Author Topic: How hot has it got at your place today 14/01/17  (Read 19094 times)

Re: How hot has it got at your place today 14/01/17
« Reply #50 on: January 15, 2017, 05:14:20 PM »
......   So be friggin careful

Agree. Safety first.

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #51 on: January 15, 2017, 05:35:46 PM »
Heat wave down here this morning :)

Thanks Danny 5 now I suppose we will have snow when we get down there in March  :D ;D.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

« Reply #52 on: January 15, 2017, 05:45:14 PM »
Spot on Geoff.
It doesn't take much to dehydrate.
Glad I went to the trouble of setting up my fridge in the back of the cruiser  ;D
I take 4lt of water to work every day, even in winter.
Through summer it is refilled several times. If I have anyone offsiding me for the day, I make sure they bring heaps of water too.

Hey Rumpig, I know how ya feel mate,
When we insulated the ceiling a couple of years ago, I did it myself, 200sm.
It was Spring, mid October, started at 2am, finished about 8am, lost track of how much I drank, must of lost 10 kilo, took me days to get over it. Still haven't painted the hole I made with my knee through the ceiling in the lounge room  :angel:

Hey Kev,
It is so easy to do mate.
That's why on Friday I pulled the pin at 3pm, I had several more jobs to do, screw that, I don't get paid to be a dickhead(that I do for free  ;D )and put myself or someone else at risk.

Julian, you'd right about that  ;D
It is summer  :cheers:

Now it is quiet nice, slight breeze, cloudy, a few beers and the cricket is on  :cheers:

« Reply #53 on: January 15, 2017, 05:47:10 PM »
Was certainly warm today working up in the roof cavity...my shirt couldn't have been any wetter after getting out of the roof, it was literally so wet you'd have thought someone had hosed me down.

« Reply #54 on: January 15, 2017, 05:48:37 PM »
Thanks Danny 5 now I suppose we will have snow when we get down there in March  :D ;D.

Hey Bruce, Aren't you guys taking a short cut through Tassie
So you  guys will be acclimatized by then   :cheers:

« Reply #55 on: January 15, 2017, 05:56:29 PM »
it was a white shirt to ya sicko...lol...covered in paint and No More Gaps and timber stain though, so not see through

I knew a building and pest guy who fell really ill.

Doctors said he had literally began to cook his internal organs while he was in the roof, the same a chook would in an oven.   ......   So be friggin careful
made sure they were as short a stint as possible in the roof, the moment I climbed out of the roof I took a short break and was drinking either water or Powerade to keep hydrated...not hard to see how people could get ill from being in there to long on a day like today was though

« Reply #56 on: January 15, 2017, 06:45:06 PM »

Anything is possible in March Bruce.

Dont let the 5 deg worry you though. It is unusual to get such a low this time of year and to be honest it was at the crack of dawn, it was a nice sunny 24 deg for the rest of the day.

There is a lot to be said for cool nights for sleeping and comfortable 20-30 deg days during summer ;D

« Reply #57 on: January 15, 2017, 06:46:28 PM »
By the way, I didnt take that photo. My passenger did, at my request. Just in case anyone was wondering.......  :police:

« Reply #58 on: January 15, 2017, 06:51:55 PM »
Got to 26 C today  , with a breeze to cool it down  ideal  :cheers: weather  ;D

Offline SEADOO

« Reply #59 on: January 15, 2017, 06:52:56 PM »
We are about to get pissed on just north of Toowoomba.

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #60 on: January 15, 2017, 11:41:20 PM »
My daughter was in the USA with -10ºc and we had this at 1am
« Last Edit: January 17, 2017, 06:43:20 PM by gclan »
Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

« Reply #61 on: January 16, 2017, 12:27:10 PM »
it was a white shirt to ya sicko...lol...covered in paint and No More Gaps and timber stain though, so not see through
made sure they were as short a stint as possible in the roof, the moment I climbed out of the roof I took a short break and was drinking either water or Powerade to keep hydrated...not hard to see how people could get ill from being in there to long on a day like today was though
It can happen easier than people expect.. :(

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/young-pilot-dies-of-heatstroke-while-motorbike-riding-20170116-gts25r.html

« Reply #62 on: January 16, 2017, 12:46:11 PM »
Have a customers car in the carpark. It's a black 1970 model with a black interior and black vinyl seats.

It's going to be about 10pm before I can sit on that drivers and touch the steering wheel to bring it into the workshop  :'(

« Reply #63 on: January 16, 2017, 12:47:20 PM »
Have a customers car in the carpark. It's a black 1970 model with a black interior and black vinyl seats.

It's going to be about 10pm before I can sit on that drivers and touch the steering wheel to bring it into the workshop  :'(

« Reply #64 on: January 16, 2017, 02:10:09 PM »

Not as hot as I thought it'd be. Hot enough but.

(Will post a pic in Jeepers' old cars thread)

« Reply #66 on: January 16, 2017, 04:45:00 PM »
It can happen easier than people expect.. :(

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/young-pilot-dies-of-heatstroke-while-motorbike-riding-20170116-gts25r.html
i wonder how much water etc he took into his body  during his day of riding?...got to think it was either none or not very much....as if his death wasn't a sad enough loss for his family, made a lot worse by his wife being pregnant

« Reply #67 on: January 16, 2017, 04:53:16 PM »
Sorry Bird, I hadn't noticed you'd posted the same link.  :-[

I never said I was clever...... ???

Hey Rummy, as least ya getting the message.  ;D

« Reply #68 on: January 16, 2017, 05:07:33 PM »
... god - gota quote myself in this joint!!!

^^^^   this was my client's nephew I was telling ya all about on Saturday....    :-[

Got a shock phone call from a client early this morning ...   She called to postpone her function that was booked for today. ...(Saturday)

Her 29yo nephew was invited to the party - but after half a day flying yesterday;  (he was a pilot);  he goes for a strenuous bike ride - but tragically has a massive heart attack in this hideous heat; collapses; and dies....

Very sad....

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #69 on: January 16, 2017, 05:25:08 PM »
When I saw that, I was thinking Pushbike and didn't put 2 and 2 together.

« Reply #70 on: January 16, 2017, 05:38:30 PM »

Hey Rummy, as least ya getting the message.  ;D
been working in the sun for 25 years, I already know how easily a person can get badly dehydrated and heat stroke etc. The first day I trialled as a carpenter I did just that, was super crook the next day, throwing up even, all from heat stroke....I was so crook I missed going for another job interview, lucky I got the job intrialled for though...lol.

« Reply #71 on: January 16, 2017, 05:59:59 PM »
That's a tough lesson Rummy....but one well learnt, I'm sure.

« Reply #72 on: January 16, 2017, 06:04:31 PM »
I passed out once from dehydration, went over backwards and split me ead open on the edge of the shower tiled section.
Out like a light, bleeding all over the floor.

Scored a trip to Hossy and 4 staples in the noggin after about 400 tests. (Brain scan showed up nuffin)

« Reply #73 on: January 16, 2017, 06:19:23 PM »
remember reading about a young kid years ago school sports carnival.. doing the marathon type race in 30+, refused drinks.. got near the end and his body shut down from dehydration.

« Reply #74 on: January 16, 2017, 07:11:22 PM »
Amazingly though, same thing happened this time last year ???

http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/mwr/aus/mwr-aus-201601.pdf

Wonder if it'll happen again this time next year ::)