Author Topic: G'day from Tassie  (Read 6312 times)

Offline Roddersz

G'day from Tassie
« on: March 23, 2012, 09:46:12 AM »

Been a long time lurker, but figured it must be about time to say g'day and start having a bit to say!

I have been looking and lusting at CTs for ages, but with 2 rugrats (2 girls 4.5 and 7) really not been too much of an option until recently when an opportunity I couldn't pass up came by that now sees me with a bloody good tent and has me looking for a decent trailer to put it on. Looking at doing a "slide on" type affair so I can use the trailer as a trailer for the other 340 odd days of the year that it isn't being used as a CT - have picked up some great ideas from some guys doing the same thing here. Once I start getting things progressed I will put up a build thread.

I have done heaps of tent/swag camping here in Tassie, including some pretty cool nights (and days) in the highlands while indulging in my other time and money absorbing pastime, fishing. I have also spent a fair bit of time floating around on the east coast.

Anyways, great site, thanks to all who have (unknowingly so far) helped me start formulating some plans for where I am going with the trailer!

Rod

Re: G'day from Tassie
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2012, 09:51:41 AM »
Hi Rod, welcome to My Swag.
The numbers from Tassie are slowly building.

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2012, 09:53:35 AM »
G'day Rod and family, welcome to the forum.
If you have been lurking you have probably checked out all the other builds to give you ideas for your camper

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2012, 10:19:59 AM »
To My Swag Rod  :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2012, 10:25:26 AM »
Welcome Rod.

Were only 2 pleased to have unknowingly helped ;D

enjoy your time here.

« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2012, 10:37:04 AM »
Welcome aboard Rod.

Offline outback jack

G'day from Tassie
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2012, 11:17:26 AM »
G'day mate, enjoy the forum

« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2012, 12:35:07 PM »
welcome to myswag rod

« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2012, 01:03:05 PM »
welcome

Chris F

« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2012, 05:29:09 AM »
Welcome to Myswag Rod.

« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2012, 06:16:48 AM »
Welcome to the Forum Rod

« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2012, 07:44:38 AM »
welcome to myswag Rod

good luck with the trailer build

cheers grc

« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2012, 11:57:38 AM »
Welcome aboard!

Offline gowalkabout

• Walkabout 4WD & Camping Accessories
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2012, 05:22:24 PM »
Welcome.
always good to see another from tassie on here
2007 Camprite TL8s
2012 Nissan Patrol GU8
Formally known as Tas130
www.gowalkabout.com.au
https://www.facebook.com/gowalkabout?ref=hl

Offline Black-Pig

• Everything is Subject to change...
« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2012, 05:29:32 PM »
Another Tasmanian to add to the list. Welcome.
05 SR5 Hilux  - With Fruit...
2012 Outback Sturt - with some modifications

G'day from Tassie
« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2012, 07:09:34 PM »
Welcome to myswag Rod :cheers:

« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2012, 07:52:39 PM »
G'day Rod and family
Welcome to the forum and look forward to following your project mate

« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2012, 07:53:53 PM »
G'day & Welcome Rod.

I reckon if I was building a slip-on camper I'd include everything in the CT section, including kitchen, battery etc. You'd lose a fraction of the tub spacve, but it means you do simply slide it all on/in and go.

« Reply #18 on: March 26, 2012, 03:54:18 AM »
Hi Rod and welcome to My Swag

Offline Roddersz

« Reply #19 on: March 27, 2012, 07:57:55 AM »
G'day All,

Thanks for the welcomes - x 2 for Dazzler :), I wont make the Tassie comment I was going to, just cause from your pic you are fellow Prado owner  :cheers:

BigJules - That is the plan, have everything self contained within what I have dubbed "the pod", with exception of maybe the batteries which I might want on the trailer while using for other purposes - still trying to decide how to make that work, probably an Anderson plug direct to the panel in the pod.

All I have to do now is source a trailer - which is proving harder than I thought, seriously considering a DIY job.

Rod

Offline Stan Bryant

« Reply #20 on: March 27, 2012, 08:29:58 AM »
Hi Rod,
What I have done is along the lines you are talking about.
We bought a camper trailer top.. $1800. from a dealer online,, comes as the tent and a hard base, ready to mount on a trailer.
I raised the sides of my 6x4 with some box section steel, just welded on sides tail gate etc.
Put 4 mounting brackets on the camper.. corresponding bolt holes in trailer,,
built a frame in the shed,,
now just slide the camper on or off as required,, still got my trusty 6x4 for all thos things we do.
The company we got our camper from is
"trailercampers.com"  NOTE,, this is an online company,, and you can google them.
they are a Tassie company and make a good setup.
We collected ours from Sydney where they have a depo.
if you got any Q's just ask,, have had a few pitfalls but got most worked out now.
Cheers Stan
THE MIGHTY MUSSO
http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/37530-2/PC260091.JPG

Offline Roddersz

« Reply #21 on: March 27, 2012, 11:16:23 AM »
Stan - Thanks for the link, we actually have our tent, it is the trailer I am looking for at the minute. Most of the ones I have been looking at here seem to be pretty average, not fully welded, minimal bracing etc. Seems to be that they add chequer plate and it suddenly becomes "heavy duty". Then when you want them to add something it becomes a drama and they want to charge the earth, one guy wanted to charge me $1600 just to add cable overide brakes! Then you get the guys that tell you you don't need to extend the draw bar, or that for just a camper trailer you don't need brakes. Needless to say the search continues. There are a couple of crowds who make reasonable tubs, I am considering getting them to build one for me, then buying one of the brake/axle/spring upgrade kits I have found and doing the upgrade myself. Found a couple of kits for around the $1000 mark that give you offroad electric brakes, 45-50mm axle, offroad 15-1800kg 7 leaf eye to eye springs and the odd other thing. Thinking that is probably looking like the better opyion at the minute.

Rod

Offline gowalkabout

• Walkabout 4WD & Camping Accessories
« Reply #22 on: March 28, 2012, 06:04:47 AM »
Rod before we bought our camprite I looked at building my own along the same lines as you. I found a bloke south of Hobart that would build to spec. I will see if I can find his name and number for you if you like. From memory he wasn't that cheap but I heard some good reports about his work.
2007 Camprite TL8s
2012 Nissan Patrol GU8
Formally known as Tas130
www.gowalkabout.com.au
https://www.facebook.com/gowalkabout?ref=hl