Author Topic: G'day all  (Read 5520 times)

Offline Bucky

G'day all
« on: November 19, 2012, 05:34:56 PM »

Well the wife and I have decided to upgrade from a RAV4 and tent to a 4WD and a camper trailer :) We came across this site while reading reviews of camper trailers, and have already found it to be an incredible place with friendly people willing to help, so cheers all :) We're still deciding on both car and camper trailer, although it seems we're having a rough time of it lol.

I personally want the Patrol, but the missus wants the Prado. After doing a bit of research we've come across a few points in favour of the Prado that are kinda hard to resist.

The Prado benefits:
More fuel economic,
Apparently retains it's resale value (although they told us the same about our RAV4 which is only 2 years old and has lost quite a lot of value)
Has a 6spd gearbox

Patrol :
Has more power. (which could possibly be negated on the Prado by chipping it? - Not sure about this stuff)

If anyone can offer any reasons why the Patrol is better, I'd truly love to hear em lol, I love the look of it. I work in an organisation that is heavily male dominated, and after mentioning the word Prado today, I did cop a fair bit of stick. Although no one (including a Patrol owner) could negate the points just mentioned. But it still definitely seems to have that 'soccer mum' feel to it. Apologies to any Prado owners, it's just how I (and obviously a bunch of work mates) seem to see it.

As far as the trailer is concerned we're probably going to end up with a Market Direct Camper t-box v3, as it seems to be the most economic and we're already stretching the budget. I'd personally prefer something from the likes of Austrack, but we just can't make it happen financially. If anyone can recommend a better alternative for on or around the same money, I'd love to hear it.

Well, sorry for the big rant, we just needed to get some solid advice. Cheers all, and thanks for letting us in :P
2012 GU 3.0L Patrol / 2012 MDC T-Box CT

Offline Kalebjarrod

Re: G'day all
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 06:02:47 PM »
Prados are a mean bit of gear when you hand your wallet over to arb, and they go like a shower of Shit with a chip, and your misses won't mind drivin it when you have had 4 too Many beers to drive

Patrols are a big truck...... And they have a Nissan badge on them

HILUX D4D + LIFESTYLE WALKTHROUGH

G'day all
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2012, 06:42:58 PM »
I'd have to agree that the Prado is a bit of a ladies car (runs for cover) ..........

« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2012, 06:49:39 PM »
I'd have to agree that the Prado is a bit of a ladies car (runs for cover) ..........
D4D will have something to say about that :)
Welcome Bucky and enjoy the forum. Not sure about the Heavy Patrol having more power. The late model diesel Prado's go very well and tow beautifully. My previous car was a Diesel Prado best car I've had :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2012, 06:52:21 PM »
G'day Bucky,

To MySwag,
Sorry can't help you with your choice, never driven either, I'm a Cruiser man  ;D
Good luck with your search for a Tug.

G'day all
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2012, 06:55:05 PM »
Oops forgot... Welcome Bucky.

Pffft... What would D4D know? ???

G'day all
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2012, 07:05:55 PM »
The Prados are pretty good. I've seen them go places I reckon plenty of vehicles would have struggled.

There is nothing wrong with a Patrol either but as an older vehicle they don't have the resale of a Prado. They are much bigger inside, if space is a necessity.

Offline Bucky

« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2012, 07:17:00 PM »
There is nothing wrong with a Patrol either but as an older vehicle they don't have the resale of a Prado. They are much bigger inside, if space is a necessity.

Yeah, this is a good point Big Jules. We considered the resale value, and it was a big factor in leaning towards the Prado, but after thinking about it a bit more, I'm actually hoping resale doesn't play a part. I want to buy a fourby and keep it for a while. I get a bit of an emotional attachment to my cars, including my 71 Charger :)

Space is indeed a necessity, and one of the main reasons I'm leaning to the Patrol. I like having a bit of extra space in between me and the kids, so when they're cracking it, it doesn't feel like they're doing it in my left eardrum :P

Cheers for the responses all, very good points for me and the missus to mull over.

« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2012, 07:29:49 PM »
Welcome Bucky

Mate drives a diesel, manual Patrol.  Loves it.  Everybody will have an opinion.  All makes will have their pluses and minuses.  Make a list of "must haves" and then rate your short listed choices.  If they both tick all the boxes, make a list of "wants" and rate them on a sliding scale of importance.  This may help take the emotion out of your decision.

Good luck

« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2012, 08:02:41 PM »
I get a bit of an emotional attachment to my cars, including my 71 Charger :)

Offline Bucky

« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2012, 09:08:42 AM »
not sure how to upload photos mate, don't really use the internet much.

« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2012, 10:43:06 AM »

Around here that is about the worst thing one can say, pics are the most important part  ;D

Welcome to the forum, Like Hairs I am a Cruiser person so cannot offer any useful advice on your choice.

« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2012, 11:13:13 AM »

Have a look through these threads,
Help, Gallery & Upgrade Area
How to insert pictures into a post
Hope this helps.
If you have trouble, Just ask  ;D

« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2012, 08:02:57 PM »
Hi Bucky and welcome to My Swag

Offline Bucky

« Reply #14 on: November 21, 2012, 04:13:46 PM »
Thanks all. We just signed the contract on a new Patrol, and the deposit has been paid on a Market Direct T-Box v3, so we're all good to go :)

We've elected to put a battery plus the inverter etc into the trailer, and they're putting an anderson plug on the car. Is this the better option, or is it better to go with a dual battery setup in the car?

Also what's a good tyre for a Patrol?

Thanks all for the warm welcome, can't wait to get out on the tracks! :)

« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2012, 04:20:06 PM »
What do you want the extra battery for?  Keeping a fridge cold in the Patrol or when you are camping?  I need mine whilst camping so have it in the trailer.  Others have one in the fourby and another one or two in the CT.

Make sure they run some decent cable to the AP at the back of the Patrol.  Suggest a minimum of 6B&S and a 50A AP.  Also make sure they put a 50A fuse or auto circuit breaker next to the cranking battery in the Patrol and a Voltage Sensitive Relay under the bonnet to stop the cranking battery being discharged by the fridge etc.

Oh, and congratulations.  Happy camping
The following users thanked this post: oldmate

« Reply #16 on: November 21, 2012, 04:21:35 PM »
Congrats on both purchases, I am sure you will have some great times using both  8)