Author Topic: What movie have you watched recently?  (Read 120831 times)

Re: What movie have you watched recently?
« Reply #400 on: December 29, 2019, 03:50:16 PM »
"  Gemini man  " with Will Smith and son https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AbyJignbSj0 wasnt too bad .

« Reply #401 on: December 29, 2019, 05:25:58 PM »
"  Gemini man  " with Will Smith and son https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AbyJignbSj0 wasnt too bad .
That looks ok, will watch it tonight. ;D

« Reply #402 on: January 23, 2020, 02:57:42 PM »
"  MIDWAY  "   latest version .....           VOMIT  in progress  ..
CGI is Cartoonish crap .. acting is  crap . On the plus side they got a couple of out of the ordinary things into it but went stupid with the usual  movie licence of add more just to make it look bigger  and wow ..
Would have been better to just make it all a CGI cartoon movie ..   

Offline xvprado

« Reply #403 on: January 23, 2020, 03:52:03 PM »
The gentlemen, just outstanding matthew mcnogahie, Hugh Grant etc etc
Glen
Hawkesbury Valley, Sydderney
2015 200 TD VX & Mountain Trail LXV4.7

« Reply #404 on: January 23, 2020, 06:18:01 PM »
Bad boys for life

Good bringing back the "old" team.
Lots of  action, explosions and motorbike stunts (that were a bit pointless)
All up an enjoyable movie.

« Reply #405 on: January 24, 2020, 06:26:01 AM »

I particularly smiled at the end bit where he is challenging the young fella to a 10k run. Being the same age and on the decline I think about the song played on the radio at the end of the 'Talkin Sport' program "Not as good as I once was but as good once as I ever was". Sigh (lost youth)

« Reply #406 on: January 24, 2020, 06:31:58 AM »
Went and saw " Danger Close "  the Long Tan battle movie this morning .. For a first showing, Only about twenty people in the theatre,  not a box office busting start..
All I can say is it falls short in its portrayal in a lot of ways . Its an ok movie that just didnt hit the mark for me though,  after reading / seeing the battle  documented over the years .
I reckon it portrays some people in a bad light and I dont reckon they or their relatives would be too happy ..But thats movie dramatic licence  ..

:cup: Watched this with my father in law over the Chrissy break and he is an old nasho. I spent 15 minutes beforehand explaining to him that it is not a documentary but a bit of entertainment that also helps people remember / don't forget. Shouldn't have wasted my breath. I think the movie was OK but was more entertained with the running commentary about how the wear their hats, carry their guns, disperse under fire, not following training etc etc  ;D

In the end he did tell me it was a good movie but I wouldn't let him watch it again  ;D

« Reply #407 on: January 24, 2020, 08:30:23 AM »
Tarred with the same brush Rod  ;D ;D   My missus wont watch war land, Air, Sea / battle type  movies with me ..
« Last Edit: January 24, 2020, 08:35:38 AM by edz »

Offline ewoksta

« Reply #408 on: January 24, 2020, 08:48:48 AM »

Enjoyed it. Amaxingly it was shot in one long take. No flipping between stories or actors. Gave you the feeling that you were there along side them.
07 Dual Cab Navara
2012 Central Coast camper "Show Special"

« Reply #409 on: January 24, 2020, 08:53:04 AM »
Quote from: #jonesy
Bad boys for life

Good bringing back the "old" team.
Lots of  action, explosions and motorbike stunts (that were a bit pointless)
All up an enjoyable movie.

Looked at going to Dande Drivein to see this... but had the feeling it would be the same old same Shit as their other movies with different coloured shirts and cars... but if its ok might give it a go on weekend.

« Reply #410 on: January 24, 2020, 10:25:06 AM »
Tarred with the same brush Rod  ;D ;D   My missus wont watch war land, Air, Sea / battle type  movies with me ..

Got all the army stories for a couple of hours after so it was OK.

Watched 'Once Were Soldiers' with him a few years ago with the same result but his comments were directed at d***head yanks who don't know how to fight a war etc etc so I had a thought this may be a little different but I should have known  ;D

The following users thanked this post: MikedOut

Offline Ozsnowman

• "Missus wants an Avan"
  • Travelling with Shirley the van!
« Reply #411 on: January 24, 2020, 02:35:57 PM »
Midway - good considering the director has had a lean streak recently. A bit rushed to cram in a lot of story but good story, some good story on the Japanese side, and no pointless romantic side plot AKA Pearl Habour.

1917 - Great! Really well made, you couldn't see the edits for the most point, and really sucked you in and showed how horrible war is.
We've swapped from the camper to a van yay! :)

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #412 on: January 24, 2020, 03:21:44 PM »
Took the kids to watch Dolittle yesterday. Quite liked it and had a giggle in a few spots. Watched Ford vs Ferrari last month. It was so, so.
Just watched Aquaman on Netflix at lunch. It was that good it put me to sleep. May have had something to do with the pitta patta of rain on the roof though. Nah, it was a Shit movie.
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #413 on: January 24, 2020, 08:46:19 PM »
Looked at going to Dande Drivein to see this... but had the feeling it would be the same old same Shit as their other movies with different coloured shirts and cars... but if its ok might give it a go on weekend.
Actually that sums it up quiet well! 

Went with my 14 YO and some of his mates, so sharing it with them was part of the enjoyment.

Offline JPH

« Reply #414 on: January 24, 2020, 10:41:51 PM »
The gentlemen, just outstanding matthew mcnogahie, Hugh Grant etc etc

Saw this the other week and loved it! Would happily watch it again..

« Reply #415 on: January 25, 2020, 08:27:23 AM »
Amaxingly it was shot in one long take.

It's not actually! It was filmed the normal way with scenes & so on, but them very well edited to make it look like it was done in one go!

We watched Doctor Strange last night, which was, well, a bit strange ;D

Obviously going to be another multi-parter.

« Reply #416 on: January 25, 2020, 10:46:25 AM »
1917 Yeah I'll give it a thumbs up, even with a couple of scenes that dont sit right for me ..

« Reply #417 on: January 25, 2020, 04:26:52 PM »
even with a couple of scenes that dont sit right for me ..

because their webbing is wrong, they're using Lee-Enfield 303s the wrong way, they don't ...  ;D

Offline shakey55

« Reply #418 on: January 26, 2020, 05:00:17 AM »
Saw The Gentleman last night.  Not bad, a lot of language and in fact used the ‘C’ work lots that didn’t sit well with some of the woman present.

It’s good but not a movie you’d run a mile to see.

6/10

« Reply #419 on: January 26, 2020, 10:03:22 AM »
because their webbing is wrong, they're using Lee-Enfield 303s the wrong way, they don't ...  ;D

;D Nahh Fizz .. Just the modern way they moved and held their weapons when clearing the German trenches .. Guy gets blown up and buried in rubble in a tunnel by a booby trap and is only bothered by dirt in his eyes and continues on as if nothing happened .. [  Yeah I know its a movie,  its entertainment .. But I cant help it ] .
Then there is the plane crash bit were they run  to the barn ... 359 degree's  to go off in relative safety and they choose the one degree right in front of the aircraft .  ;D
Just little things like that erk me about movies . ;D

Offline tedota

« Reply #420 on: January 26, 2020, 07:51:30 PM »
Funny you say that. Wife said exactly the same thing yesterday about the barn scene while watching the ad for the movie.

« Reply #421 on: January 28, 2020, 09:06:34 AM »
The remake of Tomb Raider https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1365519/

Didn't think it was anywhere near as good as Angie's original :'(

« Reply #422 on: January 31, 2020, 06:25:58 PM »
"The true history of the Kelly Gang"
Open line on the screen summed it up
"Nothing of what you're about to see is true"

there are two versions of the Kelly history, one is a hero and the other is a criminal.

There is now a third. The movie absolute s***.    It tries to be arty with only one prop per scene, eg a hut and nothing else.   There are so many things that are wrong and made up, it would be easier to list what is correct.

Most of the names are correct (except the invented ones)
The time lines are kind of correct.

I tried watching this. Over a couple of days of watching a little bit and got to the point halfway through I gave up.

Don't bother

« Reply #423 on: January 31, 2020, 08:38:48 PM »
Went and saw " Danger Close "  the Long Tan battle movie this morning .. For a first showing, Only about twenty people in the theatre,  not a box office busting start..
All I can say is it falls short in its portrayal in a lot of ways . Its an ok movie that just didnt hit the mark for me though,  after reading / seeing the battle  documented over the years .
I reckon it portrays some people in a bad light and I dont reckon they or their relatives would be too happy ..But thats movie dramatic licence  ..
I can tell you it’s still shown as compulsory viewing on base for recruits going through Kapooka these days.... ;)

But they use it to demonstrate how lucky soldiers are these days with all of the protective gear they get issued with. Making them think about doing everything in just a cotton shirt and pants gives a different perspective apparently. ;D
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #424 on: February 01, 2020, 08:25:27 AM »
I know they used to show Zulu, about Rorkes Drift.

Don't know if they still do ???