Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 325973 times)

No more Deadlines! and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Harbourmaster

• Hard floor camper
Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #875 on: March 30, 2020, 04:23:13 PM »
Our grandchildren will likely still be paying it off in many years to come
2013 ex Telstra GU Patrol 2004 Kimberley Kamper

« Reply #876 on: March 30, 2020, 05:23:43 PM »

As I paid taxes for 50 years. Big ****ing deal!

« Reply #877 on: March 30, 2020, 05:29:16 PM »
I think that the money given out is necessary.  I,m on a part pension and wouldn,t have a clue if I,m going to see any of it...I dont care.  There are tens of thousands who really need help now and the govt has to help these people or our future economy will be completely smashed.  Hopefully the money will be spent by people helping out business,s..thus jobs.  No use putting it away for a rainy day...

« Reply #878 on: March 30, 2020, 05:36:19 PM »

so what's the alternative?

« Reply #879 on: March 30, 2020, 05:38:54 PM »
I think that the money given out is necessary.  I,m on a part pension and wouldn,t have a clue if I,m going to see any of it...I dont care.  There are tens of thousands who really need help now and the govt has to help these people or our future economy will be completely smashed.  Hopefully the money will be spent by people helping out business,s..thus jobs.  No use putting it away for a rainy day...

+1... the money is given out to keep things moving... so let's keep things moving.

« Reply #880 on: March 30, 2020, 06:30:28 PM »

I am working full time so that I can raise 4 of my grandchildren. the money that is been offered by the Australian Government is and will be used to assist with the raising of my grandchildren .

So what if in years to come they are paying some of the debt , they received some benefit from the hand outs .

« Reply #881 on: March 30, 2020, 06:53:35 PM »
I would like to know where all these many billions Gov Co are all of a sudden throwing around everywhere like Mr Bubbles with boiled lollies is coming from...
Yet few months ago they were broke..

Ultimately, it will come from Super....
« Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 07:31:24 PM by GeoffA »

« Reply #882 on: March 30, 2020, 07:01:11 PM »

I would like to know where all these many billions Gov Co are all of a sudden throwing around everywhere like Mr Bubbles with boiled lollies is coming from...
Yet few months ago they were broke..
You will find Mr Bubbles real name is.
Mr China.

« Reply #883 on: March 30, 2020, 07:05:57 PM »

I am working full time so that I can raise 4 of my grandchildren. the money that is been offered by the Australian Government is and will be used to assist with the raising of my grandchildren .

So what if in years to come they are paying some of the debt , they received some benefit from the hand outs .
I couldn't agree more.

Offline Harbourmaster

• Hard floor camper
« Reply #884 on: March 30, 2020, 07:29:59 PM »
I wasn't complaining only stating what I thought. I'm retired and I won't be paying it off and some years I paid more in tax than the average wage so I don't really give a Shit if the self entitled little buggers have to pay It might wake em up
2013 ex Telstra GU Patrol 2004 Kimberley Kamper

« Reply #885 on: March 30, 2020, 11:22:03 PM »

What do you expect the government to do?

Absolutely nothing!!

Exactly like the other mob should have done last time Australia faced a financial crisis.
We have been told for the last decade or so that the worst thing that happened to our country was the government of the day spending money to stop the country from going into recession.

Now we just have to wait for ScoMo’s pink batts.... ;)

Offline Gandalf the White

• Wise Wandering Wizard
  • Feelin great with a 2.8
« Reply #886 on: March 31, 2020, 04:02:17 AM »
I’m wondering if as a result of CV19 the car market is about to get flooded with unused corporate lease & airport hire cars and general public’s second cars and if you can access some cash will it be a chance to pick up a late model low km vehicle and hide it in your garage?

Thinking supply v demand could see some very cheap buys as businesses dump lease costs, hire car companies dump their airport fleets and the general public look at 2 cars sitting on their driveway or garage not being used and possibly just need some cash or pay down some debt.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2020, 06:50:19 AM by Gandalf the White »
How to fall asleep in a chair
1 - sit in a chair
2 - be old

« Reply #887 on: March 31, 2020, 06:03:23 AM »
Absolutely nothing!!

really?

interesting.

« Reply #888 on: March 31, 2020, 06:29:23 AM »
Obviously didn’t add enough smilies for the sarcasm to come through on that one.... ;)

« Reply #889 on: March 31, 2020, 06:32:40 AM »
Obviously didn’t add enough smilies for the sarcasm to come through on that one.... ;)

cool...

i thought that sarcasm was only for the last line about the batts...

« Reply #890 on: March 31, 2020, 06:46:51 AM »

I thought you were on ice there for a minute!!!

smileys added.... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #891 on: March 31, 2020, 01:49:37 PM »
Great to see that the Job Keepers Payment Scheme is being implemented.
So all those that were sacked/stood down etc have a future.
Great to see Woolies create 20,000 jobs and Coles 5,000, which I presume will now be pushed by Centrelink towards
the long term unemployed, or will it?

« Reply #892 on: March 31, 2020, 01:57:45 PM »
With both of them saying that they'd like to help people stood down from Qantas, retail roles & so on, I'm not too sure ??? :'(

Coles in particular has been talking about 5000 people for 2-3 weeks now, & the young bloke put in for it but hasn't heard squat yet :'( >:(

« Reply #893 on: March 31, 2020, 03:55:58 PM »
With both of them saying that they'd like to help people stood down from Qantas, retail roles & so on, I'm not too sure ??? :'(

Coles in particular has been talking about 5000 people for 2-3 weeks now, & the young bloke put in for it but hasn't heard squat yet :'( >:(

Yes my young bloke put his CV in to 3 Woolworths in our local area 2 weekends ago and got a call from one for an interview last Tuesday. Hasn’t heard back yet but he is only 14 though they could tell his age from his CV. I would expect adults to get a job over him given the current climate.

« Reply #894 on: April 01, 2020, 02:24:20 PM »
Not a question, but a random bit of trivia 8)

Mate just sent me an e-mail with some trivia about toilet paper :D

One of them was:

"Muslims wipe their bums with their bare hand--- always the left hand. They eat with their right hand. If you are caught shoplifting, your right hand is cut off forcing you to eat with your poopy left hand."

I knew they used the left hand to wipe & right to eat, but didn't know the rest of it ::)

« Reply #895 on: April 01, 2020, 02:46:59 PM »
   It also means you will never be invited to eat from a communal meal.
Thus social oostraciseation.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

« Reply #896 on: April 01, 2020, 03:09:55 PM »
Absolutely nothing!!

Exactly like the other mob should have done last time Australia faced a financial crisis.
We have been told for the last decade or so that the worst thing that happened to our country was the government of the day spending money to stop the country from going into recession.

Now we just have to wait for ScoMo’s pink batts.... ;)

The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #897 on: April 01, 2020, 03:22:32 PM »
So why is every country doing exactly the same...spending billions/
I was clearly being a smartass. ::)

The current government relentlessly bleeted on and on and on and on about the ‘debt and deficit’ that the was a result of the government of the time doing everything they could to (successfully) keep Australia from going into recession.

So, if what this mob have been saying for the last 10+ years is actually correct, then the current government should do absolutely nothing in this current crisis, because all that matters is keeping that surplus. Remember. ;) :) ;D ;) :)

« Last Edit: April 01, 2020, 03:24:38 PM by Pete79 »

« Reply #898 on: April 01, 2020, 03:53:25 PM »
I was clearly being a smartass. ::)

The current government relentlessly bleeted on and on and on and on about the ‘debt and deficit’ that the was a result of the government of the time doing everything they could to (successfully) keep Australia from going into recession.

So, if what this mob have been saying for the last 10+ years is actually correct, then the current government should do absolutely nothing in this current crisis, because all that matters is keeping that surplus. Remember. ;) :) ;D ;) :)

Sorry mate...did!nt get your sarcsam...totally agree though....from bitching to copying!!

« Reply #899 on: April 01, 2020, 06:48:30 PM »
Not a question, but a random bit of trivia 8)

Mate just sent me an e-mail with some trivia about toilet paper :D

One of them was:

"Muslims wipe their bums with their bare hand--- always the left hand. They eat with their right hand. If you are caught shoplifting, your right hand is cut off forcing you to eat with your poopy left hand."

I knew they used the left hand to wipe & right to eat, but didn't know the rest of it ::)

During the first Iraq war a British SAS patrol dressed in local garb were compromised after one of the members waved to someone with their left hand.