Author Topic: Far North Campers  (Read 10599 times)

Offline ianola

Far North Campers
« on: November 16, 2014, 12:13:41 PM »
Hi fellow campers
We only recently found out about myswag after reading a feature article in an edition of Camper Trailer Touring mag .Having now registered as new members we have sampled some of the forum contributions and other information available.  What a myriad of items ,Q & A, , ideas and experiences. Our congratulations to the team and all involved.
We purchased a Cape York(Yorky) soft floor off road CT in 2002 and most of our trips have been to parts of Cape York, central  & western Qld,  the NT and of course local areas on FNQ coast & hinterland. We travel with family and friends when possible but also enjoy getting away on our own.

Our plan for next year is to purchase a new Ecomate Explorer off road hard floor head off on a 3month trip across the top to the Kimberley & other parts on the WA coast. We have been given strict instructions from our kids not to sell our Yorky CT. We don't mind as they use it regularly and we will continue to take it on our annual  fishing trip to Cape York.

With the decision made to keep the Yorky and buy an Ecomate I am now having to build a new shed. Recreational pursuits can be expensive but it is all worth it. Camping has been a big part of our life for many years.

As a matter of interest we would be pleased to hear from any Ecomate Off road CT's owners. In particular their overall performance and problems (if any)

Ianola
« Last Edit: November 16, 2014, 12:24:21 PM by ianola »
Ecomate  RF hard floor camper
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

You have as much right to be wrong as you have to be right

Re: Far North Campers
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2014, 07:51:20 PM »
Welcome to The Show mate, hope you enjoy the ride.

Don't forget  :worthles:

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2014, 04:12:09 AM »
G'day Ianola....Welcome aboard....As for  your desion to buy an ecomate i'd love to help you with it's performance but sadly i can't because i'm not due to pick my ecomate/modcon forward fold for another week or so....But sure as hell i will let you know...I have ordered mine with all the trimmings........Watch this space in the next couple of weeks.   Cheers!!! :cheers:

« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2014, 05:08:11 AM »
G'day and welcome to myswag.  Look forward to reading of your adventuress in both Yorky and the new Ecomate

« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2014, 06:10:37 AM »
Hi ianola,
Welcome to MySwag. My brother has the Ecomate hardfloor you are referring to and I have a hardfloor that is very similar to it. My bro's was purchased around July 2013 and mine in June. There are some differences between mine and his CT but for the most part they are 90% same.

I think Ecomate have made a few changes to the model since that time. You could send a PM to Evo (Evolution) as he sells Ecomate CT's and is very knowledgable about the different models. My brother replaced his Chinese hitch with an OZHitch and I replaced his crappy shockies with some Monroes. He did have a few problems with his water tank leaking but that was fixed under warranty. One of the ciggerette plugs in his fridge slide was playing up and that was also replaced under warranty.
 He also had a sagging issue in the canvas roof of the annexe. We fixed that bu buying an extra spreader bar. So far, that is it.

He hasn't taken his CT on any offroad situations yet but he is very happy with his CT. I have taken ours on a few offroad situations but nothing that needed me to engage 4wd so pretty easy tracks. All good so far.

There is a link at the bottom of my signature that you can click on to have a look at the mods I have completed on my CT.  Good luck with your CT and don't forget to get in contact with Evo.
  :cheers: Muz

Offline ianola

« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2014, 12:34:20 PM »
HEM19X
Thanks for the welcome. I won't forget the thread just need a little time to get accustomed to the system.
All  the best
Ianola
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

Offline ianola

« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2014, 01:35:07 PM »
Thanks tracker

Delivery date for our Ecomate Explorer series 3 hard floor is February to coincide with the completion of new shed. As you know we are coming into the cyclone season so don't want to leave it out in the open.  If we have another cyclone like "Yasi" or "Larry" it could finish up back in China.

Good luck with your new FF. We had a good look at one at the last Cairns Camping & Boating Show. They look great and seem to provide for all you need.

Ianola.
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

Offline ianola

« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2014, 01:50:42 PM »
Hello KingBilly and thanks for the welcome.

Yes , Without taking up too much space we hope as members to be able to provide our positive comments at times & do some postings of events/happenings that would be of interest to CT  Travellers

ianola
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

Offline ianola

« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2014, 03:26:40 PM »
Hello muzza01
Thanks for your welcome and the valuable comments supported by some photos on the upgrades etc you and your brother have made to improve your individual CT's. We had heard about the chinese hitch,not that it is considered a problem, but we do intend looking at replacing with an aussie treg. This will mean that both our CT's have uniform towing connections to suit our landcruiser. Likewise we will most likely upgrade the shockies.
With the other little problems you mentioned, I suppose it is fair to say that this is not uncommon to have these issues with any type of vehicle you purchase these days.

By the way on looking at the members map I believe we live just up the road from you in GV.

All the best
ianola
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2014, 05:52:20 PM »
G'day ianola.
Did you guys ever live up in Theodore St in Tully?

I have a feeling I know you. ???

Offline ianola

« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2014, 08:38:41 PM »
sol,
Yes we are  ex Tullyites now living in Goldsborough Valley out from Gordonvale. Do we know you ?

All the best
ianola
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

« Reply #11 on: November 18, 2014, 08:41:45 PM »
sol,
Yes we are  ex Tullyites now living in Goldsborough Valley out from Gordonvale. Do we know you ?

All the best
ianola

You sure do. I used to do the wheel bearings on your camper ;D
How's Nola's mum going?

Offline ianola

« Reply #12 on: November 18, 2014, 09:09:36 PM »
That reply certainly provided the ID. Yes Nola's mum is doing well and still very alert with a good memory . We visit her in  the home a few days a week. And thanks G for all the help and training many years ago with changing & maintaining wheel bearings. It has made it so easy for me.

All the best to you both.
ianola
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

« Reply #13 on: November 19, 2014, 04:31:13 PM »
Welcome to Myswag,

If you would like to meet lots of fellow MySwaggers, get ya backside to the 2015 Nat Meet at Rainbow Beach.
Check it out in the Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports section. Towards the top of the page.  :cheers:

Offline ianola

« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2014, 12:47:42 PM »
Jeepers Creepers

Thanks for that.. Will check it out .

Ianola
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

« Reply #15 on: March 02, 2015, 05:29:39 AM »
Ianola, have you picked up your new camper yet?

Offline ianola

« Reply #16 on: March 13, 2015, 05:34:57 PM »
Hi Sol, Sorry for not replying earlier. Haven't been browsing for a few weeks and just found your post. We picked up the camper last Wednesday 4th March. After ordering the rig in December we held off taking delivery until our new shed was finished . Wet weather also held up the  shed construction and it was eventually completed on 1st March. As you know it has been and still is raining so have not had any opportunity to test the camper out yet. Thinking of doing a bit of a lazy run down the back way to the Towers if conditions improve soon. All going well we will head off on a longer trip in May. Nola is happy with having a hard floor camper and all the extra conveniences. Good to hear from you.
All the best
ianola
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

« Reply #17 on: March 13, 2015, 06:10:02 PM »
G'day mate do you have any pics to show us ;D

« Reply #18 on: March 13, 2015, 11:09:34 PM »
G'day Ianola,

Welcome to Myswag, plenty of FNQ'rs on here now, always good to have more...... new shed, new camper, how good's that!! :cheers:

Here's some info on Cairns to The Towers if you are looking for alternative routes, i did the run up through Mount Fox last year, was a great trip...... just have to check the mount fox road if it's open, also Ingham to Trebonne area could be a bit damp at present......

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=38563.msg628126#msg628126
« Last Edit: March 13, 2015, 11:16:28 PM by Barrabart »

« Reply #19 on: March 14, 2015, 06:23:58 AM »
G'day mate do you have any pics to show us ;D

I might have to go around their place and take some pics myself.

« Reply #20 on: March 14, 2015, 08:49:33 AM »
I might have to go around their place and take some pics myself.

;D ;D. Good idea mate.

Offline ianola

« Reply #21 on: March 14, 2015, 09:29:53 AM »
Hi G (Sol)
Will arrange some pics as soon as the place dries out . Hopefully this won't be too long ...rain is starting to ease after 409mm in past 4days. Nola is beginning to wonder if T is actually the wettest place in australia.
Ianola
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

Offline ianola

« Reply #22 on: March 14, 2015, 10:10:33 AM »
Hi Muzza01,    Thats fine.  Give me a time and we will make sure we are around.
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

Offline ianola

« Reply #23 on: March 14, 2015, 02:38:36 PM »
Thanks Barrabart for all the interesting commentary. We have travelled the Paluma Range Rd a couple of times before. Our plan is to travel to the Towers  down the back way through Ravenshoe/Mt Garnet/Greenvale (gregory Dev Rd) with a short detour to visit  Mt Surprise where my wife started school and her mother worked in the P.O. and father on Brooklyn Station(then part of Byrimine Stn).

Some nice size  barra in your photo. Wife caught a 1.030m whopper last year and the photo has a permanent place in her handbag, mobile and ipad... (skite)

Thanks again
ianola
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

« Reply #24 on: March 14, 2015, 09:26:59 PM »
G'day Ianola,

Charters Towers in my old stomping ground, left Cairns in the '90's & moved the Mrs and our youug bubs out there looking for work/better life, lived and worked around there for 12yrs till 2008, been back once since we left, just last year when we did the Mount Fox run...... Good little town, our kids grew up there pretty much, even had another bub while we were there... then we moved back to Cairns which is where we are originally from.

Oh and if your ino your fishing, try the bottom of the weir wall in the towers, white water in amongst the rocks did hold Barra when i was there, or if you want to get adventuress ask a local for directions to "six mile" on the Burdekin, fishing the deeper pools from the boulders and rocks in the late arvo is a nice way to see the sunset, and u have every chance of landing a Barra, or Blackbream....... plenty of perch there too, but there nothing special.

Are u staying in the Towers?

catch ya.