Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 319416 times)

Troopy_03, plusnq and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #25 on: July 05, 2015, 09:30:58 AM »
Nah, had them and they fail after a while.

But they're cheap, and no digging.... :cup:

« Reply #26 on: July 05, 2015, 09:32:07 AM »
What's the best way to get a 12V garden light cable under a concrete walking path? I tried yesterday with yellow tongue and some poly pipe/water jet, but can only get half way. Any other ideas?

If you have a mate who's a sparky or know one, then borrow an earth rod off them, they are aprox 1.8m long and 15mm dia. Dig a small trench either side of the concrete path and proceed to ram the rod into the earth under the path. Feed water into the hole you are making and continue to ram and remove, ram and remove and water. You should make progress of about 100mm on each ram. Plenty of water is important. I have done this successfully on many occasions and it will leave you a clear hole to feed your cable through.
Hope this helps.

Robbo

« Reply #27 on: July 05, 2015, 11:11:44 AM »
Thanks all, too cold for using more water. I am defeated for today, I'll try another day when I have more motivation.

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #28 on: July 05, 2015, 11:31:26 AM »
I have a shed in the backyard, combination storage and workshop. Whats the best way to keep the moisture out so everything doesn't go mouldy? I'm thinking a whirlybird? Any better ideas?
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #29 on: July 05, 2015, 11:34:14 AM »
I have a shed in the backyard, combination storage and workshop. Whats the best way to keep the moisture out so everything doesn't go mouldy? I'm thinking a whirlybird? Any better ideas?

Maybe also put some of those "hippo" I think the brand are dehumidifier. The plastic container has beads in the top and the moisture goes down into the bottom replace as needed. You can get them at most discount shops.

« Reply #30 on: July 05, 2015, 11:40:14 AM »
Maybe also put some of those "hippo" I think the brand are dehumidifier. The plastic container has beads in the top and the moisture goes down into the bottom replace as needed. You can get them at most discount shops.
Yep, and the whirlybird, it will also help to let the heat out in summer  ;D

« Reply #31 on: July 05, 2015, 08:15:42 PM »
What's the best way to get a 12V garden light cable under a concrete walking path? I tried yesterday with yellow tongue and some poly pipe/water jet, but can only get half way. Any other ideas?

Put a piece of 20mm conduit right at the bottom side of the concrete and hit it through using a piece of timber over it and a mallet.
Either cap the end (doesn't always work) or just hit it through then poke the dirt out or jet it out.

« Reply #32 on: July 06, 2015, 12:06:36 PM »
Here is a quick question I can ask you fine knowledgeable fella's.  I have a Jayco Swan Outback coming hopefully in September will I need to fit airbags to compensate the extra weight or will the 150 series suspension be ok left standard.  Appreciate any input. 

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #33 on: July 06, 2015, 12:17:33 PM »
Here is a quick question I can ask you fine knowledgeable fella's.  I have a Jayco Swan Outback coming hopefully in September will I need to fit airbags to compensate the extra weight or will the 150 series suspension be ok left standard.  Appreciate any input.

i think the best way to answer that would be.. time will tell
if the suspension is in good condition it should have no problems with the extra weight .
if it makes the ride feel more positive on the road ie: safer i dont see it as a bad thing to fit, what i do hear a lot of though is air leaks (can be a PITA.)
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

« Reply #34 on: July 06, 2015, 12:25:49 PM »
Thanks Green RV, it is my first Jayco and I have no idea. 

« Reply #35 on: July 06, 2015, 12:49:00 PM »
I'd love to keep red backs out of my shed... don't see them anywhere else around here... just in the shed... never had them before the shed either!!!

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #36 on: July 06, 2015, 01:30:57 PM »
I'd love to keep red backs out of my shed... don't see them anywhere else around here... just in the shed... never had them before the shed either!!!
only one thing you can do Bird lock the shed and never and i mean never step foot in their again and if needed add some safety tape and set up a perimeter  ;D 
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

« Reply #37 on: July 06, 2015, 08:12:12 PM »
Why is it that some days the only people I seem to deal with are total F*#ktards?

« Reply #38 on: July 06, 2015, 08:31:51 PM »
Why is it that some days the only people I seem to deal with are total F*#ktards?

Some Days are Diamond      ;D      Some Days are Stone      ;D             & then we move on       ,    to      :cheers:

« Reply #39 on: July 06, 2015, 10:15:51 PM »
where the #uck did I put my car keys??

« Reply #40 on: July 07, 2015, 07:39:38 AM »
I'd love to keep red backs out of my shed...

Hey Bird

Sound's silly I know, but do you have any / many Daddy Long Legs round the place?

If so, try carefully collecting them & moving them to the shed, as they are apparently the number-one enemy of Redbacks!

Have been told by a number of Telstra techs & sparkies, that if they have to go into a roof & they find DLLs, they go in happily, knowing there'll be no RBs in there.

No guarantees  :angel:, but got to be worth a try

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #41 on: July 07, 2015, 08:00:58 AM »

Cant answer that one but that actual post could of been from lino6 lol

« Reply #42 on: July 08, 2015, 06:38:46 AM »

If your not on rock, try this.

Get a length of gal water pipe with a threaded end and an end cap.  Dig a small trench one end and a small hole the other.  End cap first start driving the pipe under the path with a mallet.  When you reach the other end, unscrew the end cap, tie your cable or conduit to it and pull back through.
If space is limited, use short pre-threaded lengths of pipe and couplers to join as you hit it through.

« Reply #43 on: July 08, 2015, 06:42:32 AM »
If your not on rock, try this.

Get a length of gal water pipe with a threaded end and an end cap.  Dig a small trench one end and a small hole the other.  End cap first start driving the pipe under the path with a mallet.  When you reach the other end, unscrew the end cap, tie your cable or conduit to it and pull back through.
If space is limited, use short pre-threaded lengths of pipe and couplers to join as you hit it through.

Good suggestion  :cup:, .....but better to go camping I reckon...... :P ;D

« Reply #44 on: July 08, 2015, 07:50:51 AM »
It will sag a fair bit. Will need the airbags or at least upgraded springs.

« Reply #45 on: July 08, 2015, 10:44:56 AM »
try checking your dressing gown pocket...that's where the misses found our keys to under the house that were missing the past few months. She was adamant she hadn't misplaced them though, must have been me or the kids....lol
The following users thanked this post: builder94

« Reply #46 on: July 08, 2015, 11:06:06 AM »
you need this for future.

https://www.thetrackr.com

« Reply #47 on: July 08, 2015, 11:08:23 AM »
try checking your dressing gown pocket...that's where the misses found our keys to under the house that were missing the past few months. She was adamant she hadn't misplaced them though, must have been me or the kids....lol
Or go and get a new key cut/programmed and new remote programmed at a cost of $300.
Your old keys will then magical appear under the sofa bed a week later...

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

« Reply #48 on: July 08, 2015, 11:20:51 AM »
Found them, right where I put them  :cheers:

Offline robbo1172

• I owe, I owe, it's off to work I go...
« Reply #49 on: July 08, 2015, 11:54:41 AM »
Why is it, no one comes near you all day at work, you do one little, quiet pop-off and suddenly every man and his dog is heading over to your desk to ask you a question...
Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever. - Ghandi

http://www.rockfactor.com.au

https://www.facebook.com/rockfactorduo