Author Topic: DRL To be or not to be  (Read 31985 times)

Offline V8CRSA

• Just waiting to hit the open road again......
Re: DRL To be or not to be
« Reply #50 on: April 16, 2014, 08:55:51 PM »
Blew another globe this morning, it is the passenger side which means I have to move the battery to replace it :(

August last year I replaced them so 8 months this time which isn't bad :'(

Ordered some new globes from autoelecau, hope they show up quick :)

What brand globes did you order this time ?
2013 GXL TTD 200 SERIES CRUISER
Not quite "ATS" but working on it

« Reply #51 on: April 16, 2014, 11:15:42 PM »
Yeah, I'm in on that one as well.
Wot sorta globes D4D.  C'mon spill it.
Ve haf ways to make you talk, you vill talk, dey alvays do.

I've had my Cruiser now for 5 years, done 120k in that time.
Had the truck out day and night, in all sorts of weather too.
Lights on most of the time, I've changed 1 Low beam Headlight and a tail-light.
They're the only failures.

Offline GUEY

« Reply #52 on: April 17, 2014, 06:25:48 AM »
On the visibility issue do we all remember when high vis first came in.
You would be driving down the road and freak out thinking it was a copper on the side of the road.
These days every man and his dog wears high vis and you just tune out to it. Admittedly the shiny strips are great at night with reflection but the bright colours do jack all during the day now.
The problem is when everything just becomes the norm.
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

« Reply #53 on: April 17, 2014, 08:01:12 AM »
What brand globes did you order this time ?

Philips X-treme Vision H4
« Last Edit: April 17, 2014, 08:09:51 AM by D4D »

Offline autoelecau

• Camping with computers
    • Autoelec
« Reply #54 on: April 17, 2014, 09:01:54 AM »
No worries, mate, found your order and actioned it with the girls, so hopefully you'll be up and running (lighting?) again soon. We'll see how we do with Australia Post being closed almost constantly over the next couple of days...
Tim
IT and Graphics
2004 TD Hilux SR5 with double bed (aka. fibreglass roof-top tent)

« Reply #55 on: April 17, 2014, 09:25:41 AM »
Thanks Tim, if I get pulled over for only one headlight, I'll just tell :police: 'the globes are in the mail' :)

Offline autoelecau

• Camping with computers
    • Autoelec
« Reply #56 on: April 17, 2014, 01:41:41 PM »
No worries mate, thanks for the order and just be safe on the road day and night as it's a dangerous time of year it seems.

Also, just a by the by, as we have a lot of orders usually, it sometimes takes up to 2 days to finish processing an order (when we have bad days, it can take 4). I can't do much about the pricing, but I can pull the orders and get the girls to prioritise them so you aren't waiting the usual time. I just need to know, and I'll action them. (PM's work well it seems.)
Tim
IT and Graphics

Offline Brij

« Reply #57 on: April 17, 2014, 10:46:26 PM »
On the visibility issue do we all remember when high vis first came in.
You would be driving down the road and freak out thinking it was a copper on the side of the road.
These days every man and his dog wears high vis and you just tune out to it. Admittedly the shiny strips are great at night with reflection but the bright colours do jack all during the day now.
The problem is when everything just becomes the norm.

I wont disagree with you. One of our participants of our headlights on campaign said that this year we have  lights on to be noticed, next year we will have to have Christmas trees on our bonnets.

The stand out features of the lights on is your eyes are dragged to them, just like at night you have to consciously stop yourself looking at oncoming vehicles lights.

My thoughts on the headlights on (or DRLs) are not that you "see" the vehicle, but that "something" grabbed your attention to make you stop and see what grabbed your attention.

It is also worth pointing out that the very basic aim of the campaign was to try to grab the attention of the distracted driver (ie phone user etc). They may look up momentarily from their "device", but not actually "see" anything. Headlights on or DRLs hopefully increase the chances of them seeing "something", and in turn shifting their attention from the device back to the road.

Of all the operators I have talked to about the headlights on no one has complained about burning out globes, although one operator said he had issues with heat in the instrument panel from the dash lights.

Peter
NX Pajero
NJ Pajero (semi retired  to firewood harvesting duties)
Home made camper

« Reply #58 on: April 18, 2014, 07:22:05 AM »
Now they have come down to a reasonable price, I am very close to buying these. Hopefully I can fab a bracket where the existing IPF fogs fit to make them work.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NARVA-LED-DAY-DAYTIME-RUNNING-LAMPS-PAIR-FULL-KIT-CAR-NEW-ROUND-REVERSING-71940-/400555816220

« Reply #59 on: April 23, 2014, 10:39:03 AM »
No worries, mate, found your order and actioned it with the girls, so hopefully you'll be up and running (lighting?) again soon. We'll see how we do with Australia Post being closed almost constantly over the next couple of days...

Parcel was waiting for me at the post office at 8am yesterday. I picked it up today, can't argue with that service! Thanks again.

Offline autoelecau

• Camping with computers
    • Autoelec
« Reply #60 on: April 23, 2014, 11:06:29 AM »
Parcel was waiting for me at the post office at 8am yesterday. I picked it up today, can't argue with that service! Thanks again.

Excellent mate, no worries! Let us know how you get on with those ones.
Tim
IT and Graphics

« Reply #61 on: April 23, 2014, 11:28:12 AM »
I am all for better lighting at night but during the day just turn your lights on if needed, no need for DRL, not a fan of them at all.

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #62 on: April 23, 2014, 01:44:52 PM »
A friend works for a government department and they have had their vehicles modified to have DLR. They also replace their headlight globes every 40k needed or not. So when thy change the globes I get a set of second hand ones. My Prado never had the headlights turned off and is 4 years old and nearly 90k and never have I changed a globe.
I like the headlights on all the time as it makes vehicles more visible from a distance no matter what size, shape or colour they are.
Crispy

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

« Reply #63 on: May 31, 2014, 08:25:55 PM »
These will fit nicely in the split pan next to the number plate http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/111209432038

« Reply #64 on: May 31, 2014, 09:43:57 PM »
Ya gotta love those scotch lock, cable joiners.
Worst bit of the kit. 
From that picture, everything else looks OK.
I'm sure autoelecau didn't have any say about the scotch locks being in the box.
The kit would have arrived like that to him.

« Reply #65 on: June 01, 2014, 05:15:30 PM »
My 2c after 12 yrs in traffic and accident squad is ZERO ZERO ZERO tolerance.

And I mean ZERO.  You go 10% you get done.  Increase traffic cops x 10 times.

Smash everyone.  No cautions, no let offs.  Get stopped get booked.

Get it into everyones heads that if you choose not to drive to the law the right will be taken off you.

Not popular but thats the solution.

X100, no leniency, book em all. I love my job.

« Reply #66 on: June 01, 2014, 05:16:51 PM »
These will fit nicely in the split pan next to the number plate http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/111209432038

Fit some for me?

« Reply #67 on: June 01, 2014, 05:17:56 PM »
Fit some for me?

I'll write up a how to :)

« Reply #68 on: June 01, 2014, 05:19:53 PM »
Thanks Tim, if I get pulled over for only one headlight, I'll just tell :police: 'the globes are in the mail' :)

Isn't it funny when we pull someone over with one headlight, 90% of the answers are?
"It just happened"

« Reply #69 on: June 01, 2014, 05:22:10 PM »
I'll write up a how to :)

You know I'm mechanically inept!

« Reply #70 on: June 01, 2014, 05:30:17 PM »
You know I'm mechanically inept!
Just as well this is electrical then ;D

« Reply #71 on: June 01, 2014, 06:31:30 PM »
Just as well this is electrical then ;D

I was going to write electrically inept as well ;D

Offline jFlite

• FJ & JF
« Reply #72 on: June 03, 2014, 09:10:52 PM »
I think there must be some confusion between DRL's & fog lights & people who've just put any old light on their car.
I have a very strong dislike for those that drive with fog lights on, however proper DRL's do not startle oncoming traffic. I think they're a great setup if done correctly.
Keep Australia Beautiful

« Reply #73 on: June 04, 2014, 10:29:21 PM »
Now they have come down to a reasonable price, I am very close to buying these. Hopefully I can fab a bracket where the existing IPF fogs fit to make them work.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NARVA-LED-DAY-DAYTIME-RUNNING-LAMPS-PAIR-FULL-KIT-CAR-NEW-ROUND-REVERSING-71940-/400555816220

These might just fit in the bull bar.

« Reply #74 on: June 05, 2014, 03:20:48 PM »
I think DRLs are terrific and do make vehicles more visible in all conditions, as so many drivers do not turn their lights on in low light/low visibility conditions. I do wonder they are only on the front of vehicles? Why isn't there rear DRLs?

Also, I reject the argument that them being more common makes them less effective, same for HiVis. It's the bogan wearing the HiVis that makes it easy to ignore, not the yellow or orange clothing itself.