Author Topic: G'day from the Top End  (Read 2870 times)

Offline Myst

G'day from the Top End
« on: March 29, 2013, 10:41:18 AM »

My name is Alan, and have been a long time 4x4 enthusiast but looking to get a camper trailer in the near future. My partner and I have two wonderful little men (aged 1 and 2 1/2) that we are planning on doing some camping and touring with. We've got a 2003 Toyota hilux dual cab ute that just wont hold all the paraphernalia that seems to accompany taking kids bush, so a camper is the logical solution!

Hoping to meet some likeminded people on here, and glean a lot of experience and feedback on the various campers out there to help make the right decision the first time! I have my eye on the Trackabout Safari SV or something similarly sturdy as we're hoping to the the Kimberley and the Cape in the not too distant future!

Thanks and look forward to meeting you all, be it forum or on the trails!
Alan, Felicity, Lachlan and Nicholas!
« Last Edit: March 29, 2013, 10:43:34 AM by Myst »

Re: G'day from the Top End
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2013, 12:40:10 PM »
Hi Alan and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2013, 04:25:55 PM »
Welcome Alan and Family to Myswag,
Good luck in getting a camper. Great for families to get all the gear you need to have a great time in the great outdoors.

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2013, 04:34:17 PM »
Hi Alan and welcome to the clan!!

Where about do you come from I this great land?

Yes the trackabout would be a nice choice!! Very neat and tidy!!

Enjoy your stay mate and look forward to hearing of your travels!!

Offline weso

• be good or be good at it !!!!!!!!!!!!
    • 64eh.com
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2013, 08:11:53 AM »
Welcome aboard Alan hope you can grab a camper soon and get out there !!!!
64 EH(premier sedan)gone but will never be forgotten, 64VAN(windowless panel van),
2008 Nisan Navara, leisure matters ranger hard floor

Offline McAbouts

« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2013, 10:29:01 PM »
Welcome Allan and co. you can't go wrong with a Trackabout. We love ours and hasn't let us down yet. Looking forward to hearing about your travels. So can't wait to get up your end of Oz.

Louise :D
2002 Prado
2010 Trackabout Deluxe Tourer

« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2013, 09:12:05 AM »
Welcome Alan.  Good luck with your search for a CT.  Trackabouts are good units.  Look forward to reading of your adventures.

Offline GanG

• NEDSA
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2013, 10:10:50 AM »
jeez a bloke can't hide anywhere without running into somebody ya know :) :)

Welcome aboard Alan, got any thoughts as to what camper you are going to buy yet?
Light travels faster than sound............that's why some folks may appear bright until they speak

Offline Myst

« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2013, 07:35:11 PM »
jeez a bloke can't hide anywhere without running into somebody ya know :) :)

Welcome aboard Alan, got any thoughts as to what camper you are going to buy yet?

Thanks Greg, and everyone!

Have been chatting to Dave from Trackabout and i'm tossing up between the Safari Extenda or the new Dakar Extenda.... get into some fair rugged spots up here and i think the cruisemaster independant suspension might be the way to go. Both seem to have ample storage and the build quality looks great, so its all down to budget now!!

« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2013, 09:37:34 AM »
Hi Alan,
welcome to the forum.  Lots of friendly good advice here.  Whereabouts in the top-end you from.   Good luck with your camper hunt.  Muz.

Offline MadMarv

« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2013, 06:52:19 PM »
Welcome Alan

Marv

Offline FalcOn

G'day from the Top End
« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2013, 09:32:23 PM »
Hi Allan... New here too but I can put my praise behind Trackabout. We have had ours  for two years and we love the quality and performance of the trailer. Like most, I asked lots of questions and undertook plenty of research but it was a trip to their workshop that sold me. Jump in, you won't regret it...