Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 4608 times)

Offline Les2476

« on: July 02, 2012, 02:26:13 PM »
G'Day all you seem to have a great wealth of knowledge within this forum. I'm looking to buy a camper trailer in the coming months and would appreciate some assistance in my decision. I was looking at the new Customline Off Road, but for the price ou don't seem to get much. I have also looked at the Xtrail navigator which has a few more standard options, both are around the 18k mark. Would it be wiser to get a Jayco pop top? What other trailers are value for money?

Re: Newbie
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2012, 02:37:25 PM »
Welcome Les.

18K is a good budget for both a new CT or well kept Pop top.

A bit more info:

Family or couple.
Grey nomads or younger.
Type of use (out of the way places, or readily accessed)
Type of Tug.

Have fun here.

« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2012, 02:41:30 PM »
Welcome to MySwag, its a great place to research, as Mace has pointed out a few more clues will help us narrow down the 1000's of options available

Offline Les2476

« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2012, 02:57:48 PM »
Sorry guys. Thank you for the replies. Married with two youngsters, 4 years old and 4 months old. would start off in caravan parks with the intention of travelling out where you must be self sufficient once we gain the experience. At this stage I would just like to start and not have to buy something else later on, so I would like something that would last for some time.

Offline Les2476

« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2012, 03:01:03 PM »
The type of tug at this stage is a Territory with the view of a Nissan Petrol.

« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2012, 03:19:04 PM »
here are a few Xtrail threads.

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=11611.msg177137#msg177137
http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=8021.0
http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=8814.0

They look the goods, as are Tambo's, Mountain Trails and Trackabouts to name a few.

Personal opinion only, if you think you mite want to get into more out of the way places eventually,  go the CT route at this stage.  There seem to be a few members here with young families that are changing from Jayco's back to CT's. 

Great stuff, no matter what way you eventually go.

« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2012, 03:51:53 PM »
G'day Les2476,

Your kids will love camping, our have over the years and still get a kick out of going to different places.
Which ever camper you decide to get, there will be plenty of great info here to help you set it up for what every you want to do with it. You just have to ask.

Offline GG

• Don't know Karate...but I DO know crazy!
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2012, 05:55:41 PM »
G'day Les and family! Welcome to myswag. Each day we're learning on this site...but in my case, I've gotta be told several times! These guys have endless knowledge and unlimited patience! We all have fun regardless. Hope to meet you on the track sometime. Cheers! GG

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?dv2d1p
2008 Toyota 'Freddy' Kluger & 1980's 'Gypsy' Jayco Dove Camper

« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2012, 07:09:00 PM »
Welcome aboard mate.. all suggestions above will serve you well.

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2012, 07:18:34 PM »
Welcome to the nut house Les and family... Penrith show coming up in September,, could help with your decision,

http://penrith.supershow.com.au/

and i see your in Camden..... Gods Country ;D :cup:

BHG

« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2012, 07:39:51 PM »
G'day Les and family and welcome to the forum.
Lots of help available here mate so ask away. ;D
Good luck with the camper choice.

Offline Ricklanga

« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2012, 08:09:04 PM »
G'day Les,

I reckon you should do alright for 18 grand. Good luck with the search & let us know what you get  :cheers:

--
Richard.
2004 Pajero Exceed & 2012 Jayco Eagle Outback

It always rains on tents. Rainstorms will travel thousands of miles, against prevailing winds for the opportunity to rain on a tent.

« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2012, 08:24:01 PM »
Hi les and welcome to My Swag

You have time on your side, so have a good look around, get to some caravan & camping shows and hiring some different types of CT to see which suits your requirements is a good way to go.

Offline Andyb2030

« Reply #13 on: July 04, 2012, 08:11:53 PM »
Hi Les,
Welcome aboard mate, keep asking the questions and you will get all the answers you want on here.
$18k is a nice budget so you will have heaps of options, maybe a little over your budget but if you get the chance take a look
at the Mountain Trail Campers, the build quality is excellent.
2005 Landcruiser Prado Towing a 2012 Mountain Trail Campers Expedition.

Offline 1HDT

« Reply #14 on: July 05, 2012, 12:01:29 PM »
G'day Les,

Camden is a nice part of the world. I lived there for 7 years or so with some good memories.

You are not alone in your thoughts of questioning the amount you get for the money you have to spend on a decent CT. That is something we had to work through also before we put down the hard earned cash. I have been told 18 months is about average for someone to decide on a CT. I know that in our case this was true.

You've already made a great decision to search through the archives, and minds of all on this forum. Good luck with your knowledge search and enjoy the ride... after all... that's what it is all about.  ;D

1HDT

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #15 on: July 11, 2012, 12:53:12 AM »
Hi Les
Wewlcome to a really fantastic place for information and fun.

Offline Les2476

« Reply #16 on: July 11, 2012, 11:52:27 AM »
Thank you everyone for your worthwhile feedback.
My journey has taken yet another dramatic turn as the family is now looking at investing in a caravan, Expanda to be precise. After some research and reviews it appears the Expanda is not what it seems as I have read  comlaints relating to bad workmanship, leaks, screws falling out etc. We are looking for an easy set up and some good storage space, would love the Expanda as it sleeps 4 with loads of room. If you have or have had an Expanda I would love to hear your thoughts. My plans are mainly CP with the occasional dirt road, help.

« Reply #17 on: July 11, 2012, 12:21:13 PM »
If you're a little handy the Expanda is perfect. Yes there are workmanship problems however the $$ saving makes up for that. Have a look at Cruza Driver's Expanda build thread http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=10099

Offline Les2476

« Reply #18 on: July 11, 2012, 02:16:44 PM »
If you're a little handy the Expanda is perfect. Yes there are workmanship problems however the $$ saving makes up for that. Have a look at Cruza Driver's Expanda build thread http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=10099

Thank you so much for the link, great thread. Still getting through it.

« Reply #19 on: July 11, 2012, 02:36:54 PM »
G'day & Welcome Les.

All your choices are pretty good. You'll surely be paying a lot more for an Expanda though?