackled..

??? ???
Post by: Rumpig on April 20, 2018, 10:26:03 PM
So what is considered tackled in footy now?? The bloke has to be on the ground with 4-5 blokes on top?

I've seen so many blokes stopped for 5+ seconds, 2- 3 tacklers... they are not going anywhere, no offload chance... but they keep battling him to the ground then blokes lay on him until the 3 bears come back for their porridge..

Used to be once the bloke was stopped, and no offload - that was tackled..

??? ???
you need to get them to the ground and roll them over to slow the play the ball...don’t do that and they get quick play the balls going and defensive team is on the back foot from there.
Post by: alnjan on April 21, 2018, 01:55:40 PM
so next time you drop the ball, just kick it as you had intended to do a drop kick all the time.  Pretty questionable even when the player said he dropped it. 
Post by: macca on April 21, 2018, 02:36:13 PM
so next time you drop the ball, just kick it as you had intended to do a drop kick all the time.  Pretty questionable even when the player said he dropped it.
Billy was shaking his head even before he got up, you could see him saying no try as his teammates run up to him and then he raises his eyebrows when its given a try. He knew all along it wasn't a try but you cant blame him the  refs should learn the rules. Was a great game tho, plenty of skill from both teams

Post by: alnjan on April 21, 2018, 02:56:36 PM
Billy was shaking his head even before he got up, you could see him saying no try as his teammates run up to him and then he raises his eyebrows when its given a try. He knew all along it wasn't a try but you cant blame him the  refs should learn the rules. Was a great game tho, plenty of skill from both teams

Nah you can't blame the players, the ball is life until that whistle goes.  Then we all stand by to see what call the refs make. 
Post by: Rumpig on April 21, 2018, 03:55:52 PM
General play field goal attempt...take the shot and miss and one of your own players grabs the ball before going over the deadball line and scores, it’s a try. Billy’s try not the same thing, but how do you prove it wasn’t an attempted kick? The rules don’t say you need to be attempting a drop kick at the goals, just need to be doing a kick. At the end of the day you can drop the ball and have one bounce and it’s called a drop kick, not the same traditional kick people are used to, but it fell within the interpretation of the rules IMO.
Post by: alnjan on April 21, 2018, 08:08:25 PM
just have to show intent to kick the ball when you drop it.   
Post by: listo on April 22, 2018, 07:15:21 PM
I was meant to be in Tamworth Saturday night for the game, but was on my way to Brisbane instead. Checking updates right to the end, I thought your lads had it Rummy, but the last refresh warmed the heart. I don’t know if it was a good game or not, I’ll have to watch the replay tomorrow
Post by: rags on April 22, 2018, 07:42:45 PM
I was meant to be in Tamworth Saturday night for the game, but was on my way to Brisbane instead. Checking updates right to the end, I thought your lads had it Rummy, but the last refresh warmed the heart. I don’t know if it was a good game or not, I’ll have to watch the replay tomorrow

It was an enjoyable game to watch and even though I'm a Tigers fan I was happy for them to have their first loss of the season given that the Knights competed to the end.
Yes I said the 1st loss as that one against the Broncos doesn't count given the circumstances
Post by: Rumpig on April 22, 2018, 09:10:01 PM
i didn’t  see the game, was at a kids bbq that started at 11.00 a.m....kinda dragged on into an adults social drinks after that though...lol. I did see with 20 minutes to go Wests infront by 10, but I didn’t feel like they were certain to win at that score, they’ve thrown so many leads away over the years sadly.
Post by: listo on April 23, 2018, 08:27:24 PM
I watched the game today, the lads played well. I thought the Tigers were lucky for it to be that close to be honest, Ponga’s kicking wasn’t too flash.
It was an entertaining game though with some good hits too, I wish we were there!
Post by: listo on April 23, 2018, 08:33:46 PM
Watching the footy shows tonight carrying on about how Burgess should have been sent is a bit tough.  Aiden Seizer was dropping & there was no sign of a swinging arm, I can’t see the fuss.
Post by: tracker on April 29, 2018, 04:45:20 AM

Thats strange...... Don't hear much Yippie Ky Ahhh happining at the moment....... >:D >:D

Post by: Pete79 on May 15, 2018, 08:02:34 PM
Soooo, no more Cam Smith brilliance this origin.
Time to see if the one young ones can step up and keep giving it to the Blues...
Post by: Bird on May 16, 2018, 08:40:53 AM
Soooo, no more Cam Smith brilliance this origin.
Time to see if the one young ones can step up and keep giving it to the Blues...
Think of the pressure on some poor **** who will be compared "hes no Cam Smith" all series.
Post by: Pete79 on May 16, 2018, 08:45:47 AM
Yeah the pressure will be huge, but Queenlanders always bring it to another level when the pressure is on. ;)

As long as we don’t start using the NSW model of completely different hooker, half back, five-eighth and full back combinations for every single game, I think we’ll be right.
Post by: Bird on May 24, 2018, 10:35:53 AM
So, is Bellamy going to chase the 5 million?
Post by: Rumpig on May 24, 2018, 11:56:08 AM
you’d think he’s achieved enough at Melbourne now to move on elsewhere, and he’s got family on the Gold Coast also....so maybe.
Post by: paceman on May 24, 2018, 12:38:55 PM

considering the $5m has never been confirmed by any party (and was pretty much called a load of BS by bellamy himself), who knows?

whatever the final offer to bellamy is, it's worth every penny IMO, along with paying out bennett to move along...  the broncos can afford it.

it surely must be attractive to bellamy from a football standpoint, with cronk already gone and smith and slater not too far behind...  plenty of young talent at the broncos for him to wield his magic over...

it would also be a masterstroke by the broncos, when it comes to talk of the second team in brisbane...

Post by: rags on May 24, 2018, 11:03:40 PM
considering the $5m has never been confirmed by any party (and was pretty much called a load of BS by bellamy himself), who knows?

whatever the final offer to bellamy is, it's worth every penny IMO, along with paying out bennett to move along...  the broncos can afford it.

it surely must be attractive to bellamy from a football standpoint, with cronk already gone and smith and slater not too far behind...  plenty of young talent at the broncos for him to wield his magic over...

it would also be a masterstroke by the broncos, when it comes to talk of the second team in brisbane...

I sure the Broncos will manage to fit it all under the NRL soft cap for football operations. They have been masters at third party arrangements for years in a one team one town set up. A second team in Brisbane would provide a good challenge to Broncos.
https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/05/24/the-costly-game-of-bluff-over-the-future-of-wayne-bennett-at-the-brisbane-broncos/ (https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/05/24/the-costly-game-of-bluff-over-the-future-of-wayne-bennett-at-the-brisbane-broncos/)
Post by: glenm64 on June 02, 2018, 08:27:53 AM
Watched my Bunnies play last night. First game I've been able to see them play on TV here in Perth this year.
Gee they look good. Love the confidence they have to throw the ball around. And some of the young guys are promising. John Sutton is playing like a 21 year old. Think we might do ok this year.

Post by: gronk on June 07, 2018, 06:47:53 AM
Was 1/2 expecting a reply from some Queenslanders.......but I suppose there is nothing to say eh ???    ;D ;D
Post by: macca on June 07, 2018, 08:53:34 AM
Was 1/2 expecting a reply from some Queenslanders.......but I suppose there is nothing to say eh ???    ;D ;D
Not a Queenslander but follow the Maroons, replied in Birds thread at 12:30 this morning when i got home from the game, your right not much to say, maybe their all still hoarse from the last dozen or so years they have flogged you. Gunna be hard for them this year but not writing them off yet

Post by: Rumpig on June 07, 2018, 09:27:53 AM
The more they soften the game the less interest I find I am having in it....didn’t even watch the Origin last night, first one I have ever missed.
Post by: paceman on June 07, 2018, 09:43:37 AM
The more they soften the game the less interest I find I am having in it....didn’t even watch the Origin last night, first one I have ever missed.

same... but it wasn't because of lack of biff...

i think origin is on a slow decline... it's a tired concept, IMO...  same old story lines, same old gripes, same old ridiculous 'journalism'...

felt this way even when QLD was dominating...

i am way more excited for the international games coming up...

the RL world cup showed where the focus should be...

Post by: gronk on June 07, 2018, 06:40:19 PM
same... but it wasn't because of lack of biff...

i think origin is on a slow decline... it's a tired concept, IMO...  same old story lines, same old gripes, same old ridiculous 'journalism'...

felt this way even when QLD was dominating...

i am way more excited for the international games coming up...

the RL world cup showed where the focus should be...

I only watch the game as a game. Don't go in for all the journo crap.

Not sure where they have softened the game ? The biff has been gone for yrs, and it as now a lot faster than it used to be.
Post by: Rumpig on June 07, 2018, 06:55:20 PM
It’s not just biff missing...you can’t shoulder charge these days for example, and the moment you smash someone in a big hit even if legal they look for a reason to penalise you for it. The game is very different to the one I grew up playing and watching (scrums are a joke and have been for ages now)...yes the players are a lot more athletic and stronger nowadays, but the game is missing something for me now. Let’s not to mention the handbags at 5 paces push and shove rubbish that occurs now because they can’t biff anymore, or we need 10 replays to make a decision on something that was obvious after the first replay. I never used to miss watching a game on free to air, now I miss heaps of games and just missed watching my first Origin match ever....kinda sad really.
Post by: rags on June 07, 2018, 07:04:00 PM
I had a good laught the other night watching the Fan on fox showing highlights of old SO games.
In one game they had a neutral ref from NZ who gave a penalty against Steve Mortimer NSW for an incorrect scrum feed  only problem was Queensland feed the scrum.
Even Barry Gomesole would have been shocked.
Post by: Bird on June 08, 2018, 10:26:26 AM
It’s not just biff missing...you can’t shoulder charge these days for example, and the moment you smash someone in a big hit even if legal they look for a reason to penalise you for it. The game is very different to the one I grew up playing and watching (scrums are a joke and have been for ages now)...yes the players are a lot more athletic and stronger nowadays, but the game is missing something for me now. Let’s not to mention the handbags at 5 paces push and shove rubbish that occurs now because they can’t biff anymore, or we need 10 replays to make a decision on something that was obvious after the first replay. I never used to miss watching a game on free to air, now I miss heaps of games and just missed watching my first Origin match ever....kinda sad really.
i'd agree with all of that - but in many sports aren't what they used to be and losing grass roots fans, all because the game is designed for TV now.. The AFL head office is nothing more than a TV production company now. Cricket is all being run around what TV wants etc.. soccer is being... well who cares about diveball anyway :D

Post by: Bird on June 12, 2018, 02:25:40 PM
So dont pay penalties when they are there.. that should help people understand the interpretations and quieten down the fans.

The NRL has instructed referees to stop awarding “nitpicking” penalties as its officiating crackdown finally ends to ensure free-flowing footy returns.

NRL CEO Todd Greenberg and ARLC chairman Peter Beattie announced on Tuesday that players can be sin-binned for foul play – regardless of whether the victim is injured or not – under a change to the game’s laws and interpretations.

The amendment is the result of a spate of late hits on playmakers such as Charlie Gubb’s tackle on Nathan Cleary or  Jack Gosiewski’s shot on Johnathan Thurston in the back and without the football.

However, the biggest change will result from officials being told to stop looking for penalties, believing the edicts around the play-the-ball and the 10 metres have done their job.

Rugby League Central has come under heavy criticism after several games in round 14 were stop-start affairs due to big penalty counts, just days after the opening State of Origin encounter was deemed a quality spectacle due to the lack of penalties awarded.

Greenberg said the whistleblowers will be told to let the games flow more freely, beginning with Thursday night’s Parramatta-South Sydney encounter.

“There has been a tendency for the referees to continue to nitpick,” Greenberg said.

“We have to be really careful that we find the balance. We want to see the flow of the game continue. There has been a lot of penalties in the first half of the year.

“I am desperately keen to find that balance. I don’t want referees looking for penalties, what I want referees is to police those areas we have tasked them to do and allow the game to flow.

“They are not going to be perfect, but that’s a strong directive that will continue to come.”

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/penalty-blitz-to-end-as-nrl-overhauls-sin-bin-system-20180612-p4zkyv.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/penalty-blitz-to-end-as-nrl-overhauls-sin-bin-system-20180612-p4zkyv.html)
Post by: Bird on June 14, 2018, 09:45:33 AM
what a choice to make..

Josh Mansour sat in his surgeon's office days after his horrific round-six head injury and was presented with two courses of action to repair his shattered face.

Option one involved making four small incisions through which the surgeon could gain access to what resembled a "jigsaw puzzle" of splintered bone beneath the skin.

The alternative was to slice his face open and peel it back for more convenient access to the jumbled mess beneath, which had crumbled when Gold Coast winger Anthony Don's knee accidentally collided with Mansour in a moment that could have ended the Penrith winger's career.

Unsurprisingly, Mansour opted for the surgeon's initial suggestion.
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/like-face-off-mansour-reveals-radical-plan-put-to-him-by-surgeon-20180611-p4zkqb.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/like-face-off-mansour-reveals-radical-plan-put-to-him-by-surgeon-20180611-p4zkqb.html)
Post by: JusyApples on June 14, 2018, 11:55:34 AM
what a choice to make..
Especially for someone like mansour who spends more time in the mirror then on the field
Post by: Rumpig on June 14, 2018, 06:36:08 PM
Especially for someone like mansour who spends more time in the mirror then on the field
that'd be half the players out there these days  ::)
Post by: Bird on June 16, 2018, 11:36:19 PM
Great news
Melbourne has beaten Brisbane for the signature of Craig Bellamy, ending months of speculation about the supercoach’s future.

Bellamy will remain with the Storm for a further three years on a deal worth about $4.5 million. The decision ensures he will remain at the helm to oversee the transition to the next generation of stars as Billy Slater and Cameron Smith approach the end of their careers.

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/bellamy-s-reign-continues-as-coach-signs-new-storm-deal-20180616-p4zlwv.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/bellamy-s-reign-continues-as-coach-signs-new-storm-deal-20180616-p4zlwv.html)
Post by: Foo on June 17, 2018, 06:58:57 AM
There was never any doubt about Bellamy staying with the Storm.  ;)

Greenturd should stop changing his mind with what action the refs should take. Bloody school kids are told to put their foot on the ball when getting up and playing it, the same as the offside ruling. Stick to the bloody rules of the game and penalise the plays for breaking them, then the dumb chits that constantly do,  ::) will get the message and you will still have a fast free flowing game! That's my thoughts on the refs predicament.  ;)

Post by: Bird on June 17, 2018, 12:04:41 PM
There was never any doubt about Bellamy staying with the Storm.  ;)

Greenturd should stop changing his mind with what action the refs should take. Bloody school kids are told to put their foot on the ball when getting up and playing it, the same as the offside ruling. Stick to the bloody rules of the game and penalise the plays for breaking them, then the dumb chits that constantly do,  ::) will get the message and you will still have a fast free flowing game! That's my thoughts on the refs predicament.  ;)
Shit umpiring/ref-ing and rule changes on the run are bollixing every game.
Just leave the ****in games alone..

But sadly TV holds too much power now - what they want they get
Post by: Foo on June 17, 2018, 01:14:45 PM
^^ Yep ^^  >:D

Post by: rags on June 24, 2018, 10:13:28 PM
Bit quite up here in Qld tonight
Post by: gronk on June 24, 2018, 10:26:44 PM

Sshh......it's time for bed !!   ;D ;D

18 - 14 !!  :cup:
Post by: achjimmy on June 25, 2018, 07:05:07 AM

Post by: Bigfish on June 25, 2018, 07:35:06 AM
Could have heard a pin drop in Cairns...... :-[
Post by: tryagain on June 25, 2018, 08:10:01 AM
The age of the NSW team and the way they have played makes me think that QLD might have to get used to loosing for a while, reality is they had a once in a life time combination of players that are no longer there.
Post by: paceman on June 25, 2018, 08:22:26 AM
The age of the NSW team and the way they have played makes me think that QLD might have to get used to loosing for a while, reality is they had a once in a life time combination of players that are no longer there.

not so sure about that...

NSW had all the momentum from game 1, at home, with QLD having injury concerns (particularly Morgan) and QLD not having a decent goal-kicker, and they still only won by 4...

i think QLD are closer than some think...

yes, we had the once in a generation run, but the dynasty calls from south of the border are a bit premature...

let's see them win a couple of series in a row first...  NSW have a good team, no doubt, and plenty young enough, but that's not all it takes to win consistently, especially in origin football...
Post by: Pete79 on June 25, 2018, 08:54:43 AM
Let’s wait and see if NSW can manage to pick the same key players for more then 2 or 3 games in a row.

NSW downfall has always been their short sightedness. They pick a halves combo that are perhaps the best 2 players at that exact point in time. Next week there’s another 2 players that had better games so they jump ship. Chopping and changing key combinations has been the NSW trademark for many many years. QLD showed what is possible when you stick with a combo and let it mature properly.

Time will tell if the NSW leopard can change its spots. ;) ;D

But anyway two very important points came up from last night’s game.

1) Gus Gould is the worst commentator of any sport on tv today.
2) Not only do NSW like to live in pretend time for 6 months of the year, they now want to pretend that Wednesday is Sunday. Just get back to living in the real world will you, the sun doesn’t change just because you fiddle with your clocks and Origin is played on Wednesday.....
Post by: JusyApples on June 25, 2018, 09:06:21 AM

NSW had all the momentum from game 1, at home, with QLD having injury concerns (particularly Morgan) and QLD not having a decent goal-kicker, and they still only won by 4...

yes, we had the once in a generation run, but the dynasty calls from south of the border are a bit premature...

let's see them win a couple of series in a row first...  NSW have a good team, no doubt, and plenty young enough, but that's not all it takes to win consistently, especially in origin football...

Ponga is a far better player then Morgan, everyday of the week
Post by: paceman on June 25, 2018, 09:21:14 AM
Ponga is a far better player then Morgan, everyday of the week

so, when slater retires, put ponga at fullback and have morgan as the utility...

morgan is a better halves player (when in form)... ponga would be wasted in the halves... needs to roam like he did last night...
Post by: Bird on June 25, 2018, 09:24:46 AM
I still dont understand (going back to the 80's when I understood NRL)

... a blokes progress is stopped... Ref calls Held - that should be tackled.

But the ref calls tackled/ held get off him held get off him held get off him held get off him held get off him held get off him - yet they still push him to the ground.. That used to be a penalty for time wasting - and only seems to be *SOMETIMES* now ???

Yet there was one penalty that Qld got in the second arf on far touchline from cameras - where apparently the ref called held and within 2 seconds the player on the ground with the ball still threw it backwards as he didnt think he was held... yet it was a penalty to Qld for not getting off him or something weird.. I hate to say it, even had Gus Gould stumped.

Get rid of scrums - ****in pointless, just make it a handover.

Also whats with all the tripping? 2-3 times in the 1 game...?
Post by: JusyApples on June 25, 2018, 10:22:19 AM
so, when slater retires, put ponga at fullback and have morgan as the utility...

morgan is a better halves player (when in form)... ponga would be wasted in the halves... needs to roam like he did last night...
To be honest I don't rate Morgan at all. Whether slater retires or not I wouldn't have Morgan anywhere in my team.
Post by: Rumpig on June 25, 2018, 11:18:59 AM
As with game one, I didn’t bother to watch game two...actually clean forgot it was on until 30 minutes into the game (i channel surfed during watching Ronny Dahl and Expedition Overland on YouTube and saw the game on). The clown commentary team members that channel 9 have (Gould is a stand out) and the modern rule interpretations have killed the game for me now. I would have been peeved years ago if NSW won a series or a game even, care factor is pretty low right now about it...might watch the NRL this weekend, then again I might not. Tonga versus Samoa held more interest for me on the weekend for some reason then Origin did, and i’m a born and bred Aussie with no islander heritage, so work that out.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on June 25, 2018, 12:22:27 PM
Well done to the Blues, But One Origin change I would love to see happen is,  if the game is in NSW there should be an all NSW commentary team, The same if the game is held in OLD an all QLD commentary team, As I can not stand listening to The NSW commentary team dueing Origin and Id would say NSW supporters would think the same way, Craig
Post by: tryagain on June 25, 2018, 02:52:02 PM

I am not saying that NSW is about to begin a dynasty, but that QLD's is dead. I think QLD more lost 2014 than NSW won but this series was won by NSW.
Post by: Bird on June 25, 2018, 03:16:21 PM
Well done to the Blues, But One Origin change I would love to see happen is,  if the game is in NSW there should be an all NSW commentary team, The same if the game is held in OLD an all QLD commentary team, As I can not stand listening to The NSW commentary team dueing Origin and Id would say NSW supporters would think the same way, Craig
I'd be happier to see RoOy and HG doing the Festival of the Boot again. Fuk all bias either way then
Post by: Bird on June 25, 2018, 04:21:05 PM
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/origin-player-ratings-how-the-players-fared-in-game-two-20180624-p4znge.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/origin-player-ratings-how-the-players-fared-in-game-two-20180624-p4znge.html)

some interesting thoughts there.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on June 25, 2018, 05:02:08 PM
Great Idea love them two funny buggers,
Post by: Rumpig on June 25, 2018, 05:50:50 PM
I'd be happier to see RoOy and HG doing the Festival of the Boot again. Fuk all bias either way then
another bunch of clowns I can't stand listening to....have to turn Triple M off on Saturday mornings when those 2 dribblers come on.

To be honest I don't rate Morgan at all. Whether slater retires or not I wouldn't have Morgan anywhere in my team.
Morgan had a great year last year and deserved all the accolades he got then, but this year he is playing injured and it shows with his lack of decent form. I think from memory he is lined up for surgery already after the end of the season, have seen him nearly drop to the grass in agony after putting a kick up in a game about a month or so ago, he freely admitted before game one he was "managing" his injury to keep playing this season.
Post by: rags on June 25, 2018, 08:20:55 PM

And when in Melbourne Eddy or silence maybe?
Post by: gronk on June 25, 2018, 09:36:46 PM
And when in Melbourne Eddy or silence maybe?

Do you mean Eddie Maguire ??  Yep silence would be mandatory !!
I'm surprised the Morans didn't murder him yrs ago....maybe they were too preoccupied with the Williams !!  ;D
Post by: Fox67 on June 25, 2018, 10:38:45 PM
I watch it with no volume, just make up my own commentary and as a sore loser I turned the TV off 1 second before the game finished so I didn't have to listen to Gould gloat.
Talk of a Blues dynasty premature, I think these teams will trade series wins for a while now. Ben Hunt appears to be a myth, made look good by playing next to Garreth Widdop at the Dragons.
Post by: Bird on July 06, 2018, 02:15:34 PM
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/my-time-has-come-old-man-sam-thaiday-confirms-nrl-exit-20180706-p4zpxc.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/my-time-has-come-old-man-sam-thaiday-confirms-nrl-exit-20180706-p4zpxc.html)

LOL the getup suits him LOL
Post by: glenm64 on July 06, 2018, 04:55:14 PM
Dragons and Storm game was one of the most entertaining Ive seen. Free flowing and high scoring. Cant ask for more than that.
Cam Smith is one of the greatest play makers ever.
Post by: Rumpig on July 06, 2018, 07:31:33 PM
Dragons and Storm game was one of the most entertaining Ive seen. Free flowing and high scoring. Cant ask for more than that.
Cam Smith is one of the greatest play makers ever.
big scoreline differance for the Storm over last week game with the Roosters
Post by: glenm64 on August 03, 2018, 10:49:42 PM
Rabbitohs are the real deal.
Burgess boys were strong. Sam was sensational. Cook was good.
It was a great game to watch. Storm played well but the Bunnies were great to watch

Post by: Bird on August 08, 2018, 04:09:43 PM
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/storm-s-slater-announces-nrl-retirement-20180808-p4zw5x.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/storm-s-slater-announces-nrl-retirement-20180808-p4zw5x.html)

Thats a shock.... </sarcasm>
Post by: Pete79 on August 08, 2018, 09:13:23 PM
Those of us outside of Sydney will find no surprises in this story....

“HE hasn’t coached for 20 years. If anyone’s old school he has to be in that conversation.”

Anthony Griffin is talking about Phil Gould, arguably one of rugby league’s most divisive figures but certainly one of its most powerful.
By the time the sacked Panthers coach finishes his extraordinary tale of betrayal at the hands of Gould, it’s hard to see how anyone in the game will look at Gus the same way again.

“I’m not here to bullShit. I’ve been around a long time,” Griffin says. “I’m telling my side of the story because I think I have done an exceptional job with that club. And unless I set the record straight I will get no credit for it.”
And set it straight he does. If you’re a Panthers fan, put the kettle on and get comfortable. If you’re Phil Gould, put the phone on aeroplane mode.

When Griffin arrived at Penrith from Brisbane in 2015, he says, “the joint looked like a country fishing club. There were short players, fat players, tall players. The place was KFC and a run around the oval. Gus warned me that it would be nothing like I was used to at the Broncos.
The biggest thing I could see at Penrith that Gus could not see at the time was the ability to build a team from the inside out. He had been recruiting bottom eight players. He sat back and said ‘go for your life.’ We brought Nathan (Cleary) in, Fisher Harris, a heap of others and it was all good.”

But Griffin says Gould grew impatient for success and began trying to shape the team’s play around the opposition.
“I look at it as that Sydney mentality. He thinks everything can be fixed with a play. ‘You have to run this play against this mob and that will fix the problem.’ ”
Griffin says Gould’s meddling was “a bit like a father-in-law”.
“I am what I am. In Queensland you learned to build a whole club and recruit well. I’m patient with that and it’s worked. The club is at the next level. When I came in they were playing off for the wooden spoon.”

Contrary to his persona as a fiercely independent thinker, Griffin says Gould can be easily influenced.
“If someone rings him from outside the club and says one plus one equals three, you have to convince him ‘no, it’s two.’ ”

It was a Saturday night in May and the Panthers did an absolute demolition job on the Dragons to leapfrog the premiership favourites to first spot on the ladder. Nobody saw the 28-2 scoreline coming, a result enhanced by the biggest Panthers Stadium crowd in eight years.
As the club song rang out at full-time, Griffin says he heard not even a murmur of congratulations from Gus.
“It’s the saddest I have ever seen him. We were officially on top of the ladder, having overcome this huge run of injuries earlier in the year, but nothing.
When we lost there was always an inquiry, how had we had failed in our preparation, but there was never any inquiry when we won.”

Griffin says when the Broncos obliterated the Panthers 50-18 at Suncorp Stadium two weeks ago, Gould’s mood was much improved.
“I have never seen him so happy than when Brisbane put 50 on us. And then I’ve never seen him so agitated than when we just beat Manly.”
Post by: rags on August 08, 2018, 09:58:18 PM
Those of us who follow RL will not be surprised.
A coach is sacked for the second time after loosing the support of
1 the club board
2 the club manager
3 the players
4 the assisting coaching staff
Not necessarily all of them but more than one.

Don't doubt the rational behind this.
Unfortunately coaching is no longer old school and some coaches are becoming irrevelant in the modern era. Coach Griffin may well be a bit old school.

Phil Gould has done some good work at the club including the building of a 1st class player academy, telling the NRL that they can stick their assistant grant up their clacker, so they are not in slavery to the NRL, Something that some other clubs wished they could do.
This sacking may not seem a smart move but time will tell.
The one thing about the Panthers is they have deep pockets, rare for a rugby league club owned by the members.
Post by: gronk on August 08, 2018, 11:06:23 PM
Those of us who follow RL will not be surprised.
A coach is sacked for the second time after loosing the support of
1 the club board
2 the club manager
3 the players
4 the assisting coaching staff

After hearing Griffins side of the story, you may never know who is telling porkies ??

But it's a well known fact that Gould can't stop meddling in the coaching side of things, yet he refuses to do the coaching anymore ??

And even though his son is there, Ivan has rocks in his head if he goes back to the place that sacked him !!
Post by: Pete79 on August 09, 2018, 07:29:27 AM
But it's a well known fact that Gould can't stop meddling in the coaching side of things...

Or origin.

It’ll be a great day for our game when those south of the border finally hear the shouts of “shut up Gus!” coming from up here every year. ;)

When we read about Gus getting sacked the only response will be; wow...... wow..... wow..... wow..... wow..... wow..... wow..... wow... wow.... wow.... wow.... wow....

In true Gus style.. ;D
Post by: Banjo16 on August 09, 2018, 10:26:50 PM
Just saw Gus interviewed on the footy show, basically he said it's not my fault & I think Anthony is a great guy.
Talk about BS.
Post by: Rumpig on August 10, 2018, 05:46:08 AM
Just saw Gus interviewed on the footy show, basically he said it's not my fault & I think Anthony is a great guy.
Talk about BS.
thought exactly the same thing....big load of BS I thought, and his channel 9 mates giving him a platform to scream his side of the story from.
Post by: rags on August 10, 2018, 06:39:57 PM
thought exactly the same thing....big load of BS I thought, and his channel 9 mates giving him a platform to scream his side of the story from.

I don't  agree with all what Griffin said regarding the club and the lack of success in developing juniors. He was sack previously at the Broncos for under performing.
I don't agree in the way he was sacked but I think some people are letting their maroon glasses clouding their views.
It is a fact that the current panthers squad includes many local juniors who have progressed thru SG ball under 20 the former JimmBeam cup ( now in trust cup)
Many of these sides have won the respective comps.
Many other players have been let go due to salary cap issues.
The fact is the coach was done for.
It is interesting that the assistant coach has come out on the matter rebutting some of the claims of Griffin. https://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/panthers-caretaker-coach-confirms-he-tried-to-quit/news-story/b178953fc3c412b7a3d524f7ba079573 (https://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/panthers-caretaker-coach-confirms-he-tried-to-quit/news-story/b178953fc3c412b7a3d524f7ba079573)
Griffin never seen eye to eye with Wallace at Brisbane and this continued at Penrith, Wallace becoming an assistant coach on his retirement was further problematic. I  am an old Balmain boy and are happy for them to do well but after living in the Penrith junior area and having involvement with many of those involved with the club I'm happy he has gone. The potential for the club is huge with the right coach.
It maybe a master shot with them giving the GF a hot go without the coach.
Just remember there are 2 types of coaches
Those that are coaching and those that have been sacked. I think Griffin will remain that way for a while longer.

Post by: gronk on August 10, 2018, 07:51:53 PM

The potential for the club is huge with the right coach.

The trouble is, unless you take a gamble with an "unknown" coach, there isn't a lot of them floating around ?
It seems some coaches are successful with a club, but not another.
Same as a work environment....some bosses have plenty of qualifications but no people skills....but others have non of either and others have both !!
Post by: Rumpig on August 10, 2018, 07:55:52 PM
I don't  agree with all what Griffin said regarding the club and the lack of success in developing juniors. He was sack previously at the Broncos for under performing.
I don't agree in the way he was sacked but I think some people are letting their maroon glasses clouding their views.
It is a fact that the current panthers squad includes many local juniors who have progressed thru SG ball under 20 the former JimmBeam cup ( now in trust cup)
Many of these sides have won the respective comps.
Many other players have been let go due to salary cap issues.
The fact is the coach was done for.
It is interesting that the assistant coach has come out on the matter rebutting some of the claims of Griffin. https://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/panthers-caretaker-coach-confirms-he-tried-to-quit/news-story/b178953fc3c412b7a3d524f7ba079573 (https://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/panthers-caretaker-coach-confirms-he-tried-to-quit/news-story/b178953fc3c412b7a3d524f7ba079573)
Griffin never seen eye to eye with Wallace at Brisbane and this continued at Penrith, Wallace becoming an assistant coach on his retirement was further problematic. I  am an old Balmain boy and are happy for them to do well but after living in the Penrith junior area and having involvement with many of those involved with the club I'm happy he has gone. The potential for the club is huge with the right coach.
It maybe a master shot with them giving the GF a hot go without the coach.
Just remember there are 2 types of coaches
Those that are coaching and those that have been sacked. I think Griffin will remain that way for a while longer.
Griffin was out of line with his juniors comment, but there's no way in the world Gould has been in the dark with getting Cleary to be coach there....he can spruik that BS all he likes, but I don't believe him. The Panthers being in 5th posotion with the injuries they had is a pretty decent effort I reckon.
Post by: rags on August 10, 2018, 08:14:35 PM
The trouble is, unless you take a gamble with an "unknown" coach, there isn't a lot of them floating around ?
It seems some coaches are successful with a club, but not another.
Same as a work environment....some bosses have plenty of qualifications but no people skills....but others have non of either and others have both !!

There is a good one around who has won a premiership in the last 4 years without a permanant gig.He also has a relationship with a former Penrith boss who turned the Panthers around in early 2000's and still has an interest in seeing the club do well. That boss was responsible for the coach getting his first NRL gig when director at that club.
Post by: Bird on August 16, 2018, 09:59:39 AM
Once a grub....

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/nrl/john-hopoate-cops-10-year-ban-from-rugby-league-over-park-football-fight-20180815-p4zxpy.html (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/nrl/john-hopoate-cops-10-year-ban-from-rugby-league-over-park-football-fight-20180815-p4zxpy.html)
Post by: Rumpig on August 16, 2018, 11:47:10 AM
Once a grub....

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/nrl/john-hopoate-cops-10-year-ban-from-rugby-league-over-park-football-fight-20180815-p4zxpy.html (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/nrl/john-hopoate-cops-10-year-ban-from-rugby-league-over-park-football-fight-20180815-p4zxpy.html)
if he was racially abused as he claims, the guys would deserve the flogging IMO....is he telling the truth?, I got no idea, wasn’t there so won’t judge him on this event. I’m more interested in barbequegate at The Donkeys...lol
Post by: paceman on August 16, 2018, 11:56:31 AM
if he was racially abused as he claims, the guys would deserve the flogging IMO....is he telling the truth?, I got no idea, wasn’t there so won’t judge him on this event. I’m more interested in barbequegate at The Donkeys...lol

as a broncos man, i hope BBQ-gate leads to both wayne and darius leaving the broncos...

wayne is done at the broncos... time for them to move to a new coach...

darius needs to actually start acting like a senior leader/captain, instead of sooking it in games and at BBQ's...
Post by: Rumpig on August 16, 2018, 06:21:40 PM
as a broncos man, i hope BBQ-gate leads to both wayne and darius leaving the broncos...

wayne is done at the broncos... time for them to move to a new coach...

darius needs to actually start acting like a senior leader/captain, instead of sooking it in games and at BBQ's...
can't see how Wayne will be able to continue there next year, and his son inlaw looks to be compounding the problem and trying to turn the players against the people that pay thier wage.
Post by: Bird on August 24, 2018, 09:27:44 AM
Sad news breaking this morning that former champion Rugby League forward Lance Thompson has passed away.
Our thoughts are with his family at this difficult time.

https://www.theleader.com.au/story/5604786/lance-thompson-dead-at-40/?cs=1507 (https://www.theleader.com.au/story/5604786/lance-thompson-dead-at-40/?cs=1507)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DlT2Yt1UcAAMTKl.jpg)
Post by: Rumpig on August 24, 2018, 09:38:15 AM
Sad news breaking this morning that former champion Rugby League forward Lance Thompson has passed away.
Our thoughts are with his family at this difficult time.

https://www.theleader.com.au/story/5604786/lance-thompson-dead-at-40/?cs=1507 (https://www.theleader.com.au/story/5604786/lance-thompson-dead-at-40/?cs=1507)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DlT2Yt1UcAAMTKl.jpg)
no message at the end of article regarding Lifeline or the like, so i'll assume it wasn't a suicide.... drug overdose maybe?
The guy was a workhorse, sad to read of a life ending so young whatever the reason he has died.
Post by: Bird on August 24, 2018, 09:47:23 AM
Quote from: Rumpig
no message at the end of article regarding Lifeline or the like, so i'll assume it wasn't a suicide.... drug overdose maybe?
sadly the area is a drug Shithole these days.

The guy was a workhorse, sad to read of a life ending so young whatever the reason he has died.
agree

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/former-dragons-cult-hero-lance-thompson-dead-20180824-p4zzgn.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/former-dragons-cult-hero-lance-thompson-dead-20180824-p4zzgn.html)
'A report is being prepared for the coroner, but police say there were no suspicious circumstances or evidence of self harm. Thompson was 40.'
Post by: Rumpig on August 24, 2018, 07:26:27 PM
News reports today are mentioning a possible medical episode as the cause of his death.
Post by: gronk on August 24, 2018, 07:32:21 PM
News reports today are mentioning a possible medical episode as the cause of his death.

Yeh, heard rumors of a heart attack...but he may have had other medical issues that we don't know about.....yet..
Post by: Rumpig on August 24, 2018, 08:17:51 PM
Yeh, heard rumors of a heart attack...but he may have had other medical issues that we don't know about.....yet..
yeah I had heard possibly heart attack also, but could have been a few things I guess.... the MIL dropped on the spot from a brain aneurysm, no previous history / conditions and one of the healthiest people I know, just died suddenly out of the blue without any warning..
Post by: shakey55 on August 29, 2018, 07:01:20 AM

Not drugs.

It was diabetic seizure

Post by: Bird on August 29, 2018, 09:48:46 AM
Oops.

The Cronulla Sharks are being investigated by the NRL over possible salary cap breaches.

The NRL has confirmed it is looking into alleged illegal payments to players during the 2015 and 2017 seasons.

Sharks chief executive Barry Russell made the NRL aware of potential “discrepancies” relating to historical third-party player payments discovered during a club-instigated governance review.

The Sharks asked the NRL’s Integrity Unit to make inquiries into salary cap matters at the club.

"Those inquiries are on-going so we are not in a position to comment further at this stage," a NRL spokesman said on Tuesday night.

"However, based on the information available, the Sharks and all other clubs are salary cap compliant for 2018."

It’s understood the Sharks have spent the requisite 95 per cent of their cap for the current season, leaving them with about $500,000 to play with.

The club won the Telstra Premiership in the 2016 season beating Melbourne Storm. But the irregularities that the Sharks uncovered themselves under an audit earlier this year, reportedly do not relate to the title-winning season.
https://www.theleader.com.au/story/5613649/cronulla-sharks-under-investigation-for-possible-salary-cap-breaches/?cs=1507 (https://www.theleader.com.au/story/5613649/cronulla-sharks-under-investigation-for-possible-salary-cap-breaches/?cs=1507)

Post by: Rumpig on September 09, 2018, 02:39:35 PM
Currently watching the women’s NRL match between the Broncos and Saints after catching yesterday’s women’s match aswell...is it wrong of me to laugh at the fact these women have better ball skills (get your minds out of the gutter) and better tackling skills then the Wallabies do? Yeah the woeful Wallabies jagged a win lastnight, but I watched the game (aswell as watching NRL on my phone at same time), and the Wallabies basic ball handling and tackling skills are being put to shame by these women :cup:
Post by: Banjo16 on September 09, 2018, 07:26:47 PM
Who would have thought, Dragons put 48 points on the broncos.
Post by: rockrat on September 09, 2018, 08:17:05 PM
I was at the game and the Broncos were woeful. Too many mistakes and St George made them pay dearly. I’d put my money on the bunnies next week though.
Post by: Rumpig on September 09, 2018, 08:18:35 PM
Just like The Saints and most other teams actually,  Broncos form has been so inconsistent.....so hard to know who'll win this year. Broncos should have put their women's team on the field today instead...lol.
Post by: Rumpig on September 15, 2018, 09:42:39 PM
3 field goals to win a game, don't see that every day
Post by: rags on September 15, 2018, 10:09:06 PM
3 field goals to win a game, don't see that every day

Unless you are watching a rugby test.
Post by: Rumpig on September 15, 2018, 11:19:21 PM
Unless you are watching a rugby test.
why would anyone in Australia still be watching the Woeful Wallabies...unless they are a Kiwi wanting to see their team towel up a second rate opposition for the hundredth time.
I changed channels at half time to see how the Wallabies were going...dropoed ball and players falling of tackles left right and centre, same old, same old
Post by: Bird on September 16, 2018, 12:56:19 PM
Quote from: Rumpig
why would anyone in Australia still be watching the Woeful Wallabies...unless they are a Kiwi wanting to see their team towel up a second rate opposition for the hundredth time.
you do have a good point..
Post by: alnjan on September 21, 2018, 11:13:14 PM
Was that a shoulder charge?   Have seen some good ones in highlights during the year and nothing said about then, not once.  Now they get to the pointy end and all of a sudden they want to call shoulder charge. 
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2018, 12:08:44 AM
(https://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2017/07/25/18/42A7160800000578-4729240-image-a-97_1501005003095.jpg)
Post by: Rumpig on September 22, 2018, 08:37:16 AM
Was that a shoulder charge?   Have seen some good ones in highlights during the year and nothing said about then, not once.  Now they get to the pointy end and all of a sudden they want to call shoulder charge.
the important thing isn’t the shoulder charge question, it’s the fact Gallen and Fifita are no longer in the finals race 8)
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2018, 08:55:45 AM
why not finish on top...  8) 8)

Cameron Smith has dropped a pre-Grand Final bombshell by declaring he could retire with Billy Slater should Melbourne go back to back.

While the Storm sweat on Slater being cleared by the match review committee for a shoulder charge, they will also be hoping Smith was having only having a bit of fun with the media.
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/cam-smith-hints-at-following-billy-out-the-door-if-storm-win-20180921-p505ca.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/cam-smith-hints-at-following-billy-out-the-door-if-storm-win-20180921-p505ca.html)
Post by: Foo on September 22, 2018, 11:49:15 AM
the important thing isn’t the shoulder charge question, it’s the fact Gallen and Fifita are no longer in the finals race 8)

Amen to that!  :cup: :cheers:

Post by: Hairs on September 22, 2018, 12:29:14 PM
Slater has been charged for a shoulder charge.
Good stuff.
If he misses the GF, that's called Karma.

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

Post by: weeds on September 22, 2018, 12:35:40 PM
Slater will be cleared to play

Post by: Hairs on September 22, 2018, 12:47:46 PM
Slater will be cleared to play

Of cause he will.
Can not have him sitting on the side line, he'll take the plea and get to play.
Why can't the nrl grow some

Post by: alnjan on September 22, 2018, 01:14:17 PM
Just don't know how they can isolate that hit as a shoulder charge compared to some throughout the year that didn't even raise an eyebrow
Post by: glenm64 on September 22, 2018, 01:22:20 PM
Im not a Storm supporter.
But I love watching him play. Slater brings something to his game that just keeps the opposition trying to second guess his moves. It will be a sad way to end his career, especially when far worse hasnt been acted upon this season. Just appreciate the skill of the man.
Now if my Bunnies get through tonight, well its a different story. Ban him!

Post by: Bird on September 22, 2018, 01:31:55 PM
hes been charged... now the games begin
Post by: tryagain on September 22, 2018, 03:07:12 PM
hes been charged... now the games begin

They already have, what will the outcome be? I bet it just so happens to be what coinsides with what brings the most attention/drama. Initially gets charged but then gets let off on appeal, time will tell.
Post by: Hairs on September 22, 2018, 03:15:02 PM

Slater brings something to his game that just keeps the opposition trying to second guess his moves.

True,
They are wondering what his next dirty little trick will be

Being a channel 9 commentator and justifying it.

Post by: Bird on September 22, 2018, 03:53:43 PM
surely they arent crying about knocking a bloke into touch few mtrs out from the try line very early in the 1st 1/2 where the bloke got straight up and walked off ???
you ****in have to be joking, theres more force in singing the anthem than that ??? ??? ???
Post by: rags on September 22, 2018, 04:22:26 PM
If Slater was charged with a similar offence in round 5 or 20 he and the Storm would have said guilty and we won't contest the charge, happy to take the 1 week.

Not sure what has changed. It is unfortunate that he may miss his last game but after all he should be treated no different to any other player, rules are rules for a reason.

With regards the player hit getting up and playing on, I don't think so, the very next play that same player (Vechie) was involved in, seen him taking off for the rest of the game with a busted right shoulder, the very shoulder slater hit. It may well have been enough to instigate the injury and all it took was for Vechie to fall on it and do the final damage, that we will never know.

Post by: Bigfish on September 22, 2018, 05:41:06 PM
HE SHOULD BE RIGHT...Video footage from game shows he used his right hand.
Post by: rags on September 22, 2018, 05:52:27 PM
The only issue is that he did not use that arm until after the first shoulder contact, he lead with the shoulder.
The arm came into play as a final shove.
I not sure the rule allows that.
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2018, 06:05:12 PM
I think in all forms the 30000000000 replays TV stations etc use hinder all sides at some stage..

slowing it down to 50000 frames a second isnt real.. Shit happens in a split second - watch it at real time and judge it on real time
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2018, 09:45:43 PM
how sweeeeeeeeeeeet

Full time: Sydney Roosters 12 South Sydney Rabbitohs 4
Post by: macca on September 22, 2018, 09:49:57 PM
Bloody great to be at the game and listen to the accolades from Slaters peers then get a laugh reading the sour grapes from the whinging minority

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk

Post by: grmas1 on September 23, 2018, 07:15:58 AM
how sweeeeeeeeeeeet

Full time: Sydney Roosters 12 South Sydney Rabbitohs 4

Tough to watch as a Souths Supporter to lose to the Roosters, only thing worse would be if it was in a GF.
Post by: glenm64 on September 23, 2018, 09:01:48 AM
Tough to watch as a Souths Supporter to lose to the Roosters, only thing worse would be if it was in a GF.
Im still  moping around.

Post by: #jonesy on September 23, 2018, 03:38:43 PM
Not that I fully understand league but why did Cooper Cronk stay on after half time? Couldn't kick, tackle or throw. To me it seemed that he was just risking a greater injury for very little gain.
Post by: macca on September 23, 2018, 05:29:29 PM
Because he's a great play organiser, hes aways rallying the troops and he never shuts up behind play, they probably couldnt get him off anyway

Post by: Hairs on September 23, 2018, 06:01:58 PM
Because he's a great play organiser, hes aways rallying the troops and he never shuts up behind play, they probably couldnt get him off anyway

He'll probably end up doing the same as Alfie does for the Broncos and Qld.
14th man on the field.

Post by: Bird on September 24, 2018, 03:21:46 PM
Anyone taking bets on the result?

Melbourne Storm confirms it will contest Billy Slater's charge at the NRL Judiciary.

The NRL Match Review Committee, on Saturday morning, charged Billy Slater with a grade one shoulder charge meaning even with an early guilty plea, Slater will miss one match.

The Match Review Committee charged Slater for a tackle on Cronulla's Sosaia Feki in the first half of Friday night's Preliminary Final at AAMI Park. Slater was penalised at the time, but not placed on report

Storm Football Director Frank Ponissi said," We are disappointed for Billy that he has been charged by the Match Review Committee. We must now focus on giving Billy the best chance of playing in Sunday's Grand Final, we have spoken with our defence team and feel we have a very strong case."

The Club will now await confirmation from the NRL on the day of the judiciary hearing.
https://www.melbournestorm.com.au/news/2018/09/22/storm-to-contest-slater-charge/ (https://www.melbournestorm.com.au/news/2018/09/22/storm-to-contest-slater-charge/)
Post by: gronk on September 24, 2018, 06:51:53 PM
While I believe there wasn't much in the tackle, they can't be seen giving any preferential treatment, grand final coming up or not !!
Post by: listo on September 24, 2018, 07:35:55 PM
While I believe there wasn't much in the tackle, they can't be seen giving any preferential treatment, grand final coming up or not !!

They’re seen giving preferential treatment week in week out mate, Slater will play for sure. Maybe the karate kid should take in his captain as his defence lawyer, with the two together, they might even settle on the match result with the judge while they’re there  ;D
Myself, I don’t care if he does or doesn’t, following the rules he should be gone, but in saying that that, all I see is a great try saver.
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2018, 09:38:57 AM
Quote from: listo
...  all I see is a great try saver.
thats how I see it too... and they reckon AFL is going soft...
Post by: alnjan on September 25, 2018, 12:31:44 PM
all I see is a great try saver.

That's the way I see it.  His shoulder may have made contact with him but so did the rest of the side of his body, torso, legs, hip etc. 

It is not the head on, lead with the shoulder hit, that is to inflict damage rather then try to tackle someone, that the NRL are trying to remove from the game.  A bit like leading with your head with your arm outstretched behind you body and blame the other bloke for moving into it and call it accidental.   
Post by: alnjan on September 25, 2018, 08:58:53 PM
Apparently he was found not guilty
Post by: tryagain on September 25, 2018, 09:09:56 PM
what will the outcome be? I bet it just so happens to be what coinsides with what brings the most attention/drama. Initially gets charged but then gets let off on appeal.

Told you so!
Post by: Bigfish on September 25, 2018, 09:12:45 PM
That's the way I see it.  His shoulder may have made contact with him but so did the rest of the side of his body, torso, legs, hip etc. 

It is not the head on, lead with the shoulder hit, that is to inflict damage rather then try to tackle someone, that the NRL are trying to remove from the game.  A bit like leading with your head with your arm outstretched behind you body and blame the other bloke for moving into it and call it accidental.

Thats also the way I saw it.  A full on shoulder charge it certainly wasn,t.  Anyways...he,s free to play.   

Hope Storm win.
Post by: alnjan on September 25, 2018, 09:12:53 PM
https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/billy-slater-cleared-of-shoulder-charge-free-to-play-2018-nrl-grand-final/20a2b9e8-8443-46f5-a78f-7b148e221839
Post by: Pete79 on September 26, 2018, 05:04:07 AM
Lucky it’s for a grand final and not an origin game, guaranteed a different result if it was... ;)
Post by: Rodt on September 26, 2018, 06:41:28 AM
Dunno mate. Bob Lindner was one of the committee members so I imagine he would stick up for the Qlder (fair)  side of things ;D
Post by: silverfox1111 on September 26, 2018, 08:41:24 AM
He was never going to get done. He's the golden child.
Him & cameron smith have something over the NRL!
Did you see the look on smith's face when he got sin-binned this year? Priceless!!
Silverfox
Post by: Bird on September 26, 2018, 09:14:24 AM
I don't see what all the fuss is about.. Tackled him into touch - both got up and played on like any other normal tackle.

maybe they need to just close up and join these dudes http://touchfootball.com.au/ (http://touchfootball.com.au/)

Golden child?
Post by: paceman on September 26, 2018, 09:29:14 AM
Did you see the look on smith's face when he got sin-binned this year? Priceless!!
Silverfox

really?

perhaps have another look at the multiple tackles which were the same or worse than what slater did... with no charges being laid...?

the conspiracy theories are laughable, at best...

the shoulder charge rule was not designed to stop players from being pushed into touch.  it was designed to stop head-on collisions.

and in any case, his arms were up and touching the player.  not even a clear cut shoulder charge, IMO...

if any blame is to be portioned, point it to the NRL for their inability to get rules in place that are clear cut (shoulder charge, obstruction, ball stripping)...

Post by: Bird on September 26, 2018, 09:53:21 AM
Quote from: paceman
if any blame is to be portioned, point it to the NRL for their inability to get rules in place that are clear cut (shoulder charge, obstruction, ball stripping)...
all codes are guilty of this sort of Shit... they panic in rules without thinking them through just to be 'seen to be doing something'... AFL do it all the time as well.
Post by: macca on September 26, 2018, 12:57:49 PM
Silverfox
How was he meant to handle the tackle, " excuse me Mr Feki but I'm not going to be happy if you put the ball down there, would you mind putting it on that side of the line over there", he should never have been charged in the first place.

More like "tall poppy syndrome" think their record shows they are two of the greats of the modern game

Post by: Bigfish on September 27, 2018, 06:49:17 AM
Warriors captain Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has taken out the Dally M Medal, before an impromptu haka performed in his honour stole the show at the gala event in Sydney.

Watched his team mates do the Haka after he was awarded the prize. Very moving stuff.   Its all about respect...its just a pity that there are a hell of a lot of rugby players that need to grow up and respect the fans and community they live in that help them become senior players.
Post by: Bird on September 30, 2018, 09:26:44 PM
Go the Chickens :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: rags on September 30, 2018, 10:16:57 PM
Go the Chickens :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

A master class in game control. Congratulations to the Cocks.
Poor Billy couldn't milk a penalty tonight, not through lack of trying.

Go the Tigers next year, oh well got to be hopeful
Post by: alnjan on September 30, 2018, 11:23:08 PM
Putting an injured player on the field makes a mockery of the whole NRL and looking after the players.  Why worry about rules at all.  Is there such a thing as Duty of Care to the Players.
Post by: Bird on October 01, 2018, 09:08:02 AM
Quote from: alnjan
Is there such a thing as Duty of Care to the Players.
Players have played with injuries since the dawn of time... broken ribs, shoulder injuries, broken arms etc etc..
quick jab and away you go.

my personal thoughts on concussion type injuries - in any form of footy - if your knocked out it should be automatically 1 week on the sideline as a minimum.
Post by: KingBilly on October 01, 2018, 10:09:42 AM
my personal thoughts on concussion type injuries - in any form of footy - if your knocked out it should be automatically 1 week on the sideline as a minimum.

Pluck me Bruce, I finally found something to agree with on  :cheers:

Post by: alnjan on October 01, 2018, 10:31:17 AM
Players have played with injuries since the dawn of time... broken ribs, shoulder injuries, broken arms etc etc..

I know it's happened in the past, who can forget Mal playing with a cast.  I guess Insurance companies haven't caught up with the NRL with regard to compensation.  Still why have a medical to be considered fit to play when your not. 
Post by: Bigfish on October 01, 2018, 11:55:26 AM

I was listening to a woman speaking on the ABC about concussion in sport. AFL commissioned a report and completely covered it up ensuring it was not given out. Pretty damning about head injuries. As she said...in boxing a concussion is normally a one month absence from the ring.  Many players in America now are feeling the effects of concussion with memory loss and other neurological disorders.

Once again ...money first--players welfare second!    Any concussion should see a player side lined for at least a month. Some of the info and stats this woman doctor stated was alarming.
Post by: Bird on October 01, 2018, 02:19:25 PM
Quote from: Bigfish
Many players in America now are feeling the effects of concussion with memory loss and other neurological disorders.

Money will always win...

New findings from a study on the crippling brain disease Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy (CTE), which is linked to individuals who sustain repeated blows to the head or who are subject to repetitive brain trauma, showed that nearly every former NFL player's brain examined during research revealed evidence of CTE.

The findings released Tuesday were part of a study conducted by two leading medical institutions devoted to CTE research — the VA Boston Healthcare System and Boston University School of Medicine — and the results concluded that of 111 NFL players' brains that were donated to science after the players' deaths, 110 (99%) were found to have CTE. The disease currently can only be diagnosed post-mortem.

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/football/new-study-finds-nfl-player-suffers-cte-article-1.3355228 (http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/football/new-study-finds-nfl-player-suffers-cte-article-1.3355228)
Post by: Bird on October 01, 2018, 02:29:19 PM
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/reports-blake-ferguson-played-second-half-with-broken-bone-in-leg-20181001-p5071w.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/reports-blake-ferguson-played-second-half-with-broken-bone-in-leg-20181001-p5071w.html)

There was more than one heroic injury story coming from the Roosters after the grand final, with winger Blake Ferguson playing the bulk of the second half with a break in his fibula.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on October 01, 2018, 05:20:45 PM
Cronk was supposed to have a cracked shoulder blade as well as anything else.
He was only there for his play making skills.
I suppose you could say it worked.
Post by: macca on October 01, 2018, 06:46:07 PM
After being at the game last week and watching Luke Lewis give his farewell speech after the game to applause and cheering and a standing ovation as he walked off the ground from both sides of supporters, which BTW was introduced by Billy, then to watch that dog act by Roosters supporters while Billy tried to give his farewell speech lastnite just makes me proud to be a Storm supporter. I totally agree with them booing him during the game,  thats just part of it but after the game thats just bullShit, but congrats to  the Roosters team, done their homework and gave us a towelling

Post by: tryagain on October 01, 2018, 07:20:36 PM
After being at the game last week and watching Luke Lewis give his farewell speech after the game to applause and cheering and a standing ovation as he walked off the ground from both sides of supporters, which BTW was introduced by Billy, then to watch that dog act by Roosters supporters while Billy tried to give his farewell speech lastnite just makes me proud to be a Storm supporter. I totally agree with them booing him during the game,  thats just part of it but after the game thats just bullShit, but congrats to  the Roosters team, done their homework and gave us a towelling

Yeah, the booing for him before (when the retiring players were going around) and after the game, I thought was pretty bad, and I'm a Roosters fan.
Post by: rags on October 01, 2018, 09:04:43 PM
On a new subject what character do you need to be the Kangaroos captain,
Not one of Greg Inglis smartest move, maybe Boyd Courtner will take over now.
https://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/kangaroos-captain-greg-inglis-charged-with-drink-driving/news-story/72df69b9378577c7b0591b66bd23c78f (https://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/kangaroos-captain-greg-inglis-charged-with-drink-driving/news-story/72df69b9378577c7b0591b66bd23c78f)
Post by: Bird on December 02, 2018, 02:57:49 PM
whats going on in NRL now..
players admitting they are leaving the club NEXT year, coaches doing the same, scrums a farce, bunker a joke...

but this bennett thing... He thought he was going to coach brissy while setting up rabbits?
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/nrl/wayne-bennett-sacked-after-news-corp-finally-run-out-of-patience-20181202-p50jpt.html (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/nrl/wayne-bennett-sacked-after-news-corp-finally-run-out-of-patience-20181202-p50jpt.html)
Post by: Foo on December 02, 2018, 03:26:43 PM
In wouldn't have left neither after the chit that has gone on. Pay me the full contract amount and not a cent less or pliss off!  >:D

Post by: Bird on December 03, 2018, 08:58:19 AM
https://www.smh.com.au/politics/nsw/i-will-not-be-bullied-daley-holds-firm-on-stadiums-policy-20181202-p50jpa.html (https://www.smh.com.au/politics/nsw/i-will-not-be-bullied-daley-holds-firm-on-stadiums-policy-20181202-p50jpa.html)

So.. I don't see the point in spend 60 million on a footy ground, when there's 1000's of homeless people..
Then if the NRL moves the grand final around the country (how can NSW prem have any say in it anyway?) - that means AFL in their stupidity will follow suit...
Post by: Bird on January 11, 2019, 05:17:25 PM
LMAO

He leans in close to her face and appears to say: “Call me big Papi ... call me Big Papa.”  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

https://www.news.com.au/sport/sports-life/sex-tape-allegedly-involving-canterbury-bulldogs-player-dylan-napa-emerges/news-story/a6bc78f4b594c16a24e531c0c54d9c18 (https://www.news.com.au/sport/sports-life/sex-tape-allegedly-involving-canterbury-bulldogs-player-dylan-napa-emerges/news-story/a6bc78f4b594c16a24e531c0c54d9c18)
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/49778133_2208023525952063_2512781955238461440_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=1d7b02ec869a69d907d78ee0ab5ec9ff&oe=5CBBC0C8)
Post by: Pete79 on January 12, 2019, 08:05:47 AM
Things really have turned around at the sharks these days.

Oh wait, what’s that???
Maybe not..... ;D

The entire Cronulla Sharks squad has been banned from a popular sailing club in the Sutherland Shire as a result of a late-night incident that the police are investigating.

The Sydney Morning Herald reported on late Friday night that the Cronulla Sailing Club took the extraordinary decision to ban the entire squad from its premises after a series of scuffles broke out at the venue on December 21 that involved several lower grade players.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nrl-premiership/police-investigating-after-entire-cronulla-sharks-squad-is-banned-from-sailing-club-over-fracas/news-story/f1bbed2cc9393e945f454eaed670d33e (https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nrl-premiership/police-investigating-after-entire-cronulla-sharks-squad-is-banned-from-sailing-club-over-fracas/news-story/f1bbed2cc9393e945f454eaed670d33e)

Must be those steroids and peptides playing up again.... :P
Post by: Bigfish on January 12, 2019, 08:33:36 AM
AH YES....SEXUAL ASSAULTS, DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, LEWD BEHAVIOUR, DRUNKENNESS, DRUG USAGE, DRINK DRIVING CHARGE, ASSAULTS.....Everything to look forward to in the 2019 NRL season. :cheers:
Post by: Bird on January 12, 2019, 08:18:58 PM
Big Papi's going to be a porn star when he finishes NRL

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/bulldogs-investigating-after-second-lewd-video-of-dylan-napa-surfaces-20190112-p50r1g.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/bulldogs-investigating-after-second-lewd-video-of-dylan-napa-surfaces-20190112-p50r1g.html)
Post by: JusyApples on January 13, 2019, 07:13:18 AM
Big Papi's going to be a porn star when he finishes NRL

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/bulldogs-investigating-after-second-lewd-video-of-dylan-napa-surfaces-20190112-p50r1g.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/bulldogs-investigating-after-second-lewd-video-of-dylan-napa-surfaces-20190112-p50r1g.html)
I have a 1 min version of this video. And there is also another one involving Napa that I received yesterday and boy is it strange!!

Post by: Bird on January 14, 2019, 07:27:18 PM
this could get huge!

A third sex tape allegedly involving Bulldogs prop Dylan Napa is being circulated on social media amid claims the lurid videos were part of a private WhatsApp group involving as many as 25 other players.

The latest Napa video came to light as potentially damaging footage of two other star footballers emerged, with Dragons recruit Corey Norman and Wallabies star Kurtley Beale laughing in the presence of a man snorting a line of white powder. It is not clear when it was filmed.

A third sex tape involving Queensland and Bulldogs prop has emerged on social media.

Napa and his manager, Steve Gillis, met with lawyers in the city on Monday in a desperate bid to come up with a strategy to stop the slow leak of explicit videos into the public domain.

In what is looking increasingly like a revenge porn situation, the latest Napa video allegedly shows him engaging in a consensual sex act with a woman while referring to himself as “Big Papi” — the same name he is heard to call himself in the first video.

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/napa-in-crisis-talks-with-lawyers-as-third-sex-tape-emerges-20190114-p50rbi.html (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/napa-in-crisis-talks-with-lawyers-as-third-sex-tape-emerges-20190114-p50rbi.html)
Post by: JusyApples on January 14, 2019, 09:03:56 PM
this could get huge!
I also received these videos today.

In relation to Corey Norman one Dragons who I support and wasn’t happy with this signing have already released a statement in relation to it.

I looked forward to receiving the next round of videos tomorrow

Post by: Bird on January 14, 2019, 11:33:22 PM
Quote from: JusyApples
I looked forward to receiving the next round of videos tomorrow
there are plenty apparently
Post by: Hairs on March 27, 2020, 04:53:46 PM
NRL FFS, you are so far out of touch.
Did you really think that your sponsors were going to pay you for no return?
Post by: Bigfish on March 27, 2020, 04:59:01 PM
NRL FFS, you are so far out of touch.
Did you really think that your sponsors were going to pay you for no return?

Hopefully, like with all the outrageous salaries the sports are paying to players and executives alike the aftermath of the virus will see them all forace clubs to have manageable salary caps and executive salaries in line with community expectations.   AFL, NRL, ACB, TENNIS AUS are completely out of touch with salaries/wages.  Millions will be hurt for many years and wont accept the current clubs in the way they are managed..
Post by: gronk on March 27, 2020, 05:17:38 PM
Hopefully, like with all the outrageous salaries the sports are paying to players and executives alike the aftermath of the virus will see them all forace clubs to have manageable salary caps and executive salaries in line with community expectations.   AFL, NRL, ACB, TENNIS AUS are completely out of touch with salaries/wages.  Millions will be hurt for many years and wont accept the current clubs in the way they are managed..

This country has pretty reasonable wages for sports "stars", not like overseas countries.
In this crisis, sure, they shouldn't be paid, just like other out of work people, but once the dust settles, providing the sponsors come back, ( and TV deals ) , they will be paid the same as now. Elite people have always been paid big money and I can't see it changing in the future !!
Post by: paceman on March 27, 2020, 05:30:09 PM

athlete salaries (along with CEO salaries and such) are a product of the free market.  restricting people, of any walk of life, the ability to earn as much money as they can legally, is ridiculous IMO, regardless of whether we agree with the numbers or not.

if someone said to one of us, we'll pay you millions (in some cases) to play sport for a living, then who among us will say no? 

not me, that's for sure.

if shareholders (for CEO's) and professional sports leagues can pay their workers, then good luck to them.

a huge number of these high wage earners give millions across the globe every year to thousands of charities, good causes and individuals alike... many stories coming out where sports stars in particular are paying stadium workers out of their own pockets and also providing millions to update medical facilities in their own countries.

this 'alright for some' attitude begs the question?  do you watch these leagues or buy a particular product that has a highly paid CEO?

whether they have millions or not makes no difference to my life whatsoever.  in fact, sometimes it makes it better.

just my opinion... not all will agree, no doubt.  which is cool, we are in a free country...
Post by: Rodt on March 27, 2020, 07:00:19 PM
Careful paceman. Don't let the truth get in the way of a good story / whinge session  :cheers: